Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy and melodic...a sign of things to come
This debut album by the legendary Bon Jovi showed right away that this band was destined for greatness. While later albums sold better, this effort is every bit as good.
"Runaway" is the one song here that many people know, as it made a dent in the pop charts and got a lot of rock radio play. This song still sounds fresh and exciting after all these years--a hard...
Published on September 17, 2002 by Brad

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over 20 Years and Still Here.
Most of us know that groups come, and groups go. While this is not Bon Jovi's best record, it to some extent shows why Bon Jovi is still here to tell his tale over 20 years later. Some people who don't like him say that Bon Jovi is commercial oriented. I'll admit that is true to some extent. But the real reason he is still here to tell the tale over 20 years later is...
Published on July 9, 2006 by Bradley Headstone


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy and melodic...a sign of things to come, September 17, 2002
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
This debut album by the legendary Bon Jovi showed right away that this band was destined for greatness. While later albums sold better, this effort is every bit as good.
"Runaway" is the one song here that many people know, as it made a dent in the pop charts and got a lot of rock radio play. This song still sounds fresh and exciting after all these years--a hard rock anthem classic. "She Don't Know Me" is another single from the album--a catchy first ballad by this band and really the only one on this album. Songs like "Roulette" and "Breakout" rock hard, while "Love Lies" and "Burning For Love" are over the top melodic anthems. "Shot Through The Heart" is another rocking gem on this fantastic debut effort.
Bottom line: if you liked the sound of "Slippery When Wet" and aren't caught up in only listening to big hits, then you will like this CD. An absolutely classic album by one of the true leaders of '80s melodic hard rock. Don't overlook this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion, this is Bon Jovi's best album, August 24, 2008
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
While many people often say an album like 'New Jersey' or 'Slippery When Wet' are Bon Jovi's finest album(s), I am pretty different. In my opinion, their 1984 self-titled debut album is their best and my personal favorite.

I had the cassette of this, and I have just about worn it out. This album is superb. Jon Bon Jovi and company are at their best here. This album, of course, contains one of their most well-known songs to date, 'Runaway.'

Other great songs here are 'She Don't Know Me,' 'Shot Through The Heart,' 'Get Ready,' and another one of my all-time favorite Bon Jovi songs, 'Roulette.'

I would say that if you don't own 'Bon Jovi,' than you are really missing out. If you enjoyed 'Slippery When Wet,' than I can almost guarantee you will love this album.

Overall, I strongly recommend this album for any Bon Jovi fan. This is the band at their best. It sounds just as good in 2008 as it did in 1984.

This is highly recommended for any Bon Jovi fan, whether it be casual, new or die-hard. This is a must own album. An '80s classic.

ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over 20 Years and Still Here., July 9, 2006
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
Most of us know that groups come, and groups go. While this is not Bon Jovi's best record, it to some extent shows why Bon Jovi is still here to tell his tale over 20 years later. Some people who don't like him say that Bon Jovi is commercial oriented. I'll admit that is true to some extent. But the real reason he is still here to tell the tale over 20 years later is because the man CAN write songs; he CAN sing; and he DOES put honest work and effort into his records. While Bon Jovi would get heavier and more intense (at least for awhile), the fact that this record has only a moderate intensity shows that he DOES have musical abilities, and he DOES NOT need to hind under excess noise. The 1st half of the record has a sad (but energetic) tone. 'Runaway' is a catchy opener. 'Roulette' demonstrates some of guitarist Richie Sambora's talent, and almost carries a haunting tone. 'She Don't Know Me' releases the tension for a moment; 'Shot Through the Heart' and 'Love Lies' may sound clicheish, but somehow Bon Jovi is able to break the odds and restore the tone of these songs to 'pre cliche' levels. 'Breakout' changes the tone of the record to a more upbeat level. 'Burning For Love' and 'Come Back' continue this path, and 'Get Ready' ends the record on a happy note. It is interesting that while the record starts on a sad note, Bon Jovi is able to change the tone without seeming abrupt. Again, while this may not be his best record, it demonstrates his abilities quite well and explains why he is still here over 20 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Bon Jovi barely had a pot to piss in, they cranked out some catchy rock tunes, February 4, 2009
By 
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
What's the 4-1-1?
I don't think I need to give anyone a history lesson on Bon Jovi. I'm sure the entire world is familiar with them, so I will get right into the album. The only actual hits from this album were "Shot Through the Heart" and "Runaway." That's not to say this a bad album however. Far from it. This album represents Bon Jovi at their edgy, raw, and hard rock best. You know, before they became adult soft rock. Meaty guitar riffs and pulsing keyboards dominate "Roulette." Jon says life is a gamble because there is so much to chose from.

"She Don't Know Me" was actually a minor hit from the group way back when. It's a keyboard heavy track that's very simplistic in it's arrangement, but relatable in it's content. It's catchy as hell too. "Love Lies" is probably the basis for every Bon Jovi ballad that followed. Maybe it was the just the early eighties, or maybe the keyboardist had a lot more pull in the group, but it eats up most of the track.

