Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars10
5 star
60%
4 star
40%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 16, 1999
I have until the end of September to convince the SUPREME COURT of the UNITED STATES of AMERICA to hear my case. Please HELP!
If you believe in FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION, or JUSTICE, please send me an email now so I can tell you how you can help.
Don't let the SECRET SERVICE seize and destroy my art. You deserve the right to decide for yourself. Don't let them make that decision for you!
If you don't know what I'm talking about, please buy this book and READ IT. (while you still can).
Then write me at - jsgboggs@aol.com
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2015
A fun, easy read, and it really should make you think about our relationship with money. If you were to accept a Boggs bill in payment, it's not because he says it has value... it's because you *agree* it has value. And since modern money is no longer backed by silver and/or gold, what makes a Boggs any different from a "real" bill?

Boggs himself is a fascinating character; Wechsler's prose wanders, but always manages to come back to the point he was trying to make, and the meandering is interesting too. Recommended.

And if you get the opportunity to see any of Boggs' work, go see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2008
I read the book - let me say that I have been reading about Mr. Boggs in the numismatic press and have seen his handywork from various coin dealers for years. This man's artistic talent would rank excellent, and this book gives the reader an inside look at the man who has comically mocked the artwork of government issued money (especially U.S. money) and its no wonder why his work is appriciated by both collectors and non-collectors of coins and currency.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
This book did more to make me think about the meaning of money and the value of art than anything I've ever read. What Boggs did was fine art and performance art, comedy and commentary, sublime and subversive. If you've ever wondered why we endow little pieces of paper with such extraordinary value then you should take a the short romp through the magical world of JSG Boggs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 31, 2000
The story told in this book is fasccinating -- of a man whose art directly addresses the questions: what is money? what does money mean to us? how does money work? Boggs is an artist who creates beuatiful work, and does it in a way that it also drives to the heart of the American monetary system. The transactional part of his art is fascinating, and is told in an engaging amnner in this book.
The book suffers from being an enlargement of a fascinating article on the same subject. The borders between the original material and that added to make it a book-length piece are sometimes glaring. The book would have been more successful if the text were limited to the original article, and the collection of images were expanded.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2003
The debate about what constitutes value has been tackled numerous times, but this may be the most humorous and interesting take on the subject. JSG Boggs shoves the question of value into our faces by drawing money and trying to pass it off - not as real money, but as real value. The book follows Boggs as he takes his "what is value" sideshow on the road, and into several court appearances. By the end, you'll see money in a whole new light as Boggs rides into the sunset with a pocket full of "cash."
The book loses its touch (and its uniqueness) when Mr. Weschler wanders into a generic discussion of the history of money. Overall, the author's treatment does just what it should - get out of the way and let Boggs paint a marvelous story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2009
This artist has good humor. Makes you question the value of art LITERALLY. He goes out and eats and pays with a $100 bill that he drew while he was eating. He asks the waiter if he will value his drawing as $100 because he drew it and the waiter thinks about it and takes it. Theres a lot of situations he gets himself into doing this. He usually gets away with it. I recommend this book if you are looking for an interesting book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
As described. Prompt shipping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2001
It's honest, dispite the quasi-legal aspects of Mr. Boggs livelihood...the proof that the barter system still exists for intellectual property!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 1999
This is a great book. If you are the owner of a BOGGS-BILL, please contact us immediately. We want to buy as many as we can.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.