Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ROAD MAP FOR TURNING YOUR DREAMS INTO PRINT
You've got an idea that you're bursting to put into words. You think you may even have a book in you. You talk about it with your friends and family, and they tell you it sounds amazing. Now what?

Weeks pass. Months go by. Maybe even years. That idea just won't go away! So, finally you sit down at your computer and begin typing it out. You become engrossed in...
Published on July 21, 2005 by Heather Ivester

versus
33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Awful
Not a good resource AT ALL. I didn't learn anything from this book that I didn't already know from a few hours of researching on the internet. I bought this after seeing so many positive reviews and was incredibly disappointed. It is heavily biased towards Christian literature and all the examples given are about religious books. The "Sample Book Proposal that Sold for...
Published on March 6, 2011 by Book Writer


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ROAD MAP FOR TURNING YOUR DREAMS INTO PRINT, July 21, 2005
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
You've got an idea that you're bursting to put into words. You think you may even have a book in you. You talk about it with your friends and family, and they tell you it sounds amazing. Now what?

Weeks pass. Months go by. Maybe even years. That idea just won't go away! So, finally you sit down at your computer and begin typing it out. You become engrossed in your topic -- swamped in research, personal anecdotes, and fresh twists on age-old issues. You're convinced every publisher will be clamoring for your book.

Unfortunately, if you send your masterpiece out without a bodyguard (an agent), it may end up in a tottering pile of manuscripts in the corner of an editor's office. Or worse -- it may not even make it to his desk because a first reader deemed it inappropriate for the publishing house.

Never fear. That's where Terry Whalin's book will save you the months and years of heartache as you turn your passion into print. He explains, "Many writers focus only on the creative aspects of writing a book and getting it published, but the executives inside a publishing house are business people who want to sell books and turn a profit at the end of the day. It's a delicate balance between creating the best possible product and assuring that each product has the best opportunity to sell into the market and reach the target audience."

BOOK PROPOSALS THAT SELL is your road map for bypassing the long, winding route that gets you nowhere and shows you the shortcuts for learning what publishers are really looking for. The author explains that more than 80% of nonfiction books are first sold as proposals. How can you capture an editor's interest? Where should you start?

The 21 secrets in this book will teach you what really goes on behind the closed doors of an editorial meeting. And they obviously work -- since Terry Whalin has published over 60 nonfiction books and also works as an acquisitions editor. His personal web of stories spun from a career in the publishing world make the book a dynamic read. And it's fun to learn about all the goofy stuff people do to try to get their foot in the door. (Yes, you get all the nitty-gritty details...Like the one about the writer who wanted to know if she could have a response over the weekend!)

What makes this book truly worth the money is that it's only a springboard into the topic of book publishing. It's filled with up-to-date websites that will further your education. Want to see a sample proposal that sold for six figures? It's in there. Want to see a list of agents, hear which conferences are the best, or learn about book marketing? Having this book will save you hours of surfing the web because you'll receive the author's list of the very best sites.

If you're planning a trip to a new place, you wouldn't dream of going without a map. And writing a book is a journey with the destination of getting your ideas into the minds of your readers. Whalin says, "With good writing skills and using the secrets in this book, you can beat the odds and get a contract." I'm sure the sequel will contain success stories from those who followed the author's advice!

--Reviewed by Heather Lynn Ivester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets from an Insider, December 12, 2005
By 
Jeanne Zornes (Wenatchee, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
Before you even think about writing a book, you need to read Terry's book. Finally, in helpful detail, we have an insider explaining what goes on in those mysterious caverns called publishing offices. Terry teaches you how to write a book that will pass the scrutiny of those guarding the publishing house gates and eventually reach the golden status of "published." He introduces his book with some insight into non-fiction trends in publishing, then launches into the twenty-one "secrets" that comprise a winning book proposal. From sharpening a book's topic and identifying an audience, to defining marketing plans and putting together a winning proposal package, he gives helpful, inspiring advice. His thorough treatment offers a comprehensive education in the business side of book writing that you'd never get from a conference or course. It's a paperback mentor you can't pass by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you need this book?, June 7, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
I'm a published book reviewer, freelance critiquer and editor. Because I read proposals and manuscripts for various houses, authors and agents, I have seen my share of proposals that aren't quite "there." I wish I could send this book to every wannabe author out there who isn't quite sure what they did wrong, or what they could do right to get through people like me.

