Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars accurate and useful information
As a natural healthcare practitioner, I often refer to several textbooks to update and review for the benefit of my patients. I have come to rely on Dr. Columbu's knowledge as it applies to athletes. Yet, there is a point to which all persons can benefit from just a little of his principles. Seldom will you find a book recommending that the specific enzyme-containing...
Published on November 3, 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but needs to be updated
franco gives good advice and certainly has all the credentials to write this book. But he neglects all the modern protein powders, supplements like creatine in this book. Simply states its better to eat natural protein like eggs, fish and meat. No review of whey or casein or creatine. But I guess he did become a Mr. Olympia without all that. For those wanting to avoid...
Published on June 29, 2010 by Neeraj Korde


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars accurate and useful information, November 3, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
As a natural healthcare practitioner, I often refer to several textbooks to update and review for the benefit of my patients. I have come to rely on Dr. Columbu's knowledge as it applies to athletes. Yet, there is a point to which all persons can benefit from just a little of his principles. Seldom will you find a book recommending that the specific enzyme-containing foods required for proper breakdown and assimilation of other vital substances. As to the comment that the information on the macronutrients and micronutrients being outdated and nothing new, I must respond by replying that I do not often encounter persons who have a working knowledge of what nutrients are responsible for certain functions and the consequences of deficiencies. And the information he provides is just as useful today as it was in the book's first printing. We could all use a bit of a refresher course from time to time on basic nutrition. Glad to see Dr. Columbu reiterating the value of such information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible, February 18, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
I used this book to bulk up while losing over 50 lbs (from 225 to 165 lbs), and I maintained my strength. I did not follow the nutritional supplement advice, but did follow what to eat religiously. This is the best sports nutrition book, period.

An Update (6 months after my original review above): OK, I stopped following his advice (high value protein) so religiously, and I gained back 12 pounds. That's how effective this book is. Cause and effect. Follow the book, lose weight and gain strength. Don't follow the advice, gain weight and lose strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good, comprehensive and brief nutritional "rule-book", July 14, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
This is a great guide for those individuals who seek to bodybuild via real food and not via some of these synthetic powder drinks, for instance. Its a great nutritional assistant that provides lists of "do" and "don'ts" when comes to all the food groups and also explains how vitamins and supplements benefit our body. Its also a great source of some digestive concepts and information. Nutrition tables are also given for over 300 sources/items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Vitamin Manual for Bodybuilders by Arnold's training partner, February 16, 2007
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
If you have ever seen Pumping Iron with Arnold Schwarzenegger then you will remember the scene with the Sicilian guy lifting a car out from its parking place. This is that guy, Arnold's training pal, who also competed along side Arnold, winning many titles for his weight category and would later go on to become a Doctor of Chiropractic. Before we begin we should affirm that yes we know they both took steroids, and yes this book contains images of drug users, and yes times have changed (since this book is dated 1985 it covers some things on steroid). The big question is why would you want a book that is over 20 years old? The answer is obvious in that it is the name that sells it. However this guide is far from just another quick cash-in as the author gives you almost 164 pages of solid data.

The problem is the book title does not reveal much about what this book is really about. If you know that this book is less about how to cook up bodybuilding meals and more about Vitamins (most of the book) and has 7 or 8 pages on common things you can cook up, then you will less disappointed, many even getting exactly what you are looking. In fact I haven't seen anything quite like this in the field in bodybuilding literature.

The Bodybuilders Nutrition Book is basically about selling you the idea that you should take your vitamins. While that might considered a bit of an oversell to publish a whole book on it, the fact is important in order to get all the other things Bodybuilders do and supplement with to work right. The point though is elaborated on by breaking down each vitamin into what it can do for you and how much to take. This is about the science of vitamins and nutrition and how it applies to bodybuilding. It is not a beginner's book but anyone interested in learning more about the breakdown of foods and the role vitamins play will find this book quite authoritative although a bit dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, November 3, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
This is the one book I found that helped me to understand the confusing world of nutrition and bodybuilding. I use this book as a reference and have read it cover to cover at least 6 times since I purchased it. This year I plan to make this book a gift to all my friends and family interested in the sport. Thank you Franco for your help and direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old ways are still the best, March 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
Dr. Columbu trained Hollywood stars including Sylvester Stallone. He knows what he's doing. I knew him personally and found him to be bright and thoughtful. His advice is quite valuable--and not at all gimmicky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Resource, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
This book by Franco Columbu, who is a retired world class bodybuilder, really isn't about nutrition for bodybuilders only. I found it to be a general nutrition book. I have numerous nutrition textbooks and they are basically summed up in this book. It is a quick guide to getting proper nutrition to help you make strong gains in muscle building. I found it to be very helpful with the chart in the back about different foods and their nutritional value. This book is a great guide to those who don't know much about nutrition. If you already have books on nutrition, there really isn't anything new here so save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowledge is key, May 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
The best part I took away from this book is the knowledge gained from a body builder who has already tested a lot of the food theories on his own body so he can write from experience. It only tops it off that Franco went on to get his PHD in nutrition. This book is easy reading and gives you a good background and basis to work from when discovering your own nutritional needs for your body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - buy it!, August 13, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
I thoroughly recommend this book for anyone interested in knowing how the body works. As someone who is interested simply in cutting my body fat level and staying in shape, rather than body building, I found it to be extremely valuable. I lost several pounds in a week or so after reading the book simply by following some of the general ideas alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers everything any bodybuilder needs to know about successful nutrition, July 27, 2006
This review is from: The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book (Paperback)
This book addresses the specific nutritional needs of a serious bodybuilder. The author, a two-time Mr. Olympia Winner, presents the most successful strategies and diet plans for achieving an outstanding physique.

With this handy reference you will learn how the body utilizes the basic nutrients: proteins, carbohydrates, fats, vitamins, minerals, and enzymes, each one is discussed in detail. Armed with the most recognized and up-to-date information the book guides bodybuilders in developing a customized diet that matches his or her needs. The book also provides menus and meal plans that are geared to individual body types, exercises regimes, and levels of competitiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book
The Bodybuilder's Nutrition Book by Franco Columbu (Paperback - September 22, 1985)
$18.95 $11.57
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.