Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 21, 2013
The rundown:

Just tried a bunch of these ranging from $20-$60:

HMDX jam bluetooth - third place - sounds awesome, it's the loudest of all tested as well. great bass and does not distort much even at the loudest volume. nice, solid weight. However a constant buzzing/fuzzy noise made this a no go. would be my second favorite if it didn't have the buzz. well priced at 35.

Satechi bluetooth audio cube - not loud at all, tinny sound, very little bass, sounds muffled. expected more from the large size of the unit(about 3.5*3.5") compared to others, and the positive reviews. looks cool. overpriced at 50 for sure.

Kinivo wired - not very loud but otherwise great sound. nice bass, clear highs. distorts a little at max volume. cool looking. great value at 20

Sharkk bluetooth - second place - a best buy at 27 bucks. sounds great, great bass, and not much distortion on max volume. not quite as loud as the jbl or hmdx. bland looking. Comparable volume to most of the others though.

JBL micro bluetooth - my favorite - first place. stylish, great volume, clear highs and good bass. Very user friendly and uses a manual volume dial so each time you turn it on it is at the previous volume. most reset to 50% every time you turn them off and back on. Bluetooth connectivity through walls is not quite as strong as others, the only con. Also can be used as a bluetooth adaptor/dongle which usually costs as much as this speaker alone. The 3.5mm out can plug into any home theater system. Nice spot to hang it up on a nail, making the sound project farther and louder. also has a small flat area on the side opposite the hook so it stands up by itself. It doesn't fall over even at max volume with bass heavy rap playing, meaning you can aim the speaker. This actually makes the speaker louder than the hmdx for actual usage. With extremely heavy bass music the mids and highs "fade out" a little bit at max volume since a single driver can only handle a certain amount of range. Otherwise it does not distort even at max volume. pricey at 60 but worth it. great battery life too, more than the advertised 5 hours.

August bluetooth - decent quality and bass, however distorts at fairly low volumes making it a no go. Similar to the sharkk in size, weight and sound.

Satechi BT wireless portable speaker - worst of all, distorts at the slightest bit of bass or volume. Instant no go and a rip off at 40 bucks. can also be used as a bluetooth dongle like the jbl though. Looks almost identical to the kinivo. has horrible buttons that perform multiple functions and are super sensitive leading accidental skipping of songs, turning off, etc. stay away from satechi.

Xmini - bluetooth drops easily. by far the lightest and smallest and has good sound for it's size but little bass and not too loud. If you want portability and lightweight this is the way to go. The alpatronix is small too but heavier. pricey at 40 for what you get.

Alpatronix bluetooth - sounds great, but distorts quickly with any bass heavy music. Also "walks" across the table with bass heavy songs unlike the others due to it's weight/bass ratio. Loud, like the jbl and hdmx. 40 bucks is too much unless you don't listen to anything but classical at low volumes.
55 comments|175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have tested a lot of small portable speakers and this is one of the best. Not only does it sound great but the construction quality and its features set it apart from the others in its class. The exterior is stainless steel and it is robustly built. It comes with a nice velour carrying bag, a charging cable, an instruction user guide and an auxiliary input cable.

The speaker can play your music three different ways which makes it a very versatile speaker. It has a Micro SD memory card slot so you can put a memory card directly into your speaker and play your songs without even using another electronic device. It also features Bluetooth 3.0 wireless connect-ability so you can connect it to your device and set it down and have it play music as long as you are within about 50 feet of the speaker. Bluetooth connection was fast and easy to accomplish. It will also play music with any electronic device with a 3.5 MM earplug jack can use the auxiliary cable to output your music to the speaker.

The built in 430 mAh battery Lithium-Ion polymer battery can operate the speaker for up to 5 hours on a single charge. It is rechargeable using your computer's USB port or any USB AC wall adapter that has a 5VDC power output and it will recharge in about 2 hours. The LED will be red when the speaker is charging and it will turn green when it is fully charged.

Ideal for the deck, the pool or a quick party, this speaker system produces high quality sound that you and your friends will enjoy. This makes an ideal gift for friends and family that travel and like their music. It is also ideal to listen to your audio books or podcasts. For its size it is the best that I have tested with the most features. This speaker is an excellent product and I rate it at 5 stars. I recommend it to you.

I received a sample for test and evaluation and I promised to provide a fair and honest review.
1313 comments|115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Fast shipping. Nice that it seemed already charged when i received it. SD card was tough to get it to lock in, but started up quick when it did click in. Not a big deal. Bluetooth took a little work, but after initial connection, worked really well anytime i turned the speaker on on near my phone. worked perfectly with computer. Surprisingly good sound. Took it camping, left in on in the rv, battery life was very good even at volume. again, Sound quality was better than good. Nice balanced, full sound - not lame or tinny like a knockoff. As heard from others, it did tend to restart a song now and then. Bottom line, I would definitely buy more for gifts. Its a little quirky and not perfect but overall more than worth what i paid. no regrets. It's a good one. really.