"Breakout" leans on the anthemic side of the fence with it's whoa whoa chants. Sambora's guitar manages to silence the synths, but the two do work well together. "Burning For Love" is another guitar laden track in which the chorus has a killer hook. "Get Ready" is another anthemic track full of hooks and chugga-chugga guitar riffs.

The Verdict
It's clear after listening to Bon Jovi's self-titled debut that they are quite polished today. They are better songwriters, they are better musicians, and their production cost have probably quadrupled since this album came out. Despite all of those improvements, the music has gotten worse in recent years. Bon Jovi was all about rock and roll in their early years, today they're all about soft rock ballads and country music. They can't even play their old stuff live without tuning down and singing in a different key.

So if you long for the gritty, hard rocking Bon Jovi days, look no further than their debut album. Sure, some will say New Jersey or Slippery When Wet were better albums, but when Bon Jovi barely had a pot to piss in, they cranked out some catchy rock tunes. They didn't need to impress the record label, they didn't need to shell out for big money producers. They just wrote from their gut. This album is the product of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi rocks, July 1, 2005
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
Runaway:It's where the band started, it was their first single, gotta love the roots. It has an awesome keyboard riff, but the video was a little weird.

Roulette:I love the intro, especially the 1,2,3,4 that leads into an urge to do some head-bangin'. The way Jon sings the words is awesome. Richie is awesome on the guitar in this one, not that he doesn't on other ones, but it's really emphasized in this song. It's fun to listen to every time.

She Don't Know Me:The message is good, but there's not enough rock. I don't think that this one should have been made into a single, but I guess enough people liked it. It's the only song that no one from the band has written it.

Shot Through The Heart:I love this heart-ache song. It starts out slow and sad, but then out of nowhere explodes with anger. It's not You Give Love a Bad Name, like a lot of people get mixed up.

Love Lies:Awesome keyboards in the intro. My favorite part is the third verse followed by a great guitar solo then a twist is put on the chorus when sung higher. A fantastic ballad, one of my favorites.

Breakout: Shocks you in the beginning when "breakout" is unexpectedly yelled. The drums are more emphasized on this song than others on this album. It has a great feel to it, it gets you into it.

Burning For Love: I love this song, and especially the lyrics. It's one of the faster ones on this album, and it has an amazing guitar solo. It's catchy and filled with feeling.

Come Back:Another heart ache song. Not the best, but still a good one.

