Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start
Bob Dylan recorded so many classic songs in the 1960s that trying to pick out a single disc's worth as being definitive is a fool's errand at best. Fortunately, "Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits" was follwed by a double disc "Volume 2" that together make for two incredibly strong anthology albums. This album does contain perhaps the most well known songs...
Published on December 17, 2000 by Brian D. Rubendall

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only the tip of the iceberg
For an artist of Bob Dylan's stature, greatest hits packages just don't cut the mustard. This overview of Dylan's early 60s work is completely inadequate as a complete representation of his Bobness' work. Every album the guy did during this period was brilliant from beginning to end. Any serious Dylan fan will yearn to hear "Tombstone Blues" after "Like...
Published on May 15, 1999 by Steve Hyden


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start, December 17, 2000
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan recorded so many classic songs in the 1960s that trying to pick out a single disc's worth as being definitive is a fool's errand at best. Fortunately, "Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits" was follwed by a double disc "Volume 2" that together make for two incredibly strong anthology albums. This album does contain perhaps the most well known songs of Dylan's incredible output from the 60's, though songs like "Mr. Tamborine Man" (The Byrds) and "It Ain't Me Babe" (The Turtles) were chart hits for other artists. The epic "Like a Rolling Stone" was the biggest chart hit for Dylan himeslf, while "Blowin' in the Wind" and "The Times They are a-Changing" came to define the protest generation. "Positively 4th Street" is one of the most biting putdowns ever recorded while on "I Want You" and "Just Like a Woman" Bob proved he can write great romantic songs as well.
Overall, this is a great disc to start your Dylan collection and will ultimately leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest American poet of the past century, September 16, 2000
By 
Thomas Lapins (Orlando, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
No point in going over each song. There is no greatest hit collection to compare to this one. If you're clueless to Dylan and his music, and you're a thinking human being with the slightest sense of humanity and poetry in your soul, buy it, listen to it, listen to it, listen to it. He was the voice of the 60's that stretches beyond, above, behind and everywhere else. So many have given their interpretations of his songs. I never get tired of hearing a new Dylan song re-interpreted. I'm energized when I hear a Dylan tune on the radio. I mean, how can you not feel the eternal pain of "Blowin' In The Wind", the TRUTH of "Like A Rolling Stone", the poetry of "Mr. Tambourine Man", the cutting insights of "It Aint Me Babe", the words of "Positively 4th Street". There is no replacement "singer" or "writer" to compare to Dylan. He changed all of us in ways we have all lost sight of. Thanks, Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine introductory sampler; give it a break!, September 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Those who bash this best-of for not being complete enough are, I think, missing the point; "Greatest Hits" was never intended to be anything like a definitive overview of Dylan's early work. It was, quite simply, an attempt by Columbia Records to cash in on a hot talent and, simultaneously, provide consumers with "new" product while the artist himself pieced himself back together (physically, mentally, and artistically). Crass? Exploitative? Shameless? You betcha. But in spite of its unholy origins, "Greatest Hits" works.
For one thing, there's absolutely no filler here; every cut is a stone-cold classic. (Granted, that's not because of any special care on Columbia's part but because Dylan is incapable of writing a totally worthless song.) For another, it functions admirably well as a "starter kit"; I, for one, was first introduced to Dylan's work though this album; if not for "Greatest Hits" to whet my appetite I might never have gone on and discovered his "real" albums.
That said, I have to wonder why Columbia didn't take a little more care with the reissue CD. Sure, the remastered sound is a marked improvement, but why not throw in a few bonus tracks? And couldn't a decent booklet with liner notes and session information have been provided? If and when the rest of Dylan's catalog is reissued, I hope Columbia gives them more the kind of treatment they've given the Byrds and Miles Davis. Those complaints aside, I see no reason to be ashamed of owning, and liking, this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars! But..., March 15, 2002
By 
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a collection of 10 of the greatest anthems of the 1960's - indeed, ever. Here we get a sampling of everything from early folk protest Dylan (Blowin' In The Wind, The Times They Are A-Changin') to the stoned/semi-psychedelic Dylan (Mr. Tambourine Man, Rainy Day Women - better known as "The 'Everybody Must Get Stoned'" song), to sneering electric Dylan (Like A Rolling Stone, Positively Fourth Street.) The album isn't assembled chronologically, neither is it categorized, and the running order makes for an interesting, if somewhat scattershot listen. It gives an interesting (very) brief overview of Dylan's 60's work... though it is BY NO MEANS a full representation of his work from that period. The album was a Record Company idea, put out after Dylan secluded himself from public view (and hence, the recording studio) after his motorcyle accident in '66. Though he had a few bona-fide hit singles (and many, many, many cover versions of his songs have been turned into big hits by other artists), Dylan was never a singles artist. After all, it was Bob - and not Led Zeppelin, as is often stated - who introduced the concept of an album as a flowing complete work, rather than just simply a collection of songs. Thus, the music on this album is absolutely wonderful - some of the best songs of the 20th century - but, please, please, don't take this as the final word on Bob Dylan. You are only depriving yourself of one of the greatest and most valuable artists of our time if you are. If you get it, use it as your intro into the wonderful World of Bob. However, if you're just getting into Bob - and insist on a compilation - then the more recently released Essential Bob Dylan is a better starting place. However, this is still a fine, 5-star album for emphasis and historical perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only the tip of the iceberg, May 15, 1999
By 
Steve Hyden (Eau Claire, WI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For an artist of Bob Dylan's stature, greatest hits packages just don't cut the mustard. This overview of Dylan's early 60s work is completely inadequate as a complete representation of his Bobness' work. Every album the guy did during this period was brilliant from beginning to end. Any serious Dylan fan will yearn to hear "Tombstone Blues" after "Like a Rolling Stone," or "Girl From the North Country" after "Blowin' in the Wind." Forget this disc, stop being a cheapskate, and shell out the money for as many Dylan records from the 60s as you can afford. Then consume his 70s work, maybe half his 80s records, and soak in his renaissance in the 90s. If you insist on buying this, just know you're seriously missing out on the rest of the best body of work rock n roll has ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to Dylan; 10 '60s classics, September 25, 2006
By 
S. J. West (Eads, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan has made some fine albums in his lifetime, especially in the '60s. Albums like THE FREEWHEELIN' BOB DYLAN, BRINGING IT ALL BACK HOME, HIGHWAY 61 REVISITED, and BLONDE ON BLONDE (among others) are cohesive pieces of work and rock classics. He did, however, also have some great singles and this concise but perfect compilation demonstrates. Though it was released as a stop-gap as Dylan recovered from his motorcycle accident, BOB DYLAN's GREATEST HITS remains the perfect single disc distillation of Dylan's '60s work.

