Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album since radioheads "Ok Computer"
Cerati is a genius, this album should be the best album of 99. No american band or songwriter can match to cerati"s talent right now. It saddens me to know that bands with no talent get the chance to be exposed just because they play whatever is popular. And here you have probably one of the best albums ever, and not one single american knows about it!
Published on May 27, 2000 by joel valenzuela

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music
I like his music but the quality of the recording was horrible. I mean it was like mp3 quality on cd. And it must of the song sound like the were created on fl.
Published 8 months ago by C. Veliz


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album since radioheads "Ok Computer", May 27, 2000
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
Cerati is a genius, this album should be the best album of 99. No american band or songwriter can match to cerati"s talent right now. It saddens me to know that bands with no talent get the chance to be exposed just because they play whatever is popular. And here you have probably one of the best albums ever, and not one single american knows about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The True Alternative - Bocanada Rocks!, September 26, 2001
By 
"runt6" (Brentwood, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
I was truly saddened when Soda Stereo broke up after just discovering them after a year. However, their ex-frontman Gustavo Cerati has been carrying the torch with his extrodinary solo projects. Like his last album "Amor Amarillo" which was alternative rock at it's finest. This one shows off Cerati's new musical infuences in an excellent way.
Bocanada is a rich musical landscape of alternative rock and electronica with bossa nova and pop touches. There are so many great tracks on this album which takes you from upbeat dance & rock numbers to mellow melodic moments.
"Tabu" starts out the CD with a burst of percussion overload that makes you want to sway. "Puente" is a straight-up mellow pop song with a slight country twang. "Rio Babel" starts out with sweeping strings (which sounds like it was taken from "Mama" by ELO) and leads into a funky driving bass & drum rhythm. And if James Bond ever needs a song for his next movie, ask Cerati to use "Verbo Carne".
Sometimes I think that America has it's head stuck in the sand when it comes to music from non-English speaking countries. The truest Alternative music these days is coming from South America and has been like that for the last decade. There are loads of great stuff we are not exposed to and regardless of what language you speak (and I for one am not Latin nor speak Spanish), this is one album that is a must have. Cerati won't let you down.
PS to Joel Valenzuela - This American Sistah knows Cerati
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I search the world for magic in Music, September 30, 2001
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
.
the moment that this album was given to me, my life was changed forever. I had heard music like this only in dreams. Then it found me. And the dream became real.
Bocanada was my introduction to Gustavo Cerati.
WoW.
There is a level of mastery at work here that is so rare, it turns an album into a spiritual treasure.
from the first downbeat, Bocanada is bursting with passion, luxurious symphonies of sound, masterful guitar playing, grooves, and THAT VOICE.
As I'm listening now to earlier works, I can hear the evolution taking place.
Bocanada has all the groovy vibe of Cerati's earlier works, but now it is both refined and explosive at the same time.
With loving attention to production detail, Gustavos silken voice becomes the compelling focus of this recorded masterpiece. Can you tell I like this album? Yo hablo espanol un poco solemente, pero I CAN FEEL the heart and soul pouring through this music.
In the words of another appreciator, Angelica, "La voz y la magnitud de su creatividad se muestra en este album de Bocanada."
YES!
I am hungry for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DESDE LOS ATOMOS HASTA EL UNIVERSO, March 11, 2003
By 
Manuel Gatti (Santiago, Chile) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
Aunque Cerati no este de acuerdo, este es el mejor disco que ha hecho a lo largo de su trayectoria como solista y es el que mas lo identifica como musico y en su forma de ser. Y no es porque sea el mas masivo, si no por su tremenda delicadeza y finura. Tiene canciones tan sutiles como "Puente" y "Engaña" o tan poderosas como "Verbo Carne" y "Paseo Inmoral". En las ocasiones en que he tenido la suerte de conocerlo (momentos muy cortos), me he dado cuenta que Bocanada es gran parte de él. En cuanto a la parte lirica creo que aqui se consolida como un gran poeta, con palabras tan hermosas como " desordené átomos tuyos, para hacerte aparecer" y muchos otras mas que abarcan desde temas moleculares hasta los astros que flotan sobre nuestras cabezas. Guitarras muy dulces, incluso unos acordes jazz en la transicion anterior al coro de "Perdonar es Divino", potentes sonidos que logran igualar al sonido de Hendrix o de Stevie Ray Vaughan en " Paseo Inmoral" y unos *coros realmente preciosos, influenciado por los Beatles, entre el melancolico canto de Gustavo: "Un dia mas*, un dia mas*" en "Puente". La seccion electronica es interesante, rescato " Y si el humo esta en foco" y " Balsa". Y para que hablar de "Beautiful", un tema tremendamente ambiguo y misterioso que se abre y se libera en el coro con dureza en las palabras de Cerati. A mis jovenes 18 años, me siento muy afortunado de conocer la musica de este gran artista. El disco? MÁGICO Y PERFECTO. Gracias Gustavo, creaste los mejores sonidos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bocanada - Gustavo Cerati, November 12, 2000
By 
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
Este disco es una especie de muestrario de las distintas aristas del trabajo de Gustavo Cerati, pues nos hace ver su interés en la música folklórica, el rock, el tecno, el soul, el funk, etc. Es muy valioso poder escuchar cómo este músico sintetiza dichas influencias y las mezcla, sin homogeneizarlas, a través de canciones muy variadas entre sí, con instrumentaciones muy ricas (guitarras, samplers, orquesta, etc.). Como de costumbre, además, hay un excelente trabajo en los textos (la mayoría propios), que vienen incluidos en el folleto (al respecto, es interesante notar los agradecimientos a Borges, Pizarnik y Quiroga), los cual podrían sostenerse como poemas separados de las canciones, y en los que destacan imágenes muy novedosas. Esto se ve reforzado por una preocupación mayor que en otros discos de SodaStereo por el uso de la voz, que aquí realmente es explorada en todos sus matices. En conclusión, es importante decir que se nota en este disco una gran intención de Cerati por perfilar emociones muy dispares en sus canciones, proponiendo momentos de relajación, de euforia, de optimismo, de sensualidad.
P.D.: recomiendo a quienes estén interesados escuchar los discos de algunos colaboradores de Cerati en este disco, como lo son los de Trineo (Flavius Etcheto) y Leo García.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lo mejor de Cerati/One his best, February 2, 2005
By 
MariaGitana (San Diego/Tijuana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
Being a huge fan and owning most of his albums, I an ALWAYS drawn to return to Bocanda...there is something about this album, the way it is organized, the mixture of beats, electronica with rock, that make it stand out in my opinion.

