Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jedi News Book Review - Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side
*** WARNING - CONTAINS SPOILERS ***

The Sith have been getting a lot of love of late, what with the introduction of Darth Malgus in Star Wars: The Old Republic as well as the recent novel about Darth Plagueis, and this has continued with the release of The Phantom Menace on 10th February, and on the same day, Book of Sith, which as the title suggests, is a...
Published on February 10, 2012 by Darth McAdam

versus
121 of 135 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap box
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:59 Mins
So, I recorded a video to demonstrate how my case is acting up weird like everybody else's
Take a look.
Published on March 6, 2012 by André Coelho


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 135 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap box, March 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:59 Mins

So, I recorded a video to demonstrate how my case is acting up weird like everybody else's
Take a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jedi News Book Review - Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side, February 10, 2012
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
*** WARNING - CONTAINS SPOILERS ***

The Sith have been getting a lot of love of late, what with the introduction of Darth Malgus in Star Wars: The Old Republic as well as the recent novel about Darth Plagueis, and this has continued with the release of The Phantom Menace on 10th February, and on the same day, Book of Sith, which as the title suggests, is a book, of Sith...

The book itself comes enclosed in a holocron that also contains a Sith Crystal and Talisman concealed within the tray that also holds the book. Pressing a button on the top of the holocron opens it, with a section of the front lifting-up to allow the tray inside to slide out and reveal the book, all of which is accompanied by a rather piercing wall of noise (sounding at times like force lightning, at others a lightsaber closing down) and flashing red lights. I may be easily entertained, but personally I think it's a pretty awesome feature.

The books is broken down into six texts, which, as Darth Sidious details in the preface, were recovered during his gathering of ancient Sith artifacts, and comprises Sorzus Syn's chronicle of the rise of the Sith Empire, a war journal by Darth Malgus, The Rule of Two by Darth Bane, Wild Power by Mother Talzin, a scientific journal by Darth Plagueis, and Absolute Power by Darth Sidious. A note from Luke Skywalker(!), explains that each of these sections has its own page design and trim, to distinguish the six individual texts.

In the preface of the book, Darth Sidious explains how he has seen the Grand Plan of the Sith come to fruition, as well as his purpose in compiling the texts included in the book, with one, somewhat ironically, being recovered from the Jedi Temple. Sidious goes on to briefly describe each of the texts within the Book of Sith, and how they came to be in his possession, whilst also hinting at a multi-volume Dark Side Compendium (can't wait!). Throughout the book are comments from Yoda, Luke Skywalker, Mace Windu and Quinlan Vos from the ranks of the Jedi, as well as annotations from Darth's Sidious and Vader, and Asajj Ventress.

The text written by Dark Jedi, Sorzus Syn, begins with Exile and Arrival, following her expulsion from the Republic, and covers such topics as Sith weapons, amulets & holocrons and also their conquests, alchelmy & incantations, concluding with The Sith Code and The Prophecy of the Sith'ari. The pages themselves have an almost serrated-edge and are written in a script that exemplifies the text's age, and also included within the section is a burial shroud

Printed on what looks like graph paper, Darth Malgus's journal begins mid-sentence, with an annotation from Luke stating that the section was all that survived of a longer document. Close to a year of his Rim Campaign is covered, during which Malgus discusses both victories and failures against the Republic as well as infighting with other Sith Lords, and the section ends with his search for a weapon built by Exar Kun, with an amusing remark from Darth Vader that has echoes of Indiana Jones' comment about the Nazis and their search for the ark. Malgus also makes reference to the Sith enslaving non-humans, something that was seen again in Palpatine's era, whilst also touching upon a seemingly forbidden love with a Twi'lek by the name of Eleena, and this section comes with a battle map from the Great Galactic War.

