Professional restaurant supplies BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars12
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 2, 2006
In the 2nd book in the Bath & Body Mystery Series, it appears as though Persia and her Aunt Florence are struggling to keep Venus Envy afloat. A rival boutique has moved into town, taking a lot of customers with it. Bebe's Belles, a group of cutthroat saleswomen for the new store, Bebe's Boutique, will stop at nothing to make a quick sale. And when all of the roses that are grown organically for Venus Envy's custom blends are sabotaged with pesticide, Persia starts to feel as though she is being personally attacked. When the store's computer is hacked into, and her fragrance journal is stolen, Persia will stop at nothing to win back her customers and save the business. Does that include murder? A saleswoman for Bebe is murdered, and Persia must work overtime to clear her name, and put a stop to the underhanded dealings of Bebe's Belles.

This was a great sequel! I enjoy both the strong character of Persia and her relationship with her aunt (although the nickname "Imp" seemed a bit out of character for Persia and slightly annoyed me). The mystery was good and the characters likable. There is a bit of a new romance for Persia...and I was surprised to see a bit of a rebellious side to her. Sporting a fairy tattoo and body piercings, she is not your everyday cozy character. However, she is smart, tough, and loyal to the end...which is a great formula for any good cozy detective.

Included in the book is information regarding blending your own custom fragrances, and stress reduction. This series is a light, fun read.

The first book in the series is called "Scent to Her Grave". Enjoy!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 7, 2006
A really cute second installment in the Bath and Body mysteries. Persia and her aunt are having financial woes at venus Envy and they find out it is due to another cutthroat beauty maven in town. This lady will stop at nothing to get on top. She poisens the roses, steals formulas and maybe murder?

When a pushy saleswoman gets murdered and a friend is being framed, Persia goes undercover to try to find out what is going on and to get her fragrance journal back, but she bites off more than she can chew this time.

Old and new friends join in this cute second installment of the Series. Cute and won't disappoint.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2006
The second installment in the Bath and Body mysteries does not disappoint! Not only do we get a great mystery that had me guessing up until the end but we learn alot about Persia, her feelings, motivations and character.

An exciting mystery and a fascinating character study? What could make this better. Some great recipes for easy to make homemade potpourri and oils.

Highly reccommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 2, 2008
Persia and her aunt own and operate a bath and body shop, Venus Envy. The shop is an honest business and uses only good-quality ingredients. They even have a huge rose garden so that they can use fresh roses in some of the products that they make. Their shop seems like paradise!

Persia and her aunt are the coolest people I've ever known! Not only are they honest people, but Persia is positive and confident and works out and she can occasionally indulge in foods she otherwise couldn't. Her wonderful aunt raised her, and she is an extension of her aunt. And in addition to all that, Persia (like me) has a very strong sense of smell, and a side effect to that is a strong sense of taste.

Now on with the story line: It appears that a competitor cosmetic and fragrance company is trying to put Venus Envy (and other fragrance companies) out of business. Horrible things are happening at Venus Envy. I won't tell you exactly what is happening, because I don't want to ruin the book for you. But it does appear that someone is trying to wreck the company.

Persia and her aunt are determined to find out who is doing this, and to find substantial proof of who their enemies are. They go to great measures to find out.

I cannot sing enough praise for this incredible, wonderful book. It is positive; Persia and her aunt deeply and truly love each other; the book is sensual and comforting; and I can almost smell the roses.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 11, 2006
Persia and Aunt Florence are struggling to keep Venus Envy open. Why? Bebe Wilcox has opened her own boutique and is hell bent on putting everyone else out of business. She and her workers stop at nothing. They steal and sabotage without so much as a second thought.

Then one of Bebe's pushy saleswomen ends up dead. The "game" has advanced to a new level.

In an attempt to save Venus Envy, Persia and her aunt stage a public falling out. Persia applies at Bebe's Boutique and is hired. Can she snoop around without getting caught? Can she find the stolen goods and enough evidence to put Bebe away and close down her shop for good? Can she do all this before the killer finds out and comes after her?

I like Persia. She is a fun character and very well constructed by the author. She is three-dimensional and her friends and aunt are terrific as well. I love the small-town feel of this book. The boutique is a great setting for the story. The feud between the two boutiques is very believable and there are plenty of twists and turns in the plot to keep you guessing. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2011
This is a well-written, mainstream whodunit that will be enjoyed by almost any reader who enjoys this genre. The only reason I'm posting this review at all is that a couple of previous reviewers have, inexplicably, objected to the book on the grounds of language and sex. Let me assure anyone who reads this review, that those previous reviewers are WAY outside the mainstream of society on this point. If this book were turned, verbatim, into a movie, it would receive a PG13 rating. There is nothing in it that would make me even slightly uncomfortable in giving it to a 15-year-old to read. Unless you confine your reading to Dr. Seuss and Jan Karon's appalling "Mitford" series, there is nothing in this book that will even make you blink.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2006
The second in the Bath and Body Series can be read independently and enjoyed on its own but fits great in the series. Relationships developed in the first book evolve naturally and new characters appear to add intrigue and romance.

The plot centers around corporate espionage in the beauty industry. Venus Envy, the spa owned and operated by the main character Persia and her aunt Florence, is struggling to make ends meet and being outdone by a new player in town - Bebe.

The first part of the book is a little slow for readers who've read the first book. The final showdown between Bebe and Persia is, however, intriguing and entertaining. Overall the book is a good second in the series and leaves you anxious for the next book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2006
If profanity, cavalier sex and New Age attitudes don't bother you then, you might like this series. But if you like your cozies G-Rated, then this series probably isn't for you. Possibly only PG-17, this second installment in the Bath & Body Mysteries series is peppered with profanity and casual sex. Although parts of the plot were a bit weak (the altercation between Aunt Florence & Persia), it was interesting enough to keep me reading until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
Igave this book 5 stars because it kept my interest and I did not want to put it down. I love all of this authors work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
I love Yasmine Galenorn, her writing as India Ink brings a new world to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.