and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.42
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!! (there is a chance this book could contain a gift inscription)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Bodyguard and the Show Dog Perfect Paperback – June 6, 2006


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Perfect Paperback, June 6, 2006
$2.52 $0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Series: Bodyguard (Book 2)
  • Perfect Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Behler Publications (June 6, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 193301637X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1933016375
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 6 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,183,718 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A wonderful cast of colorful characters, Striker is a perfectly yummy hero...rollicking good fun." -- Myshelf.com<br /><br />French excels at creating very human characters, intense action, provocative story lines, and sizzling romance. -- Laurel Johnson, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review, June, 2006<br /><br />I laughed till I cried and still chuckle when I muse back over this riotously entertaining book. -- Donna Zapf, Single Titles.com, May, 2006<br /><br />Ms. French creates a wonderful cast of characters ... Frankly, The Bodyguard and the Show Dog is rollicking good fun. -- Myshelf.Com, Tara Manderino, Reviewer, June, 2006<br /><br />The Bodyguard and the Show Dog is a laugh-a-minute story in the best Janet Evanovich style. --Brenda Edde, Romance Junkies, May, 2006

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, Christy Tillery French combines romance, mystery, death threats, and engaging clumsiness in her newest installment of her entertaining Bodyguard series.

More About the Author

I am author of Chasing Horses, Wayne's Dead, Chasing Demons, Chasing Secrets, and The Bodyguard series: The Bodyguard,The Bodyguard and the Show Dog, The Bodyguard and the Rock Star, The Bodyguard and the Snitch,The Bodyguard and the Bodyguard. I co-wrote Whistling Woman, a Southern/Appalachian Literary Fiction, with CT Hodges. I recently published as a Kindle, Obsolete, a dystopian action-adventure. I have 5 recipes published in Killer Recipes (cookbook donating proceeds to the American Cancer Society) and have a short story (Cat Incarnate) published in Cats in a Dreamspell. The Bodyguard and Bridezilla - coming soon!

Chasing Horses - Finalist in the Heart & Scroll Madcap Award Contest for Best in Romantic Comedy;

Wayne's Dead - named one of MyShelf's Top 10 Reads for 2002; United Author's Association Manager's Pick for the Month, 9/03; published in South Korea by Yacom Publishing;

The Bodyguard and the Show Dog -recipient of the CataNetwork 2006 Single Titles Reviewers' Choice Award and finalist in the Dog Writers Association of America 2006 Writing Competition, Book: Fiction.

Chasing Secrets - Finalist, Dog Writers Association of America 2009 Writing Competition, Book: Fiction; Finalist, EPIC 2010 E-Book Competition, Mystery,Suspense and/or Adventure Romance.

The Bodyguard and the Rock Star: Award-winning finalist in the USA Book News Best Books 2009 Competition.

Chasing Demons - published in Japan by Futami Shobo Publishers; Finalist in EPIC 2012 E-Book Competition, Adventure Romance.

I am listed in the book 50 Great Writers You Should be Reading 2010.

I am also a small business owner as well as member of Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Guppies, High Country Writers, Knoxville Writers Guild, and Tennessee Mountain Writers. I formerly served on the Skill Build Committee of Southeast Mystery Writers of America, representing East Tennessee, and presently serve on the Board of Directors of Tennessee Mountain Writers.

I co-own two small businesses and am a book reviewer for Midwest Book Review - www.midwestbookreview.com

Customer Reviews

The Bodyguard and the Show Dog is the second book of the series.
K. Bosworth
Christy Tillery French excels at creating very human characters, intense action, provocative storylines, and sizzling romance.
Laurel Johnson
This is the second book in author Christy Tillery French's BODYGUARD series and it's a wonderful rollicking ride.
Linda Bulger

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Rolle Hursten on July 7, 2006
Format: Perfect Paperback
This book is so funny. I ordered it when I saw one review site had compared the style to that of Janet Evanovich and let me tell you I was not disappointed. I love the female bodyguard concept and the wacky situations Natasha gets herself into. The chapter where she's being chased by an animal abuser with a rifle in his hand is hilarious. Her relationship with sexy Striker is hot and the conflict she has over her choice of career and dealing with Striker's displeasure over this is well-written. Pit and Bigun are zany and I want to see more of them.

