Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Out Of The Blue, Thunder Arrives On DVD!
Based on the 1983 movie, ABC's "Blue Thunder" focused on the Blue Thunder Unit, a Los Angeles police unit which operated a high-tech helicopter (actually a modified French-made Aérospatiale Gazelle) with ground support. A few of its features included an electric cannon, night sensors, turbo-speed and a "whisper mode" that allowed it to run silently.

The...
Published on July 10, 2006 by Servo

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor packaging and disc quality
The quality of the video and audio are good, as reviewed by the others. I enjoyed watching the episodes again that I had watched years ago; and there are the ones that I had missed because I was too busy working at the time. I am disappointed with the patches of cloudiness on the surfaces of discs 1 and 2. The discs are viewable, but the clouding should not be there; and...
Published on February 22, 2009 by B. Wong


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Out Of The Blue, Thunder Arrives On DVD!, July 10, 2006
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
Based on the 1983 movie, ABC's "Blue Thunder" focused on the Blue Thunder Unit, a Los Angeles police unit which operated a high-tech helicopter (actually a modified French-made Aérospatiale Gazelle) with ground support. A few of its features included an electric cannon, night sensors, turbo-speed and a "whisper mode" that allowed it to run silently.

The series starred James Farentino (Police Story) as pilot Frank Chaney; Dana Carvey (Saturday Night Live) as his observer Clinton "JAFO" Wonderlove; Sandy McPeak as Cpt. Ed Braddock, the unit commander; Ann Cooper as Officer J.J. Douglas; and ex-NFL jocks Dick Butkus (Any Given Sunday) & Bubba Smith (Police Academy) as Officers Richard "Ski" Butowski & Lyman "Bubba" Kelsey, the ground support team.

ABC first launched Blue Thunder for a midseason run on January 6, 1984. Unfortunately, CBS's slightly more sophisticated helicopter drama "Airwolf" (which debuted 2 weeks later) from creator Donald P. Bellisario (Quantum Leap, JAG) countermanded Blue Thunder's intended run, thereby facilitating its cancellation after just 11 episodes.

While Airwolf was the more successful series with its grim and moody tone, Blue Thunder was just as watchable for its A-Team, Hunter-like tone: standard 80s blend of action and tongue-in-cheek humor. Regardless, the real star [in both shows] was, of course, the helicopter. Not to mention the catchy opening theme music. Again, in both shows.

Blue Thunder - The Complete Series is a 3-disc (529 min.) set featuring all 11 episodes from the 1983-1984 season. Special Features include: Digitally Remastered English Audio and High Definition Full Frame (1.33:1) Video, Bonus Previews, Closed Captioning.

Episodes include:
1. Second Thunder
2. A Clear and Present Danger
3. Arms Race
4. Revenge in the Sky
5. Trojan Horse
6. Skydiver
7. Clipped Wings
8. Payload
9. The Long Flight
10. Godchild
11. The Island

First Knight Rider, then Airwolf, and now Blue Thunder.
Bring on "The Man...The Machine...Street Hawk!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Purchase for Series Fans, August 30, 2006
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
As a child I loved this show and I always kept a warm place for it in my heart. This show is action packed, each show with shootouts and explosions, not to mention the wonderful aerobatics. The remastering in superb, as it vividly brings out the blue tint in Dana Carvey's eyes and even shows the forehead lines on most of the actors. Colors are well-defined and there is a strong contrast and warm lights. However, when movie stock footage is used, it looks grainy compared to the series footage. Numerous footage is reused during this series, but it's expected with the budget for aviation shots. Explosion from time to time are corny cut outs, or just plain cheap, but the remastering makes some footage quite vivid. Writing could be better, but there is a generous amount of action that exceeds Airworf. If you're not a fan then rent it, but this is a must own for fans of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short lived series on DVD!, September 24, 2006
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
It's nice to see Blue Thunder, the TV series, released on DVD, in spite of the fact it lasted only one season. It was one of the great action-packed shows to come out of the 1980s. You had James Farentino who piloted Blue Thunder. A very young Dana Carvey, who was the co-pilot, who was always referred to as "JAFO" (Just Another Frustrated Observator.) You also has Dick Butkus & Bubba Smith, two ex-football players, who appeared in the series as well. I like other reviewers here would love to have Street Hawk, another short lived series, come out on DVD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor packaging and disc quality, February 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
The quality of the video and audio are good, as reviewed by the others. I enjoyed watching the episodes again that I had watched years ago; and there are the ones that I had missed because I was too busy working at the time. I am disappointed with the patches of cloudiness on the surfaces of discs 1 and 2. The discs are viewable, but the clouding should not be there; and I am not sure of the long term durability of the discs. The center hub holding disc 1 is loose and the disc keeps falling off. I returned the whole set to Amazon for replacement. The new set has the same problems. I decided to keep the second set because I do want to finish watching the episodes; and the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled too soon! - 80's escapist entertainment., January 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
I remember watching this TV series when it first aired, thinking it really wasn't very good. Then "Air Wolf" came along to steal the thunder away, and before you could say "whisper mode", Blue Thunder had been cancelled.

