Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More realistic than you may think!
I am a Stockbroker with 15 years of experience. I began my career working for a firm that was like the firm portrayed in the film in many respects. In fact, I have heard this film was based on a firm that ended up merging with the one I worked for.

The film provides a very accurate portrayal of a Small Cap firm from the late 80s to early 90s. For example, the...
Published on March 13, 2005 by Broker since 90

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was entertaining
I don't know, the movie was entertaining but anyone calling this the best movie of any period whatsoever is completely out of their gord. It sort of reminds me of Varsity Blues (it's probably the same director or writer or something but I really didn't care that much about either film to check) in that it takes something really cool (the stock market, instant...
Published on December 15, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More realistic than you may think!, March 13, 2005
By 
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
I am a Stockbroker with 15 years of experience. I began my career working for a firm that was like the firm portrayed in the film in many respects. In fact, I have heard this film was based on a firm that ended up merging with the one I worked for.

The film provides a very accurate portrayal of a Small Cap firm from the late 80s to early 90s. For example, the recruitment process was perfect. You didn't need a resume, you didn't need an education and they didn't want people who already had licenses. They wanted raw recruits that didn't know anything and they made money on the testing process.

After you passed the test, you received no training, you got a list (any way you could) and cold called until you opened an account on what they told you to buy. If you didn't open accounts within a month you were out. In the film, they cut off Riblisi's tie as a right of passage. In my firm, the first time you did $1000 in commissions in a single day they cut off your tie.

Other things are realisitic as well; the fact that the firm has positions in the stocks that they sell and there is extra commission at certain moments, the Brokers all know every word of the movie- Wall Street, that they have big houses or apartments with no furniture, they drink and get into scrapes as a group, that all happened at my firm.

There are many more examples of parallels between the firm in the movie and the experiences of the main characters and my own real life experiences. This movie may seem outrageous or over the top to some, but, it is as accurate as a movie about this subject could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gen X Wall Street, October 3, 2000
By 
"mystic80" (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
At first, I was a little apprehensive about "Boiler Room" thinking it was just gonna be "Wall Street: Part 2". I finally rented it on tape and loved it. One of this year's most underrated films, Boiler Room is a smart and energetic film with excellent performances from it's right cast. The film tells the story of Seth Davis, a decent college dropout earning a living by running a casino inside his house, much to the strong dismay of his frustrated judge father. In order to impress his dad, Seth takes on a job at a stock brokerage firm where he becomes a fast tracking stock broker and making good money. Only later does he find out that his job isn't what it's cracked up to be. The performances are strong, particularly from lead Ribisi and supporting characters Nicky Katt as a two faced co-worker, Ron Rifkin as his dad, and Scott Caan as a hotheaded co-worker. Vin Diesel does quite well as the good guy to Ribisi's Davis. The film definitely has the testosterone feel of a Generation X movie with The Angel's rap/classical score. There's even an homage to "Wall Street" that I don't want to spoil. If you're in the mood for a really good film, rent "Boiler Room". Look for the director Ben Younger in a cameo as a stock broker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boiler Room May Boil Your Nerves, July 9, 2006
By 
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
Some folks might rent or buy this DVD for its well known names, but Vin Disel and Ben Afflec play very small roles It is Giovanni Ribsi that shines. He plays a young college drop out, who turns to an in-house, illegal gambling den to help him release his inner rage and built up anxieties towards his demanding father.

(SPOILERS)

But it is his discovery of a Boiler Room operation hawking non-existent stocks and bonds for non-existent companies that really steers this movie.

Fantastic interactions between the main character, and Vin Disel character. I appreciated the relationship beteen Giovanni and the secretary character, but I felt it was under-developed and weak. Could have been left out, or developed better.

I saw this one in the theater, and now own on DVD, and would recommend it to any Pre-MBA student, or Wall Street wannabe. It is great training.

