Customer Reviews


1,303 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,030)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,453 of 1,524 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "All" 22 of the 23 major Bond movies
Since people are asking about which movies are included, I did some internet research. The list of movies is:
1. Dr. No*
2. From Russia with Love*
3. Goldfinger*
4. Thunderball*
5. You Only Live Twice
6. On Her Majesty's Secret Service
7. Diamonds Are Forever
8. Live and Let Die*
9. The Man with the Golden Gun*
10. The...
Published on July 11, 2012 by Russell Kurtz

versus
1,067 of 1,168 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films. MGM still hasn't corrected some issues for blu-ray
Just some notes on the various blu-rays. This could have and should have been a perfect set, but it's not. MGM doesn't care..they know you'll buy anyway...

Dr. No - Overall nice quality blu-ray. Colors have been driven more towards naturalistic than originally done
From Russia With Love - Overall nice quality blu-ray. Colors have been driven more towards...
Published on October 17, 2012 by nothingt5


‹ Previous | 1 2131 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,453 of 1,524 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "All" 22 of the 23 major Bond movies, July 11, 2012
By 
Russell Kurtz "mac_guru" (Palos Verdes Estates, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Since people are asking about which movies are included, I did some internet research. The list of movies is:
1. Dr. No*
2. From Russia with Love*
3. Goldfinger*
4. Thunderball*
5. You Only Live Twice
6. On Her Majesty's Secret Service
7. Diamonds Are Forever
8. Live and Let Die*
9. The Man with the Golden Gun*
10. The Spy Who Loved Me
11. Moonraker*
12. For Your Eyes Only*
13. Octopussy*
14. A View to a Kill
15. The Living Daylights
16. Licence to Kill*
17. Goldeneye
18. Tomorrow Never Dies
19. The World is Not Enough*
20. Die Another Day*
21. Casino Royale*
22. Quantum of Solace*

*Already available on Blu-Ray

Never Say Never Again is not included since it is not part of the "series," being produced independently. Likewise the David Niven spoof of Casino Royale. Also, there was a British TV version of Casino Royale that is not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,067 of 1,168 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films. MGM still hasn't corrected some issues for blu-ray, October 17, 2012
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just some notes on the various blu-rays. This could have and should have been a perfect set, but it's not. MGM doesn't care..they know you'll buy anyway...

Dr. No - Overall nice quality blu-ray. Colors have been driven more towards naturalistic than originally done
From Russia With Love - Overall nice quality blu-ray. Colors have been driven more towards naturalistic than originally done

Goldfinger - The gold is gone. Why screw with the color? The scene where she's painted gold has lost its golden touch and has been moved towards a more natural color. Yes, she's gold, but the original scene had a golden tint all around

Thunderball - Some color changes and slight damage, DNR, fake grain

You Only Live Twice - Original colors are lost and it's largely brown.

On Her Majesty's Secret Service - Contrast boosted way too much. Also, original colors are lost and it's largely brown. Audio issues on both the mono (Muffled in spots) and remix.

Diamonds Are forever - Changes in color and lack of detail. Original colors are lost--it's lost its "glimmer" and is largely brown now. Desaturated. Also, the scene where a cigarette is put out in Bond's chest isn't supposed to show the ashtray until he stands up, as seen in the original theatrical prints--the scene is supposed to be much darker

Live and Let Die - Okay blu-ray
The Man with the Golden Gun - Okay blu-ray, colors off
The Spy Who Loved Me - Excellent blu-ray
Moonraker - slightly squeezed and window-boxed main title sequence, okay otherwise

For Your Eyes Only - Fine blu-ray

Octopussy - Excessive edge enhancement

A View to a Kill - Image is misframed/cropped. Also, during an earthquake scene, the image/camera was supposed to shake. Lowry stabilized the image so that it doesn't shake anymore--poor attention to what they were doing. Too much DNR.

