Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five star game with developer reviews and some Cons that you should review!
This is simple and cute where the objective is to cut the strands of the spider's web and free the insects. This is a puzzle game with you against the spiders. You gain other tools like the ability to freeze the spider but there can also be multiple spiders. You can freeze each one but you still have to have a good strategy and they move quickly and they work in teams...
Published on September 2, 2012 by jjceo

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the game is fine, just not for me
the concept for this game is simple: "cut" pieces of web to prevent the spiders from getting to the insects. cute, but didn't capture my interest or imagination. seemed to load well and play without any hitches.
Published on September 2, 2012 by j. daugherty


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five star game with developer reviews and some Cons that you should review!, September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
This is simple and cute where the objective is to cut the strands of the spider's web and free the insects. This is a puzzle game with you against the spiders. You gain other tools like the ability to freeze the spider but there can also be multiple spiders. You can freeze each one but you still have to have a good strategy and they move quickly and they work in teams. As the webs get bigger you can pan and zoom if you need to see more detail.

The graphics are good and the audio is OK. The music is OK and the bugs make cute sounds when they are in danger. The game is challenging and fun. There is a hint button but it takes coins to use it. I quickly earned coins and had enough but I didn't use the hint button as I liked the challenge.

Settings are simple; they are either Easy or Hard. The game has four level groups, Aztec Bait with 36 levels, Deep Fear, Hunting, and an Abducted group. Overall there are 144 levels in the game that should keep you busy for a while. I could find no spyware or data mining in the game. The game has played perfectly on my Kindle Fire without any issues.

This is a 5 star game as it is cute and challenging. I have listed some Cons below that can easily be fixed by the developer that would make me a lot happier.

Cons:
* Fake reviews to start the day. One even used his real name and he is one of the developers. You don't need to do this as it is just a turn off for many people. You should remove your own reviews as they are against Amazon regulations and rules and it is really unethical.
* The game stores itself into your Kindle Fire memory reserved for books and other personal data. I don't like this as Amazon has reserved memory space for apps so they don't interfere with your other data. That memory is where this game should be stored. The game uses 19.783 MB of data in the book location and 1.67 MB in the app storage location.
* The app has a link to You Tube to show you a cute intro video. I don't like YouTube access for children as there is just too much on YouTube that is dangerous or done in poor taste.

The plus symbol does:
* Information
* The film strip takes you to a very short video on YouTube.
* Facebook - if you post you get five extra coins.

Permissions:
Network Communications - full internet access
Network Communication - view network state
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging puzzle strategy, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
On my first look at this game, I had the wrong idea. It looked like I was going to be up against the clock in striving to free the bugs from the spiders.

I was wrong. This is a turn based strategy puzzle where you have to outthink the spiders and limit their paths to the bugs until you either free the strands which traps the bugs or trap the spiders so that they have no path to the bugs.

It gets challenging pretty quickly, and will definitely test your ability to think ahead. As screens go by, the number of spiders per puzzle increase, but your ability to eliminate spider strands stays the same. However, you do pick up other tools to use, starting with the ability to freeze a spider for a couple of moves.

As you accomplish feats in the game you pick up coins, which can be used to buy hints to puzzles that you haven't been able to solve.

This is one cool little game, and one that could easily hold my attention for far longer than many of these apps do. I put it right up there with "Cut the Rope", although this one is 100% strategy, whereas "Cut the Rope" has some arcade style timing action to go along with the strategy.

I ran this app on a Kindle Fire HD 8.9 with no performance issues, other than my own occasional inability to outthink some spiders. There are some reviews which reported that the app locked up, but they all appear to be a year old. I'm guessing that problem was fixed.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent game that in my opinion only has one real problem - the unnecessary network permissions., September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
Greedy Spiders 2 is the FAOTD that I have been waiting for. It is a family friendly game that has excellent sound, graphics, and music, as well as addicting and challenging gameplay.