I've ordered #1 in the series and can't wait for #3. Natasha is young, independent, wacky, and thinks of herself as protector of the innocent. The dialogue is great, the adventures Natasha has are humorous, and overall, this book is a winner.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Laurel Johnson on June 8, 2006
Format: Perfect Paperback
One of my favorite writers is back. This second book in The Bodyguard series reprises characters fans loved in the first, and throws a few new ones into the mix. Along with the action, suspense, and romance we expect from Ms. French, this book is liberally laced with humor.

Back for another round of action and danger are Natasha Chamberlain, the feisty bodyguard with a hair-trigger temper; Jonce Striker, her enigmatic half-Cherokee boss turned lover; Roger Valentine, a client in the first book and now a friend; Pit and Bigun, Valentine's Samoan bodyguards who spend half their time keeping Natasha out of trouble. This time Natasha is hired to guard Myrtle Galbreath's prize-winning show dog, Chumley. Chumley is ill-mannered and obnoxious but takes a shine to Natasha. Someone has threatened the dog's life if Myrtle enters him in an upcoming championship. Before too long the fur begins to fly in more ways than one as first Chumley and then Natasha are stalked by bad guys bent on eliminating them both.

Natasha's unorthodox style as a bodyguard throws her into one scrape after another while Jonce works frantically behind the scenes to keep her alive. He plans to marry this infuriating woman and, one way or another, she's getting to the altar in one

piece! Natasha's list of suspects adds intriguing dimensions to the mystery. Is it the seedy owner of a strip club, a lecherous Senator, a gang of vicious bikers, or a crazed State employee out to end her life? I suggest you read the book to find out.

Christy Tillery French excels at creating very human characters, intense action, provocative storylines, and sizzling romance. Established fans and new readers will

want more of this series. I hope book number three is in the offing, Ms. French.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Sherry Russell on June 14, 2006
Format: Perfect Paperback
The Bodyguard and the Show Dog is a like a fresh drink from the perpetual fountain of love, sex and wit.

Natasha Chamberlain is a feisty bucking bronco of a bodyguard. While she is contemplating her love life, charming Myrtle Garbreath walks in to her office seeking her services. She hires Natasha to guard her nasty little spitball of a champion show dog, Chumley the Pug.

The valuable pooch is kidnapped and Natasha begins a case that seems to be veiled in jinx at every corner which makes this book wickedly fun. Her penchant for living life at full throttle with an unfastened seatbelt lands her in a boatload of trials and tribulations. Her eagerness to straighten out one of the "one-percenter" bikers is a testament to her system of moral justice. The escapades keep the pages blistering and turning rapidly.

It is easy to see why Christy French is a fast rising talent. She writes in a smart and sexy style with devotion to fully fleshing her characters. Her story line builds steadily into a complete picture keeping the reader fully invested to the last sentence.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Evelyn Horan on June 8, 2006
Format: Perfect Paperback
Christy French has become one of my favorite authors. Why? She creates novels that titillate, educate, and keep you up late. French has mastered the art of writing novels readers can't put down.

The BodyGuard and the Show Dog brings back familiar characters I enjoyed getting to know in The BodyGuard. Main character Natasha is a bodyguard with attitude who always gets hurt but won't give up or give in, ever.The offensive pug Chumley made me giggle. The return of love interest Striker made me sizzle. And the wonderful way French is able to describe a variety of people we've all known in every community is impressive.

A must read for those who like adventure, quirky misadventures, and adventures of the heart.

Get ready for another roller coaster, wild ride! In this fast-paced and zany, humorous second adventure of sincere, but bumbling, female bodyguard, protection specialist, Natasha Chamberlain, heroine of The Bodyguard and the Show Dog , there are continuous chuckles and smiles, caused by a whirlwind of bungling mishaps, unfortunately, created by well-meaning and conscientious efforts, that often lead to the brink of disaster, as Natasha becomes bodyguard to Chumley, a small champion show dog, whose life is threatened by mail from an unknown assailant should Chumley participate in an upcoming dog show.

In numerous, unorthodox attempts to discover the culprit threatening Chumlely's life, to continuously frustrating the love of her life, Jonce Striker, her sensible and capable boss, Natasha leads the reader on a constant series of humorous adventures.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews