Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debbie Gibson's artistic pinnacle.
Body Mind Soul signalled the end of Debbie Gibson's chart life, but it's not the music's fault. This record was one of the casualties of the paradigm shift that had turned New Kids on the Block fans into Pearl Jam, R.E.M., and even Pantera fans -- a generation had started to grow up, and Gibson's music was left behind.

But this is one fine record. Even when I...
Published on February 18, 2005 by D. Mok

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Body Mind Soul For Devoted Gibson Fans Only
Even though I am a loyal fan, I consider this Deborah's weakest album. It is overproduced and does not represent the singer's ability or style very well. That said, there are some standouts on this CD. The passionate, well sung "Losin' Myself" is the definite highlight of the album. "Shock Your Mama" and "Free Me" are fun, upbeat tunes that are easy to dance to. And...
Published on June 9, 2003 by Andre LeBlanc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debbie Gibson's artistic pinnacle., February 18, 2005
By 
D. Mok (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
Body Mind Soul signalled the end of Debbie Gibson's chart life, but it's not the music's fault. This record was one of the casualties of the paradigm shift that had turned New Kids on the Block fans into Pearl Jam, R.E.M., and even Pantera fans -- a generation had started to grow up, and Gibson's music was left behind.

But this is one fine record. Even when I was a teenager back in 1993, this record sat in comfortably in my CD walkman along with Pearl Jam's Vs., R.E.M.'s Automatic for the People, and other songs by far more "respectable" artists. And this is the record on which Gibson didn't sound like a talented teenager, but a fully formed artist with depth and complexity. She'd just done an overhaul in her music, choosing new collaborators (Evan Rogers and Carl Sturken, of Rythm Syndicate, which had one big hit in "P.A.S.S.I.O.N.") and a new, more grown-up image. Rythm Syndicate wasn't exactly the most respected band around, but Rogers and Sturken proved highly catalytic to Gibson as co-writers and co-producers.

Lead single "Losin' Myself" was possibly the sexiest single of that year. Maybe it wasn't a great idea for Gibson to play a stripper in the video, but the single is still a marvel, an engaging mix of dance song and ballad, a track that just keeps building up higher and higher rhythmically, with great backing vocals, a killer bassline, a bridge that Prince might've cooked up, and a varied, sensual lead vocal by Gibson. "Free Me" melds a heavy club beat to a great pop song and effectively caps off Gibson's artistic intent; "Do You Have It in Your Heart?" signals Gibson's new approach towards ballads. She now sounds fully mature and this song easily makes us forget the overt sentimentality of "Lost in Your Eyes"; and "How Can This Be?" harkens back to her older songs, but with more maturity and better lyrics. The only dud is "Shock Your Mama", which does nothing of the sort, pretty flat and uninteresting even as a joke.

