Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Size: 40 Ounce (Pack of 4)|Change
Price:$24.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 26, 2008
Having lived in Switzerland for several years, one of the things I missed coming to this country was the ready availability of good breakfast cereals. I have never quite understood how the sugar-filled granola stuff could ever have been mistaken as healthy and nutritious.

Since the stores in my area do not carry decent müeslis (Trader Joe's has a "blueberry" müesli, whose "blueberries" are actually blueberry-flavored cranberries...), I tried to order online, and ran into this product on Amazon, which I ordered based on the reviews.

It turned out to be a lucky choice. Bob's Red Mill müesli is the way müesli should be: a short list of ingredients (10), none of which require a degree in chemistry to understand. A mix of cereals and nuts, to which a delicious combination of dried fruit add a wonderful fruitiness and a subtle sweetness. Great with cold and warm milk, yoghurt, or as a base for a Bircher-style müesli.

This müesli ranks right there with some of the best stuff you can buy in Switzerland, and if you have ever had müesli there, you know this is no small praise.
0Comment|103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2011
Finding Red Bob was one of the best things I have ever had happen to me in regards to food. My family as a whole has been trying to eat healthier and Red Bob has a mind boggling number of tasty offerings that will ultimately improve your diet. I am fairly new to Red Bob so I am really still in the experimental phase. They have so many offerings that its going to take some time to try them all out. I ordered the Muesli as I am constantly on the look out for new things I can eat with my yogurt. I started making fresh yogurt last year and to say its one of my favorite foods is an understatement. So again, I am constantly looking for new and healthy ways of spicing my yogurt up and improving on its nutritional contents. Well, to make a long story short, this was easily one of the best mixes I have had yet with my yogurt.

One of my favorite aspects to this mix is its much softer than granola, which is what I usually eat with my yogurt. I usually have to wait a few minutes for granola to soften up a bit but that isn't necessary with this mix. It has a great texture right out of the package and it ultimately gives it a fresher quality. As for the taste, its absolutely spot on. The raisins and dates add a perfect amount of sweetness and the flavor of the walnuts, almonds and sunflower seeds really shine through. Of course, with Flax Seed and 100% whole grain oats it quickly becomes apparent how healthy this mix is for you. All in all its easily one of the best muesli mixes I have ever had and I have tried quite a few. Its important to note that I actually add Manuka Honey when I eat it with yogurt but that is only to help sweeten up the yogurt itself. Again the dates and raisins add a perfect amount of sweetness if your eating the mix by itself, which I have done now on multiple occasions and its just as good on its own as it is in yogurt.

I also have to mention what Red Bob did with his company recently. After receiving a massive amount of buy out offers over the years, many from the monster sized agri-food corporations, Red Bob finally decided what he was going to do with his company and he made his announcement at his 81st birthday party earlier this year. He turned down all of the offers (most of which had to be for HUGE amounts of money as a 2004 estimate put the companies yearly revenue at roughly 24 million dollars and the company is estimated to have seen 20-30 percent growth each year since then) and decided to simply give the company to his employees. Yes, that's right, he gave it to his 209 employees. I cant even begin to tell you how much respect I have in Red Bob for making this move and ultimately it just makes me want to support his company just that much more. He basically gave away hundreds of millions of dollars so his employees could own the company he started. That's just a level of class that you dont see very often in modern society. I became a customer for life when I read that story. Red Bob is just an amazing guy. Oh, and by the way, happy 81st Bob!

Bottom line - Again finding Red Bob was easily one of the best things that has ever happened to me in regards to food. Now that I have found Red Bob....well, lets just say I couldn't imagine my cupboards, or my diet for that matter, without him. I have only tried roughly 10-12 items from Red Bob's catalog but out of those items this Muesli Mix is definitely in my top 3. Its great by itself, both hot and cold, and its ever better on yogurt. If you haven't tried Red Bob then this would be a perfect place to start.

5 Stars!
22 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 27, 2006
I ordered this through Amazon because it was such a good bargain. I can't even find the muesli at any of my usual stores here in San Antonio, so I was excited to find Amazon could ship it out. I anticipated it would be a good product, and I was not disappointed.