With examples, anecdotes and real experience this book hands the keys to open doors for those who wonder what the mystery is all about. The appendices are worth the price of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Valuable Than I Anticipated!, September 9, 2006
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
I haven't been impressed with books on book proposals in the past. They've all seemed to come with cookie-cutter ideas, simple forms, and little depth. But Book Proposals That Sell has impressed my socks off!

Not only does Whalin share his expertise in the field of writing book proposals--he's written more than 60 himself--but he gives readers an insider's glance into the world of book publishing; which is quite valuable!

Knowing how to write a great book is only half the battle. If you don't impress the publishing houses with your proposal your book will sit on your computer or in your garage collecting dust. You'll never see a dime for your hard work and you'll probably give up writing altogether.

But thanks to Book Proposals That Sell you have the opportunity to not only learn how to write a great book proposal but to understand what publishers want, how they make their decisions, and what you can do to better your chances of getting a publishing contract. There's even a sample book proposal that sold for six figures!

If you're serious about making a living as a book author or you simply want to be a one-time wonder, you need a copy of Book Proposals That Sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Awful, March 6, 2011
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
Not a good resource AT ALL. I didn't learn anything from this book that I didn't already know from a few hours of researching on the internet. I bought this after seeing so many positive reviews and was incredibly disappointed. It is heavily biased towards Christian literature and all the examples given are about religious books. The "Sample Book Proposal that Sold for a 6 Figure Advance" is laughable as something you can use as an example to follow; it is for a book about a new Christian movement called Promise Keepers and it is written by a bishop. The movement is new so there are no competing books and it is by a bishop so of course Christian people are going to buy it! Unfortunately this type of situation isn't going to apply to the other 99.99% of people writing book proposals. This book also says that it comes with a CD to help you develop a marketing strategy for your book. However, I never got the CD and Amazon.com says that in fact there is no CD with this book. Great... It probably sucked anyway. And a lot of these 21 "secrets" are just inane. "Know the topic of your book". That is secret #1. Are you kidding me?! "Never Trust the Spellchecker" is secret #12. "Proposal Writing Takes lots of Work" is secret #18. Give me break. I paid for this?! My favorite secret is #10, "Get high profile endorsements". Yeah right. How am I supposed to do that? Maybe I could if I was a bishop..

Save your money. This thing is a piece of garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL Done!, December 23, 2007
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
Just finished reading BOOK PROPOSALS THAT SELL. This book is a MUST READ for anyone who feels called to write a book. You could have a great book already written, but if you don't know how to sell it to a publisher you've just wasted a lot of time and effort.

NOTE TO FIRST TIME WRITERS - this book is everything you didn't know you didn't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I see why it's not available as an eBook, March 15, 2014
By 
Jason Mark (Northampton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
This book was written in 2005. The publishing world has changed a LOT in that time, and it's very dated, as well as basic (as other reviewers have mentioned). I'm recycled it instead of sending it to Goodwill because I don't want anyone else to waste their time on it. Consider The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile by Noah Lukeman instead...
http://www.amazon.com/First-Five-Pages-WriterS-Rejection-ebook/dp/B003XMWSSY/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1394900021&sr=1-1&keywords=The+First+Five+Pages%3A+A+Writer%27S+Guide+To+Staying+Out+of+the+Rejection+P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for Fiction Writers, November 3, 2007
By 
W. A. Strong (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
All considering this book should be aware that it is only for non fiction books. Something not made clear in the advertising, but is revealed by the author in the first page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Proposals Made Easy!, January 16, 2010
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
I used this guide to prepare my first book proposal. Eight months later I had an agent and a publisher and I just published my first book - thank you! Taking Charge of Your Own Health: Navigating Your Way Through *Diagnosis *Treatment *Insurance *And More
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Proposals That Sell: 21 Secrets to Speed Your Success, October 15, 2008
By 
Stephanie Johnson (Colorado Springs, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book Proposals That Sell (Paperback)
This little book could've saved me 15 years of educating myself through workshops, classes, conferences, and writers groups. If you are just getting started in the publishing process, this book is a must-have. Knowing the background life of an editor helps writers understand that we are not the "center of their universe." (You'd be surprised how many writers believe that!) Terry includes many resources, Web sites, and crucial appendices that are necessary in writing a SUCCESSFUL proposal. He provides great anecdotes that keep the flow going, so that it's not so "dry" as to be unentertaining. The checklists will save hours of time in crafting your proposal. I highly recommend this book, and I carry it with me in my laptop bag wherever I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Book Proposals That Sell
Book Proposals That Sell by Terry Whalin (Paperback - April 25, 2005)
$14.00 $10.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.