MC White said: Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Boiler Room' goes through the roof!, July 22, 2000
By 
cinemagirl (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
This film seems to cover all of the bases-fast-paced action, peerless performances, and hysterical dialogue (but a warning, they are all saturated with the vernacular of stressed-out, potty-mouthed stock brokers). Although some reviews have said the script is convoluted and lacks direction, I entirely disagree. The script contains scenes that reveal the many dilemmas that plague Seth (Giovanni Ribisi) - his struggle to gain the approval of his inhibited father, a federal judge; his fight to live with himself; and his need for redemption. It is obvious that it is quite difficult to find films that are so tightly and expertly woven these days, but overlooked films like `The Boiler Room' confirm that there are still writers and directors out there who know how to do their job competently.
Ben Affleck has a memorable cameo as the guy who motivates the young brokers-to-be. Vin Diesel's role is small but he most definitely makes the most of all of his scenes. Nia Long plays Abby, whose role (if I must nitpick) I felt could have been developed a bit more and contained more connecting scenes with Seth. The kudos really goes to Giovanni Ribisi, who is proving that he is fast becoming one of Hollywood's hottest and most talented stars. Enigmatic in appearance and disquieting in demeanor, he takes command of every scene and delivers his lines with emotion and bite. I cannot think of another actor who could play the role of Seth as well as he did. His performance in the role of a young man struggling to come to terms with himself keeps you nailed to your seat for the entire duration of the film.
The rap music and slightly annoying cinematography chiefly in the beginning of the film can be easily forgotten once all the primary elements are established. Don't miss this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Business Movies, Period, October 26, 2003
By 
Justin J Nadile (plymouth, ma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
When I first saw Boiler Room in the theaters, I knew nothing about the fast-paced world which was enclosed behind the doors of our nation's brokerages. Even though I know a whole lot more about this aspect of business, that is not the main reason I LOVE this movie, the acting is superb (Vin Diesel is not as bad as everyone thinks he is in this movie), the plot original, and the soundtrack absolutely pulsating.
From the perspective of a student at a business college, this movie is highly entertaining, and if you ask anyone his is at all interested in business, you are likely to get the same response. Boiler Room does for me what Wall Street must have done for many in the 80's. This movie only helped my desire to become a stockbroker become more cemented.
A must-see for anyone who already owns Wall Street or Glengarry Glenross and by adding Boiler Room to those two movie, you end up with the holy trinity of business films.
The only downside to the film in Seth's relationship with his African-American secretary. The film tries too hard to examine race relations and other factors involved in dating a coworker. It should have just stuck with its examination of the lives of the young brokers, because that is what it does best!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very edgy drama!, January 28, 2006
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
I bought this movie because I'm a big fan of Vin Diesel. I watched it one night and found it to be a very edgy and very entertaining drama. The plot was very well developed, the characters were very well developed, and the relationship of the main character Seth (Giovanni Ribisi) with the other main characters made for some great plots with-in the plot. All the character relationships are all good for different reasons. The relationship between Seth and his father (Ron Rifkin) had such great intensity. The alliance with Greg Weinstein (Nicky Katt) changed into an excellent battle of wills. The romance with Abby (Nia Long) proved to bring a very fuzzy element to the movie. And the alliance with Chris (Diesel) shows us that Seth has one friend he can count on. Excellent performances all-around, great plot, and a very hip musical score. Highly recommended for fans of stock market type movies and Vin Diesel movies. Boiler Room starts out smokin' and never cools off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Gecko", February 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
This movie surprise me.I liked how they use "Gecko"and it shows them watching Wall Street that was cool.The next best movie to Wall Street (Michael Douglas) in the stock market.
Seth Davis (Giovanni Ribisi) drops out of college and stumbles upon a job to be a stock broker to make all kinds of money, everything is going well, and he is doing great,but things seen to good to be true , as he finds out what he's got himself into.With actors such as Ribisi ,Vin Diesel,Nia Long , Scott Katt and Ben Affeck as (Jim Young) some what like Alex Badwin's part in Glengarry Glen Ross similar in arrogant roles.So set the sale and Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A Sale is Made on EVERY Call You Make!", July 21, 2001
By 
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
Giovanni Ribisi is Seth Davis, a 19-year-old who's secretly running a backdoor casino while his parents think he's in college. Desperate for a quick buck, he joins JT Marlin, a brokerage firm that has the look, feel, and energy of a Morgan Stanley or Smith Barney. But underneath the gloss, this is a firm that engages in shady dealings, selling fake stocks and ripping off investors cold. Seth learns the ropes of the trade and over time becomes ruthless and cocky. He alienates his no-nonsense dad, who happens to be a judge and is, to say the least, disappointed that his son is blowing off college.

On the surface, this sounds like a re-telling of "Wall Street," but don't dismiss this film so easily. "Boiler Room" soars on the strength of performances of Nicky Katt, Scott Caan (son of James), Nia Long, and the then-unknown Vin Diesel. The film moves at a brisk pace and, for the most part, avoids melodrama and other formulaic touches. Definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New spin on the speech-act play, June 12, 2001
By 
Susan C (Sanford, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
You win no points comparing this to Glengarry Glen Ross(which is the subject of my thesis), as they make specific references to Mamet's play (produced 15 years ago, by the way) in the film. True, this may be the same type of story, but you'll be hard-pressed to find a story about con artists that David Mamet hasn't already written. This is new, younger, hipper, and, dare I say, funnier than it's predecessor. Vin Diesel is impressive and interesting and Giovanni Ribisi is endearing. The film is well written and the alternate ending is great. I'm not sure which ending I like better... I like them both for different reasons. I would not hesitate to call this an "art film" because it does read much like a piece of theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but cannot overcome "Wall Street", July 19, 2006
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
Both "Wall Street" and "Boiler Room" have the same moral outline. In both movies, young, ambitious, and smart individuals are looking to make an enormous amount of money in the quickest time possible. Both are doing it on the stock market. Both want to make their fathers proud, and both quickly learn that the only way to get the fast "wall street" money is to get it illegally. Once they realize they are committing crimes, they do it anyway. Then, of course, comes a braking point. Both movies open with shots of New-York city. Only in the "Boiler Room", the soundtrack is rap music. That shows us the evolution of time since "Wall Street" came out. Well, the tastes in music changed, that's for sure, but no change occurred in human nature. "Greed is good", said Gordon Gekko. Greed still reigns supreme in "Boiler Room".

The love story does not end anywhere in "Boiler Room". In this story, the love interest is not a whore and does not like him for the money. And she really needs the job. In this movie, she is a positive character, whereas in "Wall Street", the love interest is a negative character.

Also, in both movies, we do not see the main characters really enjoying their new found wealth. Yeah, Bud Fox did buy a nice apartment, but we never see him free of worry, free of self-doubt and guilt. The same applies for Seth.

Vin Diesel, an excellent actor, ads flavor to the movie, along with Jamie Kennedy and a bunch of other young actors trying to prove themselves. Ben Affleck is in the movie too, although you only see him once or twice and the movie could have gone on without him. That's too bad. I don't know why he agreed to such a mediocre part.

Overall, an enjoyable, easy to follow movie. Not as glamorous, not as flashy, but gets the point across. However, not able to surpass "Wall Street".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Boiler Room [Blu-ray]
Boiler Room [Blu-ray] by Ben Younger (Blu-ray - 2009)
$32.99 $13.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.