Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful cookbook, full of recipes for awesome food.
This is one of the more artistic cookbooks I have in my arsenal- it's gorgeous. The recipes themselves celebrate seasonality and, while they could be perhaps difficult for a novice, include clear instructions and deliver consistent results if followed.

If you put the time in to find the right ingredients, hone your technique, and follow the recipes, you can...
Published 5 months ago by Gerald J. Wyckoff

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated recipes from a chef
Occasionally, cookbooks written by restaurant chefs are user friendly for home cooks. Bluestem is not one of these. Many of the recipes are very good and you would welcome the results when dining out but not many you would think of creating in your own kitchen. You may undertake a few when entertaining, have a very large food budget and willing to spend considerable time...
Published on January 5, 2012 by George Erdosh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated recipes from a chef, January 5, 2012
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Occasionally, cookbooks written by restaurant chefs are user friendly for home cooks. Bluestem is not one of these. Many of the recipes are very good and you would welcome the results when dining out but not many you would think of creating in your own kitchen. You may undertake a few when entertaining, have a very large food budget and willing to spend considerable time looking for ingredients and in preparation but these recipes are not for everyday cooking. Take such simple food as gnocchi: you need to find "00" flour and fresh nettle leaves. You will need to find ingredients like Jonah crabmeat, togarashi and prepare cucumber juice to make Jonah Crab, for instance. For many recipes ingredients and preparations are available in the walk-in of a restaurant kitchen but hardly in a home kitchen. For some recipes you need as many as four different preparations before assembling the recipe (e.g. Pea Soup).||This is a large-format, beautifully illustrated cookbook, nicely designed having most recipes on a single or adjoining pages. But recipe writing was obviously done by professionals, using some equipment not accessible to home cooks and terminology few would understand. Instructions and index are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful cookbook, full of recipes for awesome food., April 11, 2014
By 
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is one of the more artistic cookbooks I have in my arsenal- it's gorgeous. The recipes themselves celebrate seasonality and, while they could be perhaps difficult for a novice, include clear instructions and deliver consistent results if followed.

If you put the time in to find the right ingredients, hone your technique, and follow the recipes, you can reward yourself with a beautiful meal. If you are more looking for inspiration for your own cooking, the photographs and recipes will certainly help with that as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting new cookbook!, July 27, 2013
By 
Kansas Cook "KC" (Leawood Kansas USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Beautifully written cookbook which provides terrific recipes as well as interesting narrative. I have eaten at RYE, the newest restaurant of these chefs and am delighted to have these recipes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 4, 2013
By 
Al Ott (Morse Bluff, Nebraska USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
After eating at the Bluestem with my daughter, I bought the book for her birthday gift and she bought a copy for my Mother's day gift. Boy were we both surprise!
Lovely restaurant and wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice couple, nice restaurant, nice dishes., December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Very likeable book how this couple make nice dishes from fresh and perfect ingredients. Contains nice recipes and more simple recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute biggest edition about cooking I've ever seen, November 3, 2012
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Reviewed by: DiabeticSnacker

Review Snippet: Chef Colby Garrelts also known as The Best Chef Midwest in culinary circles all over the US, along with Pastry Chef guru Megan Garrelts offer their own special spin of techniques with over 100 well thought out and timeless seasonal t recipes. This is by far the absolute biggest edition about cooking I've ever seen and it's called simply; Bluestem The Cookbook. If you want the biggest "Jaws" of cooking topics I think this might be the one. It's a complete and detailed compilation of the 2 Chef's works and they aren't holding anything back. They cover each season of the year with their hearty favorites. Each recipe uses easy to find spices so the meals are well seasoned and not hard to put together.

Full Review on Night Owl Reviews / © Night Owl Reviews

We received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book but challenging recipes, July 13, 2012
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
I totally agree with the other reviewer who gave this a 3 star rating. The pictures are gorgeous and it is written well. Since I don't have most of the ingredients in my pantry(& I suspect not very many home cooks do), it would be an expensive as well as challenging endeavor to recreate these masterpieces. I would rather go to a wonderful restaurant and enjoy a delicious meal prepared by someone who knows what they're doing! The good thing is that I borrowed the book from the library and before it's due, I will make the banana-pineapple tea cake and the malted strawberry macarons. I can't resist dessert recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bluestem's cookbook, December 8, 2011
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
The pictures in this cook are stunning. This beautiful user friendly cookbook can be used in the kitchen and serve well as a coffee table book. The way it's formatted makes it fun to flip through by season and feel inspired to create something wonderful. If you are ever in Kansas City, stop in to Bluestem for the real thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous cookbook, November 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
I absolutely love the restaurant and am delighted to have the cookbook. Colby and Megan are two of the most creative chefs I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, April 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bluestem: The Cookbook (Hardcover)
bluestem is an amazing restaurant here in Kansas City and this book does it justice. The photos and recipes are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bluestem: The Cookbook
Bluestem: The Cookbook by Colby Garrelts (Hardcover - November 8, 2011)
$45.00 $32.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.