Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Blues Album of 2012!
Blues for the Modern Daze, Walter Trout's 21st solo album, is an absolute must-have for Trout and blues fans, alike. The reason why I say this is simple: It's brand spankin' new blues and it's phenomenal.

Unlike many blues albums that are being released today, Blues for the Modern Daze is not an album for of covers of blues standards. Don't get me wrong: I...
Published on April 24, 2012 by Boomerocity

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Walter Trout ...
I don't wanna say that it's taken Walter Trout [a working bluesman who put his time in and paid his dues playing with the likes of John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, Canned Heat, John Lee Hooker, and gave Big Mama Thornton something to sizzle about] all these years to finally hit his stride here on Blues For The Modern Daze, because after all, he is one of the hardest working...
Published 23 months ago by R. Kesler


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Blues Album of 2012!, April 24, 2012
By 
Boomerocity (East Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues for the Modern Daze (Audio CD)
Blues for the Modern Daze, Walter Trout's 21st solo album, is an absolute must-have for Trout and blues fans, alike. The reason why I say this is simple: It's brand spankin' new blues and it's phenomenal.

Unlike many blues albums that are being released today, Blues for the Modern Daze is not an album for of covers of blues standards. Don't get me wrong: I love hearing the various interpretations of blues standards by many artists. I don't get tired of them. However, when some new blues shows up on my radar, I scramble my auditory jet sensors and intercept the new tunes with a vengeance.

During my interview with Walter Trout about this album (go to Boomerocity.com and look under "Interviews" to check it out), the guitarist said that he recorded the album with his touring band without a lot of additional production baggage. The result is what you hear on the album will give you're a very clear indication of what you're in for if you see Trout perform live (and I highly recommend that you indulge yourself in such a treat. The dude puts on an incredible show!).

Every tune on this album is a treat to listen to and is deserving of multiple slaps of the repeat button. It's chock full of fresh blues tunes and played as it should be played. As I said in the Trout interview, if I could only play you one song from this album that serve as an advertisement of what you can expect from it, my choices would be a toss-up between Lonely and Brother's Keeper. Both are Boomerocity favorites and are soulful, thoughtful, heart-felt indictments against the isolation of modern society and the church - in that order.

Once either of those songs prompt you to buy the album, you'll be treated to a rich treasure chest of blues and rock. The album comes out of the chute with blues guns a-blazin' with Saw My Mama Cryin'. The tune lets you know straight away that you're in for a real treat.

It's hard not to go through and sing the praises of all 15 songs on this album. They're all great and worthy of endless listening. However, Blues For My Baby deserves special mention. The guitar work is superb and the lyrics bang-on.

Well, okay, another tune deserving of special mention is Recovery. Oh, and Lifestyle of the Rich and Famous and - ah, well, you get the point: the whole album is incredible. Buy the darn thing!

Be sure to check out the interview with Walter Trout at Boomerocity.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Blues Performance!, April 24, 2012
By 
M. Mariba "the teacher" (pretoria, south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blues for the Modern Daze (Audio CD)
Blues legend Walter Trout is back with a wonderful new CD release titled 'Blues For The Modern Daze'. He is certainly at his best in delivering these 15 great new songs in this CD : great blues guitar work, melody & vocals. Walter Trout provides wonderful guitar solos as in "Blues For My Baby" & "Brother's Keeper" among others that will thrill you to the bone & he is funny/humerous in the 48 seconds track "Puppet Master". Stand-outs/gems/solid tracks include "Saw My Mama Cryin'", "Lonely", "Blues For My Baby", "Recovery", "All I Want Is You", "Brother's Keeper", "Blues For The Modern Daze": title track, slow-tempo/laid-back song with great guitar finger pick-ups, great choice of a title track to this album & "Pray For Rain". Great tracks include "The Sky Is Fallin' Down" (great harmonica), "Never Knew You Well" (pop-ish blues track), "Puppet Master" & "Money Rules The World" (great guitar overdrive). Okay tracks include "You Can't Go Home Again", "Turn Off Your TV" & "Lifestyle Of The Rich And Famous".

On overall, this is a wonderful blues album by Walter Trout, I enjoyed it a lot. Last time a had this fun listening to a blues album was with the 2011 Warren Haynes' CD 'Man In Motion'. A well deserved 5 star performance & a highly recommended CD listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter Trouts "Blues For The Modern Daze", July 11, 2012
This review is from: Blues for the Modern Daze (Audio CD)
I very seldom write reviews. Expect typos/mis-spells from me. However, when a great, hard working Bues Artist such as Walter Trout finally hits Billboards Top 10 for over 2 months,as his own entity without any covers, and i read 1 crappy, unjustified, extremely judgemental review from a guy who is obviously stuck in his own little "Garden of Mysteries - In the Labyrinth" (yes, you know who you are), i'm not only going to give Walter the review i had planned, but then some. I wouldn't swet it Walt. Anyone who has followed Walts career knows that he has clawed his way up, never intending to ever reach the Top, but just being content with entertaining people world-wide for the sake of entertaining. The fact that he has played with more major Artists, on his stage, not thereis, speaks volumes. This latest album, with no covers, has meanigful as well as Spiritual lyrics, as well as possibly the finest guitar work he's ever performed. Walter ias a one take recording guy. He openly admits he does it spontaneously, and it won't ever come out exactly the same twice. Track #13; "Brother's Keeper", with a powerful message, as well astrack #7 "Turn Off Your TV", which we should all do more often, obviously passed right over Mister know it all's rediculously "broke down" review quoting Walters lyrics like he's this centurys newest prphet. Well Sir, you are completely wrong and obviously know nothing about real Blues music/lyrics. Walter has more than earned/worked for his dinner over the years, and continues to do so, with no ego what-so-ever. I do not need to defend Walter or his music anymore in this review. It speaks for itself, completely. I'd be giving Walter Trout & Family 10 stars +1 if it were possible. You are a true Friend Walt, and one of the finest human beings being i know, let alone Blues Artist. I bought the pre-release, knowing in advance i'd like it, let alone love it, and then see it climb the charts and stay there !! Congrats my Friend and an Honor well overdue. As for people of ignorance, like the one lousy reviewer so far, i haven't the time for his extra bagge, and i actually feel sad for him. Keep Rockin' Walter Trout & Blessings to All !!! Thank you. Respectfully, "Chuck" Charles E. Compton Sr. (RET) CW2 US Aemy Aviator and CEO Reef Rider Productions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walter Trout - Blues For The Modern Daze (Mascot Music, 2012), February 19, 2013
By 
This review is from: Blues for the Modern Daze (Audio CD)
Walter Trout was born five years after Blues legend Blind Willie Johnson died. Notwithstanding this fact, Mr. Johnson became major inspiration for Walter Trout to record Blues For The Modern Daze.

