Blurred Lines [Explicit]

July 30, 2013 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Digital Booklet: Blurred Lines
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: July 30, 2013
  • Release Date: July 30, 2013
  • Label: Star Trak / Interscope
  • Copyright: (C) 2013 Star Trak, LLC
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 42:34
  • Genres:
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • ASIN: B00E0FP916
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (487 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,962 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Very catchy fun music.
M J Hess
I'm sure I will get a lot of pleasure from listening to this CD.
Vicki C. Presley
This is one of his best albums ever.
Carole Thomas

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful By Tom on September 1, 2013
Format: Audio CD
I must say, lots of the reviews of the album that I am seeing are not really reviews, just one line sentences. And since this is the biggest song of the summer, I believe that this album deserves a proper review.

I have known Robin Thicke since 2008's Something Else. I always thought that it was a pretty good record, with nice production and a fresh sound. I never really followed him after that, until of course I heard Blurred Lines.

If you enjoy the disco/funk sound, than you most likely really liked this song. Catchy lyrics, good beats on the drums, it had everything fit for a summer song. Of course, fit it with a controversial Music Video, and you've got yourself a smash. Now, I am finding myself reviewing his brand new album. In a usual Thicke album, many of the songs are ballads, which is not a bad thing per say, but this album is up-tempo which is nice.

1- Blurred Lines- Heck of a song! It is catchy, the production is really nice , do I need to say more? 8.5/10

2-Take It Easy On Me- This track was produced by Timbaland, and I must say, this was not one of their best works. Coming off of a masterfully produced album known as "The 20/20 Experience" by Justin Timberlake (Seriously, Suit & Tie and Strawberry Bubblegum sound fantastic) but this song is just flat. This is not Thicke's best work, but not his worst either. That'll come later. It's not bad either, I'm sure it'll work in clubs, but I could have done without this track. 6/10

3-Ooo La La- The first of the Disco produced tracks. Thicke is now back in his element, and it sure sounds nice. This song reminds me a little of Blame It On The Boogie by- The Jacksons, and not in a bad way. 9/10

4- Ain't No Hat 4 That- The stand out track in my opinion.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
53 of 64 people found the following review helpful By Perverted Alchemist on July 30, 2013
Format: Audio CD
If there is something one can say about Robin Thicke, it's his tenacity to craft good pop songs without really trying. Through his early days as a songwriter and producer, he worked with Brandy, Brownstone, Sam Salter and Jordan Knight while barely being out of high school. In 2003, he released his debut "A Beautiful World"- an album that was an unusual hybrid of funk and psychedelic rock. He found his voice on his breakthrough sophomore effort "The Evolution Of Robin Thicke", where he would move into the territory of resident balladeer. He followed those up with 2008's "Something Else" and the 2009 about face "Sex Therapy", before settling in as a balladeer again on "Love After War". In spite of drawing a direct influence from Marvin Gaye, Robin has always had a dirty little secret. Behind those ballads was a man just waiting for the right time to unleash his inner dancing machine. He let his love for disco come through in spurts (See: The Walter Murphy sampling "When I Get You Alone", his 2008 single "Magic" and 2009's "Make U Love Me"). However, he decides to let it all out in the open in reference to his love for all things disco on his new album "Blurred Lines".

On this recording, Robin works with his longtime collaborator James "Pro J" Gass. However, he turns the production talents over to other people as well. He works with Pharrell Williams for the second time on the T.I. featured title track "Blurred Lines". Timbaland produces the Middle Eastern influenced song "Take It Easy On Me", while Dr. Luke (Ke$ha, Katy Perry, Avril Lavigne) produces the graphic Kendrick Lamar featured "Give It 2 U". On the song "Ooo La La", Robin falls in love with a woman who has him wrapped around her finger.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
48 of 59 people found the following review helpful By Raze on July 31, 2013
Format: MP3 Music
Robin Thicke has remained consistent in producing quality music, he continues to do so with his latest concoction Blurred Lines. As others have mentioned, the album Blurred Lines is heavily influenced by Prince, Marvin Gaye, and elements of disco. This isn't necessarily a bad decision on Thicke's part, he somewhat went with different formula; he incorporated other solid producers such as Timbaland, Pharrell Williams, and Will.I.Am, the disco laced, head-bobbing tracks fused with Thicke's voice, and his niche for creative songs, definitely delivers a solid, fast paced, upbeat album. Blurred Lines definitely delivers a different sound. The songs may not have the same depth as some of his past albums, but the writing is far from juvenile as others have stated. Personally, I was somewhat turned-off with some of the lyrics on two songs; Blurred Lines, "you're the hottest b*tch in this place..."; and Give It 2 U, "I've got a big d*ck for U...". Referencing women as "b*tches" isn't being explicit, but outright disrespectful. It's one thing to reference sexuality in song, sexuality is cool, we all can appreciate and relate to sex. However, the lyric content on Give It 2 U isn't explicit, it's lack of class and vulgar. I suppose that's what the parental advisory sticker on the album cover is about. I would have rated the album with four stars, but due to the aforementioned fractures, I rate the album with three stars. Robin Thicke has enough talent that he doesn't need to succumb to such classless devices to sell songs, etc. Hopefully, this will not be a reoccurring theme for Thicke, and he remains true to his roots of producing timeless music. Again, in spite of the two fractures aforementioned, I view Blurred Lines as fun, party like, music that grabs you to move. Definitely an album to press play and let it go.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?