Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!
A visually captivating collection of spectacular properties, Scandinavian Design will take you on a private historical tour of some of the most magical homes. This spectacular architecturally rich part of the world, Lars Bolander captures what I imagined is the essence of this region and so eloquently presents it in a visual experience, which I will cherish.
Published on September 24, 2010 by Elizabeth Davis

versus
11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just another set of the same regurgitated photos
I was really looking forward to treasuring this book for years to come. I expected to see one delicious photos after another of Lars Bolanders' interior decorating projects for his clients around the world. Instead, dissappointment set in very early on when the same regurgitated photos appeared that I have seen countless times already in the many Scandinavian style...
Published on September 16, 2010 by NBL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!, September 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
A visually captivating collection of spectacular properties, Scandinavian Design will take you on a private historical tour of some of the most magical homes. This spectacular architecturally rich part of the world, Lars Bolander captures what I imagined is the essence of this region and so eloquently presents it in a visual experience, which I will cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Lars, September 26, 2010
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
Scandinavian design fans will rejoice as this book takes us into
previously unphotographed private homes in Denmark, Norway and Sweden.
Another cause for celebration... Mr. Bolander opens up his vast rolodex of
resources so you can bring the look home! This book is a must for everyones
design library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distinct Point of View Brings New Clarity and Focus to Scandinavian Design, September 18, 2010
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
WHo Knew??

Lars Bolander's trained, talented eye has brought into sharp focus the tremendous contribution Scandinavia has made to home design. The pictures are amazing and express so many ideas that are new to me and so helpful and creative.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it now has a blizzard of bookmarks!

I look forward to Mr. Bolander's next book with great anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Lars?, November 9, 2010
By 
K. Power (Savannah,Ga.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
I had actually dreamed of the day when Lars Bolander would publish a collection of his work. I've been an adoring fan for years.His work is clean, original,sophisticated, thoughtful, energetic and above all fresh. That having been said, I was a little disappointed with this book for its lack of "original" content. It is a lovely book to own, especially for those who love Scandinavian design. The book takes a fairly broad look at both interior and exterior design, classic and modern, from that part of the world. Unfortunately for me however, I was counting on a nice fat book of Lars Bolander's work. I wanted to see so much more of his interpretation of Scandinavian design; a point of view that had led me to appreciate the look to begin with. I'd hoped that the cover photo was just a tiny glimpse of both client and in-home projects heretofore unseen. Very sadly,by the end of the book I was left wanting Lars.
I can't say that had I known its content ahead of time that I wouldn't have bought the book anyway, but just not as enthusiastically. I am hoping though, that at some point he will consider doing that big fat book of Lars - just Lars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome visuals, November 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
Great photography, history, and geography to aid in perspective about Scandinavian design. Its always great to know the "why" behind the design. Good jump-off for incorporating the basics into our own decor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure trove., October 19, 2010
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
This is a very attractive book that showcases Scandinavian residences through the ages. Those pictured include old farmhouses, several manor house salons, a royal hunting lodge, a rustic cabin, an 18th Century apartment, and much more. There are a number of contemporary homes as well. I had hoped to see more modern homes, as a lot of these designs are more historic than practical in today's world. But, nonetheless, there are some great ideas here, and some of the rooms will take your breath away. Check out the music salon of the 19th Century Norwegian violinist, Ole Bull for something grand and elegant. And for something simple - the rustic little bed with the red canopy, or the chandelier hanging from a tree branch illuminating an outdoor table. There is something for everyone here. A beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lars Bolandar's New Book A Must for All Designers, October 2, 2010
By 
JANE SCHOTT (Delray Beach FLORIDA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
I am fortunate to live in Palm Beach where Lars Bolander has several shops. I stop in often to check out the newest looks that are always changing. This new book, Scandinavian Design, is a must for all designers who want to learn from the best! The photos are beautiful, his overviews and knowledge is so thoughtful.

His interior examples are lush and beautiful. Mr. Bolander explains the historical background of this look brilliantly and I use it often to show clients
examples of what can be done with their project.

The Scandinavian look is such a major influence in all today...a piece here a color tone there. The best is that the furnishings are comfortable, the looks historical and even handed. Every designer should have a copy in their reference library.

Bravo Lars!...your followers are grateful for your inspiration.

Jane Schott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine choice for any college-level interior design library, December 17, 2010
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design is a fine choice for any college-level interior design library, offering a tour of the best of Scandinavian design concepts and applications. Color photos pack a study of exterior and interior features, with chapters covering everything from doorways and lighting to textiles, different rooms, and how to build in harmony with nature. Lars Bolander is one of Sweden's foremost interior designers, and his expertise in re-creating the Scandinavian look in all kinds of homes around the world lends to an outstanding survey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
I think this book is my favorite of my collection of Swedish design books. I love every page. Wish it would never end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A BEAUTIFUL BOOK RECOMMENDED BY A SCANDINAVIAN DESIGNER, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design (Hardcover)
I emailed a designer in Sweden and this was the book recommended. Full of beautiful photos of interiors and exteriors plus meticulously scripted paragraphs of how the Scandinavians incorporate design into their lives, Lars Bolander's book makes you want to move to his country! It's not just a table-top treasury but rather a book of real design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design
Lars Bolander's Scandinavian Design by Heather Smith MacIsaac (Hardcover - September 1, 2010)
$40.00 $29.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.