Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Boogie Nights: Music From The Original Motion Picture
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 26, 2002
From the greatest film of the last ten years comes a superlative soundtrack that's extremely infectious. Not only are fantastic disco and R&B tracks included but a good chunk of late 70s and early 80s rock is added to give it a fantastic touch. Paul Thomas Anderson obviously knew what he was doing when he hired the guy to put together the musical score.

Arguably one of the finest pop songs of the 1970s, Walter Egan's "Magnet and Steel", stands out and is surely the centerpiece of the album. If you enjoyed the masterpiece that was the film then you'll most likely become addicted to this CD. It now holds the record for the longest running CD my car's stereo has ever held; it hasn't seen its casing in months.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2001
There were so many great songs in Boogie Nights, and only 13 of them made it onto the original soundtrack. You really need this one PLUS the Boogie Nights #2 CD (which is just as good, if not better) in order to get all of them. However, this one probably has the songs most essential to the movie (including Mark Wahlberg singing that horrible, horrible yet funny song, Feel The Heat). My favorites are Best of My Love (The Emotions), Brand New Key (Melanie) -- it's hilarious, Spill the Wine (Eric Burdon), Sister Christian (Night Ranger), Machine Gun (The Commodores), the classic Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now (McFadden & Whitehead), Livin' Thing (Elo) and God Only Knows (The Beach Boys). If you like this one, I'd definitely recommend buying the Boogie Nights #2 CD as well.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
This is one of the greatest films ever, and is "required watching" for any serious student of film. If you are from the SF Valley (LA), look out for some awesome location footage (our apartment building just missed ending up in the movie, LOL)! First rate cast, amazing dialogue ... this is what put P.T. Anderson on the map (and is still my favorite, with "Magnolia" a close second). Don't bother renting it -- just buy it, because you're going to watch it ten times in a row! :) NOTE: I just realized this was for the music, not the film itself but the review still stands -- buy the film, buy the music ... and you'll know why I've loved this movie for over 18 years!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
I was hoping for better music on this CD, but I should have paid closer attention to the description, and then I would have seen the music listed on it. I felt like the movie had better music and wished they would have included more of those songs on this CD. Oh well, live and learn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
Great cross section of the music of the 70's and 80's. However, I was really surprised that the song that was glaringly missing was "Boogie Nights" by Heatwave. Oh well, the rest of the play list is worth getting the CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
Thank you! THis was in perfect shape, plays very well and came completely in one piece. A great buy, I love the songs in this soundtrack and I appreciate rceiving it way ahead of time than predicted. Great seller, I am very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2001
I have almost every song from this soundtrack downloaded onto my computer, and several times I've just stuck the movie into the DVD player just to hear the great selection of music. While I am not what you could call a fan of disco, this is definatly the best of the best. It's upbeat, and pleasing, and really great driving music. It could also give someone the impression that you have a broad and open-minded music taste- especially if this isn't what you normally listen to (does anyone listen exclusively to disco anyways?). It's also great music for hanging out at the pool, parties, or just upbeat cleaning music... and for the most part everyone knows all these songs, so there should be very little complaint. Any soundtrack with Melanie on it is worth a go :o).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 1998
Thid soundtrack is a perfect time capsule of the music of the late 70's/early 80's era. From the disco of The Emotions to the funk of War to the soul of Marvin Gaye to the AOR fluff of ELO to the cheesy but timeless Night Ranger, Boogie Nights is tons of guilt-free fun.
By far the best track on the cd is the "hidden" track 'You Got the Touch', sung (not very well, I might add) by Mark Wahlberg. The tacky keyboards, the cheap drum machine, the pop metal guitar noodling, and Wahlberg's brutal (while trying to sound sincere) vocals make this song seem eerily close to a lot of the dreck we heard in the 80's, while retaining its tongue-in-cheek humour.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2002
a grreat disc. one of my favourites. an excellent compilation. gems like brand new key and the bonus mark wahlberg tune "the touch"...from the Transformers movie!! also some old disco/funk mixed in of course. magnet and steel is kind of lame, but I learned to love it. in modern times where everything is so cynical..listening to this disc brings back some cheezy tunes that makes it okay.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
Not impressed back when it originally came out, but I was young, and maybe it was too close to the days when things were actually like this.
Second time round tho, years later, seen from a film appreciation POV - very impressed.
Aside from the porn industry and all that, otherwise captures well the vibe and feel of those years.

Give it a second chance if you haven't.

--LD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.