Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Waiting For!
This is classic BONANZA the way it was meant to be -- in a wonderful, new collection well worth waiting for after years of bootleg, unauthorized sets of poorly packaged, inferior quality transfers, lacking the original music and sold in bargain basement bins. The picture and sound quality here is excellent. Every episode starts with the iconic NBC Peacock and contains the...
Published on December 7, 2010 by Nyaguthie Ngetha

versus
88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have been 5 stars but...
Lovers of the original Bonanza will like these episodes. The video is good, the audio is loud & clear, you don't have to turn the volume up like other dvd's but....

That wonderful theme music is missing both at the beginning & at the end - that cost this one star

BUT EVEN WORSE !!! ... (and costing another star)

The Platinum Video people...
Published on August 8, 2007 by John Davis


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have been 5 stars but..., August 8, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bonanza 8-DVD Pack (DVD)
Lovers of the original Bonanza will like these episodes. The video is good, the audio is loud & clear, you don't have to turn the volume up like other dvd's but....

That wonderful theme music is missing both at the beginning & at the end - that cost this one star

BUT EVEN WORSE !!! ... (and costing another star)

The Platinum Video people must think it's OK to put their name and a logo in the bottom right of the screen. I DON'T !!!

I hate it on broadcast & cable TV and I wouldn't have bought this if I'd known about the logo.

Platinum Video in on my "no buy list" because of that logo policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Waiting For!, December 7, 2010
This review is from: Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This is classic BONANZA the way it was meant to be -- in a wonderful, new collection well worth waiting for after years of bootleg, unauthorized sets of poorly packaged, inferior quality transfers, lacking the original music and sold in bargain basement bins. The picture and sound quality here is excellent. Every episode starts with the iconic NBC Peacock and contains the legendary original theme song (one of the greatest of all time) by Jay Livingston and Ray Evans. David Rose's wonderful music, specially composed for each episode, is intact. To be able to see scenes cut out of TV Land broadcasts is so gratifying! And the extras! Pages and pages of magnificent photos I've never seen before (many in color), including on the set, off the set, cast relaxing "at home," making personal appearances . . . audio commentary on some episodes by guest stars (you should hear what Julie Adams recalls about Dan Blocker in "The Courtship" and what Stella Stevens says about working with Michael Landon in "Silent Thunder . . .), footage of David Dortort in his home, and perhaps my favorite extra, a gem of an interview with Dan Blocker giving an eloquent account of differences and similarities between himself and "Hoss." Executive Producer Andrew Klyde and the rest of the team at CBS Home Entertainment outdid themselves and delivered a great follow-up to last year's Bonanza: The Official First Season, Vol 1 & 2. Even the on-screen menu pages featuring a gorgeous screen-capture of each "Cartwright" is great and easy to navigate. Get this DVD set right away! And then vol. 2 ASAP next year. It's a BONANZA for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God; it's about time!, October 15, 2010
This review is from: Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I was so afraid this would never come out! Thank God it's coming! I don't even have to see it to know it is going to be great. The first-season DVDs were wonderful... complete un-cut episodes, clear color and film quality, and the CORRECT ORIGINAL MUSIC, not to mention you can be sure you get EVERY episode, unlike all that I dislike with the "other" Bonanza DVD collections out there. I would be thrilled with just the episodes themselves, but the special features are icing on the cake. My mother's favorite from the first-season set are the photo galleries. She was a Bonanza fan when the show first aired and I have now fallen in love with the show. Please, please, please, please, release the official DVDs for all the other seasons, too! Women of the younger generation need more Pernell Roberts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have for any Bonanza Fan, October 12, 2011
By 
P. King (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can't believe the quality and the special features are just priceless. This is a must have for any Bonanza Fan! It's well worth the money to have the Cartwrights come into your livingroom any old time you like. There's some great episodes from this set and I'm so excited to have them in such high quality! Thank you so much for releasing them and I hope there will be more seasons to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2/ Volume 2, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another well done release. The pictures are so crisp and clear and the sound is wonderful. The restoration of these episodes is great. The extras, as usual, are well worth viewing. Some pictures are familiar but many are new. Especially enjoyed the pictures from the Rose Bowl Parade. Have seen stills of this but never the motion pictures. Hopefully the sales will warrant the release of Season Three very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonanza Season 2 Volume 1, October 16, 2010
This review is from: Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Thank goodness we are getting season 2. I know that companies like to see how well products like this sell before they continue with the next and I am glad to see that we are stepping in the right direction. Even though I never saw Bonanza when it first came out, simply because I wasn't born yet, I would always watch the re-runs on PAX when I was a little kid and immediately fell in love with the series. I still watch the re-runs today on TV Land and am happy that the DVDs are uncut and have beautiful picture and sound. This will be the ultimate collection for all Bonanza fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the Original!, January 18, 2011
This review is from: Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This long-awaited CBS Paramount DVD release of Season Two, Volume 1, executive produced by Andrew J. Klyde, is yet another quantum leap for the legendary series! The image and sound quality is excellent!