The Living Daylights - Excellent blu-ray.
Licence to Kill - Decent blu-ray

Goldeneye - Extreme use of DNR takes away the film grain, and therefore the detail contained within the grain. MGM used an old, outdated master from a few years ago. Think of how bad the original release of Patton looked... the line "You were expecting someone else?" missing from trailer

Tomorrow Never Dies - Excellent blu-ray
The World is Not Enough - Excellent blu-ray
Die Another Day - Excellent blu-ray

Casino Royale - Excellent blu-ray, but it's the North American edited version, not the uncut version

Quantum of Solace - Excellent blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection on Blu Ray, January 10, 2013
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
So many have provided their opinions regarding acting, plot, and storylines that I won't bother. This review is only focused on the quality of the transfers to this Blu Ray collection only. So far, I have watched in order the first half of the set which means all the films up to and including 'For Your Eyes Only'.
Dr. No - Good color; lossless audio or mono but no use of surround system
From Russia With Love - Overall good color; lossless audio or mono but no use of surround system
Goldfinger - Good color; lossless audio or mono but no use of surround system
Thunderball - Good color; lossless audio or mono but no use of surround system
You Only Live Twice -Good color; lossless audio or mono but almost no use of surround system except some panning which is rare
On Her Majesty's Secret Service - Good color; lossless audio or mono but no use of surround system except some panning across the front stage.
Diamonds Are forever - Good video transfer but very disappointed in the lack of discreet channel usage
Live and Let Die - Same as the above
The Man with the Golden Gun - Same as the above
The Spy Who Loved Me -excellent color transfer but little use of your surround
Moonraker - The same as The Spy Who Loved Me

The video transfers for almost all these early films are quite nice with no real crawling grain, no artifacting or stair stepping. On a couple of the Sean Connery films, there were, clear to be seen, dirt on the transfer in the form of what looked like lint. It only lasted for a couple of seconds however. Also, on one of the 'Extras' if you clicked on a extremely short shot of the 'Scuba Duck' it come up as the short of the 'rappeling gun' and visa versa. Clearly an error.

The audio is DTS MA lossless and it sounds it. There is a very audible difference between lossy and lossless audio and these discs having lossless audio really makes a difference. That said, despite the audio being a DTS MA 5.1, your surround system will not get too much to work with these earlier films. In this first batch of films( not all of which stand up to the test of time in terms of having legs) there is almost no use made of your surrounds. Here and there you might get some panning across the front stage but it is not too often, and when it does happen, it surprises you. Your sub gets some work with the various explosions in many films but, even then, not a whole lot. Not until I got to the last film of the first batch 'For Your Eyes Only' was there any use of the discreet channels for directionality. In 'For Your Eyes Only' there finally was and I expect this use of your surround system to grow exponentially with the second half of this Blu Ray set.

While the films default to the DTS MA 5.1 audio setting, you do have the option in the menu to go to the original Mono audio. At least for the first batch, this might not be a bad idea. Never the less, the audio levels of all the films was quite good and volumes never needed to be reset.

While the packaging is smart looking and takes up little space on your shelf, each disc is in its own page so that forces you to slightly lift up the outer edge of the disc while doing the same with the inner hole to pull the disc out of its sleeve. While not anywhere as bad as the packaging for the Clint Eastwood '35 years, 35 films' or the Indiana Jones collection, the Bond Collection's way of disc holding is not the best. You just have to be careful in taking out the disc is all.

After completing the second half of the collection I will add to this review but this is what it is for now. All in all, good video transfers that show the work that was put into it and the audio was a complete let down in terms of surround listening.

1/12/13 'A View to a Kill' Finally, some decent use of your discreet channels for the audio. Some nice panning and good use of the front stage with spare but decent rear stage use as well. Note that now you are offered either the DTS MA 5.1 or Dolby Digital 5.1 meaning that mono tracks are no longer. The video for this film tended to be soft but there was still good details throughout the cleaned up video. And Grace Jones is magnificent.

For Your Eyes Only - Good color transfer but limited use of surround system. Lossless audio does sound good tho.

Octopussy - I thought the video transfer was decent but limited use of surround except across the front stage
A View to a Kill - Love Grace Jones and there was some use of the surround system and LFE channels, just not much.

1/16/13
The Living Daylights - Excellent blu-ray but limited use of surrounds. Less than some of the earlier ones even.

1/18 License to Kill-Excellent video transfer and, finally, an audio transfer to DTS HD 5.1 that is worthy of a good sound system. Good use of all the channels when appropriate with nice panning and discreet foley fx. LFE channel has plenty more to work with. This excellence is what I had hoped for with the earlier films.

