Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing bog bodies back to life
A mummified corpse and eerie bog haunt the front cover of this non-fiction treasure, beckoning readers inside to discover what "Bodies from the Bog" are all about. Deem chose his subject wisely, for children are known for their fascination with the unknown, in this case, the mysterious world of people who lived up to 5,500 years ago. Reporting on natural...
Published on December 5, 1999 by Caroline

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been more info.
I enjoyed reading the book, but thought there could have been more information and pics. I read through it in about two hours or so. I was a bit disappointed.
Published on August 4, 2011 by Sandra Ericson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing bog bodies back to life, December 5, 1999
By 
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Hardcover)
A mummified corpse and eerie bog haunt the front cover of this non-fiction treasure, beckoning readers inside to discover what "Bodies from the Bog" are all about. Deem chose his subject wisely, for children are known for their fascination with the unknown, in this case, the mysterious world of people who lived up to 5,500 years ago. Reporting on natural mummies and other artifacts that have been discovered in the bogs of Germany, Denmark, England, Ireland, and the Netherlands, Deem explores the scientific processes that go into researching and preserving the bodies, also describing how peat acts as a natural "mummifying" agent. Grauballe Man, for instance, discovered in Denmark in 1952, disclosed what his final meal had been through the contents of his intestines, the wounds causing his death enabled archeologists to infer that he had been a human sacrifice. Deem's research took him to almost all the museums currently exhibiting bog bodies and connected him with Dr. Wijnand Sanden, considered today's premier bog body expert. Deem brings bog bodies back to life with his engaging and accessible text. Accompanying captivating photographs, though sometimes grotesque, were taken by Deem himself. For example, by two close-up photographs of Tollmund Man, Deem writes, "The Tollmund Man had been hanged. Despite the circumstances of his death, the face of the Tollmund Man is still peaceful and at rest." The photographs, including text-enhancing photo-captions, will captivate middle-school-age readers as well as adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars yuck!, December 8, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Hardcover)
This book is very interesting. It has [lots of descriptionsabout people -just what I needed to keep my attention. My favorite part [are allthe descriptions]. This book is interesting and you won't get it from your parents because they will be majorly grossed out... hopefully not YOU! I recommend this book to kids who don't like to read much because this one will keep you awake for weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Held My Attention, April 17, 2012
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Paperback)
James Deem starts with the story of the discovery of the famous Grauballe Man from Denmark. In the spring of 1952, when a group of men were digging in a partially drained bog, they made an unexpected discovery. About three feet below the surface, their shovels struck the head of a man. That man has since become known as the Grauballe Man, whom scientists have examined to determine age, last meal, and probable cause of death. Feeling curious? So was I, proving that Deem did his job of creating a good lead chapter.

Next, Deem steps back in history to describe the earliest reports of bog bodies. The first written reports of such discoveries come from the 1600s. He briefly describes several of these accounts and includes many photos to illustrate his examples. Only after Deems has reeled us in with his multiple tales of death does he turn to the life in a bog. By now, we're ready to read about how those cold watery bog graves came about.

After discussing other important finds, which are less morbid and more the stuff of routine archeology, Deems steps forward again to talk about how scientists examine a bog body. Most telling in this chapter is how much and yet how little scientists know. I found it amazing that merely by studying the contents of a body's stomach, scientists could figure out the season in which that person had died. At the same time, how a person died seems to remain mostly speculation. Perhaps they were criminals or sacrifices. On the other hand, they might just have been drowning victims or even suicides.

I appreciated how much Bodies from the Bog held my attention. Deems trusted the stories, facts, and photos of bog bodies to capture the attention of readers. The layout isn't cute, the fonts aren't playful, nor is the style aimed to please a juvenile audience. While this might result in its being passed over for brighter and bolder books, those with a serious interest in mummified bodies will find this a solid reference book. Deems even visited most of the museums with bog body exhibits and along the way found many experts to answer his questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Facts., August 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Paperback)
This book was for my 11 year old son. It had great photos and was easy for him to read.The facts are very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For that history person.., January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Paperback)
Bought this for my sister for her birthday.. A little weird but she loved the book. She loves history and all that goes with it. She said it had a lot of interesting stories..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I gave the booklet 5 stars because of the content ..., September 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Paperback)
I gave the booklet 5 stars because of the content, but I had already read the article in the National Geo magazine. I thought it would be an expanded feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy Review!!!, May 7, 2002
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Hardcover)
People go to a place were they think the mummies are baried and
they find some amazing mummies,like the girl who was sacraficed and had her head was shaved on one side and this one guy was hanged and was well proserved that you could see his face as it was when he died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy Review!!!, May 7, 2002
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Hardcover)
People go to a place were they think the mummies are baried and
they find some amazing mummies,like the girl who was sacraficed and had her head was shaved on one side and this one guy was hanged and was well proserved that you could see his face as it was when he died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been more info., August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bodies from the Bog (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading the book, but thought there could have been more information and pics. I read through it in about two hours or so. I was a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bodies from the Bog
Bodies from the Bog by James M. Deem (Paperback - August 25, 2003)
$9.99 $8.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.