Customer Reviews


411 Reviews
5 star:
 (300)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


279 of 286 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squints, rejoice!
Good to see Bones: The Complete First Season is out on dvd. I've waited for this. Debuting in September 2005 on the Fox Network, Bones very quickly garnered rave reviews and amassed a loyal following. Bones is loosely inspired by real life forensic anthropologist and author Kathy Reichs. This funny, clever, sometimes gross, and totally addictive crime drama centers around...
Published on August 27, 2006 by H. Bala

versus
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun show, issues with this release
I really enjoy this show (4.5 stars for the show), but I have some issues with this DVD release, which is why I only gave it three stars. First, it has double-sided disks. There's no justification for cheaping out with double-sided disks on a set that's selling for $42.49 (F Troop season 1 has 6 single-sided disks and sells for $11.99). They spent money to put the box in...
Published on December 18, 2006 by L. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

279 of 286 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squints, rejoice!, August 27, 2006
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
Good to see Bones: The Complete First Season is out on dvd. I've waited for this. Debuting in September 2005 on the Fox Network, Bones very quickly garnered rave reviews and amassed a loyal following. Bones is loosely inspired by real life forensic anthropologist and author Kathy Reichs. This funny, clever, sometimes gross, and totally addictive crime drama centers around forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperence Brennan (Emily Deschanel), who toils out of the Jeffersonian Institution and, on the side, writes mysteries starring her fictional heroine (and here's the twist) Kathy Reichs. Because Brennan has an almost supernatural ability to generate accurate assumptions based on her examination of the corpse's bones, she is often consulted by the FBI on difficult, seemingly unsolvable cases. She is frequently partnered by brash wiseacre FBI Special Agent Seely Booth (David Boreanaz), who seems to hold a bias against science and those who practice in that field. It's Booth who breezily saddles Brennan with the nickname "Bones." Naturally intuitive and freewheeling, Booth immediately is at odds with the clinically analytical Brennan. But, despite their personality clashes, and with the aid of Brennan's gifted and quirky colleagues, the cases do get solved.

It's no great secret that the palpable chemistry between Deschanel and Boreanaz is what actually propels the show and is what separates it from the other, more formulaic, dispassionate crime dramas. Every week, fans tune in for the leads' deliciously caustic banter more so than for the weekly dose of mystery. You see, the mystery jones can be fixed by viewing any other one of the gazillion forensic dramas so currently prevalent on the airwaves. So the mystery is basically the MacGuffin that drives the show forward. But the cantankerous chemistry - that palpable "something" between the two leads as they hilariously bicker and wrangle - is definitely unique to this show. You won't find this sort of wicked rapport going on in any of the CSI or Law & Order shows.

Emily Deschanel is a find. I haven't seen her before but she's awfully good and ingratiating enough with her acerbic character. She imbues Brennan with a cooly detached yet vulnerable and lonely quality that intrigues and endears her to the fans. Her social awkwardness and pop culture ignorance are also quite charming. It's pretty funny that a mention made regarding a pop culture reference almost always elicits a response of "I don't know what that means" from the clueless Bones. And, of course, her expertise in the martial arts doesn't detract from her allure.

And David Boreanaz. Yeah, I found it difficult going, at first, watching him in a new role, seeing as how I'm a fan of Buffy and Angel. But it helps that Booth isn't much like our vampire with a soul. This ex-Army Ranger Special Agent is breezy, personable, and outgoing, not brooding, tortured, and introspective like Angelus (although Booth, also, is trying to atone for past actions). So, the transition, while disconcerting for me, was ultimately smooth enough. Boreanaz brings such command, self-assurance and charm to his character that I bought into it soon enough.

My favorite episodes are the pilot episode, where we are introduced to the cast; "The Man in the Fallout Shelter" - the team is quarantied together in the Jeffersonian during Christmas and we learn personal stuff about the characters; "Two Bodies in the Lab" - character development galore in this episode as Brennan dates on-line and is targeted while she works on two cases; "The Superhero in the Alley" - a decomposed body is found wearing a superhero costume; and "The Woman in Limbo" - a gripping, emotional season finale as Brennan discovers shocking facts about her parents.