Update after using for a month. Still a great sounding little speaker but couple issues are bugging. The volume control is same button used for song change - short press to change song, long press to change volume. This is too quirky. separate controls would be better. Also, there is no low volume to it. the lowest setting is not really low. The SD card is really tough to get it to click in and stay. Battery life is very good.
11 comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
Even though I have not tested several mini speakers, I did spend a fair amount of time doing my research on what speaker to choose. I read the Sharkk Alloy steel housing was a great one, so my logic was the newer rubber one should be even better. I was truly disappointed after using/testing this product for the last 5 days.

I think it is an OK speaker if you do not care about sound quality and some other issues I will explain below. Overall, I would not recommend this to a friend, and this is why I am returning it.

Other reviewers are impressed by the (high) volume the Sparkk is capable to develop, but what about sound quality? The Sharkk has 2 main drawbacks: 1) it is noisy and 2) is mono (not stereo).

Regarding the first point. Pair your Bluetooth device (phone, iPod, etc) with the mini speaker. Under normal operation, mute your device (not the speaker). What you will hear is the Sharkk's (white) noise, which is always present and decreases the quality of your songs (especially if you prefer soft music). When it comes to the second point, the future is Stereo speakers; the difference is night and day (and I say it by experience).

The Sharkk speakers seem sturdy at first impression, but the quality of the buttons does not. Anyway, long use will provide the ultimate word on this topic. Also, the battery life is really good (about 5+ hours).

Things I would suggest to improve:

1) Treble: The treble is quite high. I understand this is not a complex sound system, but it would be nice to adjust it via Bluetooth or something with an app.
2) Volume up/down: the volume setting should take less than 1 sec, and changing songs should be longer than 1 second. Currently it is the other way around.
3) Bluetooth: I am against direct, automatic connectivity between Bluetooth devices. This is especially troublesome when there is more than 1 source device at home (usually you have 1 phone, your partner another, etc). Each source device should be able to pair the Sharkk manually, so that you do not need to turn off a given Bluetooth device for the other one to connect to the Sharkk.

Last but not least, customer support was very friendly.

Thanks for reading. I hope it helps...
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
IMPORTANT FAILURE UPDATE* The SHARKK Portable Bluetooth Mini Speaker, Alloy Steel Housing, Powerful Loud and Clear Sound with Bass. Reads Music From SD Cards And Has Built in Mic. Has Built In Rechargeable Battery. This describes the speaker I received. Looks nothing like the picture supplied with this review. Everyone to whom I have demonstrated this speaker to is amazed by its performance. I am very pleased by its size, ease of operation, its many features, battery life, volume level, and appearance. I haven't found a single thing not to like about this tiny, good sounding bluetooth/direct/SD card speaker. Highly Recommended!
Forgot to mention that it works great with the iPhone, pauses, answers, and sounds good on both ends of the conversation.
Edited on 7/27/13. The picture is now correct.
This speaker continues to perform better than I expected. I use it daily to listen to podcast on the iPhone and iPad. Late at night I have been using it as a "more quiet" speaker while watching movies on my iMac. Never a battery problem.
*The SHARKK Portable Bluetooth Mini Speaker HAS FAILED COMPLETELY TODAY, SEPT. 10, AFTER ABOUT 6 WEEKS OF DAILY USE, THE SHARKK QUIT IN THE MIDDLE OF A MOVIE PLAYING ON MY iPAD. THE SHARKK MADE A KIND OF A BURP SOUND AND WENT SILENT. THE FAILURE IS PROBABLY THE AUDIO AMP SINCE THE BLUETOOTH STILL CONNECTS. THERE IS NO SOUND USING BLUETOOTH, USING AN SD CARD, OR USING THE AUDIO DIRECT CABLE. SINCE IT LASTED TWO WEEKS PAST THE RETURN PERIOD, I'M STUCK WITH A $40 PAPER WEIGHT. NO LONGER RECOMMENDED!!!
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have tested a lot of small portable speakers and this is one of the best. Not only does it sound great but the construction quality and its features set it apart from the others in its class. The exterior is rubber coated alloy steel and it is robustly built. It comes with a nice velour carrying bag, a charging cable, an instruction user guide and an auxiliary input cable.

The speaker can play your music three different ways which makes it a very versatile speaker. It has a Micro SD memory card slot so you can put a memory card directly into your speaker and play your songs without even using another electronic device. It also features Bluetooth 3.0 wireless connect-ability so you can connect it to your device and set it down and have it play music as long as you are within about 50 feet of the speaker. Inside of a home and shooting through multiple walls I was able to get about 35 to 40 feet away from the Bluetooth music source. Bluetooth connection was fast and easy to accomplish. It will also play music with any electronic device with a 3.5 MM earplug jack can use the auxiliary cable to output your music to the speaker.

