Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


232 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best notebook yet!!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:19 Mins
Published on February 25, 2010 by Hillary Brown

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty nice
It is very small for a journal, but pretty. The color is exactly as shown in picture. I bought it for a mothers day gift, as my mother in law loves dragonflies, and the leather and design is very nice.
Published 19 months ago by Rhonda O'Brien


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

232 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best notebook yet!!, February 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
Length:: 2:19 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very high quality journal, January 6, 2011
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
I own several of Eccolo's journals and they all are exactly the same except for the covers, so my reviews will be pretty similar. I couldn't find specifications on this journal initially, so I ordered it and came up with the below information:

COVER - The cover is made of light blue leather with an embossed dragonfly on the front. The color matches what is pictured on Amazon. The cover does not seem to scratch easily or hold marks on it. It should hold up to some abuse.

PAGE LENGTH - 128 pages or 256 leaves if you write on the front and back + 1 blank prelim page at the front and 1 blank trailing page at the back.
18 lines per page (not counting writing on the top line)

MATERIAL - The paper is ivory and goes well with the cover. It is acid-free (meaning it will not deteriorate or turn yellow easily) and made of heavy stock. The paper is not very thick and in my hands it feels about the same weight as standard American 20lb weight copy paper. The lines on the paper are a somewhat light color. They are the perfect shade in my opinion and don't stand out too much, but are dark enough for ease of use. There is some light bleeding through to the pages in areas where I pressed the pen down too hard, or when I've used a heavy fountain pen. It is enough that you can easily read what is written on the back of the page. Unless you have a light hand or are using a light ink, I would probably recommend against using both sides of the page. You could certainly do it without a mess, but it just depends on how clean of a look you want on each page. I cut a piece of a manila envelope to the same size as the journal pages, and put it underneath the piece of paper I'm writing on each time so that it doesn't bleed through to the next page.

SIZE - 4.75" x 6 5/8" (not quite 5x7 as the description says)
Actual writing space (length of the lines inside the margins) = 4.25" x 5.25"
|THIS IS EXACTLY HOW MUCH SPACE U HAVE PER LINE| (if you were to write in 12 point Times New Roman font). So expect not to get any more than 162 words per page unless you handwriting is very small. The margins are the perfect width to ensure you get enough use out of each sheet and no room is wasted.

BINDING/CONSTRUCTION - the binding is sewn in, and separated into 8 sections. This way you don't have to worry about too many pages being held by one thread, and the threads can actually break and only 1/8 of the journal will separate. This method of binding is also very useful because it means you can easily open to any page in the journal and it will naturally separate along one of those sections, so you don't have to break the binding too much to lay the journal flat like you would have to with a paperback book. The binding and threads are also secured on the back with a strip of adhesive. The binding is very well made and the threads seem tight, but strong. I do not have any qualms about the binding breaking and would think this journal should hold up to daily use for awhile and several decades of storage. After heavy use, I do not see any noticeable creases on the spine of the journal where you can tell it has been opened many times. It still appears new. There is no bookmark built into the journal.

I find this to be a very nicely-made and simplistic journal and think it would satisfy the requirements for anyone who wants something small and nice-looking. It is not something I would write my Presidential memoirs in, but satisfies my requirements for regular daily use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Design, High-Quality---But Not For Heavy-Duty Writers, November 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
The Blue Embossed Dragonfly Leather Journal by Eccolo has an amazing quality and great design for being under $15.00. The material feels smooth and does not show dirt or wear, and the cover of the book is extremely durable. Also, the embossing looks really gorgeous in person (the photos do not do it justice)and the dark gray-blue color of the exterior is pretty as well. The pages within the journal are a creamy color and are tightly sewn into the book. They are thick enough for gel or fluid pens, but not so thick that you feel as if you are writing on cardboard. Overall, for such a cheap price, I think that this journal is amazing. However, if you are someone who likes to write A LOT (a few pages a day), this journal will be used up in no time. I recommend this only for people who like to write short journal entries only a few times a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Journal, March 8, 2011
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
The journal is as described on the website. The leather cover is soft to the touch and the dragonfly embossing is very chic. It is a small journal but they do give the dimensions. So it not too small, but easy to pop in your bag if you want to take it with you. The pages are lined which is great and so far its seems durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 18, 2010
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
Great quality paper, very smooth surface; which make it a pleasure to write my thoughts in. It lays easily for writing on both sides. The embossed cover is wonderful. The color is excellent,and well-saturated. The leather is a great quality and lovely to the touch. I will definitely purchase it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Journal, April 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
The papers are thick and smooth, so it is rare inks to leak through. The leather doesn't smell, and it is very comfortable when you carry it around. You can write quite a lot with this little journal, it is expensive, but it looks like it can last some time if you are planning to keep your work for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Journals, March 30, 2011
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
My third grade girl is crazy for pretty journals to write stories or notes in, so we purchased a few of these leather bound one's for her this past Christmas. They are holding up very well, and are really nicely made, and lovely to hold in your hand. Having also looked in all the local book stores in SF CA I can also say the Amazon price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty nice, April 25, 2013
By 
Rhonda O'Brien (Brookfield, Vermont, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
It is very small for a journal, but pretty. The color is exactly as shown in picture. I bought it for a mothers day gift, as my mother in law loves dragonflies, and the leather and design is very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very nice notebook that is small enough to take anywhere., March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
I really like this for either a diary or just for important note taking. It isn't too small or too big and can conveniently be taken almost anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, October 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined (Paperback)
Have purchased a few of these books as gifts online and in stores... very nice finish on the cover and the size is just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blue Embossed Dragonfly Faux Leather Journal - Lined
$14.00 $10.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.