Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Game, Enjoyable for children and parents
Updated Aug. 2011

This is a very well-done memory game. There are twelve adorable wooden penguins with a hollow space to hide one of twelve brightly colored eggs (2 each of 6 colors). Players roll the dice to determine what color eggs they are looking for and then look under two penguins. If they get a match, they get to keep it; if both match, they get...
Published on August 23, 2009 by HeatherHH

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pengoloo
I got this for my 4 year old, and am a little disappointed. Neither he, nor myself, found the game to be all that fun. He got bored after one round, and hasn't wanted to play it again since. It's a shame, because we have several Blue Orange toys/games, and this was the first one that wasn't a huge hit!
Published on May 17, 2011 by J. Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Game, Enjoyable for children and parents, August 23, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
Updated Aug. 2011

This is a very well-done memory game. There are twelve adorable wooden penguins with a hollow space to hide one of twelve brightly colored eggs (2 each of 6 colors). Players roll the dice to determine what color eggs they are looking for and then look under two penguins. If they get a match, they get to keep it; if both match, they get another turn; otherwise, it's the next player's turn. The first to get 6 eggs wins, or the one at the end with the most.

This game is very durable with all wooden pieces; it still looks brand new despite plenty of play. This is a big plus to me with six children now, and hopefully more in the future. The penguin framework makes this game very enjoyable to my middle four children (ages 8 down to 2 1/2), and even my almost 10-year-old is willing to join in on occasion!. And of course, there's the educational value of a memory-building game.

One of the biggest pluses to this game is it fits a wide range of skill levels. Even my 2 1/2-year-old, who hasn't grasped the idea of remembering which colors were where, can enjoy looking under two penguins. He's thrilled to death when he gets a match, because all of his older siblings applaud him. Though he rarely wins playing against his older siblings, he is still able to play along with them. As there is a significant element of chance because of the rolls, it's not always the one with the best memory who wins either.

I am very glad to have purchased this game. I also bought it as a gift for my nieces and nephews who enjoyed it also. I'd highly recommed it for families with preschoolers and early elementary aged children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginner Game for Very Young Children, December 28, 2010
By 
goonius (a room in a house on a street in a city just like any other.) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
We bought this game as a Christmas present for my youngest daughter, who will be 3 next month.

It's turned out to be a huge hit with her on a couple of different levels.

The game itself is fun, brief, simple to understand, and fast-paced. Perfect for kids maybe 2-4 years who don't often get to join in for family game time due to a lack of attention span or lack of comprehension of the rules of more complex games. Really, the only skill needed to play this game is an awareness of different colors, though it could certainly be used as a teaching aid for children who don't yet know their colors.

The gameplay is simple. Each of the 12 penguins is placed in a central location, each hiding an egg beneath him/her. There are 6 different colors of eggs, 2 of each color. Each player has a wooden strip that looks like an iceberg, with the numbers 1-6 on it. Each player rolls two dice in turn. Each die has 6 matching color dots on it. After rolling the dice, the player gets two chances to find the corresponding colors beneath the penguins.... And so on until one player gets 6 penguins with the correct egg color on their iceberg, or until all the penguins are gone (then the player with the most penguins is the winner).

There is an element of memory to this game, but there is also - it seems - an almost stronger element of chance. So if you're not on even ground, say an adult versus a child, you don't have to 'dumb down' playing to compensate for their lack of skill in this department. The limited number of penguins certainly contributes to memory playing a very loose role, and a child can often win in earnest by sheer chance. I see this as a good thing, since I'm not overly fond of anything I have to think too hard about not playing well for the kids' sake. It is this element - and the limited time in which the game plays out - that make it a fun and simple game for adults to play with young children.

The second thing that has been a big hit with our daughter are the actual pieces of the game. In fact, her love of the penguins and eggs might well be to the detriment of the gameplay, as they have already been misplaced a few times and we've owned the game less than a week. The penguins are adorable, truly. The eggs seem to hold a certain fascination too (yes, they could be choking hazards for young kids who are still mouthing toys and such). These items get carried about the house, stashed in bags and purses, flown around in the Playmobil jet and so on.