Special Features contain episode commentaries on the "Pilot" (with Exec. Producer Barry Josephson & Series Creator Hart Hanson) and "Two Bodies in the Lab" (with David Boreanaz & Emily Deschanel); Disc 4 has "Squints" - an 8-minute-long behind-the-scenes look; "The Real Definition" - A "squint's" guide to forensic terminology; and "Bones: Inspired by the Life of Forensic Anthropologist and Author Kathy Reichs" (with, of course, an interview with Kathy Reichs); and character profiles.

So, to sum it up, this show has a lot to offer. It has a fabulous cast, great character development, and engrossing, well-crafted storylines. The forensic geek, the drama lover, the repartee admirer, the romantic (have patience) - all can meet here and each is guaranteed to come away with something from this intense, smart, funny series. Long live Bones, long may she "squint."

Here's a list of the 22 episodes:

1. "Pilot"
2. "The Man in the S.U.V."
3. "A Boy in the Tree"
4. "The Man in the Bear"
5. "A Boy in a Bush"
6. "The Man in the Wall"
7. "A Man on Death Row"
8. "The Girl in theFridge"
9. "The Man in the Fallout Shelter"
10. "The Woman at the Airport"
11. "The Woman in the Car"
12. "The Superhero in the Alley"
13. "The Woman in the Garden"
14. "The Man on the Fairway"
15. "Two Bodies in the Lab"
16. "The Woman in the Tunnel"
17. "The Skull in the Desert"
18. "The Man with the Bone"
19. "The Man in the Morgue"
20. "The Graft in the Girl"
21. "The Soldier on the Grave"
22. "The Woman in Limbo"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just Another 'CSI', August 28, 2006
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
I'm not into all of the crime dramas that have currently taken over television (aside from the fabulous Cold Case). However, I found myself thoroughly enjoying the first season of Bones, which seemed to get better with every new episode. People talk about the romantic chemistry between Agent Booth (David Boreanaz) and Dr. Brennan (Emily Deschanel), but personally I love the playful chemistry they have as friends. As intelligent as Dr. Brennan is, she doesn't possess a lot of people skills and is constantly being taught to appear more sympathetic and less harsh by Booth (in a kind of role reversal) and her best friend, Angela. As the season progresses, we see her opening up a little more and viewing other people as individuals rather than simply as part of the cultures she's studied. We also see the trust and friendship being built between her and Agent Booth. Though the show's subject matter is often very unpleasant, the main characters all have a certain charm that makes it very enjoyable to watch. The show also has a delightful sense of humor that I think is lacking in most of the other dramas on TV. The writing is smart and David Boreanaz and Emily Deschanel are extremely likable as the two leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up for Bones and a wonderful cast, December 21, 2006
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
Being a person who enjoys not viewing a show on television but instead waits for it to come on dvd, I couldn't have been more pleased with this delightful show. Being a fan of David Boreanaz I thought I would give this show a try. I'm not normally a fan of crime shows but as I stated a had an interest in the cast. While I enjoyed Boreanaz in it as I knew I would I fell in love with Emily Deschanel's character. She plays one of the most interesting people on television today.

The banter that goes on between these two main characters is a joy to watch. I'll even say that the two of them may have the best chemistry on tv. Boreanaz plays tough as nails but nice guy in the inside Agent Seely Booth, and Deschanel plays Dr Temperance Brennan a forensic anthropologist. Booth who works for the FBI investigates the murders that occur and Brennan determines the cause of death and uncovers clues based on the bones.

Each episode plays as a stand alone but the character dynamics build throughout the season and really is a joy to watch. As I said I'm not a huge fan of crime dramas but if for nothing else I deeply enjoyed the cast of this excellent show. And also loved the crime aspect as it is done differently than other crime solving shows.

I highly suggest this wonderful show. If you appreciate character relationships than you will love this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun show, issues with this release, December 18, 2006
By 
L. Harris "skytag" (Winter Haven, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
I really enjoy this show (4.5 stars for the show), but I have some issues with this DVD release, which is why I only gave it three stars. First, it has double-sided disks. There's no justification for cheaping out with double-sided disks on a set that's selling for $42.49 (F Troop season 1 has 6 single-sided disks and sells for $11.99). They spent money to put the box in a plastic slipcase, but then cheaped out on the disks. Ugh. Second, as much as I like David Boreanaz (he's at least as enjoyable in this as he was in Buffy or Angel), he's really annoying in the audio commentary he does with Emily Deschanel. I appreciate the insight a good commentary offers into the making of a show, but unfortunately David Boreanaz acts like a smart aleck high school kid in this commentary, cracking jokes, making stupid comments, even interrupting Emily when she's trying to say something interesting. I finally gave up listening to it after 35 minutes or so.