1/21 Golden Eye in Standard Def was the 'go to' dvd that audio stores used to show off their stereo and home theater equipment. The video transfer to BR is excellent with wonderful and true colors. However, the DTS HD MA 5.1 audio is the star of this BR disc with excellent use of the discreet channels, nice and appropriate steering and panning between the front and rear stages. Discreet use for foley effects on both stages is plentiful as is the use of your LFE channel. Golden Eye remains, despite its age, a good disc for demoing your system.

1/23 Tomorrow Never Dies. This is what the entire set should be. lt is completely demo worthy for both its excellent video transfer and beautifully clean colors, nice contrast and resolution. No artifacting or aliasing at any point. The DTS MA HD 5.1 audio makes superb use of your entire audio system with discreet channeling to both the front and rear stages when appropriate. Even ambiance audio is clearly delineated between audio channels. Welcome to Bond as he should be. There are also plenty of deleted scenes and alternate angles and several other excellent extras.

1/25/13 The World is Not Enough. Excellent transfer to blu ray with nice and appropriate coloration, sharp contrast and very good details in the darker areas. There was no artifacting or ghosting and minimum grain throughout. The DTS HD MA 5.1 audio was also quite good with a full usage of your entire surround system with appropriate panning between channels and some excellent discreet use of all channels including the rear sound stage.

1/30 Die Another Day...excellent Blu Ray transfer with a wonderful transfer of the video. Colors are clean and contrast excellent. A couple of the CGI effects look a touch cartoonish when compared to today's CGI capabilities re: the long shot of Bond surfing the pressure wave using the racer's canopy as a ski board, the plane disintegrating and going down towards the film's end and the ice jet going over the cliff and bouncing into the ledge. However, the movie as a whole remains exciting and the transfer very good even if this film's theme song sung by Madonna is the worst Bond song ever IMHO.

1/31 Casino Royale...excellent transfer to blu ray with no distracting or unnatural grain, great details in the shadow and dark areas and real life colorizations. Very very good transfer to blu ray. The DTS HD MA 5.1 audio is also excellent in that there is fine panning between your surrounds, good discreet channeling to all surrounds when appropriate and solid sub work.

1/31 Quantum of Solace...Excellent transfer of video with smoother coloration than the Standard Def DVD had (same for Casino Royale). Definitely a video upgrade tho it is not a night and day type of thing depending upon which monitor you are watching on. The only negative thing in my book were the several previews of films that had nothing to do with James Bond. Basically, you got advertisements for other films and I never like those.
The Audio transfer is wonderful, fully lossless with wide use of both the front and rear sound stages. Panning between stages is frequent tho the sound score often overshadows some of the action foley fx. Never the less, the audio completely envelopes you and makes me want to up my 5.1 system to 7.1

The bonus disc didn't really impress me. It has several 2-3 minute shorts on the Bond Girls, Villains, Gadgets, Locations as well as some Skyfall previews of cast, characters and locations.

The Audio which defaults to DTS HD MA 5.1 makes full use of your entire sound system not so much as far as discreet channeling goes for various foley effects but it does fully envelop the listener from all sides as if you were in the midst of all the chaos. Panning across the front stage is frequently done.

Well, I finally finished this extended Bond marathon and All my movie reviews are of this nature and focus only on the quality of the transfer to BluRay so check them and see if they are of help as well.
Hopefully, this review has been of some help to you in determining your purchase, hope I am on the correct path with a review of the transfer quality as opposed to providing plot summaries.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


379 of 433 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of actual product., September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Received, today. Pre-purchased on Amazon.

There is no point in reviewing the films. You either like them or you don't. You know what they are. The films, together, have 120 hours of special features, so there is enough here to take a couple of weeks of essentially non-stop viewing (with sleep, of course). Most has been released before. There is a bonus disc of new content. As others have said, the non-franchise films are not included and there is no reason to have expected them.

I like the packaging. The discs are divided in two hard-back books, with stills from the films on the opposing pages. There are two discs per page, one disc per film, with a picture of a relevant "Bond Girl" next to the release date beside each disc. The two books are slip-cased. It is a classy looking and sturdy package.

I have no trouble removing them from the pages, and have yet to have to touch the surface. None of the ones I received had any fingerprints on them, so I have no idea what the other reviewer is speaking of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Set - For Certain People, September 25, 2012
This review is about the standard DVD set, not the Blu-Ray. I've always loved the Bond films, but have never made getting them on DVD a priority. Now that my kids are older and of an age to watch them, I found out this set was coming out and eagerly awaited it -- how awesome is that, ALL of the Bond films in one box set, for a great price! (Do the math; if you bought all 22 films individually, averaging $25 per movie, that would set you back a whopping $550 - compare that to the $100 sale price for this set.)

