Book of Days: Personal Essays and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$13.50
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $1.50 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it tomorrow, April 17? Order within and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Book of Days: Personal Essays Paperback


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.50
$6.96 $0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Book of Days: Personal Essays + How to Live: Or A Life of Montaigne in One Question and Twenty Attempts at an Answer
Price for both: $25.96

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Spiegel & Grau; 1 edition (August 17, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385525893
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385525893
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #543,000 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“The best of these ten essays combine the details of memory with reflective insight and a command of tone that resists cliché, while refusing to settle into simplistic understanding.  … Whether she’s explaining her affinity for Kafka or exploring the tribal rituals of faculty wives—her husband is a professor, as her father was—Gordon writes with flinty humor, unsentimental precision and a refusal to let herself or anyone else off too easily.”
Kirkus

“Emily Fox Gordon’s essays make me want to curl up inside them and keep on reading for as long as I can. She writes with candor, wit, and insight about common and uncommon occurrences, whether it be her husband’s colonoscopy or her decades-long therapy experience. Her ability to sound out the truth about the coded world of academe or the pleasure to be found in long-running marriages makes her a bracing and welcome guide through the thickets of contemporary life.”
—Daphne Merkin

"In one of this book's fine essays, Emily Fox Gordon observes drily that calling oneself a born personal essayist is like calling oneself a born éminence grise. Maybe so—but if there were ever a writer born to this genre, it's Gordon, who can simultaneously strip herself bare and turn an unforgettable phrase."
—Anne Fadiman


“Good writing is itself a moral virtue. Wit, complexity, and detail are its outward signs, and [Gordon’s work] shines with them.”
—The New Yorker
 
“Emily Fox Gordon’s writing combines remarkable intelligence—a critical eye, a complex wit—with extraordinary candor and vulnerability.”
—Rosellen Brown

About the Author

Emily Fox Gordon is an award-winning essayist and the author of the novel It will Come to Me, and two memoirs, Mockingbird Years: A Life In and Out of Therapy and Are you Happy?: A Childhood Remembered. Her work had appeared in American Scholar, Time, Pushcart Prize Anthology XXIII and XXIX, the New York Times Book Review, Boulevard, and Salmagundi. She lives in Houston.


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
See all 7 customer reviews
Very skillfully done!
Allie
It's no exaggeration to say that Emily Fox Gordon is one of the finest personal essayists writing today.
Cole M.
He gets right to the heart of what makes essays so engaging to read.
Paul Zakrzewski

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Cole M. on November 22, 2010
Format: Paperback
Emily Fox Gordon's keen, insightful personal essays, originally published in distinguished literary journals such as Boulevard and The American Scholar, are now gathered in an illuminating collection that could stand as a third memoir. Fans of Are You Happy: A Childhood Remembered and Mockingbird Years: A Life In and Out of Therapy will discover here a kind of narrative thread that moves past Gordon's ambivalent years on the therapist's couch to the present day, in which she registers both comfort in an enduring, intellectually charged marriage and an ongoing quest for depth and discernment in her hard-won, fully deserved writing life. The title essay, a response to the publication of Mockingbird Years, is a must-read for all writers and readers of the memoir. (Mockingbird Years, the essay from which the memoir was developed, is included in this collection, as well.) But to flat-out label the collection a memoir, or a sequel, would be inaccurate and diminishing. Each wholly satisfying essay glows and bristles pleasingly on its own, offspring of a vigorous, stretching mind with a sly eye for the comic. It's no exaggeration to say that Emily Fox Gordon is one of the finest personal essayists writing today.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Jamie on April 14, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Although EFG has a few moments of promise in this collection of essays, my overall impression is that this collection still needs serious work. The content could be interesting, and it never quite delivers. She offers very little in the way of vulnerability, which prevents the reader, or at least this reader, from ever really connecting with the subjects being explored. I would skip this unless you're a very dedicated fan of her work.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Dr. Leslie J. May on September 5, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a last form in our modern Facebook world. The author exceeds expectations with eloquence, care and authenticity. Fascinating read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The book shines. The essay about Kafka is brilliant - I went to read him again. And Ms. Fox Gordon is indeed very charming despite not thinking so.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa3b43474)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?