Songs like Tabu, and Puente are so delicately composed, the beats and arrangements are almost magical.

Cerati is one of the most talented and progressive artists out today. He always has an open ear to what is going on AROUND THE WORLD, and doesn't focus on merely his own country, or one region, to learn about musical movements...THAT is what makes him a SPECTACULAR artist and performer, he is constantly evolving. He is knowledgeable, up to date, and supportive of musical developments not only in Argentina, but in Mexico, Chile, South America, Europe, the US, and abroad...this is reflected in his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very good, August 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
For those who don't speak Spanish, don't worry! Music is the universal language, and Gustavo speaks it fluently. Now freed from the constraints and expectations of Soda Stereo, Cerati folds all kinds of interesting influences into this revelatory disc. Many of the songs are somewhat progressive in sound or structure, yet they all go down smooth thanks to great melodies and Cerati's exquisite voice. This is highly recommended.
If there are English speakers who want to hear some wonderful rock (which just happens to be sung in Spanish) start here. Then proceed to the last few Soda Stereo releases (Cancion Animal and later), Cerati's Amor Amarillo, La Barranca, Santa Sabina, and Jaguares. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un paso delante de todos, September 19, 2000
By 
J. T. (Lima, Peru) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
no tengo dudas: para este humilde escucha, el disco no tiene parangón alguno a nivel latinoamericano. 15 hermosas viñetas que atacan de la manera más entrañable las fibras íntimas de tus mejores momentos de felicidad para la eternidad. Sublimes arreglos y melodías majestuosamente sencillas que se pasean a sus anchas sobre una insondeable complejidad. Nada de trip-hop (Río Babel), electro-bolero(Bocanada), ni tecno-folklore (Raíz). Sólo crucen el puente y fluyen sin un fin con las fantasías digitales de un Cerati más inspirado que nunca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ceratti - An excellent example of Good Latin Rock, January 12, 2000
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
For those of you that still believe that good rock only comes from Europe or US, you better listen to Ceratti's "Bocanada". The CD is itslef a magic collage of sounds. Playing with smart programming and owner of an hypnotic voice,particularly the song "Puente" comes as a masterpiece, that can even please more commercial ears. Gustavo, former singer of best Argentinean Group "Soda Stereo" continues with a tradition of delivering innovative and quality work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars El Mejor Solista del Mundo, May 1, 2000
By 
This review is from: Bocanada (Audio CD)
Sin duda alguna el BOCANADA emtra en los historiales de la musica en español como una de las obras amestras, es PERFECTO
el sonido que logra cerati aqui se pasea en la linea de lo exprimental con lo POP, pero un POP FABULOSO !
Solo escuchar PUENTE o la excelente PASEO INMORA; te hace pensar que en realidad , la musica latina no esta tan distanciada de las grandes producciones Inglesas y/o Norteamericanas
Un Muy buen disco, para los fans de la musica Fina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bocanada
Bocanada by Gustavo Cerati
Buy MP3 Album$5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.