Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Disturbed $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services gotS5 gotS5 gotS5  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Gear Up for Football STEM Toys & Games
Digital List Price: $16.95
Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $6.96 (41%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Book Lust to Go: Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds, and Dreamers Kindle Edition

32 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$9.99

Length: 322 pages

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

With the holidays just around the corner, Nancy Pearl's little gem will please many a traveler (or dreamer) who loves to read about faraway places but doesn't know where to start. With fanciful alliteration, Pearl lists titles under topics arranged from "A is for Adventure" to "Zipping through Zimbabwe." Recommendations are accompanied by brief critiques and insights. In an entry for "Las Vegas," for example, Pearl recommends Chris Ewan's novel, The Good Thief's Guide to Vegas, for fans of Hiaassen and Westlake, capers that use various cities of the world for their settings. Pearl classifies her recommendations well enough so that readers can take or leave her advice. In "Africa," for instance, she includes the classic Cry the Beloved Country as well as contemporary mysteries such as Wife of the Gods. It might have been easy to stick with the country structure for a book like this, but Pearl mixed it up, to good effect, with chapters like "So We/I Bought (or Built) A House In…" which includes books about homes in Morocco, Mexico, France, Brazil, and Ireland. Pearl has produced a winner and the perfect bedside companion. (Oct.)
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review

As in the other volumes in her "Book Lust" series, the idea is very simple. Pearl, a former Seattle librarian, suggests books in various categories. She gives the impression of having read almost everything, and her recommendations are varied and exhaustive. She offers something for everyone’s taste — romantic novels, mysteries, histories, sportsbooks, travel books, comics, poetry and so forth.
Mansfield News Journal 

Product Details

  • File Size: 782 KB
  • Print Length: 322 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1570616507
  • Publisher: Sasquatch Books (June 1, 2010)
  • Publication Date: June 1, 2010
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00499DSBQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #488,298 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

From Nancy: My lust for books and reading began when I was a very young child, and has continued unabated for lo, these many many years. Every time I open a new book to read, it's like embarking on a voyage to an unexplored place that just might be filled with wonder and excitement.

The books I love most tend to have three-dimensional characters and be very well-written (although that definition is fluid). I read everything - mysteries, non-fiction (especially history, memoirs, and current events), literary fiction, science fiction and fantasy, andchildren's books (lots and lots, for my upcoming book, Book Crush), and anything else that looks interesting. I love first novels.

More About Nancy: Nancy Pearl is a librarian and lifelong reader. She regularly comments on books on National Public Radio's Morning Edition. Among her many awards and honors are the 2011 Librarian of the Year Award from Library Journal; the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association; the 2010 Margaret E. Monroe Award from the Reference and Users Services Association of the American Library Association; and the 2004 Women's National Book Association Award, given to "a living American woman who ...has done meritorious work in the world of books beyond the duties or responsibilities of her profession or occupation."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful By Meg Sumner TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on October 6, 2010
Format: Paperback
Nancy Pearl is back! In case her name doesn't ring a bell, she's probably just about the coolest librarian you can imagine. If you tell her you want something adventurous, she won't simply hand you a Jon Kraukeur book, she'll ask you to be more specific. She could probably ask you half a dozen questions and then suggest the perfect title for you. She did this for the world when she wrote Book Lust a few years ago. In it, she compiled lists of authors and book titles (often with a synopsis) that have connections to other books. So if you wanted Irish Fiction, the category would give you a large list of fiction titles, some well known and others long out of print. Similarly, she classified hundreds of books under different categories, some general(cold war spy novels) or more specific (novels written by physicians).

In her third book, Book Lust To Go, she tackles travel. To me, it's the best of the series. These aren't Lonely Planet guides: you aren't going to learn language or customs or cheap places to stay. Instead, it collects a list of titles based on the destination. You want books set in Finland? There's a section for that, and it includes fiction and nonfiction from the region, as well as history books that may be useful. She covers the world with books; even the most obscure countries and cities have titles listed. Being able to see a grouping of several genres in one geographical category makes this the ultimate resource if you are studying a particular area or doing a regional reading challenge.

Besides travel to real cities, states, and countries, she includes sections on imaginary travel destinations. Also listed are groupings of books based on sailing, walking, rowing, travel by plane, etc.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Bookreporter on October 25, 2010
Format: Paperback
I am shedding no tears of sympathy for NPR book maven Nancy Pearl. As far as I'm concerned, she has the best writing job in the world. She gets to write books about books, and in the process, research and select the best of the books, including the ones she likes, and recommend them to others. In fact, she can create the categories to suit her literary proclivities. Heavens, is there no limit to this lady's good fortune?

In this book about books, Pearl shines the luster of her book lust on books for travelers, both the inner and outer variety. BOOK LUST TO GO is subtitled "Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds, and Dreamers." Does this not include, well, just about everybody who can read?

This is not a trip read; it's a book to read before you go, to help you choose some books to take along. If you're traveling to Sweden, grab a trendy Stieg Larsson mystery for the journey (but be advised, as Pearl points out, Larsson's books are as dark as a far northern winter). If to Botswana, throw in your pack the writings of the delightful Alexander McCall Smith and the more complex Bessie Head --- a study in contrasts, but both writers are equally true to the soil of their home. Head's MARU, a bit darker and more poetic than the offering Pearl chose, is a near-poetic depiction of tribal prejudice and personal pride.

Going to Cornwall? Corfu? There's a book for you.

Maybe you just want to travel "in the footsteps of." Try Tim Butcher's BLOOD RIVER: A Journey to Africa's Broken Heart, about the great explorer H.M. Stanley, or CHASING CHE: A Motorcycle Journey in Search of the Guevara Legend, by Patrick Symmes.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Sandra Smith on September 24, 2010
Format: Paperback
I love Nancy Pearl's new book. What a great idea to give suggestions for books that will enhance your travel experiences. Several years ago I took a cruise down the Seine from Paris to Honfleur. I decided to take along the book Bel Ami (Vintage Classics) by French writer Guy de Maupassant, not realizing that he was an author from the very region we were passing through - Normandy. It really enhanced my experience to be reading stories about the very area we were visiting. Book Lust to Go encourages you to have this same experience no matter where you are traveling. Even if you are an armchair traveler, this book would be an invaluable aid to the study of many different places.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Someone Else TOP 1000 REVIEWER on November 2, 2010
Format: Paperback
Nancy Pearl aims to offer selections for all reading tastes and topics rather than saying "these are the best of the best and everyone should read them." With that in mind, I don't rate her books based on whether I liked the books she suggests. Instead, I rate them for the feeling of possibility, anticipation, and excitement she creates for me. Her love of books and their authors infuses every page. She always includes interesting personal anecdotes and a sprinkling of humor, so it's not just a dry list of books you should read.

The sections in Book Lust to Go are presented according to region, city, state, or country. If you have an interest in a particular place, you can turn to that section and find both fiction and non-fiction offerings about its history, people, recent events, or fellow travelers' experiences. There are also some sections devoted to mode of travel rather than location, including sea voyages, river rides, mountain climbing, bicycle trips, train travel, and walking treks.

Whether Cavorting through the Caribbean, Frolicking in Finland, Galloping Through the Galapagos, Sheltering in the Shetlands, or Peru(sing) Peru, there's something for everyone, if only for travel of the armchair variety.

Pearl explains in the introduction that she has tried to avoid repeating suggestions. So if you think there are titles conspicuously missing from a particular section, you'll probably find they've already been mentioned in Book Lust or More Book Lust.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in