"Blowin' in the Wind" hails from THE FREEWHEELIN' BOB DYLAN. This song has such a mature viewpoint that it's hard to believe it came from a kid in his 20s.

The protest classic "The Times They Are A-Changin'" comes from the album of the same name. "It Ain't Me Babe" is from ANOTHER SIDE OF BOB DYLAN. Though I like the cover by Johnny Cash and June Carter, I still prefer Dylan's more understated orginal.

BRINGING IT ALL BACK HOME was originally divided into acoustic and electric sides and each wisely gets one track. The wonderfully noise-ridden "Subterranean Homesick Blues" represents the electric side while "Mr. Tambourine Man" comes from the acoustic side. Again, the Byrds did a great job on their cover, but Dylan's original is still the best (and contains some of his greatest lyrics).

My favorite Dylan record of this period, HIGHWAY 61 REVISITED, has only one song on here but it's a good one. "Like a Rolling Stone" was his first genuine hit single and is still one of his best known songs.

The double disc BLONDE ON BLONDE is represented by the opener "Rainy Day Women..." (who could forget that chorus), the aching "I Want You," and the pretty but pointed "Just Like a Woman."

In addition to these album classics, the non-LP single "Positively 4th Street" made it's album debut on this record. It's a great song and, while it's unfortunate it never made it onto one of his proper albums, it's right at home with these other Dylan classics.