Working from the original 35mm film elements (prints and magnetic soundtracks stored by NBC in Fort Lee, New Jersey), technicians remastered episodes on digital video (with
edits) in the late 80's.

In 2009-2010, CBS in Studio City obtained the interpositives and audio tracks from NBC for DVD. The prints and soundtracks were taken to Hi-Def video and digital audio for the ultimate quality on DVD masters. The lowest amount of MPEG-2 compression was used for the cleanest image and it shows beautifully. No edits and complete and uncut.

My best goes to Andrew Klyde, who lobbied for years to get the series out. His hard work got us great bonus contents and he wrote detailed liner notes (with film dates and locations), which we appreciate very much!

The packaging is much improved since the first season. It's easier to detach DVDs from the flip-trays. Also, the episode titles and bonus contents are listed on every disc. Note: Season One didn't have this included; the fans complained and were heard!

Fans know many of these episodes have cropped up on DVD sets in recent years because they fell into public domain and bootleg outfits who call themselves video distributors have been selling them since then. They are renegades who illegally acquired bad copies of the episodes and sell them for dirt-cheap prices. I'm talking about outfits such as Madacy, Brentwood, Mill Creek, Echobridge, etc. Do NOT buy from any of these crooks. Even the photos and names on these cheap DVDs are used without legal permission.

NBC retains the original copyright for all 430 episodes of BONANZA but many of them from the first two years were not renewed in the copyright office in the mid-90's. This is how it started. To end it, simply buy the Official Seasons One & Two by CBS Paramount Home Entertainment!

BONANZA was the single-most successful TV series of the 1960's and early 70's in the world. Spread the word -- be sure to check out CBS' BONANZA DVD page at FACEBOOK, talk to the managers at local retailers to carry BONANZA Official DVDs and so on!

One more important fact is that CBS is not syndicating BONANZA for Hi-Def broadcasting because it's too costly. The CBS DVD sets are the ONLY way to experience BONANZA uncut and with magnificent picture and sound quality. So fans keep buying, and CBS will release future seasons.

BONANZA: The Official Second Season, Volume 2 will be released on October 11, 2011!

Bonanza: The Official First Season, Vol 1 & 2

Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Volume One
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Glad for the "Official" Bonanza dvds!!, November 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am the happy purchaser of Official Season 1 volumes 1 & 2 and also the Official Season 2 volumes 1 & now 2.

I had purchased the german dvds as the original music was on them, unlike all the other dvds of Bonanza circulating round the USA and found in dollar bins etc.

But these "Official" ones are well worth the price. Firstly, for me, they have captioning, which is a boon for those with hearing losses and they naturally have the original music scores and are uncut.

But they also come with great extras! There are still b&w pix from behind the scene shootings, there are publicity clips (a video of a Rose Bowl Parade appearance in the most recent), comments from the producer, Mr Dortort, voice overs from guest stars and stuntsmen etc with tidbits about the shows, the actors and the production.

For the Bonanza fan, this is MUST HAVE item. And I can only hope that more dvds for other seasons will be produced and in the same manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cartwrights Ride Again, December 13, 2010
By 
Deborah (North Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Basically, I agree with what Nyaguthie Ngetha wrote. I would say what I liked best about Season 2, volume 1 is the audio commentary provided for four of the episodes. Each of the four guest stars does an excellent job and they provide some interesting information about television programs in the 1960s as well as their memories of appearing on Bonanza. I also want to mention the photos provided with almost every episode. While some are publicity shots, others are candid photos of the four stars relaxing off camera together or with a guest star. I can definitely recommend these DVDs: Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Volume One
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonanza: Second Season Volume 1, February 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Thank you, Andrew Klyde, Paramount and CBS for putting out Bonanza (finally) on DVD. I can't wait for Volume 2 and so on. These beautifully put together DVD's are a joy to watch especially since TV Land cuts these episodes up. It's wonderful to see them again uncut. I recommend Season 1 and Volume 1 of Season 2 for anyone who's interested in the show, in westerns or just good entertainment. Thank you again and keep the seasons coming. I'll be first in line to buy each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1
Bonanza: The Official Second Season, Vol. 1 by Lorne Greene (DVD - 2010)
$42.99 $13.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.