Customer Reviews


465 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Honest review...
I must say, lots of the reviews of the album that I am seeing are not really reviews, just one line sentences. And since this is the biggest song of the summer, I believe that this album deserves a proper review.

I have known Robin Thicke since 2008's Something Else. I always thought that it was a pretty good record, with nice production and a fresh sound. I...
Published 15 months ago by Tom

versus
48 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consistent... Yet, Fractured.
Robin Thicke has remained consistent in producing quality music, he continues to do so with his latest concoction Blurred Lines. As others have mentioned, the album Blurred Lines is heavily influenced by Prince, Marvin Gaye, and elements of disco. This isn't necessarily a bad decision on Thicke's part, he somewhat went with different formula; he incorporated other solid...
Published 16 months ago by Raze


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Honest review..., September 1, 2013
This review is from: Blurred Lines (Audio CD)
I must say, lots of the reviews of the album that I am seeing are not really reviews, just one line sentences. And since this is the biggest song of the summer, I believe that this album deserves a proper review.

I have known Robin Thicke since 2008's Something Else. I always thought that it was a pretty good record, with nice production and a fresh sound. I never really followed him after that, until of course I heard Blurred Lines.

If you enjoy the disco/funk sound, than you most likely really liked this song. Catchy lyrics, good beats on the drums, it had everything fit for a summer song. Of course, fit it with a controversial Music Video, and you've got yourself a smash. Now, I am finding myself reviewing his brand new album. In a usual Thicke album, many of the songs are ballads, which is not a bad thing per say, but this album is up-tempo which is nice.

1- Blurred Lines- Heck of a song! It is catchy, the production is really nice , do I need to say more? 8.5/10

2-Take It Easy On Me- This track was produced by Timbaland, and I must say, this was not one of their best works. Coming off of a masterfully produced album known as "The 20/20 Experience" by Justin Timberlake (Seriously, Suit & Tie and Strawberry Bubblegum sound fantastic) but this song is just flat. This is not Thicke's best work, but not his worst either. That'll come later. It's not bad either, I'm sure it'll work in clubs, but I could have done without this track. 6/10

3-Ooo La La- The first of the Disco produced tracks. Thicke is now back in his element, and it sure sounds nice. This song reminds me a little of Blame It On The Boogie by- The Jacksons, and not in a bad way. 9/10

4- Ain't No Hat 4 That- The stand out track in my opinion. Great production (the percussion, keyboards, Robin's lyrics all sound pretty darn good) This song tells a story, which I always enjoy. Good disco, this song has it all! 10/10

5-Get In My Way- This one's good as well, in has a nice Kool & The Gang/ Earth Wind & Fire sound to it. 9/10

6-Give It 2 U- This song, in one word, sucks. It's a bomb. Insta-skipper. Dumb lyrics (I got a big d*ck for you) This is very surprising for Robin Thicke to be writing such as crappy song like this. 0/10

7-Feel Good- Robin is succeeding with the club sound here. Unlike Give It 2 U or Take It Easy On Me, he sounds like he is at ease, and comfortable. Fun track. 8.5/10

8-For The Rest Of My Life- The only ballad on this album, this one channels all his previous albums. Good ballad, nothing much to say. 8/10

9-Top Of The World- This is a great song to listen to on the road. Enjoyable, that's all I've got to say. 8/10

10-The Good Life- Great way to finish the album. I wonder if the lyrics to this song are autobiographical for Thicke? Who knows, but I know that it was a great decision to finish off the album with a Motown feel, similar to Bruno Mars on his latest album. 9/10

CONCLUSION

All in all, I enjoyed this album. Even though there are some stinkers on it, I believe that the positives outway the negatives on this album, and honestly, I don't think that this album disappoints, and is quite enjoyable. Hence, why I'm giving it a
4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Thicke pulls inspiration from disco on "Blurred Lines", July 30, 2013
This review is from: Blurred Lines (Audio CD)
If there is something one can say about Robin Thicke, it's his tenacity to craft good pop songs without really trying. Through his early days as a songwriter and producer, he worked with Brandy, Brownstone, Sam Salter and Jordan Knight while barely being out of high school. In 2003, he released his debut "A Beautiful World"- an album that was an unusual hybrid of funk and psychedelic rock. He found his voice on his breakthrough sophomore effort "The Evolution Of Robin Thicke", where he would move into the territory of resident balladeer. He followed those up with 2008's "Something Else" and the 2009 about face "Sex Therapy", before settling in as a balladeer again on "Love After War". In spite of drawing a direct influence from Marvin Gaye, Robin has always had a dirty little secret. Behind those ballads was a man just waiting for the right time to unleash his inner dancing machine. He let his love for disco come through in spurts (See: The Walter Murphy sampling "When I Get You Alone", his 2008 single "Magic" and 2009's "Make U Love Me"). However, he decides to let it all out in the open in reference to his love for all things disco on his new album "Blurred Lines".

