Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker Would Like This CD
Numerous "tribute" albums to Chet Baker have been done; but, in my opinion, none have captured the essence of his style until this one by Luciana Souza. Not only is her delivery slow and quiet, but she TELLS the listener in song a love story rather than appearing to show us her singing style and expertise. Since Chet Baker was first a musician and secondly a singer, his...
Published on September 21, 2012 by DROP130

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what works for Chet may not work for everyone
I am a big fan of Souza's and was looking forward to hearing this disk. Although it is well recorded and sung, I don't care for it too much. The predominance of slow ballads, along with the consistent tone (spare acoustic guitar backing, ultra-close mic-ing of her voice, minimal drums) drags me down. Some of the songs cross over the edge of preciousness. The disc could...
Published 18 months ago by Read-Only


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker Would Like This CD, September 21, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (MP3 Music)
Numerous "tribute" albums to Chet Baker have been done; but, in my opinion, none have captured the essence of his style until this one by Luciana Souza. Not only is her delivery slow and quiet, but she TELLS the listener in song a love story rather than appearing to show us her singing style and expertise. Since Chet Baker was first a musician and secondly a singer, his approach, to me, was to use the lyric to give a glimpse into his soul, instead of being concerned with the rules a "good" singer should follow. I commend Luciana Souza for doing justice to the memory of a great jazz artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker done proud, November 5, 2012
By 
Bill Stevenson (West Palm Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (Audio CD)
Souza captured the essence of Baker's unique delivery with these songs. In fact they are as good as anything Baker did himself. The mood, the introspection, the inflections are all here. Yet, she did not set out to copy him. She must have given each of these standards a lot of thought. I can't think of anything she could do to improve on this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what works for Chet may not work for everyone, June 25, 2013
By 
Read-Only (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Book of Chet (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Souza's and was looking forward to hearing this disk. Although it is well recorded and sung, I don't care for it too much. The predominance of slow ballads, along with the consistent tone (spare acoustic guitar backing, ultra-close mic-ing of her voice, minimal drums) drags me down. Some of the songs cross over the edge of preciousness. The disc could serve as mood music for an appropriate occasion... one in which you were not depending on remaining awake.

Chet Baker had a better chance of carrying off these songs, because his cracked voice could carry an emotional weight that his singing shortcomings benefited rather than subtracted from. He *needed* the close mic-ing, because he couldn't hit the notes with a full voice. With Souza's full voice, the technique sounds affected. Also, Chet would often intersperse his vocal attempts among instrumental songs of different speeds and tones. Here, there's no trumpet or rhythm section to solo and relieve the vocals.

So, I'm not saying that the disk is bad; individual songs have some very good singing and playing. However, as a whole product, I found the disc more annoying than rewarding to listen to. I realize that other reviewers have liked the disc. My review is intended to help provide a complete picture of listeners' response to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (MP3 Music)
Smooth, mellow, and refreshing. An excellent album, here's to hoping that more will be forthcoming. Luciana is one of those rare artists whom I believe can fill shoes once thought to be left permanently vacant. She is at once classic and fresh. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exquisite as always, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (Audio CD)
If you love the music of Chet Baker and particularly the feel of his music, you will appreciate and enjoy the respect and musicianship that has gone into every cut on this album Luciana Souza has the perfect voice for these songs. The arrangements and clarity of recording are impeccable as they are in all her work. There is nothing uptempo on this album ,but that is really the beauty of listening to this album. just curl up and let this haunting lovely music take you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the heart!, June 30, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (San Miguel de Allende, Mexico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Book of Chet (Audio CD)
I love it! One reviewer felt overwhelmed by the "ballad-ness" of this album. Whoa, this style genre is almost gone in this noisy era. Thank you Luciana...shades of Jim Hall and more! Please never go away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker reborn, December 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (Audio CD)
She reincarnates chet's music and gives it a life born of her voice and her respect for the artist.Songs covered but,not. The whole album is one in which you sit down in a dimly lit room and sip" Campari" and soda with a twist of lime. Thinking to yourself how wonderful life truly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Relaxing, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (Audio CD)
This is a very relaxing collection of music yet it has an edge if you care to listen for it. The instruments and vocals really go well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minimal musical mastery, April 3, 2013
By 
Green Daniel (Hendersonville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (Audio CD)
This CD doesn't make you think of Chet Baker. It makes you think about the music. Wonderful songs that never needed bells, whistles, or other adornments to make them moving and memorable. Precisely why they worked for Baker. They were not so produced as recorded. The true test of musical art. If anything stands out in this collection, it might be guitarist Larry Koonse, who plays just the perfect unsuspected notes to refresh the unsuspected beauty of forgotten lyrics. As for Souza, what is a singer if not the delivery system for a remarkable song?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly similar slow tempos and moods but deep and compelling, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Chet (MP3 Music)
I have to be in the mood for some somber and introspective music to listen to the entire album as all the tunes are at that slow to medium slow tempo, but the music is really compelling and played with obvious intention to move the listener. Luciana captures much of the essence of Chet's vocal performances while adding a haunting timbre of her own to mix which is well supported by a great guitar led trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Book of Chet
Book of Chet by Luciana Souza (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.