Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Blue Lagoon-Brenton Thwaites awesome.
I expected this movie to be just another ordinary teen coming of age movie. But I was wrong. The acting by Brenton Thwaites was superb. I realize that he probably won the part largely for his looks, but his acting was 100% above and beyond all the others in the cast. He was 100% believable for the role. At the end, when the girl Emma with whom he shared his life for 4...
Published 1 month ago by Kenjiro

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chaste Teen Romance Blossoms On A Deserted Island: Corny Fun For Free On TV, Not Necessarily A Must-Buy DVD
Admit it, you were clamoring for a new interpretation of "The Blue Lagoon!" The 1980 original with Brooke Shields and Christopher Atkins is probably more notorious than it is actually good, but that's okay. It tapped into a primal innocence and a fascination with sexual awakening that seems to have connected with viewers over time. In many ways, I think that revisiting...
Published 19 months ago by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chaste Teen Romance Blossoms On A Deserted Island: Corny Fun For Free On TV, Not Necessarily A Must-Buy DVD, December 19, 2012
This review is from: Blue Lagoon: The Awakening (DVD)
Admit it, you were clamoring for a new interpretation of "The Blue Lagoon!" The 1980 original with Brooke Shields and Christopher Atkins is probably more notorious than it is actually good, but that's okay. It tapped into a primal innocence and a fascination with sexual awakening that seems to have connected with viewers over time. In many ways, I think that revisiting this topic might be a good idea. A modern telling might bring a bit more frankness to the table. If, however, you are going to modernize a tale this reliant on sexual themes--the Lifetime network probably isn't the best bet to make the subject compelling or believable. "Blue Lagoon: The Awakening," thus, plays more like a chaste opposites-attract teen picture with a dash of Swiss Family Robinson style survival thrown in. Nothing of consequence is really at stake and the conclusion is never in doubt.

Indiana Evans plays a privileged teen beauty queen who happens to just fall off a boat. We won't discuss the specifics, you've simply got to see it to believe it! Luckily, high school slacker Brenton Thwaites is on hand to keep her company. Fortuitously, he is equipped with a surprising number of survival skills so that the two of them can make the best of a bad situation. Stranded for two months, the pair who have little in common start to grow closer. Will they find true love? Can they survive a wild animal attack? Will Thwaites ever show signs of facial hair? Everything is so by the numbers, I guess you will already know the answers to these questions. The kids are likable enough, the screenplay just doesn't give them much to do other than to act rather silly. When the climatic scene arrives, it lacks any impact. It's like the movie just ran out of time, so they slapped a conclusion on. If that wasn't bad enough, though, we now return (very unnecessarily) to high school for an even bigger anticlimax.

This being Lifetime, though, I did enjoy some of the more fascinating bad movie moments. Denise Richards plays Evans' mother in a series of odd choices. After poorly executing a terrible emotional outpouring, she then remains somewhat disconnected from the realities of the situation. The screenplay, once again, doesn't have the ambition to try to dig into actual emotion. But "Blue Lagoon: The Awakening" doesn't have particularly lofty goals and that saves it somewhat. It is a bit of lightweight escapism. As it never feels remotely real, there is corny fun to be had in the watching. While it's easy enough to appreciate some of the movie's silliness, I'd best recommend that you catch this for free on TV when you have the chance as opposed to purchasing the DVD! KGHarris, 12/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Blue Lagoon-Brenton Thwaites awesome., June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Lagoon: The Awakening (DVD)
I expected this movie to be just another ordinary teen coming of age movie. But I was wrong. The acting by Brenton Thwaites was superb. I realize that he probably won the part largely for his looks, but his acting was 100% above and beyond all the others in the cast. He was 100% believable for the role. At the end, when the girl Emma with whom he shared his life for 4 months stranded on the island returns to her family and friends and apparently backs away from/rejects Dean, the hurt and depression Brenton Thwaites shows as Dean is awesome....thtoally believable. One can actually feel the hurt and rejection coming from hm. That's a sign of a good actor. No wonder he now is in Maleficent, The Signal, The Giver, Ride, etc. (all in one year). He's a young man who very well may be the new Tom Cruise. Awesome.
With the exception of Christopher Atkins (from the original 1980 Blue Lagooon with Brooke Shields), wghose brief performance as a teacher at te school was great, the other actors were either wooden, or just not very good actors at all (all the girls who portray Emma's friends).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Lagoon: The Awakening (DVD)
This one of those movies you can't help but love. It allows you to get lost for a little bit and you can't help getting caught up in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New age love story, September 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Lagoon: The Awakening (DVD)
This is not the Blue Lagoon from yester year. This is a modern day Blue Lagoon love story about a boy who is an outcast of sorts and a prim-and -proper OCD girl who are on a school trip and catastrophe happens. They end up on an island with a beautiful lagoon. They must overcome the fact that they will probably not be rescued. Long story short, love story of 2 opposites that have to work together to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, this one just doesn't measure up., September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Lagoon: The Awakening (DVD)
Perhaps if I had not seen Brooke Shields in the original Blue Lagoon I might have given this one two and one half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A romantic take on an originally less family-oriented tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
This review is from: Blue Lagoon: The Awakening (DVD)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars feel good movie, June 25, 2014
By 
mysteryreader18 (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Lagoon: The Awakening (DVD)
Call me crazy but I am 37 years old and I loved this movie. Why do we watch movies sometimes? To escape real life. To have a few hours to let your mind wander and get caught up with a story. Was this movie totally believable? No? But it was very enjoyable. Loosen up people - some movies are movies for a reason. They aren't real but you can let your mind believe for a few hours they could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars liked, June 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
im 14 and i liked it....if your older you might not like it...
my dad didnt want me to pay so much for it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good simplistic movie, May 15, 2014
By 
Keelan De Leest (Appleton, WI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I actually enjoyed this movie...saw it on tv and wanted to own it. Teenagers stranded on an island...parents and friends frantic to find them...opposites attract and love blooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blue Lagoon: The Awakening
Blue Lagoon: The Awakening by Jake Newsome (DVD - 2012)
$14.99 $10.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.