Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob is no ordinary cat.
This book is a version of James Bowen's original book, "A Street Cat Named Bob," that is appropriate for young teenagers and older. The meeting of James and Bob, the cat, in the hallway of an apartment building in London is only the beginning of their adventures. The softening of some of the more graphic aspects of drug addiction and homelessness has not taken away from...
Published 11 months ago by Jennifer G. Strand

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ROBBED
This product (Bob: No Ordinary Cat) has IDENTICAL TEXT to "A Street Cat Named Bob" by the same author. Having purchased both books, and received the same text twice, I feel I have been robbed.
Published 11 months ago by disappointed


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob is no ordinary cat., September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bob: No Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
This book is a version of James Bowen's original book, "A Street Cat Named Bob," that is appropriate for young teenagers and older. The meeting of James and Bob, the cat, in the hallway of an apartment building in London is only the beginning of their adventures. The softening of some of the more graphic aspects of drug addiction and homelessness has not taken away from the major theme of what unconditional love and caring for others can do in broken lives. A very appropriate book for the age group. The color photos add so much to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lovely heartwarming story.
Easy to read.
Entertaining and a true to life
Would recommend it to any one.
Well done James & Bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - More Please James, July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Again a wonderful book on the adventures and life of James and Bob.

Looking forward to a 3rd book and a film.

Brilliant and compulsive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming book!, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bob: No Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
This is the children's version of A Street Cat Named Bob. I bought a copy and read it even though I had read the "adult" book. I would recommend it to anyone's children (and to adults too!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing true story, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was really touched by this story. So simple and true. And I really can't wait to buy the new book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob, No Ordinary Cat, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first time to read James Bowen and I found the story interesting, it made for light reading and if you are a lover of cats you will really enjoy it.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have read all 3, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first heard of this via the news and then purchased the 1st book "A Street Cat Named Bob" and loved it, and then read "The World According to Bob" and now this one and all 3 are the best, very inspirational. I hope he writes many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it all true?, January 27, 2014
By 
Ladislav Nemec (Big Bear City, CA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bob: No Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
A great book. Is it all true or is there som fiction? I heard about cats using standard toilets but only after difficult training. But, then, Bob is not an ORDINARY CAT.

It just reads like 'too good to be true'. But I am an old grouch (soon to be 80) and I actually did not discover this book at all. It was recommended to me by my ex-wife of the same age, she was reading its Czech translation and enjoyed it very much.

So, just like the author, I have to thank to people who discovered Bob the Cat and brought my attention to these wonderful books. More adventures coming up? Perhaps.

Great story, a happy one. No wonder Mr. Bowen and his cat are 'minor celebrities' in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adaptation for a young audience, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bob: No Ordinary Cat (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son, who was enamored of Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat. This story of a "busker" who befriends a stray tabby cat is perfect for this audience. It's a cleaned-up, simplified version of A Street Cat Named Bob. There are some tough issues to be dealt with -- drug and alcohol abuse, homelessness -- and they're handled sensitively in this book without being ignored. You can enjoy the feline story, yet use the book as a jumping-off point for discussions of life's realities. The color photos of this handsome cat are lovely! For those who have been to London and strolled the area around Covent Garden, where Bob's owner was a street musician, it's a pleasure to visit again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Bob the Cat, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is such a great book. It was such a heart warming story and how Bob picked James to be his buddy for the rest of his life. It is so great that Bob was able to help James at a time when he really needed the help. Good luck to both of them and God Bless Bob and James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bob: No Ordinary Cat
Bob: No Ordinary Cat by James Bowen (Paperback - February 14, 2013)
Used & New from: $3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.