This was the first Dylan album I bought and I would reccomend it to others looking for their first Dylan album. Then I would move on to the double disc GREATEST HITS, VOL. II then start getting his original albums. Dylan is one of rock's most proflific performers, but this short but sweet compilation is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Dylan, August 27, 2004
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Yeah, I know its just a greatest hits album, but its a darn good one. I remember buying this album after hearing a snippet of a Dylan song (I think it was Hard Rain)on the Beatles anthology. (The Beatles practically worshipped Dylan). I thought, "Heck, if the Beatles thought he was good, then I'll take thier word for it." So I went to Target and bought my CD. I put it in my stereo player and sat there mezmorized. I usually can't listen to a CD all the way through right away, but I just kept playing this over and over, and the more I played it the more it grew on me. I remember first hearing "Like a Rolling Stone". That must be one of the greatest rock songs of all time, it just blew me away. Well, it didn't stop there, I would take this CD with me wherever I went. I'd listen to it in the car, at school in between classes, and anywhere else I got a chance. I probably listened to it at least 3 times through every single day for 2-3 months. You might be wondering what the big deal is, right? A greatest hits album with a mere 10 songs, right? Well, I'll explain it the best I can. Dylan's not just music, he's art. His lyrics, his voice, his songs. Everything he did, was original, even if it had been done before. It wasn't what he did, it was the way he did it: the feeling and inflection that he put into every song, the ambiguous lyrics that give a mood more than a story or picture, and the songs, which feel like they might be more important than anything. Dylan changed the way I listened to music. I used to just keep my ears open for a catchy song now and then, but now I listen for songs with feeling and meaning and soul. Well... here ends my tribute to my favorite singer/songwriter of all time. Thanks for listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold CD Is Special, September 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Because Amazon agglomerates reviews of various editions of this CD, please note that this is a review of the new Audio Fidelity Gold CD, produced by mastering genius Steve Hoffman. Needless to say, the music on both CDs is magnificent, and in fact the track listing is the same. The difference is what Steve Hoffman brings to the production, which is to go back to the original masters and attempt to restore the sound is close to that of the master tape as possible. Also, he is brilliant at restoring the "pulse" that CDs so often seem to miss when compared to their vinyl counterparts. He has succeeded incredibly well on this disk, and it would be worth the relatively steep purchase price just to obtain what now must be viewed as the "definitive" presentation of Like a Rolling Stone. On this gold CD, the song, which has appeared in many iterations from LP to SACD, literally pulses with rhythmic energy that Dylan himself has said is what really makes the song special to him. The rest of the mastering is at the same high level, essentially as good as these songs will ever sound short of listening to the master tape (or by means of some as yet un-invented technology that presents the master tape identically). It has been a joy to listen to these songs again with such fine sound quality, and I highly recommend this CD to all Dylan lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of Dylan's best, December 20, 2006
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This collection of Dylan's hits of the sixties contains some of its best. 'Rolling Stone ' not long ago chose one of them ' Just like a rolling stone' as the greatest pop song of all time. Among the ten here are some of the great songs of his beginning folk mode 'Blowin in the Wind' for instance and of his romantic longing mode ( Just like a Woman)(I want you) and of his folkrock knock em out mode ( Rolling Stone).

Dylan really was something else when he came along, and for those of his generation his music came to live in us. We hear it when we walk alone . His lyrics could at times seem crazy and irrelevant but often they were too striking and forceful, and original. And the music, that sound he alone made with the guitar- and the - mouth- organ and that strange cranky voice which taught us that a sound not conventionally beautiful could have a beauty of its own.

Dylan is by now a living legend, and whether we want to protest against some of the vulgarity and rudeness and sheer stupidity he may have displayed through the years, we know his music is the genuine thing not simply the voice of his generation but what people will want to hear when they want to hear real sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for introduction, otherwise skip it, August 5, 2000
This review is from: Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Music itself excellent (it's Dylan man!), this album is good for an introductory purposes, but other than that skip this one. An album that takes the definition of what constitutes a greatest hits album way too seriously for the artist. Considering Dylan's output that the album had to take tracks from, there could have been quite a few numbers without making it a double album. The only reason the album was released was because of Dylan's motorcycle accident, and for the purposes this album was released (cash in on Dylan, a new record, etc) this record is quite a success.
Bob Dylan is one of the major figures in modern music, and, unlike The Beatles, his record sales do not meet or even contend with his cultural significance. Although Greatest Hits packages are good, and in the strictly commercial sense the album does what it sets out to do, it does not do full justice to the accomplishments of Dylan as a songwriter, especially during the sixties. The double album that came out a few years later (Greatest Hits Vol II) does Dylan a much better service, illustrating in the course of an album his true skills. However, for any serious student of modern music skip this and go to any one of the albums, with maybe the exception of his debut, released in the 60s. There you'll discover why Bob Dylan as is important as The Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits
Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.