HERE'S WHAT YOU GET:
A large box about 11 inches by 7 inches by 1.5 inches. Inside the box are two beautiful "hardcover books" (book one is 1962-1981, book two is 1983-2012). Inside each book are six heavy pages. Each page holds two discs that slide into a half-moon slot that secures the disc to the page, and beside each is a photo of the "Bond Girl" from that particular movie. It's not ideal packaging for discs if you intend to get them out and watch them frequently, but if you are like me and just want them on DVD with the intention of watching them occasionally, it's fine. Besides, empty DVD cases are a penny a dozen online these days if you want to change packaging.

BOOK ONE:
1. Dr No
2. From Russia With Love
3. Goldfinger
4. Thunderball
5. You Only Live Twice
6. On Her Majesty's Secret Service
7. Diamonds Are Forever
8. Live and Let Die
9. The Man With the Golden Gun
10. The Spy Who Loved Me
11. Moonraker
12. For Your Eyes Only

BOOK TWO:
13. Octopussy
14. A View to a Kill
15. The Living Daylights
16. Licence to Kill
17. Goldeneye
18. Tomorrow Never Dies
19. The World is Not Enough
20. Die Another Day
21. Casino Royale
22. Quantum of Solace

WHAT YOU DON'T GET:
1. Any non-Eon (non-canon) Bond films. So, if you're looking for the Barry Nelson "Casino Royale" or the David Niven/Woody Allen "Casino Royale" or the Sean Connery "Never Say Never Again," sorry, they're not here. They're not part of the Eon Productions "canon" of Bond films, so they're left out in the cold, and, IMHO, good riddance to them. (I'm pro-Eon, can you tell?)
2. Extras. I haven't checked each disc out individually, but nothing in the marketing or the packaging indicates there are any extras in the standard DVD set. This is a set of no-frills, feature-only discs as far as I can tell. But I just wanted these films, not a bunch of extras, and that's what I got. See what I mean about this being the perfect set "for certain people"? (I'm told that the Blu-Ray set has a bonus Blu-Ray disc of extras, if that's your thing. That's the new trend in DVD releases; the extras go on the Blu-Ray version, the standard release gets the shaft.)

Finally, one weird (kinda stupid) thing about the set. It includes "a disc holder for Skyfall coming on DVD in 2013." In case you didn't know, Bond #23 ("Skyfall") hits theaters in December 2012. Obviously, they expect you to buy it on DVD in 2013. So, in preparation for that, on the last page of Book Two instead of there being half-moon slots for two discs, there's only one empty half-moon slot that says "This space reserved for SKYFALL."

Um... if I buy Skyfall, isn't it gonna come in it's own DVD case? What are we expected to do, put the Skyfall disc in the book and... throw away the case it came in? (Please don't; please recycle!)

If you don't want any extras, and you don't plan on getting these discs out of their sleeves with any regularity, it's an awesome set for an awesome price if you don't have these on DVD already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing and a must have if you are a James Bond fan!, October 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I own the regular DVD editions of all the Bond films to date and I was hesitant to purchase the Blu-ray disc set. Let me tell you the Blu-ray boxed set is well worth it. The sound and picture quality are much better on the older films. I am not sure if anyone has mentioned in other reviews but there is a bonus disc which is actually great. It goes through a lot Bond history and I found it to be fascinating. There is also behind the scenes stuff from Skyfall. Anyways, if you are a James Bond fan do not hesitate to buy this Blu-ray set even if you already own the regular DVD versions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


232 of 276 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...One Of Nature's Finest Killers...", February 26, 2012
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
*** A 'PREAMBLE' ON THE FORTHCOMING "BOND 50" BLU RAY BOX SET ***

For those who pre-purchase - there are a few details worth noting about this 22-film/23-disc BLU RAY box set as a 'preamble' to its eventual release in late September 2012...

Excluding the two Daniel Craig outings ("Casino Royale" and "Quantum Of Solace" which are also in the box) - as of February 2012 there are only 11 of the previous 20 James Bond movies presently on Blu Ray - they are "Dr. No", "From Russia With Love", "Goldfinger", "Thunderball", "Live And Let Die", "The Man With The Golden Gun", "For Your Eyes Only", "Moonraker", "License To Kill", "Die Another Day" and "The World Is Not Enough". [Note: 9 have been officially released in the UK - it appears that "The Man With The Golden Gun" and "Licence To Kill" are 'EURO' issues - covering in German writing and with no card wraps].