On this recording, Robin works with his longtime collaborator James "Pro J" Gass. However, he turns the production talents over to other people as well. He works with Pharrell Williams for the second time on the T.I. featured title track "Blurred Lines". Timbaland produces the Middle Eastern influenced song "Take It Easy On Me", while Dr. Luke (Ke$ha, Katy Perry, Avril Lavigne) produces the graphic Kendrick Lamar featured "Give It 2 U". On the song "Ooo La La", Robin falls in love with a woman who has him wrapped around her finger. "Ain't No Hat 4 That" shows him dealing with a woman who would rather indulge in the finer things in life instead of falling in love. He sings of moving forward with being successful on "Get In My Way", while channeling the sounds of house music on the will.i.am produced "Feel Good". Even though most of the songs are uptempo, he does deliver ballads toward the end of the album. He brings in the dedication to his wife, actress Paula Patton on "For The Rest Of My Life" and eschews fortune and fame for love on "The Good Life". Overall, Robin Thicke made an excellent recording with "Blurred Lines". While he says it's the album he always wanted to make, it's really the kind of album he should have done a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consistent... Yet, Fractured., July 31, 2013
Robin Thicke has remained consistent in producing quality music, he continues to do so with his latest concoction Blurred Lines. As others have mentioned, the album Blurred Lines is heavily influenced by Prince, Marvin Gaye, and elements of disco. This isn't necessarily a bad decision on Thicke's part, he somewhat went with different formula; he incorporated other solid producers such as Timbaland, Pharrell Williams, and Will.I.Am, the disco laced, head-bobbing tracks fused with Thicke's voice, and his niche for creative songs, definitely delivers a solid, fast paced, upbeat album. Blurred Lines definitely delivers a different sound. The songs may not have the same depth as some of his past albums, but the writing is far from juvenile as others have stated. Personally, I was somewhat turned-off with some of the lyrics on two songs; Blurred Lines, "you're the hottest b*tch in this place..."; and Give It 2 U, "I've got a big d*ck for U...". Referencing women as "b*tches" isn't being explicit, but outright disrespectful. It's one thing to reference sexuality in song, sexuality is cool, we all can appreciate and relate to sex. However, the lyric content on Give It 2 U isn't explicit, it's lack of class and vulgar. I suppose that's what the parental advisory sticker on the album cover is about. I would have rated the album with four stars, but due to the aforementioned fractures, I rate the album with three stars. Robin Thicke has enough talent that he doesn't need to succumb to such classless devices to sell songs, etc. Hopefully, this will not be a reoccurring theme for Thicke, and he remains true to his roots of producing timeless music. Again, in spite of the two fractures aforementioned, I view Blurred Lines as fun, party like, music that grabs you to move. Definitely an album to press play and let it go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, July 30, 2013
By 
In my opinion this is Robin's best album to date! I have all of his previous efforts and I have to say this album has a nice groove and just enough songs. A few of my favs are Feels Good - Ooh La La - Get In My Way - Give it To Me...in addition to of course Blurred Lines. If you are on the fence i would encourage you to give this CD a try, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Song of 2013!, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blurred Lines (MP3 Music)
I'm a 66 year old woman who is nuts about this song. It runs through my head day and night. Catchy beat grabs you and doesn't let go. Robin Thicke has finally arrived and everybody knows he's here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Album not clean as advertised, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blurred Lines (Audio CD)
Beware! not clean as advertised so I can't play CD with kids in car. Most content will go over small children's heads. Profanity they can hear. Great album but disappointed about the false advertisement of a clean version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thicke yet Thin, September 30, 2013
By 
MVD (BALTIMORE, MARYLAND United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blurred Lines (Audio CD)
It's a Thin Line between love and Hate. I love the vibe of Blurred lines but hate the fact that it is just Got To Give It up. Marvin Gaye is one of my all time favorites so I know it when I hear it. There is no way to miss it. The rest of the CD is just hype with exception of Aint No Hat 4 That & Get In My Way are just watered down. His first CD made me believe he wanted to be a real artist but this sounds like Memorex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blurred Lines - Best Album thus far, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blurred Lines (Audio CD)
Robin Thicke's new album rocks! If you like old R&B or Marvin Gaye with a twist, this album will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crude and Misogynistic, September 10, 2013
Being a married man and father, you'd think Robin Thicke would have enough sense to call it quits. Color me unimpressed with his womanizing lyrics, referring to us ladies as "animals" and implying that even if we don't want sex he knows we "want it" because it's "in our nature" and we're all good girls who need screwed to serve our purpose. Excuse me for not buying into that. It's unfortunate that such catchy beats are wasted on disgusting, sexist lyrics. I don't have the stomach to listen to any of his other music, but if what I'm reading is true and Blurred Lines is at the top of the pack, I'd say his music isn't worth anyone's time or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thicke headed disco fare, July 30, 2013
This review is from: Blurred Lines (Audio CD)
Robin Thicke has been recording for awhile now, but he finally connected big time with the audience on this upbeat recording aimed squarely at the dancefloor. Borrowing heavily from Marvin Gaye to Prince, Thicke keeps the beat pulsating and the lyrics deep as dishwater. I mean, there is no signs of intelligent life in this modern day disco celebration. Or as writer Gail Walker reviews "Blurred Lines" in the Belfast Telegraph, "We are at a crossroads where music and porn are rapidly fusing into one entity."

Take a song like "Go Stupid 4 U" -- hmmm, stupid is a good word for it. "Give it 2 u" is simply tasteless. Multiple people including Thicke are credited with writing this drivel. Robin Thicke is a talented artist capable of greater work than this. But for the summer of 2013, you'll have a hard time finding any better dance music. As Robin asks in the hit "Blurred Lines" "Hey, hey, hey, You wanna hug me, Hey, hey, hey, What rhymes with hug me?" Could one imagine Barry Gibbs, on his worst day, during the Bee Gees disco era creating such embarrassing mediocre lyrics as this?

Remember the old school phrase, "It has a good beat, you can dance to it." That's mostly what "Blurred Lines" has going for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blurred Lines
Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.