Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Toddler And His Dad Recommend "Blue's Clues", March 18, 2005
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
Fun and creative, "Blue's Clues" is my 2-year-old son's favorite "TV on DVD" show. In the words of its creators, it is a "story-based game show for kids."

The series creates a simplified universe featuring a boyish-looking host (Steve, later Joe), his yapping puppy Blue, and their animated friends. The centerpiece of "Blue's Clues" is a well-defined, open-ended structure (three clues, notebook, mailtime, thinking chair, recurring songs) where new themes are explored within an established framework.

The featurette "Backstage With Blue's Clues" on the "Blue's Big Musical Movie" DVD explains how a staff of 80 brought episodes of the show to life, with audiences of preschoolers vetting a typical episode at various stages of development. Each facet of the show is clearly thought through from multiple perspectives, including child development, child psychology, and sheer entertainment value.

"Blue's Big Band" is the best disc in the series. Four thumbs up (from toddler and Dad)! The great episode entitled "Bedtime Business" is the best overall episode in the entire series in our opinion.

In general, all "Blue's Clues" DVDs provide around 100 minutes of content, much more than the typical 35 or 45 minutes on other children's DVDs.

"Blue's Clues" knows how to have fun without taking itself too seriously, without indulging in tired cliches, and without grating on adult viewers (how often do you run across a character named "Sidetable Drawer"?). This is an intelligent show that often "winks" at adult viewers. On repeat viewings, look for subtle changes in the "12" on Tickety's clock face, in the stamp on the envelope during the "We Just Got A Letter" sequence, and in the framed pictures on the wall of the house.

Newcomers to "Blue's Clues" should know that the series began with "Steve" as its host for about 100 episodes, then "Steve" went off to college and "Joe" became the new host. This change was apparently difficult for some young fans of the show to accept when they were watching it on TV. However, when introduced to the series (as we were) on DVD, it just seems like "Blue's Clues" has two different hosts. This impression is reinforced by the way the DVDs are set up - there are generally two "Joe" and two "Steve" episodes on each disc.

With all Blue's Clues DVDs, "Play All" option only plays the 2 episodes with Joe. Go to "Bonus Episodes" on "Episode Selection" menu to get 2 more full shows with Steve.

"Blue's Clues" DVDs - together with a "tablet-style" DVD player that attaches to the passenger-seat headrest in the car - completely transformed the backseat car-riding experience. Now my toddler looks forward to spending time in the car - it's a mobile screening room.

Note of caution: "Blue's Clues" is NOT the same as "Blue's Room." The latter series features Blue as a talking dog puppet and is completely different - father and son cannot recommend "Blue's Room."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue's Big Band, September 15, 2005
By 
D. Lane "Book lover" (austin, tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This a cute fun video and one of my favorite blues clues videos. I'm a home daycare provider. Over the yrs I have collected over 100 kids videos. Blue's Big Band seems to entertain my daycare kids ages 14 months to 5 yrs greatly. I also enjoy singing along to the tunes.

The first show of the video is about music which is great. The 2nd show is about bed time routines. Both are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Episodes Lousy DVD Setup, March 25, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
We loved the new music epsiodes w/ Joe and it was great to finally have the ones W/ Steve on dvd instead of vhs. I just wish Nick Jr would realize that more and more parents are driving long distances with their kids and using dvd's in their vehicles. This one has 4 epsiodes total but 2 are "bonus" ones hidden in special features. It will play the two Joe from the main menu only and you can't set them to repeat. We LOVE repeat and just close up the screen until our kids are ready to view them again so we don't have to pull over and fiddle w/ the menu screens. If you go to the bonus episodes, it'll only play one at a time. They really don't make good use of the potential of a dvd. This is one that will stay in the house. What a shame for such great epsiodes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything Blues Goes!, January 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
My toddler loves Blues Clues! He doesn't care if it's Steve or Joe, but his favorite shows happen to have more Steve in them.

This DVD has some good stuff in it about hygiene. The bath time song and the toothbrush tango are catchy. : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, April 11, 2008
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
Encourages brushing your teeth before bed. Seemed kinda short compared to other Blues movies. It teaches coordination with rythme. I like this movie for my daughter and she enjoys it also. She is 18 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for kids and their parents, July 7, 2010
By 
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
Blue's Clues encourages kids to think for themselves. Sure, it drops hints...but it encourages the kids to come to their own conclusions and come up with their own answers.

Steve is SO funny. And Joe is so perky. Both hosts are great in their own ways.

One question that I guess I'll never have answered...how come EVERYTHING talks on this show EXCEPT Blue? Seriously, Sidetable Drawer talks, Tickety the clock talks, Periwinkle the cat talks...but none of the dogs on the show talk, they just bark. Just sayin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Blues Clues, May 11, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
You can't go wrong with Blues Clues DvDs. This dvd includes episodes with both Joe and Steve. The two main episodes are with Joe, the bonus features are with Steve. They bring in musical instruments, introduce rhythm, they play song games, also have a bedtime episode which introduces brushing teeth, potty, reading stories and games to play on rainy days. My son loves singing along with the song games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its blues clues!, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
its blues clues! of course its going to be good! they are one as good as the next although the second guy is much better than the first guy. and amazon sent it hassle free, as usual.. so fun to shop with amazon! and in excellent shape, as promised. thanks for another wonderful experience of watching blues clues.. such fun for a fifty year old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
This is a good dvd of blues clues. Song to play and insturments to learn about. There are two bonus episodes from the 1999 "Rhythm and Blue" VHS....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars son loved it, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band (DVD)
i got this for my son, he especially liked the songs in the video, and it is a cute sing a long,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band
Blue's Clues - Blue's Big Band by Paul Zehrer (DVD - 2003)
$13.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.