Get Ready: This is a really fun song, but it doesn't show their talent too well. And the piano is cool, super fun song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Embryo, December 8, 2003
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
"Runaway," of course, started it all. The Bon Jovi legacy that has made it over three decades, despite how all of the 80's haters have tried to scar this band with a scarlet letter of its own. Resilience has kept the band out of the grave, which is much more than the once brutal grunge army can say for their beloved Cobain. Despite the fact that there is a large legion of those who use a wave of their hand to dismiss 80's rock as pretensious, Bon Jovi is indeed one of the rare examples of products as commercially in-your-face as the Big Mac who made it to that point by offering us something as creatively/artistically crafted as a gourmet entree at a prestigious New York City dining establishment.
I was 4 when this album came out, and didn't start rocking with them till "New Jersey" came out. I can't say for sure if I would have thought Bon Jovi the greatest thing ever to exist, if I was a teenager at the time. Fortunately, I'll never have to answer that. Indeed, Jovi's first 2 albums, while LOVED by a stubborn (in a good way) minority, aren't like the rest. They're less diverse, not as unique, offer less musically, and just about every song is about women and/or some sort of heart-break; which, as I noted on my Farenheit review, is just PERFECT musical therapy for certain times in everyone's life. Otherwise, though, this album isn't very multi-purpose for you the listener. Still, this first album, while not as meaningful as "Slippery..." or "Keep the Faith," somehow finds a bit of timelessness simply by being the "classic breakthrough that started it all."
Asides from the songs being generally perfect for rocking out every now and then, the debut's longevity hasn't really been owed to the music itself (I'm not referring to "Runaway", which was recorded with a different set of musicians before the final group was in place). JBJ himself said he didn't know what he should write, for example if the record company wanted 10 more "Runaways"... which is understandable for a band just getting into the biz and wanting to learn the ropes, but also hinting at one of Jon's attitudes that he still unfortunately sort of holds, that being, always think about what commercially will sell... Take those words carefully, I am not suggesting the band has ever "sold out", and indeed, this mentality has helped them get as big as they did, I am just saying that when it comes down to it, their first release doesn't have too much artistic integrity (though it made up for it with ambition), and thus it pales in comparison to most of their other recordings. Even a "bad" Jovi record, which this is NOT, can never be any less than good, however, so I'm throwing three stars its way just because even in their early 20's, there's an embryonic emotional spirit that is possessed in these 5 souls, necessary for eventually helping lots and lots of people through music. A talent given by God, and given to few.
The songs themselves - the music is much better than the lyrics, previously referred to as being largely "heartbreak lyrics." As far as 80's metal (though not heavy like Iron Maiden), it is nothing short of awe inspiring to hear David (who would have gone off to Juliard if not for the band) tinkering with ways to put keyboard effects and enhancements to music the way only prog-rockers had previously done. As a pianist myself, every note David has ever played has heavily influenced my take on how to craft music. As for Richie, this is wayyy before he gets self-conscious and starts underplaying, so you get some kickass soloing going on, again, especially for a person as young as he was at the time. The only general thing for some of you to look out for is this album has the 80's SOUND, if there ever was such a thing... so if you are one of those people who can't tolerate dated sounds, you might have some problems. For the rest of us, you'll notice I haven't really mentioned song titles - that's because this album really is very similar, it's almost not quite worthy enough of featuring certain songs over others. ALMOST. Here's my favorites (asides from "Runaway"): "She Don't Know Me" (though written by someone else), "Shot Through the Heart" (NOT the mass hit "You Give Love A Bad Name" that far too many people make the mistake about), "Get Ready" (The ONLY song in a major key on the whole record!!!!!). Particular songs aren't worth arguing over, I've saved THAT for my "Keep the Faith" review!!!
This album is what it is, and not much needs to be said other than it's nothing special but it rocks, especially when you're pissed off about a relationship situation. I still think everyone should own this, as everyone should own all Bon Jovi albums!!! Just make this and "7800 degrees..." the end of your collection, so you aren't hit with "Roulette" being your first impression. This album plays a very important role in the history of the band, and it just doesn't feel right without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrong description by Amazon, August 12, 2006
By 
ApeTit (Monkeyville, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
This is a Bon Jovi 8 track limited edition CD that was issued by Target Stores in 2003. The description looks like a Tori Amos single. This CD contains demos and live tracks including a great acoustic version of "Everyday".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars On the street where you live..., April 14, 2009
By 
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
The phenomenon that is Bon Jovi got its start right here, album one, song one. A little ditty called "Runaway" which started out life as a demo from a young kid whose cousin ran the Power Station in New York as a top producer, while he swept the floor. Though the rest album was the creation of an emerging supergroup, there was no doubt that the group's success or failure would rest on the splendidly coiffed shoulders of their epononymous front-man. Jon has become a huge celebrity and he and his band have earned most of what they have received both in adulation and in scorn as representatives and surprisingly still relevant icons of the hair metal era. They seemed from the beginning to court something much bigger than being a run of the mill ballad and rockers band. The debut record was released in early 1984 and except for the aforementioned "Runaway' which is still one of their two most important songs ever, it was a fairly modest success. It got Jon and Richie noticed and got them on the road in support of KISS and Scorpions among others. The rest of `Bon Jovi' is decent to middling AOR/hard rock (to call it metal is a stretch). "She Don't Know Me", a rare outside songwriting credit on a Bon Jovi record is a strong up tempo ballad, while "Shot Through the Heart", "Breakout", "Get Ready" and "Roulette" satisfy as hard rockers. It is a good record and it firmly establishes Bon Jovi as a hard rock band who had no problem wanting pop success, even if that would take a few more tries before superstardom was achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better, December 25, 2003
By 
New Kiddintoun (Someplace Elsewhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
Holy Sknikees. This is it. The #1 Bon Jovi album of all time (not to mention, one of the two greatest albums ever, along with "Van Halen"). The first song I ever heard from Bon Jovi is on this album ("Shot Through The Heart", which my gym teacher used to play over and over for a week, and it stuck with me). What kind of fool wouldn't pay good money for this historic album?! Here it is through my eyes:

1. Runaway - ****, I've heard that David didn't create the keyboard lick originally, but I'm sure he plays it better than the guy from Springsteen. and one of the greatest first songs a band ever recorded.

2. Roulette - *****

3. She Don't Know Me - ***** - the most underrated song on the album!

4. Shot Through The Heart - ****, the second most pop-based song on the album, a great example of the "Shout Along" era

5. Love Lies - ***** - another underrated tune.

6. Breakout - *****, the band's first time to show how good they sound in unison, not to mention the raw lyrics, guitar, and percussion collabortion

7. Burning For Love - **** - a Bon Jovi 70's like piece

8. Come Back - ****, hey, isn't that J. Geils?

9. Get Ready - ***, great intro, but when the song picks up with Jon's vocals.....

So, there you have it. BUY THE ALBUM!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Foundation of Greatness, November 14, 2000
This review is from: Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
Anyone who considers Bon Jovi a glorified one-hit wonder need look no further than their debut effort to realize how wrong they are. This album is relentlessly tuneful, from the unforgettable "Runaway" to such lost classics as "Shot Through the Heart" and "Burning For Love" this album showed that Bon Jovi was going to be a band to reckon with. It was here that Jon and the boys first displayed their Jersey rock and roll mixed with a dash of heavy metal formula to the world. This album still sounds fresh and exciting today -- a true test of a band's longevity. Well, the band's still here ... and this album shows why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bon Jovi
Bon Jovi by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.