Blue Orange games are all made in China, making them something I would normally be opposed to purchasing, but it does sound as if they are manufacturing in China ethically and in an environmentally sound manner. I hope this is the reality, rather than just the effect of slick marketing, particularly since they make such neat games (we also bought Gobblet Gobblers and love it too).

All the pieces are very well made, smooth, rounded, no visible glue, the paint (or perhaps stain?) is well-applied, and it seems as if chipping paint will not be an issue. Even the box is a heavy-weight laminated cardboard and should stand up to some abuse. Everything about this game just seems to say 'high quality' and I think it's absolutely worth the price.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Year Old is addicted..., January 8, 2009
By 
R. Laufgraben (Cherry Hill, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
We play this game every night and my little boy loves it and he does not typically like board games. He enjoys lifting the penguins up to check which egg is underneath...I believe it is really improving his memory and ability to follow direction. The game is all wooden, high quality, and easy to store back in the box. A very cute game which gets a lot of use around my house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great toy for young children, April 5, 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
My kindergarten and first-grade students love this game. It is extremely durable (being all wood) and pleasing to look at. My students are increasing their attention span and are enjoying doing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for little ones, November 25, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
This is a great little memory game for little ones. There are a few game options that make it more enjoyable...We went with a rule that if a person rolls a double color they can take that color from someone else's iceberg IF they know where it is. Just taking from anyone's iceberg all the time doesn't work because that becomes the focus of the game. I wish there were more penguins though because it's too short and if 4 people play then nobody ever gets to 6. It's almost better to buy two sets, but it's too pricey for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Everyone, January 20, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
I love everything about this game... Even the name is fun to say - "Let's play Pen-go-loooo!" My 4-year old has a VERY short attention span and prefers to spend playtime crushing his Velociraptor with his loud, roaring T-Rex so I struggle to find 'educational' toys that capture his interest. The darling wooden penguins in Pengolo do the trick.
A quick game of Pengolo is a great way to get him to calm down while spending quality time with family members that span the generations... even grandpa, who's eyes are not so good can see the bright colors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eco Friendly Fun, August 9, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
Blue Orange Games actually plants two trees for every one used. If only other companies could be this responsible. They totally won me over with that straight away without ever seeing the toys, I confess. But my first experience with one of their games is a big success in terms of sheer fun factor.

The award winning Pengaloo is visually appealing and features an element of surprise. Players try to find colored eggs (hiding under the wooden penguins) corresponding to the colors on dice. It's a little more involved than straight "Concentration" but basically the same idea, it's a memory game. There are suggestions in the pamphlet for variations and of course, you can make up your own.

I'm a big fan of board games and think it's a great way to bond with your child. On day one, I played this game with my son for a good hour, with lots of "Let's do it again!" Then he continued to play by himself for another hour. He's gone back to it many times since and says it's one of his favorite toys already.

On a practical note, the box, made of recycled and recyclable cardboard, is sturdy and designed to house all the pieces nicely for easy cleanup and storage. I highly recommend this toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all ages. REALLY!, January 7, 2010
By 
Mama (Lakeville, MA, USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
What a great game. The game is so easy to understand--my 2 1/2 year-old daughter as well as my 10 year-old niece and adults-- love this game. The game is part chance (rolling of die) and part memory (to remember which penguin hides which eggs). Very fun, sturdy and adorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pengoloo, May 17, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
I got this for my 4 year old, and am a little disappointed. Neither he, nor myself, found the game to be all that fun. He got bored after one round, and hasn't wanted to play it again since. It's a shame, because we have several Blue Orange toys/games, and this was the first one that wasn't a huge hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute game, November 17, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pengoloo (Toy)
My kids love playing this game. It is like a short version of the memory game with cute wooden penguins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pengoloo
Pengoloo by Blue Orange
$27.99 $18.64
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.