Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing "Bogus" about this film except the title
How does anyone cope with a situation that's almost intolerable? In young Albert's (Osment) case, he invents an imaginary friend "Bogus" (Depardieu) when his Mom dies and he's forced to move from familiar Las Vegas to New Jersey with a Godmother, Harriet, (Goldberg) that he's never met before.

But, Bogus isn't just a figment of Albert's imagination. He's a...
Published on March 10, 2008 by R. Kyle

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what you think -
This is a tepid emotional drama, not a comedy at all. There is nothing funny about this movie, despite the great comedic talents.

The movie tries to explore some fairly deep issues of grief and loss. This is horribly undermined by the half-hearted, periodic grasp for something funny, but it fails. The dialogue goes something like this -

Writer...
Published 1 month ago by Anthony Flannery


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing "Bogus" about this film except the title, March 10, 2008
This review is from: Bogus (DVD)
How does anyone cope with a situation that's almost intolerable? In young Albert's (Osment) case, he invents an imaginary friend "Bogus" (Depardieu) when his Mom dies and he's forced to move from familiar Las Vegas to New Jersey with a Godmother, Harriet, (Goldberg) that he's never met before.

But, Bogus isn't just a figment of Albert's imagination. He's a just a part of the magic that connects us all.

"Bogus" is a film that both parents and kids can enjoy. It's warm, funny, and worthwhile. I think Osment and Depardieu have to be one of the best acting teams ever. Whoopi Goldberg is always a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable movie, December 10, 2001
This review is from: Bogus [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Although not many people have seen it, Bogus is an absolutely wonderful movie. It stars Haley Joel Osment (The Sixth Sense) as Albert, a boy who is forced to live with his godmother Harriet (Whoopi Golberg) after his mom dies. Along the way, he invents an invisible friend (Gerard Depardieu, The Man In the Iron Mask) named Bogus, and the film is basically about Albert and Harriet learning to love each other with the help of Bogus. Filled with subtle humor and superior acting by Osment, I highly recommend this film to anyone with an imagination.
A great family film, completely deserves 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie, January 4, 2000
This review is from: Bogus [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I think Bogus is a great movie. I never saw it in the theater because I didn't like the title and I think obviously a lot of other people felt the same way I did about the title and didn't go see it for that, too. Albert (Haley Joel Osment) has to go live with his godmother, Harriet (Whoppi), that no one knew existed until Albert's mom was killed in a car accident. At first, Harriet doesn't like the idea of him coming to live with her and what seems to bother her most is that he is white and she's black. His mom's death was very sad for him and then going to live with some stranger in New York probably made everything worse. So Albert ends up metting an imaginary friend, Bogus, that no one can see but him. Even though I dont like the title, the movie makes up for it and everyone should go see it cause it is a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes you love any child in this world, October 25, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bogus [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Bogus is a movie that makes you feel that every child deserves to be loved and cared for. The actor Haley Osment is the real soul of this movie. He acts so well that he is the best actor to be casted on this movie . Recommended and highly rated by most of our community here !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HALEYS GREAT PEFORMANCE, April 18, 2000
This review is from: Bogus [VHS] (VHS Tape)
this movie is wonderfull. I think alot of people are noticing it now because of haley sixth sense succecess. this movie is great family film. it is bacsilly aboutn a kid whos mother dies. he goes to live with goldberg at frist the dont like each other. he invets a imagnary freind named bogus to help him cope.i love this whole movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what you think -, September 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bogus (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a tepid emotional drama, not a comedy at all. There is nothing funny about this movie, despite the great comedic talents.

The movie tries to explore some fairly deep issues of grief and loss. This is horribly undermined by the half-hearted, periodic grasp for something funny, but it fails. The dialogue goes something like this -

Writer "I really want to make at heart-wrenching drama about grief, loss and hope."
Studio Exec: "But then it has to be really cute like 'My Girl'"
Writers: "I can't do cute"
Studio Exec: "Then it won't sell."
Writers: "I can try funny."
Studio Exec: "Funny might work. Throw in a couple of jokes, we'll call in a few favors and cast some funny people."
Writers: "O.K. - let me throw in some funny"'

Only the funny that Sargent came up with was more ... funny odd ... , not funny ha-ha. Turns the whole movie sour like bad milk, giving it a sense of schizophrenia that leaves you never satisfied with any of the personalities it shows bits of throughout.

Don't watch it with your kids - it's not funny and leave them confused and disturbed.
Don't watch it by yourself - it's not interesting.
Don't watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Osment and Depardieu were a great team, December 12, 2003
By 
The Gray Adder (Rome, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bogus (DVD)
OK, here's the movie in a nutshell. Albert lives in Vegas with his mom, who dies in a car accident. Albert has to go to New Jersey to live with a friend of his mom's who hasn't seen her in 15 years. This friend is one of those child-free people and likes it that way. While on the plane, Depardieu (Bogus) appears as an imaginary friend who keeps Albert company while he copes with all of this.
Without spoiling the rest of it, let me say that Haley Osment and Gerard Depardieu complemented each other as actors to an astounding degree. It was as if they had been acting together for decades - a bit like watching Jack Lemmon/Walter Matthau. The fantasy scenes, particularly the one where Bogus serves Albert ice cream in an imaginary ice cream shop, make this movie particularly worth watching. I'm surprised it has taken this long to put Bogus on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Sleeper!, June 5, 2008
By 
mr.arv (Southern Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bogus (DVD)
The first time I knew this movie existed, I found it movie in the DVD section at my local library. I never heard about it... never saw a trailer anywhere... never saw or read any reviews about it anywhere. So I borrowed it because Haley Joel Osment was in it, whom I think is a wonderful child actor. What an absolutley delightful and beautifully crafted movie this is. Others before told you of the plot. I will just say this: HOW can such a gem have been so inadequately promoted or recognized?? Why has it been kept so secret? But, like a true treasure, this film sparkels. Everything in it works so well: casting, direction, acting, music, visuals.... it is a masterpiece! This is how a movie is supposed to be made. Wonderful... simply wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfying, June 14, 2003
By 
Patrick Doherty (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bogus [VHS] (VHS Tape)
BOGUS is a movie about a young orphan boy (Haley Joel Osment) who is reluctantly acquired by a career-minded temporary mother (Whoopi Goldberg). In his loneliness Osment invents an imaginary friend (Gerard Depardieu). The film is dominated by the interplay between these three characters and the result is very satisfying. The director is Norman Jewison who directed many other movies including IN THE HEAT OF THE NIGHT and JESUS CHRIST, SUPERSTAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bogus, May 12, 2007
This review is from: Bogus (DVD)
Whoopie!! Need anyone say more? No matter what she does, it is done with taste and humor. Even when the language gets a little blue, I have to ignor it and enjoy her acting ability. I am in the process of finding all of her many movies on Amazon, and ordering them one or two at a time. Many thanks for having one of the lesser known ones-Bogus-I have been searching for it for years. It really touches your heart and fills you with laughter. Yours as usual, Patricia A. Adams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bogus
Bogus by Norman Jewison (DVD - 2004)
$15.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.