Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much-needed account of an amazing people
Historians may argue over the reasons for much of what the Navajo have experienced--over the Long Walk, over the Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute, and over the infamous livestock reduction. They may argue about where the Navajos came from, and what their culture needs to survive and thrive, but no one can argue that they're not a fascinating culture deserving of...
Published on September 30, 2005 by Mike Smith

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars There are many other better written and researched book on the topic available from ...
This book is filled with prejudice against all other (non-Navajo) tribes and people, from the neighboring tribes to Spaniards and of cause, "white people".
If read carefully, contradictions in it are quite obvious and frequent.
For a serious reader who is looking to educate yourself, this book can not be considered a reliable source of information...
Published 1 month ago by YT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much-needed account of an amazing people, September 30, 2005
By 
Mike Smith (Albuquerque, NM) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
Historians may argue over the reasons for much of what the Navajo have experienced--over the Long Walk, over the Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute, and over the infamous livestock reduction. They may argue about where the Navajos came from, and what their culture needs to survive and thrive, but no one can argue that they're not a fascinating culture deserving of documentation.

Because they are.

The Navajo Indians have lived in the area that's now the United States for centuries--probably since shortly after A.D. 1400--and may have migrated here from Asia, via Alaska and northwestern Canada, though there are other valid theories as well.

The word "Navajo" is a Spanish corruption of a Tewa Indian phrase that meant something like "those who farm the canyons," but "Diné" is the Navajos' name for themselves, and translates simply as "the people."

The Navajo Nation is the modern-day Navajo homeland. It was formed in the early-1900s, to better allow the tribe to deal with American oil companies wishing to lease Navajo land, and is America's biggest Indian reservation, literally a country within a country. The Navajo Nation has its own Bill of Rights, its own flag, a President, its own police force, freedoms and laws unique to the Navajo tribe, and levels of government known as agencies and chapters. Today it's home to about 300,000 Navajo individuals, and covers 25,000 square miles of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, and Colorado--a reservation larger than the states of Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New Hampshire combined.

The Navajos are a major American culture, and they deserve books that are as well-researched and as fascinating to read as this one. It's a priceless research tool, and aside from the sad episodes it documents, it's a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historically Accurate and Dynamic, June 6, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is very dynamic in its broad spectrum of education. For the student of the Navajo culture or th historian wanting to know the insides and motivation of the Native Americans known as Navajos, this book is the best.
Detailed, historical and filled with details on the "white mans" conquest. Their habits, traditions, dreams, beliefs, goals, society and place in the history of the New Americas.
A must read for anyone wanting to learn about a society that has been opposed, oppressed and often forgotten. They are a brilliant culture.
Get this book. Read it well. (I read it three times!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Source for Dene History, May 26, 2012
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
The Handbook of North American Indians provides comprehensive ethnographic coverage of the Dene or Navajo with only a generalized history. BOOK OF THE NAVAJO extends the history with important details. In introductory chapters, Locke gives us an overview of parts of Dene culture and society so we have an undestanding of their way of life before taking up their history.
Locke starts with a prehisoric background drawing on the archaeological record then showing Dene linguitic relationships extending fron Alaska to the Northwest Coast. In short, he offers an excellent overview before beginning Dene history with an in-depth review of Pueblo and Spanish contacts. I found his chapters on conflict with the Spanish and their taking of captives vital for my historical novel about Dene slavery.
I had to coninue reading into the mid-nineteenth century because his coverage of the American arrival is riveting as is his description of the Long Walk beginning in 1864. His concluding chapters on post-Long Walk developments are also welcome although these times are described at length in other works. But, despite numerous studies of the dispute between Hopi and Dene, Locke's account of its effects on a Dene family drew me into the conflict like no other writing. ernestschusky.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books of Navajo History, September 15, 2012
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read a lot of books about Navajo history but Raymond Friday Locke's Book of the Navajo is one of the best. It's one of the most complete Navajo history books written. From the before the Navajo's first contact with the Spanish all the way to the land dispute between the Hopi and Navajo people in the 20th century and beyond. This being a written history about Native Americans it is inevitably full of tragedy. Not just the infamous Long Walk, but also the dreaded Livestock Reduction, the boarding school system, including the widespread enslavement of Navajo people during the 1800s. Yet despite all of that our tribe is currently the one of the largest Indian tribes in the US and our culture is still very much intact. Aside from history Locke also gives one of the best and most respectful presentations of Navajo culture including some of our most cherished legends. Overall it is a well written and well researched book and is highly recommended to anyone interested in Native American history or the history of the American South West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable references on the Navajo, June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
Covers a wide array of topics...culture, history. Dated, but useful. Very readable. Organized well and easy to skip around to find what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Navajo in English, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
Raymond Locke puts it all in plain english and plenty of it. There is enough detail and respect here to fill a curious mind with a good Navajo understanding. Once you start learning about them you'll want to know more. All the chapters are informative, but I found "The World is Holy" especially interesting as a Navajo perspective. If a person wants to know about the Navajos in an orderly fashion, this is the best place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars There are many other better written and researched book on the topic available from ..., October 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is filled with prejudice against all other (non-Navajo) tribes and people, from the neighboring tribes to Spaniards and of cause, "white people".
If read carefully, contradictions in it are quite obvious and frequent.
For a serious reader who is looking to educate yourself, this book can not be considered a reliable source of information. There are many other better written and researched book on the topic available from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Book of the Navajo, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
Have barely begun this, but wow. It has opened my eyes to many things of the Dine` People.

I know this willl be a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Standard size as in what we used to call pocket size paperback., September 5, 2014
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
I was happy to get the book but disappointed that it is a standard size paperback.:-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Horrifying, September 22, 2012
By 
J. Quillian (Saipan, MP United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of the Navajo (Mass Market Paperback)
I recently moved to the Four Corners area and wanted to learn about the history of the people that live in this area.

I have been reading this book, and am shocked at the mistreatment that the Navajo received over the centuries. It is horrifying that the Spanards and others took so many of these people, including many women and children, over centuries and sold them into slavery. Not to mention the killing that happened with every raid. They even went so far as to go on wedding party raides to capture Navajo's to be given to a bride to estblish servants for her home. I am only now getting in to the part where the American Govt enters the picture. It looks like they were initally duped into backing this slavery being told the the Navajos were the aggressors, and they turned a blind eye to the slavery. Numerous treaties were broken by the Spanards, and this continued with the Americans, largely in part due to misunderstandings.

The first part of the book was difficult for me to get through. It initially has Legends of how the people originated and legends generaly aren't of interest to me, but you might like them.

I'd give it five stars with maps. I would have loved maps so that I could follow where things happened. Since I didn't know the places that were being discussed, it was a little confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Book of the Navajo
The Book of the Navajo by Raymond Friday Locke (Mass Market Paperback - March 1, 2002)
$8.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.