PRINT QUALITY:
The 11 that are out there are 1-disc Blu Ray versions matching exactly the 2DVD "Ultimate Edition" issues from 2006. They boast a genuinely beautiful print (a full Lowry Digital Frame-By-Frame Restoration) and each is packed with great extras from the time. Overall - you get hundreds of hours of Bond memories. I've reviewed "Goldfinger" and have also raved about "Live And Let Die" as examples of how good reissued Blu Ray can be when its done properly. I own the others and although I haven't reviewed them - I've watched them all - and I cannot stress this enough - they're gorgeous in terms of print quality.

So when this Blu Ray box does come out it will make the remaining 9 available for the first time on that format. And given what went before they will be nothing short of spectacular to look at and contain some of the best titles in the franchise - "You Only Live Twice", "On Her Majesty's Secret Service", "Diamonds Are Forever", "The Spy Who Loved Me", "Octopussy", "A View To A Kill", "The Living Daylights", "Goldeneye" and "Tomorrow Never Dies".

EXTRAS/PACKAGING:
At this point (February 2012) - there is no indications of 'new' bonus material - and if 20th Century Fox had any - you'd imagine they'd advertise it big time and in advance. So we should presume there 'isn't anything new' on this forthcoming box. But - and it's important to note this - the bonus material of the original 2DVD sets that is out there on the 11 already released - and will be on the 9 newly transferred to this box - is 'HUGE'. I mean there's hour and after hour of it - and the vast majority of that bonus material is genuinely informative and entertaining. The picture of the box looks nice, but of course without access to the actual item - we can't assess whether its been done on the cheap-and-naff - or not. Hopefully not (decent booklet please).

It's probably not the smartest move on my part to review a box set that hasn't come out yet (and 8 months in advance) - but at a retail price of a little over four pounds sterling/five dollars US per disc - "Bond 50" with its 22 films is still a mouth-watering prospect. And fan-gripes aside - it will surely feature heavily in people's pre-purchase Christmas shopping baskets for 2012. I'm personally hoping that each of the missing titles are reissued individually in the same matching card wraps as the initial releases - so I can match up the spines.

To sum up this preamble - in terms of sheer value for money - "Bond 50" is already lining itself up to be a BLU RAY 'Reissue Of The Year' - even before it's released and "Skyfall" (Bond 23) gets here in October. There's a lot of hype around this release and for once it may very well be justified...

PS: July 2012 update:
It's now officially announced that there will be 'new' material available in this box set - a whole disc of it to be exact (Disc 23). See Amazon's updated description and photos above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best boxed set I've ever bought. Must for 007 fans., September 26, 2012
By 
E. J. Camburn (philadelphia, pa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I knew this set would be good. I hoped it would be great. It was more than that. First and foremost: The re-mastering of these movies is breathtaking. It looks as if the films from the 60's & 70's were shot yesterday. ABSOLUTELY PRISTINE. It was like watching them again for the first time.

Now the extra features on these discs... mind blowing. Apart from the bonus disc, each of the 22 films have special features that include amazing extras. I watched From Russia With Love last night and literally sat for another hour or two going through all the additional features. From the original trailers (and I mean ALL of them - TV commercials included) to the production stills (gorgeous) to the "Making of". The 'Making Of' was particularly interesting as I am a big fan of the original novels, and it was interesting to see how they adapted the book to the screen and how they casted the roles.

The two most amazing extras were: 1) A conversation had between Ian Fleming and the legendary Raymond Chandler (whom I also love) on the character of James Bond and the process by which Fleming sat down to write his books. This discussion should be in the Library of Congress. 2) A running commentary throughout the film with pieces of archived interviews with the director, Terence Young and some of the primary characters. When I first saw that it had a directors commentary I said to myself "How? Terence Young passed away in 1994." ... They did it. It was amazing.

Congratulations to the makers of this set. They should be very proud. The 13 year old kid in me, who in 1984, read Dr. No for the first time... is eternally grateful to have this living document of one of the great characters in literature and film of the past 50 years. Thank you.

