Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!
This book is a must read for anyone interested in ghost stories. Unlike the other ghost books that I've read, this one really seems to have some legitimacy. The author is was a respected folklorist who documented and recorded songs and stories from Nova Scotia, and would come across these stories during the course of her interviews. Although there is always the...
Published on December 16, 2003 by K Scheffler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Believe in ghosts
A very gentle and interesting book about odd happenings in Nova Scotia. On land, in the sea, forebodings, visions, treasures protected by corpses, a great read for a campfire at night.
Published 7 months ago by Ghislaine Dean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, December 16, 2003
This review is from: Bluenose Ghosts (Paperback)
This book is a must read for anyone interested in ghost stories. Unlike the other ghost books that I've read, this one really seems to have some legitimacy. The author is was a respected folklorist who documented and recorded songs and stories from Nova Scotia, and would come across these stories during the course of her interviews. Although there is always the likelihood that the story-teller could have been unwittingly relating tall-tales, there is much to suggest that the majority of these stories are indeed authentic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Believe in ghosts, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluenose Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
A very gentle and interesting book about odd happenings in Nova Scotia. On land, in the sea, forebodings, visions, treasures protected by corpses, a great read for a campfire at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True folklore, a fun book to read with a thousand stories told in the vernacular of old Nova Scotia., February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluenose Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
I rate this book highly for the way the Creighton respects the words and stories of her interviewees. She never disrespect them and I get the feeling that she grew to an understanding of the stories and their possible supernatural origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluenose Ghosts (Paperback)
Many of the stories I heard as a child plus many more. Fun to read on a dark and stormy night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic!, February 27, 2013
By 
This review is from: Bluenose Ghosts (Paperback)
I first read this classic by Helen Creighton in the 70's and have loved it since!I have owned multiple copies and given away copies as gifts.As a born and raised Bluenoser,it is great to read stories from locales I know.Some of the stories are merely entertaining,while others are truly scary!The forerunner on all fours chasing the 2 young men still scares the hell out of me to this day!Anyone who has seen the lonely,desolate Devil's Island at the mouth of Halifax Harbour,could easily see the ghostly tales occuring there!Anyone,with even a passing interest in the paranormal,and ghost stories,will find it interesting-Bluenosers will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in it's depth of research, December 13, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Bluenose Ghosts (Paperback)
Ms Creighton did a very good job presenting the folklore of NS in a way that is very appealing, easy to read, and enjoyable.
Being a NS native, it is very nice to see especially the smaller localities noted. This has been a favourite book of mine since childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spooky...., January 2, 2000
This review is from: Bluenose Ghosts (Paperback)
Being a native of NS, i can say i like this book. Its perfect for a night when its raining, its dark, and you wanna be spooked. (^^) Well, anyway its a great read, and all the stories are true.(well, sort of) I definitely recommed this book to anyone. -Sheena
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bluenose Ghosts
Bluenose Ghosts by Helen Creighton (Paperback - June 1994)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.