Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD BUT NOT PERFECT
Let's start with the good. The book is an excellent for keeping in your pocket while around the hospital and looking things up quickly. Its writing style, mostly in bullet points, is relatively friendly, and allows for a quick reference on a good number of topics. It is very concise, and in my opinion it contains less errors than other similar step 2 review books like...
Published on November 10, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4th edition isn't worth buying if you own 3rd edition
I just bought the new 4th edition Boards and Wards and I was disappointed. Although it's a "new" edition, most of the new features include fluff as opposed to new content. For example, the text is in color for some of the headlines at the top of pages. There is also more color in the charts. They have also added more photos but the photos are not unique or anything you...
Published on July 23, 2009 by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4th edition isn't worth buying if you own 3rd edition, July 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
I just bought the new 4th edition Boards and Wards and I was disappointed. Although it's a "new" edition, most of the new features include fluff as opposed to new content. For example, the text is in color for some of the headlines at the top of pages. There is also more color in the charts. They have also added more photos but the photos are not unique or anything you haven't seen before (girl with Turner's syndrome, picture of a louse on a hair shaft).

The only chapter that was noticeably different or improved was the Ophthalmology section. The Dermatology section was also improved a little but not significantly; they just added more obvious photos.

All in all, they added about 40 additional pages of which 10-15 is more content, the rest are photos and graphics related to charts. If you own the 3rd edition, I would not bother buying this one. If you are a medical student that wants to use this for studying for the boards and want to save money, buy a used 3rd edition.

I was sorely disappointed with the lack of additional content. There is still no separate Urology section and whatever urology is covered is pretty weak. The Medical and Legal section is still weak and only provides obvious definitions aka "what is a defendant in a court" as opposed to providing definitions of obscure legal terms aka "Res ipsa loquitur" or going into more detail regarding EMTALA, Hospice or unique situations regarding Informed Consent. The Outpatient medicine section was simply renamed "Family Medicine" and instead of providing different and pertinent FP information such as calcium requirements for women at different ages, it just takes snipets of information from the other chapters and just repeats it in this section. Lastly, the book should go into more detail regarding diagnosis and treatment. The diagnosis often doesn't distinquish between initial vs. confirmatory tests and simply lists a hodge podge of tests which really helps no one. And often times treatment is never stated or distinguished. For example, some cancers require both surgery and radiation. With the 5th edition, I hope the authors spend some time with regards to content instead of photos and the color of the borders. With that said, to the author's credit, this is still an excellent book and if one doesn't own Boards and Wards, this is a slightly improved version of the 3rd edition. And unlike authors of most textbooks, the Boards and Wards team did make an effort to improve their already excellent book, let's just hope they make an even bigger effort with the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD BUT NOT PERFECT, November 10, 2010
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
Let's start with the good. The book is an excellent for keeping in your pocket while around the hospital and looking things up quickly. Its writing style, mostly in bullet points, is relatively friendly, and allows for a quick reference on a good number of topics. It is very concise, and in my opinion it contains less errors than other similar step 2 review books like First Aid step 2. I was particularly happy with pictures, especially on the cardiology section showing EKG's. Now let's talk about the bad. Its brevity really keeps it from covering all of the topics that you might want to review for step 2, and it is frequently not detailed enough to cover any one particular topic. It often misses topics completely, which really prevent it from being a thorough review of step 2 material. I do not recommend this as a good source for internal medicine. Its doesn't cover enough material for the internal medicine shelf exam. Additionally, the sections of the book make it difficult to study one topic at a time. For example, the section called "outpatient medicine" covers material that should have been covered in other sections, like derm or cardiology. This ultimately makes it difficutl to study each topic without skimming other chapters to see if you have missed out on other information. In my own experience, I read through the cardiology section to brush up and was frustrated to find other cardiac information in different sections that was not covered in the cardiology section. All in all, this is a good resource, and it is easy to learn from; however, don't be surprised if you can't answer specifics about a disease, like hidradenitis suppurative, if this is your only source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for quick review, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
The title of this book is a little misleading. This book is NOT comprehensive, and should NOT be used as a main study aid for boards. However, in conjunction with other review books (Kaplan, First Aid, etc.), it can be a very valuable tool. I found this book most helpful for cramming last-minute high-yield info for shelf exams and to read nightly for rotations to save face during pimp sessions with your attending. Lots of good formulas, cancer staging and the surgery section is especially useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Multiple Errors, November 15, 2010
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
I'm so disappointed with this book. As I read through there is an average of 1 mistake per 2-3 pgs (via comparison with articles on the subject and clinical expertise at the offices I've been rotating in). This is sad because I like the way the information is presented, but I'm scared to spend what little time I have reading this book over others because I have seen so many errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent refresher book for 3rd year rotations, December 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to sum up the essentials learned in the first two years of med school. It is small and convenient to refer to. It outlines major disease processes, dx, tx and px. It is not clinically based as far as specific treatments or doses. There is also very little physiology, only what it necessary to understanding the diagnosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!, November 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
This is a great book for giving you the information that you need in a clear, concise format. I'm in my senoir yr of a FNP program and I will be using this book for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boards and Wards, November 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
This book is excellent. It gives a summary of all necessary information needed for each rotation. A must have while doing clinical rotations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pictures and illustrations, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
If you are a visual learner this book is very good for you. The illustrations and pictures in this book are one of the best. Also subspecialty sections like ophthalmology, dermatology and so on are one of the best that you can find out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful! Great study tool, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
Very helpful when studying for finals. Easy to read, and really highlights the key points. Classmates had the next edition and the differences were negligible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential book for boards..., December 4, 2013
By 
uuboy13 (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) (Paperback)
I bought the older edition because it was $40 cheaper, and the 5th edition only has 13 more pages. I have been using this book to study for the boards and have been loving it. It highlights certain material that is high-yield, and I have seen that bolded material multiple times when I take my practice boards. Awesome book! Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa15fb744)

This product

Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series)
Boards and Wards (Boards and Wards Series) by Brad Spellberg (Paperback - July 10, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.