Looking back, this series really wasn't a failure at all. Granted the first few episodes are very repetitive and poorly written, but the series soon hits its stride. When compared to other 80's tv series such as Knight Rider and the A-Team, Blue Thunder fits in nicely. If you're a fan of the feature film, or just looking for escapist entertainment, 80's style, I think you'll enjoy this series!

Only eleven episodes, so I wouldn't pay more than $20! Wait for a good deal!

JM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Thunder vs. Dallas on Friday nights, February 25, 2012
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
Many people believe the ABC tv series, "Blue Thunder" was mainly cancelled because of CBS' "Airwolf". Airwolf had NOTHING to do with Blue Thunder being cancelled! ABC debuted Blue Thunder on Friday nights directly against CBS' top rated show, "Dallas". Dallas was at it's peak during this time and buried anything ABC or NBC put up against it. Unfortunately, whoever was in charge at ABC didn't bother placing Blue Thunder on another night, so it never really stood a chance. Although I was a fan of Dallas, I would videotape Blue Thunder so I could enjoy both. I am glad someone was smart enough to bring Blue Thunder to DVD, even though it only lasted 11 episodes. I highly recommend this show to anyone considering buying it. You can see for yourself what a good show it was and wonder like I do what might have been had ABC been smart enough to even give an attempt of saving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Thunder Season 1, January 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
I am the husband of the person who ordered this,and it was a Christmas gift for me.I am very pleased with the quality of the product and had wanted it for some time.I loved the TV Show in the 80's and a few years ago I had ordered DVD's of it from a party on E-Bay and they were very poor quality and only got to the middle of one episode and would freeze up-I have not made an E-bay purchase since, so it was nice to have the original authorized version that is of excellent quality.Though I have only watched a few episodes yet-as I receieved several DVD sets of various shows at Christmas,it brings back memories of watching them in my youth and all the arguments I used to have with friends over which TV Show Helicopter was better-Airwolf (which I also own Season 1 of) or Blue Thunder. I highly recommend this to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Short a Series, December 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
I have truely enjoyed going back and watching this series on DVD. The only bad thing about the series itself was that it was too short lived. It was a family friendly version of Blue Thunder and the interaction between the stars was wonderful. Dick Butkus and Bubba Smith are a hoot to watch.

As far as the quality of the disks, I have no complaints. The picture and sound was wonderful and they are a pleasure to watch. However, if you have a widescreen tv you will have the annoying black bars on the sides unless you expand the picture since this is in 4:3 aspect. The only bad thing I have to say about the set is that there are no extras, which would have been nice. Some behind the scenes on the helicopter or even some series interviews would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good 80's Tv Classic Show, September 17, 2006
By 
David FERNANDEZ SABIO (Torrejón de Ardoz, Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
At last on Dvd.I remembered this show from my early days.I loved as A Team and Knight Rider were broadcasted these days.Only 11 eps were made after its cancellation due to similar series Airwolf in the rival CBS.Based on the 1983 movie of the same title it features an advanced chopper capable of doing 360º loops,whisper silent mode record audio and video,turbo thurst and fires 6,000 rounds per minute in her gatling cannon.Of course is armor plated and bullets ricochets when fired to it.

The Dvd is Ok with good audio and video quality however no special features are included nor cast or series info.

Hope Street Hawk that also was premature cancelled arrives soon on Dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Action Series Cancelled Way Too Soon, September 24, 2007
By 
Trevor William Douglas (Gorokan, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Thunder : The Complete Series (DVD)
A very enjoyable series with a memorable cast and catchy theme tune. The Sony Prints are outstanding quality and do justice to this show.
In my opinion it could have lasted at least three seasons. All of the elements were there for success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blue Thunder : The Complete Series
Blue Thunder : The Complete Series by James Farentino (DVD - 2006)
$35.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.