From a technical standpoint, though, this is a very nice release. Video and sound quality are both excellent. Now, as for the show, I really like it. It's one of those shows that does a range of things well. It can be deeply touching, hilariously funny, suspenseful, action-packed, disturbing, you name it and Bones probably goes there at times and does it well (thankfully it doesn't do soap opera). Very impressive. The science is not very believable at times and the holographic stuff is a bit much, as is the notion of a forensic lab set in the middle of a room the size of a museum, but hey, it's a TV show, and it's a great set.

The casting is excellent. David Boreanaz is perfect for this role and Emily Deschanel is a joy to watch (and hear -- what a great voice). Her portrayal of Brennan as passionate and brilliant, but at times innocent and clueless is amazing. And the chemistry between Booth and Brennan really works. Jonathan Adams does a great job as Dr. Daniel Goodman (wish we saw more of him), and the other characters are all enjoyable as well. Sets, special effects, and the dead bodies are well done and production values are generally high. All things considered it's definitely worth owning, but I think the current price is a bit high. There are other, equally good shows available on DVD for under $30/season, and all other shows I know in the $40+ range have single-sided disks. I should admit, though, that nowadays I think $40+ is high for any show. Fortunately I got this new for just over $30 including shipping from one of Amazon's sellers using the New and Used link.

Update: Since I wrote my initial review Amazon has dropped the price to $24.97, which I consider a very good price for a current drama series that's done as well as this is (dramas typically cost more than comedies for some reason, or so it seems). At $25 I'd probably give this DVD release 3.5-4 stars if edit that part of the review.

Tip: Avoid eating and drinking during Brennen's interview at the beginning of The Woman in the Car (disk 2, side 2). It's hard to laugh that hard with food in your mouth. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CSI with a Heart, December 8, 2006
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
CSI and its various offspring continue to garner strong ratings on television as people are fascinated with how the authorities use state-of-the-art technology to solve crimes. The latest incarnation is Bones, a T.V. show that takes the CSI template and attempts to inject some humanity and characters that we actually care about. While the actual cases obviously take up most of an episode's running time, the personal details about the characters' lives are gradually revealed. The show took a few episodes to find its rhythm and fortunately its ratings were strong enough to allow it to get better.

After the untimely demise of Angel, it is nice to see David Boreanaz in another successful show. While the writing isn't as strong, his natural charm is a large part of the appeal of his character. Also, his backstory - an army ranger sniper - hints at a slightly dark past. It also helps that he has excellent chemistry with co-star Emily Deschanel whose character also has an intriguing past - her parents disappeared when she was 15 years old. Deschanel is an excellent foil as she plays someone who is more comfortable in her lab surrounded by the remains of dead people than in a noisy nightclub filled with people. She clearly lacks the necessary people skills. However, Bones is hardly a helpless bookworm as she has plenty of strong opinions and is not afraid to voice them. She is also capable of defending herself physically as well.

An easy comparison for Bones would be a combination of the partner dynamics of The X-Files with the formula of CSI. Where The X-Files dealt with supernatural crime, Bones deals with more natural crimes but the Mulder/Scully dynamic is certainly present in the relationship between Bones and Booth. What makes Bones work is not really the various cases but the characters and how we grow to care about what happens to them.

The first disc features a commentary on the "Pilot" episode by executive producer Barry Josephson and creator/writer Hart Hanson. They touch upon the test screening process and how this resulted in a few changes to this episode.

Disc three includes a commentary on "Two Bodies in the Lab" by actors David Boreanaz and Emily Deschanel. They joke with each other in this relaxed track. The two actors make fun of the sexual tension between their characters. But what is evident from this track is the genuine chemistry between them and one can see how this translates to what we see on screen.

The fourth disc features several featurettes including "Bones - Inspired by the Life of Forensic Anthropologist and Author Kathy Reichs" a profile of the woman whom the character of Bones is based on.