This album fell into bargain bins about a year after it came out. But it's easily the strongest album in the Gibson catalogue, better than Gibson's plethora of semi-independent albums throughout the '90s, and a record that would be good by anybody's standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gives Madonna & Janet a Run, October 16, 2000
By 
S. Foster (Moira, Co Armagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
I will never understand why this cd is so overlooked. Debbie's 4th album outshines most album packages today by the sheer quality and dexterity of La Gibson's style and versatility. From the opening pop of Love or Money, which joyously celebrates her unconditional love of a smalltown boy - to the stonking Free Me, which has one of the catchiest corusses of the 90s. Co-written, as with the first 5 trax, with Sturken & Rogers (currently having worked on Anastacia's album), Free Me has the sass of a mature ....Baby One More Time. The public never 'got' the tongue-in-cheek Shock Your Mama, but again with a killer chorus and layered/harmonised rap, it has a groove and r'nb edge that simply oozes sex appeal & would leave Mariah in awe.
Debbie does not forgo her credibility as a performer-producer, for which she is famous. When I Say No chugs along with the emancipated condifence that the girl rejecting a boys come-on storyline tells, & Little Bird tweeks along with a cuteness & joy which raises the spirits and impresses with harmonies. Tear Down These Walls builds upon Deborah's proactive social commentary (with less kitsch than Electric Youth). The album's curtain song, Narada Michael Walden's Goodbye simply chills through the crystal clear production and the pain in Deborah's voice, as she bows out from a love gine wrong. It heralds the demise of teen pop Queen and the graduation to a mature arteest on the level of Gloria, Whitney or Celine.
The album is a perfectly polished, high budget affair. I own 2 copies - never want to lose this one. It is definitely worth an investigation, and outshines any of Debbie's more significant commercial successes by far. What this album does is lay testimony to the fact that fickle audiences listen to many artists because of their cred rather than their talent. If audiences operated conversely, Debbie would have had the likes of a Rhythm Nation or Ray of Light on her hands. Oh, yes THAT good. Seven Years Later & it still sounds as fresh, funky and mature. A cd I'm definitely not ashamed to play in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Losin' Myself' Over Rare Debbie Gibson Find, November 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
First it is important to note that this reviewer disgrees with most everything that the previous reviews of Debbie Gibson's 1993 release, Body Mind Soul. In fact, I would have to unequivically call this cd "ahead of its time." Let me explain....
As a fan of miss Gibson during my junior high years, I, like millions of others, had her three major late-80's/early 90's recording or, as some call them, the Debbie Gibson trilogy (Out of the Blue, Electric Youth, and Anything is Possible.) While the trilogy was extremely successful for the artist formerly known as Debbie, Body Mind Soul failed to measure up.
I remember hearing the cd's lead single, Losin' Myself, on Top 40 radio and hearing the cassette single played in cars. I, however, never purchased the cd and have been looking for this rare find for some time.
I can tell you that it's sound is certainly ahead of it's time. Infused with R&B, it signals a sound that didn't hit it big until late 1995 and still continues to flourish on the charts. Songs like Do You Have It In Your Heart?, Free Me, Tear Down These Walls, Losin' Myself and Kisses 4 One make the cd well worth the price. Here Deborah shows maturity and change different from her first three albums. Perhaps many, including myself weren't as ready for it right on the heels of the success of quintessential pop songs like Foolish Beat, No More Rhyme, or Shake Your Love. But today, it is a welcome breath of fresh air. In reading other reviews for Body Mind Soul, I see that Deborah has a new cd on the way. I'll be buying that too if its anything like Body Mind Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid album, January 31, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
It's beyond me why some people choose to judge this immesely talented recording artist! There are not many people who have her skills & ability to create various songs and fabulous backing music! This album is everything a solid album should have. The songs are expertly written & produced, the vocals suit each song, there is consistency, the songs have good remixablity potenial & everything song sounds fabulous many years later! In my mind, she is every bit as talented & has good taste in music like Madonna. I love every songs on this CD. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Debster's Third-Best Album : Pure Audio Gold, May 29, 2008
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
If you're Debbie Gibson, chances are that you often wonder why your music wasn't more successful, considering how GOOD you were at it. While Miss Gibson did have a huge hit on her hands with her sophomore album "Electric Youth" (which ironically remains her best CD in terms of musical value), critics often forget that she had a huge body of work post-"Electric Youth", most notably the classic "Anything is Possible" album from 1990.

Often compared to Tiffany, Miss Gibson's later career slump is actually quite comparable to Tiffany's. Both their 1990 albums were huge flops (though Tiffany's 1990 album "New Inside" is still a minor pop classic), and their albums in the 2000s, while good, didn't quite bring them back the way they expected. However, both these ladies released some pretty good albums in the 1990s - its a pity that none of these really took off.

"Body Mind Soul" was recorded in 1992 and released in 1993. At a time when grunge and alternative music was taking over the world, the album seems an oddity even within its 'pure pop' genre. I first had this on cassette back in 1992, but recently got a fresh copy of it on CD (and at these throwaway prices, I should have gotten at least three copies of this, come to think of it). "Body Mind Soul" was an album before its' time, in my opinion. It had shades of neo-soul before 'neo-soul' was even a properly understood genre, and it had traces of jazz and funk as well.

"Love or Money", the addictive opening track, long remained my favorite due to its insanely funny opening dialog, and the simply breezy "Losin' Myself" (try tracking down the equally cool video) was an underrated pop gem that reminded me of Martika's "Love thy Will be Done". Along the way, there are some smash songs that should have been singles. "Free Me" sounds like something off Vanessa Williams' amazing "The Comfort Zone" CD, and "Kisses 4 One" uses a change in musical tone halfway through the song - this reminded me of the similar transition used on "Don't Take me Down" from the Wilson Phillips second CD "Shadows and Light" (another underrated classic).

"Body Mind Soul" is timeless pop. Debbie Gibson sure knew what she was doing, back in the day, but many people forget that she was an artist first and a commercial entertainer second. Many of these 'teen pop' princesses are often maligned/mocked due to these associations, but the fact remains that Debbie Gibson was an honest and really solid songwriter. I believe she still holds the Guinness Record for youngest person to write/perform/produce a No. 1 single on the Billboard Hot 100. And that was in 1987!

I urge you to get this. Along with "Anything is Possible" and "Electric Youth", this remains one of her best albums. Later efforts, such as her more 'serious' attempt entitled "Deborah", as well as her syrupy love album "Think with your Heart" are all good, but none of them are as essential as the afore-mentioned trio of albums.