The built in 430 mAh battery Lithium-Ion polymer battery can operate the speaker for up to 5 hours on a single charge. It is rechargeable using your computer's USB port or any USB AC wall adapter that has a 5VDC power output and it will recharge in about 2 hours. The LED will be red when the speaker is charging and it will turn green when it is fully charged. The speaker weighs 9 ounces.

The speaker has a built in microphone that allows you to take phone calls and hear your caller on the speaker and talk to the speaker to carry on your conversation. Your caller's voice is clear and the caller can hear you clearly also.

Ideal for the deck, the pool or a quick party, this speaker system produces high quality sound that you and your friends will enjoy. The treble is clear and crisp and the bass is solid and strong. This makes an ideal gift for friends and family that travel and like their music. It is also ideal to listen to your audio books or podcasts. For its size it is one of the best that I have tested with the most features. This speaker is an excellent product and I rate it at 5 stars. I recommend it to you.

I received a sample for test and evaluation and I promised to provide a fair and honest review.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
Lets cut to the chase. after two months speaker battery life diminished. A week or two later and the speaker began sounding terrible. A few days later and the speaker was dead, wouldn't charge, work while plugged in, and no lights would turn on. I have uploaded two customer images showing the battery failure inside the speaker.

I contacted SHARKK on 8/15/2014 and I am awaiting a response.

I do have good things to say about this speaker as well, but in the interest of keeping this review short and warning buyers and owners that the battery can fail and may be a fire hazard, I'll just say that many of the good reviews you will read about this speaker are true, it sounds good and is built like a tank. I just hope the battery doesn't pose a fire hazard! and I miss my decent Bluetooth speaker!

UPDATE:
shortly after contacting sharkk about this failure I was issued a replacement. The replacement works better than I remember and I am more than happy with how quickly they answered my emails. I would not hesitate to buy from this company again as they really stand behind their products!
review image review image
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
This thing sounds great! The Bluetooth pairs instantly and sounds great! It has a good bass to it as well. We also tried the speaker phone and it sounds just as good as any other Bluetooth headset I have tried. Its small. LOUD and sounds great! I will definitely buy another one!!
UPDATE:
I had an issue with my first speaker but Sharkk contacted me and after I described what the speaker was doing they sent me a free replacement! Excellent customer service!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have tested a lot of small portable speakers and this is one of the best. Not only does it sound great but the construction quality and its features set it apart from the others in its class. The exterior is rubberized alloy steel and it is ruggedly built. You can feel the difference when you hold it in your hand. It weighs in at 8 and 3/8 ounces. It comes with a nice velour carrying bag, a charging cable that is 32 inches long, an auxiliary input cable that is 32 inches long and an instruction user guide.

The speaker can play your music three different ways which makes it a very versatile speaker. It has a Micro SD memory card slot so you can put a memory card directly into your speaker and play your songs without even using another electronic device. You can put hundreds or even thousands of MP3 songs on one Micro SD chip. It also features Bluetooth 4.0 wireless connect-ability so you can connect it to your device and set it down and have it play music as long as you are within about 33 feet of the speaker. Bluetooth connection was fast and easy to accomplish. It will also play music with any electronic device with a 3.5 mm earplug jack that can use the auxiliary cable to output your music to the speaker. The built in microphone allows you to answer and make hands free calls using the speaker.

The built in 430 mAh battery Lithium-Ion polymer battery can operate the speaker for up to 5 hours on a single charge. It is rechargeable using your computer's USB port or any USB AC wall adapter that has a 5VDC power output and it will recharge in about 2 hours. You can even recharge the speaker using any USB car charger that you own. The LED will be red when the speaker is charging and it will turn green when it is fully charged.

This highly portable design allows you to take it to the deck, the pool or a quick party. The speaker produces high quality sound that you and your friends will enjoy. This makes an ideal gift for friends and family that travel and like their music. It is also ideal to listen to your audio books or podcasts or even to listen to movies as you watch them. For its size it is the best that I have tested with the most features. This speaker is an excellent product and I rate it at 5 stars. I recommend it to you.

I was supplied a sample for test and evaluation. A review was not promised to the supplier in exchange for the sample.
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
This Device is one of the highest quality bluetooth portable speakers. My friends and I tested its range and it went acoss a big multi purpose type room quite a few feet from the device that was connected to it. It is also buit out of mostly metal where as other companies such as "brookstone" and "iHome" make their devices out of plastic. This device puts out sound quality of double speaker system by the companies listed above and is only one speaker. It would probably be beaten out only by "Bos'e". So would I recommend this, yes. Its also a frcation of the cost of most opther companies. It also has an awesome feature tell s you about its battery life through the iPads. It has three playback modes: bluetooth, aux-in (w/included 3.5mm cable, and micro SD Card). It also doubles as a microphone for making calls while in a car or at home also works for record music or other things. I held a hands free conversation with my dad in the car by placing this in a cup holder. It is top notch product. It is worth more than the 5 stars available to give.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 110 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.