It's not overly sweet; the dates and raisins take care of any sugar cravings you might have, but they're not so sweet that you feel like you're getting a kids' breakfast cereal. Instead, what you get is a very nutty flavor enhanced by a delicate sort of sweetness. If you want more sweetness, I suggest you add a dollop of honey. That would just put this over the top. I guess you could also use some artificial sweetener, but I'd not do that. Why mess up a wonderful "natural" product with something artificial like aspartame or the like? Yuk.

I love the addition of sunflower seeds and flax, and the oats are especially healthy choices for this mix. YOu can eat this hot or cold, with cold being my preferred mode, but I like the hot version, too. I make mine with evaporated skim milk, which allows for a richer milk flavor without any of the fat. It's a hearty breakfast food, but I think you could also use it for dinner on especially cold evenings when you want something that will "stick to your ribs" and be all-around healthy as well. Oats--good for your heart. Flax--ditto. Sunflower seeds--good source of protein, I think. Dates and raisins--can't go wrong there, but don't ask me to pinpoint a body part they particularly benefit. Heh. Let's see--lots of whole grains here, so you will get your servings of the stuff that will keep you healthy, happy, and "reglar." :-)

I love that this is so healthy a food and that it also tastes great!

I plan to order more Bob's Red Mill products as a result of my good experience with this product.
0Comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2006
Put 1/4 cup of Bob's Old Country Style Muesli in 1/2 cup of plain lowfat yogurt. Add a little honey and let sit for a few minutes. This is a delicious and satisfying breakfast.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2006
Not sweet like most cereals. 11 healthy ingredients including flaxseed. No junk whatsoever. Zero saturated fat and trans fat. Very filling, great for breakfast. I personally like to eat it everyday - may get bland after a while, so switch to another cereal for a couple of days and come back.

Amazon's price is an added bonus.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2007
I eat this cereal cold, usually, after soaking it for 10-15 minutes, but it is excellent hot as well. Its very filling so it doesn't take much to make a satisfying breakfast. I appreciate the lack of sugar and fluff; this is real food!
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2006
I've been eating Famila unsweetened muesli for some 20 years. I've switched to Bob's because I prefer the flavor (fresher)and texture (courser).
11 comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 14, 2009
This is a great product. It's full of whole grains, impossible to eat without letting it soak, and completely delicious.

To really improve the flavor, I do the following: put in 1/4 cup of plain yogurt, 1/4 cup of skim milk, 1 cup of muesli, a handful of crushed walnuts, and a handful of raisins. Let it soak overnight, and you'll have a couple perfect bowls of muesli. I think it gets even better after another day, too.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2008
This cereal tastes great and is very nutritious - a really good alternative to bland Quaker Oats...

A word of caution. If you are not familiar with eating oatmeal products and you decide to try this product out, please avoid the mistake I made described in this story:

One morning, I was picking up my friend to carpool to work with. I decided to try his Muesli while waiting in his kitchen so I dumped a bunch of it into a bowl, not realizing how much it was going to be. Well, I finished the entire bowl and I felt great - nice and full. At around 1 pm, however, I felt this *tremendous* pressure in my lower abdomen. So I quickly left my desk for the bathroom while doing my best to hold in what I had know idea was about to come out. Let's just say I was lucky that no one else was in the bathroom. This continued for 6 hours...

I argue for every 1 cup of Muesli expect 1 cubic meter of methane production - at sea level.
88 comments|78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2007
It seems hard to find great muesli these days. I think this is one of the better ones, and I do buy it. However, I wish those making muesli would heed the latest nutritional advice. For example, nutritionists say that the ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fatty acids is important and that we generally get too much of the omega-6 fatty acids and not enough of the omega-3's. This muesli would be a lot more nutritious if it replaced the large amount of sunflower seeds (high in omega-6 fatty acids) with walnuts (high in omega-3 fatty acids) and almonds. And to me that would make it taste better too. I also wish they would make a version without all the raisins and dates, allowing one to add fresh fruit (e.g., raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, etc.) instead of dried fruit.

I was in Australia last spring and found great muesli there not only meeting these nutritional criteria but tasting better than this or most other muesli. To me nuts are an important part of good muesli. But I'm being a bit of a purist, I know, and a friend tells me I'm a food snob, so take my opinion with that in mind!
1414 comments|82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 32 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.