Four Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deborah's best Vocalmania in '92-'93, June 16, 2002
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
With all the grunge, hip hop and gangster rap music started out in 1992; one artist formerly known for her "squeaky" clean image made a comeback in late '92 throughout 1993 with "Body Mind Soul". Yes, the then 23 year old Debbie Gibson, (after a commercially flopped 1990 release of "Anything Is Possible") bounced back with this album released, that had radio and music critics ignoring her mature work in music as an artist and vocalist.
While the singles such as "Losin' Myself" (where she revealed a more mature and personal side of her artistically) and "Shock Your Mama" (where she poked fun at herself) - the album is left unheard by the many music fans out there whether they are a fan of hers or not.
Listening to this album in its entirety has not been a waste of time! With her new arrangements and vocal styles, she's come a long way. And it's unfair that the music industry is not giving her the credibility and respect she deserves as a "maturing" artist. I mean, how many teen idols can one mention that has the ability to write, record, and produce a song and an album by the age of 16? Not Britney, nor Christina, and definitely not Mandy. But back in the mid-to-late 80's; Debbie Gibson has shown just that with a string of hits; and even at only 18, which she scored a number one hit "Lost In Your Eyes" in 1989's "Electric Youth" album.
"Body Mind Soul" is one of Deborah's best work since her past trilogy albums (Out Of The Blue - 1987; Electric Youth - 1989; Anything Is Possible - 1990). This is one of the best albums in my list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cds!, February 13, 2007
This is a double disc rerelease of Deborah'd third and fourth cds! Its worth owning if you collect Deb merchandise! Nice pics inside! It would of been nice had bonus tracks been added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOT A GROOVE IN MY HEAD..., July 11, 2001
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
As a die-hard fan (since 1987, age 10) of Ms. Gibson, I have to say that this is by far my favorite album she has EVER released. Though it was not the commercial success of it's predecesors, it remains her best in my opinion. Having always been a fan of dance/pop this album really grabbed me. As the follow up to 1990's "Anything Is Possible" this album kinda of continued where the first half (NRGUP) left off. Deborah's greatest vocal performance to date "Losin' Myself" is just sultry. "Free Me" happens to be my favorite track of all time, it's a sultry dance jam. Other highlights include "Do you have it in your heart?" "Shock Your Mama" "Little Birdie"...etc. As a side note her latest MYOB is probably the closet thing to BMS for it's dance/pop/r&b flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, December 15, 2000
By 
Bill Graper (Madison, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
I've been a Debfan since the very beginning. I bought this CD the day it became available & was not disappointed! The dance grooves are incredible! This CD was so different from her 1st two, because the beats were more danceable (aggresive). Love Or Money, Free Me, Shock Your Mama (which really shocked us all!) and Losin' Myself never get old! "How Can This Be" really grows on you fast. But if you're REALLY in the mood for a great ballad, the final track, "Goodbye," will bring tears to your eyes. This CD is definately worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How Can This Be, September 26, 2009
This review is from: Body Mind Soul (Audio CD)
2 years after the disasterous album Anything Is Possible, Debbie decided to move into the R&B/New Jack Swing to fit the trends. Overall this isn't a bad record. It was her last effort and eventually she left Atlantic Records.

Love or Money: great opening track with great new jack swing movements and lyrics. So I would give it a 10/10

Do you Have it In your Heart: one of the three ballads off the album, which sounds like L.A. Reid/Babyface style and something TLC would Sing which sounds Like Baby Baby Baby. I will give it 9/10

Free Me: her least successful single, I would give it 2/10

Shock Your Mama: another New Jack track produced by Teddy Riley himself and very silly lyrics. 8/10

Losin Myself: Best track of the album even the Masters at Work is awesome. The album version is very Melancholy and a cry for help which the song starts slower then comes from down beat to the highest beat and slows at the end. Now the upbeat sounds like Madonna'a Rain the video fits the song which can be seen as a strip club song.the MAW mix has an alternate ending. Song will receive 10/10

How Can This Be: a look back at her previous singles Foolish Beat and In Your Eyes which shows a mature vocals and great ballad. 9/10

When I Say No: a Prince-esque type of song speaks about date [...] which something Britney needs to hear and learn from Deborah. 9/10

Little Birdie: too cheesy and too silly, what was she thinking? 5/10

Kisses 4 One: Another Prince-esque. This is a very serious song which speaks about the dangers of AIDS and telling them they should stick to one love and tells all races (black white brown) all seeing red. Great track Debbie. 10/10

Tear Down These Walls: sounds like a leftover of Electric Youth but with mature lyrics and great beat. 8/10

Closing out this album is Goodbye: great way to end the album. 9/10

I would give this album a 9/10. Good album but it needed Losin Myself MAW 12" as a bonus track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Body Mind Soul
Body Mind Soul by Debbie Gibson (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.