The Rule of Two, written by Darth Bane, will likely be familiar to most readers, particularly since it is referred to in Yoda's remark to Mace Windu in The Phantom Menace that "Always two there are, no more, no less. A master and an apprentice.", but it was not always the case. Bane explains why this philosophy must be adopted by the Sith in order to survive, by highlighting past mistakes in the Sith Empire, namely the destruction of the Brotherhood of Darkness and the Jedi Army of Light on Ruusan with the triggering of the thought bomb. He elaborates on the rule when discussing "The Title of Darth", "Striking from the Shadows", "Selecting an Apprentice" and "The Revenge of the Sith" in which he describes how one day the Sith will reveal themselves to the Jedi; sound familiar? Bane's statement that the Force is venom leads him to discuss personal, lightsaber and dark side combat, lightsaber construction and Sith variants of the weapon among other things.

Whilst not strictly a Sith, Mother Talzin writes about the Nightsisters of Dathomir in Wild Power. Not distinguishing light from dark, the Force is referred to merely as the spirits, and in her text, Talzin covers an array of topics, including "The Writings of the Nightsisters", "The Living Force and the Dark Side", "The History of Dathomir", "The History of the Nightsisters", "The Winged Goddess", "The Fanged God", "Talismans and Totems", "Beasts of Dathomir", "Nature's Vigor", "Training a Warrior", "Instruction and Transformation" and "Competing Dark Side Traditions". As might be expected, Asajj Ventress contributes a number of annotations to this text, and in "Training a Warrior", the Tests of Fury, Night and Elevation, witnessed in the Savage Opress arc of season three of The Clone Wars, are briefly documented.

The tragedy of Darth Plagueis was recently revealed in the novel named after the Muun Sith Lord, and Darth Sidious' master was described as being obsessed with manipulating midi-chorians for the purpose of creating life and preventing death. In his text, he devotes pages to "The Science of Creating Life", "Influencing Midi-Chlorians", "Perpetual Life", "Concentrating the Force", "The Philosophy of Life", "New Explorations in the Force", "Transcending Death", "The Netherworld and Chaos", "Sith Spirits" and "The Prophecy of the Chosen One" (in which he makes mention of the legend of Mortis, a planet that will no doubt be familiar to viewers of The Clone Wars), ending the text with the Sith's own prophecy, "The Culmination of the Sith'ari".

Darth Sidious' text, "Absolute Power" concludes Book of Sith and it is presented as three books: "The Weakness of Inferiors", "The Book of Anger" and "The Manipulation of Life". Whilst much of his master plan was covered in the Darth Plageis novel, Sidious does expand on how he brought about the Clone Wars as part of his master plan, referring to "The False War", "The Useful Bureaucrats" and "Hiding in Plain Sight". The artifacts accompanying this section consist of a diagram of Palpatine/Sidious' master plan and also a propaganda poster for the Galactic Empire.

All of this merely scratches the surface, and Book of Sith is enhanced greatly by original illustrations by acclaimed artists Paul Allan Ballard, Jeff Carlisle, Chris Reiff, Chris Trevas, Russell Walks, Terryl Whitlach and Aristia/Hive Studios.

Review originally posted on JediNews.ca [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!! No Sith Lord should be with out it!, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
Just received my copy today, it's everything described and more! The Holocron packaging is beyond words, way cooler than than the first packaging for the jedi book, The book itself is even designed better, why does evil get better stuff? This was so worth the price of $59.99. I can't wait to start reading the secrets of the dark side. Great work on a great follow up to your first book!! Job well done!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the book but problems with door opening., February 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
Just got this other day. Got it out of box, pulled battery strip and pressed the button on door. Opened up and made all the noises and lights and was just pure awesome.
Read like half the book already, put the book back into the box and did not want to close. It made this like grinding sound and door did not want to shut. I pressed button again and had to kinda help force it down, hasn't done that since, but it shouldn't do that at all. I give the book a 5/5. I give the box a 3/5. just could have done a lot better job on door mechanism and such. The book of Jedi had a way better case, this is a fail. sorry to say that but its true, not worth 60 bucks at all. maybe 30 at that. The book of sith is way better then path of jedi though, hope this helps, thanks for your time, may the force be with you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag.., March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
A review of this item really needs to be taken from two perspectives: first regarding the book and second regarding the vault.

The book is nicely done. It's well bound with an embossed, leather-like cover. Each different journal section is composed of unique page types, helping to sell the idea that its a compilation from multiple sources spanning many years. It's well written and provides some nice insights into the Sith and their history, practices, powers and plans. If I was reviewing the book alone I'd probably give it 4-5 stars...in fact, if you can buy the book alone I'd seriously recommend doing so because that leads us to the second part of this review...