"Character Profiles" are text biographies on each of the main characters.

"Squints" takes a look Bones' team of scientists. It's an actual term that is used and the cast members talk about the dynamics between their respective characters. They talk about how fascinating the technology aspect is.

Finally, there is "The Real Definition," that examines some of the overtly technical terms from the show and defines them in plain English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly excellent!, June 17, 2006
By 
S. A. Lister "zookeeper" (New Plymouth, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bones (DVD)
This programme is pure genius. The main characters play off each other so well because they are so very different.

Booth is light-hearted and shows his emotions (up to a point - he is a man!) where as Temperance has been so effected by the disappearance of her parents and her perceived abandonment by her brother she is unable to show her emotions. She has no social skills to speak of and this makes her unique and very interesting. The supporting cast are also great, individual and complex.

The comments about poor acting really made me annoyed so I have had to put my opinion in. Emily (Temperance) is supposed to be hard and unfeeling, that is the point of her character! When she delivers emotive dialogue it is supposed to be wooden as she is unable to express how she feels, her work is everything so even when holding her mother's skull she is the consummate professional and doesn't let emotion cloud her work.

I have looked forward to this programme (and CSI; NY) every week and have watched every episode even though they play opposite Lost and Invasion and Cold Case and Close To Home here in New Zealand.

I can't wait til this is released on DVD and am extremely happy to hear there will be another Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but....................., April 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
I will not dwell on the content as other reviewers have done this admirably, There are 3 main criticisms

1) Double sided "Plain" discs....... very cheap and for a show as good as this, why?

2) No "Play All" feature, one of the reasons people buy TV show DVD's such as this is No Commercial breaks and being able to watch multiple episodes back to back in one sitting, so in this instance I have to > go to main menu, then click play on the next episode.

EDIT; The above 2 issues have been addressed in Season 2

3) the Title intro seems really loud as opposed to the actual episode content itself, I found myself turning down the volume each time, then turning it back up again?

Otherwise its fine as advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best forensics on TV, December 4, 2006
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
This program is a breath of fresh air in the forensic world of CSI programs. Witty, with sharply drawn characters and clever storylines, it is definitely worth your time. The effects are graphic, but not excessive. The cast is great. I had no problem adjusting to David Boreanaz from Buffy and Angel in the role of an FBI agent. He and the entire cast are perfect! And . . . this is one of the rare programs that is fulfilling our expectations in subsequent seasons. Treat yourself to Kathy Reichs' excellent series. And . . . check out her Temperance Brennan novels as well. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BONES is a GREAT drama., April 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
Bones is a series about Dr. Temperance Brennan played by the lovely, sometimes downright sexy looking, Emily Deschanel. She is a forensic anthropologist who teams up with FBI agent Seeley Booth. Booth is played by David Boreanaz who, along with the rest of the cast members, really brings the show to life. Each episode is full of humor, drama, great group chemistry and realistic crime scenes. I love the interaction between the two main characters, with all their flaws and merits.

While I wish there was more commentary the other extras more than make up for it. Cast members talk about their characters, there is a guide to deal with the terminology and there is a small feature about Kathy Reichs, author and real life forensic anthropologist, whose books the series is based on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD set was HUGE disapointment, January 5, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bones: Season 1 (DVD)
Bones as a show would have received 5 stars. I think the cast clicks well together and the chemistry between Seeley and Bones is very good. I enjoy the stories and I like the fact that it's set in DC and not NY, LA or the rest of the typical places.

What I really wanted to do was give the packaging ONE star. If I had paid the full price of $50.00 and not gotten it on sale for half that here at Amazon, I would be extremely upset. The discs come in cheap slim cases -- 2 discs to a case. There isn't a single printed image on the discs and you practically have to get out a magnifying glass to read the very small print around the inner hole to see which disc you are looking at. It came without a insert that would talk about the episodes and instead it's all in small print on the back of each jewel case.

There's nothing to this set. Good thing the show stands on it's own. If you DVR'd the season I say don't bother buying the set, put the info on your computer and watch the eps through it. At least that way you would get all the original music...

All in all: Love the show, hate the DVD packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bones: Season 1
Bones: Season 1 by David Boreanaz (DVD - 2006)
$49.98 $16.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.