Trout cut his teeth in gigs behind John Lee Hooker, Big Mama Thornton, Pee Wee Crayton, Lowell Fulson and others. His debut release, Life In The Jungle, was immediate success in 1989 opening him opportunities to tour and record both in US and Europe.

Already an acclaimed Blues Rock star, Walter Trout felt he should go back to "first musical love" and for this reason he find an inspiration in Blind Willie Johnson's repertoire. Essence of classic songs like "Soul Of A Man", "Nobody's Fault But Mine" and others are driving this album.

All fourteen songs on this outing (plus one declamation, "Puppet Master") are written by Walter Trout and this fact, on its own, is demonstration of astonishing composing capabilities. Every song is deeply rooted in Blues, with no exception, and seasoned with accentuated guitar playing and relished voice through various styles thus representing outstanding exponent of the genre.

He's back to Blues roots after 23 years. Applaud!

pastblues.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter Trout...my new discovery!, September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blues for the Modern Daze (Vinyl)
I tried to branch out to other artists. I did this with Robin Trower, Alvin Lee and others. I was hooked on various artists but needed something else to balance out my musical needs. This guy, who I never heard of, astounds me. Very polished blues guitar and vocals. Worth looking closely into...very underated musician from Mayall's blues era. Worth owning this double quality LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff!, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you appreciate good rock blues, you can't go wrong with this.
Blues with a modern message that everyone should heed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album by Walter!, August 6, 2013
By 
R. Vincent (Southern New England, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Walter Trout is a great bluesman....soaring leads, and gritty, life worn vocals frame this collection of tunes, including the very witty "Turn Off Your TV", which is a hilariously sarcastic commentary on society today. When I previewed the tunes on this album, I couldn't wait to purchase it and add it to my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST WHERE DOES WALTER TROUT STOP?, July 18, 2013
By 
DRYWASHER-BILL (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blues for the Modern Daze (Audio CD)
One cannot fathom the relentless part of Walter Trout's music, or the will to keep going after his falls and those of his bandmates. Besides roady jobs, he's a regular at a Huntington Beach music bar. One never could know who's going to show up for the one- two- three nighter gig. At first, after seeing WT play the circuit consecutive times, one would think WT's out of tune and songs and into a grind of repetition, but that isn't true at all. Perhaps he's better at remembering how to play the whole spectrum of music he's written or borrowed (covers) than most any other musician that doesn't play their whole catalog at ever sitting. The result certainly isn't boring; even while watching some drunk play a beer bottle (no sounds) to the tune of whatever WT is playing at the time.

You'd think that WT was tired of the road, but they keep the gig going, no matter the location. To get the full scoop, one has to get the 14 or so cds and keep cranking them while driving down the road. In person, along with his players (local or not) the music gets right into your soul as if it were a RR track spike making its connection and pain known. Blues is around to mirror one's internal emotions, and the process leads to some relief from the downers and negativity, and then brightens the whole outlook after such concerts or renditions.

Besides this album, I'd look into John Mayall's 'Behind the Iron Curtain', who has WT and Coco Montoya playing on it. It is very inspiring, and once you know who's playing what, you'll be after more of it. RELENTLESS- yeah that describes Walter Trout, and just about anybody doing the gig with him!!!

(This review is a copy of the Relentless review. same style, different tunes, Walter Trout's heart is into his music and showmanship 100%). I always take Walter Trout's format to be something akin to praying to God in church. His music and lyrics bares his soul to the listener. He is wide open and is one of those musicians whose music connects with the listener on a spiritual plane. If his kids, or the kids of his fellow band-mates, are on, or near the set, chances are they'll be playing their own tunes with encouragement from the band. Nothing at all being wrong by being a mentor and a supporter. Old talent become the new talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothin' but the Best!, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though I had never heard of "Sir" Walter Trout, I will definitely be singing his praises. He is one of the best and tastiest blues/rock guitarist I have ever heard. This CD will be in my player for awhile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You GO Walter !!, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I lived most of my life in Southern California and have seen Walter many times at Perq's in Huntington Beach. He is always on fire and delivers a great time. He is one of the greatest "unknowns" in the U.S. What a shame. But....that's American radio for ya. Autotune & lipsyncing rule the airwaves. Anyways... I LOVE this CD. I LOVE it's political and humanitarian theme. Thank You Walter for speaking out against human injustice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blues for the Modern Daze
Blues for the Modern Daze by Walter Trout (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.