The Sith Vault Holocron case looks uber cool...at first. It's really a piece of junk. The quality of plastic used for both the holocron and the misc. added items is about the cheapest that can be found. Casting marks are evident in the plastic that really hurt the overall appearance. When you press the gold triangle to start the action, the appearance only gets worse. Not only is the animation mechanism poorly designed but it's also made of far too flimsy low density plastic. The gears click-click-click and then finally engage. I bought this as a birthday gift and the vault didn't even survive the day. Within half a dozen uses it was hanging up or failing to open and close properly. The vault itself is only part of it, the removable items are cheap too. The "bonus" items are nothing more than thin, fraying fabric, simple printed paper and low grade plastic. When you consider the cheapness of the vault, it might be be worth perhaps half of the current price, but the poor design further undermines that plausibility. It's inexcusable to market this item as "working" when it clearly does not or will not for long. Everyone who bought this item at the $60 pricepoint deserves at least half their money back...and as I said above, if you can buy the book alone, go for it!

From my standpoint, this will be the last "Lucas Books" item I'll buy. If it hadn't been a gift I would without a doubt be returning it. As it is, its a lesson learned. I can always use a few more lessons in life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed but I like the book. . ., February 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
Got this item yesterday and was really excited about it. I opened it up and sat it on the table where I just stared at it for a few minutes. Then, with great anticipation, I pushed the button and the lights came on, the hatch opened the book slid out and it was as great!! Loved it. Then I pushed the button again. The book retracted and the door shut just as it should. But the closing action was horribly loud and it sounded as if the gears were grinding terribly. Is this common? Did anyone else have this problem? Later on that night, I went back and pushed the button again to open it. This time, the door DIDN'T open and the book was trying to slide out. I had to force the door open, hoping not to break it. Fortunately, it seemed to work okay after that mishap. But it was still disappointing, considering the money spent. It seems like a simple enough device, why doesn't it work properly or in a quieter fashion? IMO, the Jedi Path vault edition is way better than this in terms of functionality. But Book of Sith looks cooler! I look forward to reading the book anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best collectors books set ever, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
This is the absolute best collectors book set i have ever seen. the case the book comes in lights up and you can hear light sabers and darth sidious's evil cackle in the back ground. the book it self is beutifully done. its writen from the perspective of darth sidious and has notes in there from luke skywalker. its put together to form a collection of journels and even this has attention to detail.. the pages are not uniform like a book they look tatered kinda but only cosmetically just to add effect... you can tell alot of love went into this project. get them now because you never know if it will be discontinued at some point.. no sith or star wars fan should be with out this set...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowledge is Power, Absolute Power is pretty Nifty, July 4, 2012
By 
Russell Tuss (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
Pros: Great Book, lots of material, an excellent read and source of 'Lore' and 'Backstory' for the Star Wars fans out there
Cons: I'm putting the Sith tapestry in a ziplock bag, museum-style, such an ancient thing must be preserved. :)

I've a Sith Relic sitting on my coffee table. It gets attention! I'm not going to rush the mechanism, I read people's reviews of it after it got forced. Not going to happen. However I did out of curiosity peek at the mechanism, the gadget-fixer in me can put it all back together in the unlikely event of ... I dunno, someone's kid knocking it off the table.

I ordered both this and the Jedi Path Vault edition at the same time.

The Sith arrived a week in advance of the Jedi. I find this humorous and ironic. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Join the dark side and receive its benefits, September 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
The book is awesome!!! the holocrom is epic, too much epic XD
its way better than jedi "scum" vault edition. Long live the dark side!!! o/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, July 5, 2012
This review is from: Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband's birthday and he loved it! He's a huge Star Wars geek. Of course when the case opens and closes you can hear the gears working but it's a pretty inexpensive item so you get what you pay for. It was totally worth every penny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition]
Book of Sith: Secrets from the Dark Side [Vault Edition] by Daniel Wallace (Hardcover - February 10, 2012)
$99.99 $44.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.