Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have! Two killer "new" tracks.
...first of all we will all never agree on the selections. The positive thing here is, with the songs mentioned above that people claim are obviously missing, the majority of them are available in any CD store (Some have already even been remastered ie; Till it Shines). Seger has said that he tried to put on Ramblin' Gamblin' Man but it just sounded out of place with all...
Published on November 5, 2003 by segerfan

versus
313 of 339 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're getting WARMER, Bob, but you're not quite there yet
After releasing a one-disc greatest hits CD in 1994 that was a pretty big insult to the man's prolific career, Bob Seger finally comes back with a second volume that attempts to corral the most sorely missing leftovers. The goal here seems to be to (1) collect all of the Top Ten hits that didn't make the first volume ("Shame On The Moon", "Fire Lake", "Tryin' To Live My...
Published on November 10, 2003 by The Scenario


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I guess we'll have to wait another 9 yrs. for GH3..., November 4, 2003
By 
J. Bergstrom (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
This CD does an adequate job of filling in the gaps from 1994's Greatest Hits, adding some of the missing classics like "The Fire Down Below", "Her Strut", "Katmandu", "Shakedown", "Fire Lake", "Shame on the Moon", and "Rock and Roll Never Forgets", as well as a few other choice gems. But it still manages to fall short in the end. Several of the more mediocre cuts should have been axed to make room for bigger hits and classic rock staples like "American Storm", "Even Now", "Real Love", "Betty Lou's Getting Out Tonight", "Ramblin Gamblin Man", and "Somewhere Tonight". I mean, does anyone seriously prefer to have "Chances Are" from the Hope Floats soundtrack instead of any of the aforementioned songs??? The 2nd of the previously unreleased tracks, "Tomorrow", was a nice inclusion, though - kind of sounds like it could have been a B-side to "Her Strut". With any luck the future will see a good 2-disc or 3-disc Greatest Hits package that gets it all right. If history holds, it will most likely be an expensive import that I'll have to special order for some obscene price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seger Hits the High Notes, November 11, 2003
By 
David O (Westerville, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Bob Seger has been making great rock and roll since the late 1960s. His career has been built on arena-raver rockers, mid-tempo pop songs, and classic, emotion-laden ballads. His excellent 1994 release Greatest Hits included some of the rockers but was heavy on the mid-tempo songs and the ballads.
Greatest Hits Volume 2 is the perfect compliment to the earlier collection because it includes the great Seger rockers left off of the first volume, including Katmandu, Rock and Roll Never Forgets, Her Strut, and Fire Down Below. Greatest Hits Volume 2 also includes some hard to find songs like Shakedown (Seger's only #1 song), Understanding, and Chances Are (Seger's duet with Martina McBride) which could previously only be found on movie soundtacks, not on any Seger albums. Volume 2 also includes two outstanding new songs Satisfied and Tomorrow.
Any one who enjoys Bob Seger's Greatest Hits, which has sold more than 6 million copies, will enjoy Greatest Hits Volume 2 as well. I highly recommend this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice diversion while we wait for an ALL new album., November 6, 2003
By 
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Since Mr. Seger has not released any new material since 1995's "It's A Mystery", the new/unreleased cuts on this compilation are very welcome, this includes the "soundtrack" cuts Understanding, Shakedown, and Chances Are. The previously unreleased cuts are "Satisfied" and "Tomorrow", with "Satisfied" being bluesier and more introspective and "Tomorrow" being more in the "recent Seger" upbeat Rock category, and well could have been included in the the "It's a Mystery" album, had it been recorded back then, as it fits in perfectly with that style. In those 5 cuts as well as the other 11 songs, Mr. Seger shows his versatility and talent at putting more heart and soul into a song than ANY other artist.
The other selections on the disc may have been chosen differently, such as including the live version of "Ramblin' Man/Beautiful Loser" combo from "Live Bullet", instead of the studio version of "Beautiful Loser", even though this is a decent pick. "Somewhere Tonight" or "Miami" from "Like a Rock" would have been a bit more welcome than "New Coat of Paint" from "The Fire Inside".
Mr. Seger has aged and matured, his music has changed. This collection shows this changing through the years. But what we real Bob Seger fans want is an all new album. But I for one gladly accept this offering while I continue to wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Missed A Few, November 4, 2003
By 