If you are a serious Bond fan, this is something you simply must purchase. And at this price, it works out to be almost $6 a disc. Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars count the disks (duplicate), September 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The set it great - some of the old transfers are a bit soft, but again, must have.
There seems to be a common issue of DUPLICATE DISKS in the first batch.
I received 2 octopussy and View To A Kill was missing. Others have reported the same (2 Russa with love. 2 TWINE, but no Goldeneye.
Advice: Check your set thoroughly upon receipt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny as well as the time to watch them all!, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Blu-ray set arrived about a week ago and I have watched one disk each day since. No point in my re-telling the stories, please read other reviews for that. Rather, I want to address the quality and features of this specific set.

The quality of the images (watched on an LG 47" Led tv via a Sony 3D/Blu-ray player and Sony sound bar) is absolutely fabulous! Each film has been meticulously converted from the ORIGINAL NEGATIVES to digital resulting in exceptional clarity with brilliant color. WOW! Great job!

So far I've watched all of the disks starring Sean Connery as Bond (Never Say Never Again is not included in the set as it was produced by another company). I first saw these films when they were originally released at the famous old grand theatres in downtown Chicago, and have watched them many times since on tv, VHS, and DVD. Short of viewing these films on a big theatre screen, this Blu-ray set is the next best thing - or possibly better - as I can watch in my jammies and the set includes hours and hours of bonus features.

One fun thing I notice about the early movies is how current and stylish everything looks. As is said "everything old becomes new again", since Mad Men has become so popular, mid-century modern decor is now considered chic as is the clothing of the 60's and 70's. Except for the cars and Bond's swim trunks, the films look as if they could have been filmed today!

I like the album-style packaging and have no problem removing or returning disks to their slots. Plastic clamshells would have been an improvement, though they probably would have raised the cost of the set. I appreciate that a slot is reserved for Skyfall, due for November theatre release.

Each of the disks I've watched contain plenty of extras, some way more than others. All contain at least one or two optional commentary versions. So far they all appear to have been produced in the 80's or 90's. One disk contains a documentary on the process of converting the original negatives to Blu-ray format, each film taking hours and hours to convert. The results are stunning and the results even amazed the technicians. The sharpness and crispness at times made it seem almost like I was watching Dr. No and From Russia With Love in 3D. (Feel free to disagree, but that's how I saw them!)

The bonus features include an incredible amount of additional content such as premier openings, deleted scenes, screen tests, documentaries on filming, special effects, martial arts training, casting, props, location scouting, as well as brief bios of Ian Fleming, Sean Connery and other cast members, original commercials and tv specials about the films (60's and 70's vintage so of poor quality), toys, collectibles and other Bond merchandise promoting the movies. Whew! I said it was hours and hours! One day I watched over six hours straight and still hadn't seen everything on the disk.

The complete set includes 22 Blu-ray disks, one disk of bonus material (besides what is on each movie disk), stored in two albums that fit it into a slick slipcase and the 70 page hardcover book, "James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters".

I was glad I pre-ordered this set months go. Amazon lowered the price after shipping my set so they refunded the $30 difference, plus as an Amazon Prime member, shipping was free. I initially hesitated pre-ordering the set when originally offered at almost $200.00. But after seeing the quality and all the features the set contains I now think it is definitely worth it, after all it's less than $10 per disk. Once these sets are gone, it may probably be years or decades, before a new set is issued (or maybe never if everything actually goes to owning by downloading the file or watching via instant streaming!)

As the Bond culture lives on, all items Bond go up in price on the secondary market. Every time a new film is released new Bond fans are created. I recently introduced my 14 year old granddaughter to Sean Connery as James Bond in Dr. No and she loved it so much she took home eight of the extra Flemming novels I had!

The 14 Flemming Bond books have also been reissued for the anniversary, priced individually, not as a set. The last time a set was issued was in 2002 and I was fortunate to obtain a complete set via Amazon's secondary market some months ago for about $150.00.

If you are a Bond fan I think you will love this set as much as I do. Every fan has their favorite Bond movie, villian, woman and favorite Bond. Not every film is great, not every Bond actor acclaimed. But there surely is much great (and timeless) entertainment here for Bond to be alive and kicking for over 50 years!

From this fan of 50 years: Thank you, Mr. Fleming - Ian Fleming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2131 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection [Blu-ray]
$299.99 $179.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.