Your main object is to free all the bugs before the spiders eat them, or to trap these creepy crawlies with nowhere to go. This is all accomplished by cutting away pieces of their web.
The first few levels are incredibly simple, and serve as a good introductory tutorial to the game, but once power ups and multiple spiders enter the mix - it becomes really fun to free the critters before their time runs out.

What I like most about this game is the fact that each and every level has many solutions, and you are rewarded for being clever. Solving a level with a three star rating (perfect) unlocks the next three levels for you to play with. Solving a level with a "better than three star" rating gives you coins that you can use to make other levels easier! Way to go developers! I really enjoyed seeing "better than three stars" pop up on my screen, and the rewards this message brought.

Another thing the game has going for it are the great cartoony graphics and animations. The flies will sweat and squirm when spiders get close, stick out their tongue if you freeze a spider just before meal time, and many other cool touches that help bring the levels to life. The sound and music have a lot of variety and also contribute in this aspect.

To round things off, Greedy Spiders 2 also has a ton of achievements to complete, each of which will reward you with coins!

My only real complaint about this great single player game is that it requires network permissions that it just does not need (they are not used for anything necessary here), so I am docking it one star.

Get this game. Free, or priced at $.99, it will give you and your family many hours of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
I agree with the other reviews, this new version is a lot easier than before but in all honesty there are a few things that changed for example :

1. freeze the spider , available in early levels
2. evade two spiders available in early levels .
3. graphics are much better
so overall this is a must have if you don't have greedy spider 1 , if you already do have it then you may find this new game repetitive but it will still be fun .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not a bad game, September 2, 2012
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
interesting game. still trying to figure it out though. no matter how i try i can't seem to get 3 stars though always finish with 1 star. guess i'll have to work on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the game is fine, just not for me, September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
the concept for this game is simple: "cut" pieces of web to prevent the spiders from getting to the insects. cute, but didn't capture my interest or imagination. seemed to load well and play without any hitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun time waster some minor bugs, September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
Finally I'm able to write a positive review for an App of the Day. This game is fun, requires some puzzle solving skills and is actually rather clever in its own way. I have noticed one bug on the Nexus 7. When the application is in the background it doesn't sleep. This results in the music continually playing if you do not have the sound muted or have turned the audio off in game by tapping the radio at the welcome screen. I would prefer an in game method of terminating the game. For free, it's a great addition to your application library. With a couple of minor fixes, it might be worth a dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute & Challenging!, September 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
Greedy Spiders 2 is a cute game and is quite challenging as you get into higher levels. The graphics are nice and works perfectly on Kindle fire.

The controls are simple to use and there is total of 144 levels for fun. As you start playing you will notice that this is more of a "strategy" based game more or less like Burn The Rope +. There can be situations wherein you may have to freeze spiders as they work in a team to trap you. I personally hate spiders so virtually I feel better when I win. It is child friendly game and if your child loves to play with bugs and spiders this game will definitely keep them engaged for a long time.

The game does have access to internet and shows video via you-tube, The permissions need full internet access and view the network state.

It is good game nonetheless. Worthy of 99C!

Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun game but had to uninstall, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
I really enjoyed playing this game. I liked the challenge of trying to get three stars and the fun little tools were great.

However it repeatedly froze my Kindle Fire. I tried the whole uninstall reinstall and it did not help. If they could fix this problem them I would gladly up the rating. But until then I have to give it a low score. What good is a game if you can't play it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars freezes on kindle fire- please fix, September 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greedy Spiders 2 (App)
I loved the first one....not this version. they tried to add too many gimmicks and now it freezes up and you cant restart. one feature I liked before that is gone is you can no longer refresh in the middle of a game from main screen. now you have to play thru till you win or lose so you cant try different strategies without wasting time. waited a year for this so I hope they improve it. don't need silly achievements. stop copying angry birds. keep it lean and mean. it was great before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greedy Spiders 2
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.