Graphic Goddess (Olympic Peninsula, Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Combined with Bob's first Greatest Hits album, it's a good collection of his work, but sadly, even after listening to all the tracks on both the first and this second offering of greatest hits, there were some OBVIOUS oversights that beg to be included, replacing some of the lesser known tracks like Manhattan, Sunspot, etc. C'mon! Where's "Til It Shines" or "Feel Like A Number"... or "Ramblin, Gamblin Man".... Let's hope if Bob puts out a Greatest Hits 3, he includes some of these lost gems, and doesn't fill the rest of the album with lesser known filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Job, November 11, 2003
By 
Mike Elliott (Oxford, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Bob's place in rock and roll is unquestionable. He's a rocker of the highest order...one of the few who started out as a blue-collar cult hero, and kept his old fans while gaining new ones with "Live Bullet" on. He mostly never lost his Punch (pun somewhat intended, sorry) even as the Mainstream beast knocked on his door.
However, his career has been curiously under-anthologized. A skimpy "Greatest Hits" left a lot of fans justly frustrated. "Greatest Hits 2" probably does the same. But let's remember that greatest hits packages are NEVER for the die-hard fan! They're for CASUAL listeners of the artist's big hits. Wanting "The Famous Final Scene" or "Brave Strangers" on a "greatest hits" package - though they are undeniably classic, brilliant songs - is ultimately a silly wish. They were not "hits". And by the way, the 2 NEW songs are "Satisfied" and "Tomorrow" - NOT "New Coat Of Paint" and "Chances Are" - hell, "Paint" is 12 years old!!!!
But I digress...I do agree that some tracks should've made the cut that didn't. Instead of "Paint", why not "The Real Love"? Why "Manhattan" and not "Lock And Load"? While "Manhattan" is the better song, "Lock And Load" and, for that matter, "The Real Love" got more airplay. And yes, I guess we all are still scratching our heads over the absence (again) of "Even Now".
But ultimately, the good news is, Seger is preparing his new album for a Spring 2004 release, so all this is really futile. Let's just be happy that these new songs are a taste of something BIG a-comin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forgot some very important songs, November 8, 2003
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Where is Come to Papa? Why wasn't the live Travelin man and Beautiful loser song on here? Why wasn't ramblin gamblin man or Feel like a number included? Bob Seger is a great musician but I feel that the song selection for this CD could have been much much better. Just my 2 cents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think I'm going to..., November 7, 2003
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
KATMANDU!!!!! Nothing makes me want to toss back a couple million like hearing old Bob, and this is a great collection catching some of the harder to find material from movie soundtracks. Not much to say but this is what American Rock is all about...grab a beer, grow your hair and beard, and crank it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits 2 is essential to own, November 8, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Bob Seger has had dozens of hits over his career. His first Greatest Hits collection, released in 1994, has sold more than 6 million copies. Greatest Hits Volume 2 may actually be even better. From country-influenced songs like "Fire Lake" and "Shame on the Moon" to rockers like "Rock and Roll Never Forgets," "Her Strut," and "Katmandu," Detroit's Seger has been the voice of middle American for nearly 3 decades. Included in this collection are two excellent new songs, "Satisfied," a catchy blues shuffle, and the fiery "Tomorrow." These new songs show that Seger is still delivering quality rock and roll more than 25 years after his first hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Seger Rocks, May 12, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
This CD is excellent. It has many great songs that were on movie

sound tracks, and were not available on Bob Seger CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sins of omission..., November 17, 2003
By 
Thomas J. Housworth (Decatur, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 (Audio CD)
I was so excited to hear that a Volume 2, one that would cover the sins of omission in Volume 1 (a hit-packed venture, no doubt, and a five star collection, but it should've been a double disc). So, Volume 2 then proceeds to leave off three of Seger's biggest hits and crowd pleasers: "Even Now", "American Storm", and "Lock and Load". Ultimately, the songs selected here are almost all gems. Even the non-hits "Manhattan" and "New Coat of Paint" are terrific (who can complain about a Springsteen-esque story song and a Tom Waits cover?, but instead of being so eager to touch on every era of Bob's career, perhaps a more inclusive overview of his hits would've been preferable for a 'greatest hits'. Had this been called "The Best of...", it would've made more sense, as that doesn't infer chart/radio success.
I continue to long for "Even Now" and "American Storm", and will likely just break down and buy the CD's from whence they came, as a Volume 3 seems unlikely.
You can't go wrong with this disc artistically, unless you are acutely aware of what's missing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2
Bob Seger - Greatest Hits 2 by Bob Seger (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.