Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic chemical handbook
Nicely written general chemistry book with many interesting details. Good ideas include self-assesment tests, example problems with solutions, critical thinking excercies after each chapter, summaries and collaborative group projects. Has some flaws however, and the major one is the fact that four last chapters are online only, and require a registration to access. Paying...
Published on September 21, 2010 by Jellycrusher

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be missing content
This book has great illustrations and appears to be very complete at first glance, but as you go through the book you will find many places where concepts are introduced but not really explained. This wouldn't be too much of an issue if this book were actually intended for liberal arts students, but it starts to get annoying when the book follows up the poor introduction...
Published on September 16, 2010 by Shaun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic chemical handbook, September 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nicely written general chemistry book with many interesting details. Good ideas include self-assesment tests, example problems with solutions, critical thinking excercies after each chapter, summaries and collaborative group projects. Has some flaws however, and the major one is the fact that four last chapters are online only, and require a registration to access. Paying such a sum for a book, I would prefer to get it to hand in whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be missing content, September 16, 2010
By 
Shaun (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has great illustrations and appears to be very complete at first glance, but as you go through the book you will find many places where concepts are introduced but not really explained. This wouldn't be too much of an issue if this book were actually intended for liberal arts students, but it starts to get annoying when the book follows up the poor introduction of a concept with "self assessment" questions on things that were completely glossed over. To make matters worse, some teachers copy questions from the book.

I have found Khan Academy to be a fantastic supplement to this book, as the videos at Khan Academy follow the same sequence as this book and do a great job of filling in the blanks that the authors of this book seem to have left.

This isn't the worst chemistry book I've read, but it is far from the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking lots of content, February 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As someone who has taken several chemistry courses in the past and has a great foundation of chemistry concepts, I find this book to be a terrible choice for chemistry 'beginners'. I am taking a course strictly for credits and luckily, I am able to supplement the lack of conceptual information in this book with my previous knowledge on the subject. However, I feel sorry for those in my class who have no chemistry experience...they are totally confused with this text! The text skims over concepts, without truly delving into the hows and whys. Students feel the need to simply memorize instead of learning by assimilating and building on concepts. The assessment questions throughout the chapter may help to further explain information presented, but often touch on information not clearly covered by the text at all. Also, some answers to review questions are incorrect, causing even more confusion than just the text itself! I wish I had my old chemistry book back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chemistry for Changing Times (12th Edition), January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book for chemistry class.. For a person who never did well/ in chemistry it made the subject interesting and the class goal attainable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Once I pressed the button to confirm this order I felt like it was immediately in my hands! The book was in excellent condition. Very satisfied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chem Book, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was in really good shape, was the right book that I needed and was the first for the four or five I ordered. Also it was really cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book., December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good book for intro to Chemistry but the material is terribly explained. Everyone in my class was complaining about how bad this book is and it is just plain confusing. Not all the chapters were confusing but the majority were easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY graphics but very POOR mathematical presentation, May 11, 2010
By 
Rabbitlan (So. California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
PLEASE NOTE!!!! - This review is offered to "Instructors" for Consideration.

Know your Course Objectives and desired Course Content before considering using this text.

PROS -
The text is "exceptionally well constructed" for graphic presentation and non-technical reading. Lots of pictures, trivia and graphics with some useful reference information in the back. It would give a well constructed non-mathematical introduction to Chemistry for a non-technical major.

CONS -
This is not a quality "theory" text in any stretch of the imagination. It is a pure liberal arts type text that lacks severely in mathematics and theory elaboration. This text is "atrocious" with regards to detailed training of any mathematical principles. Don't even attempt to use it for such. It provides very limited explanations, very limited and poor examples and can confuse even a math savy student. Most all of the mathematical questions match poorly to the few (if any) examples. Students will become very frustrated with the text if they are forced to mull through the test questions and quizzes. Don't punish your students or yourself by expecting them to learn virtually any complex methodologies or mathematical techniques from this book! If you want the students to learn chemical math and get a defined set of quality theory....keep looking.

Recommendations -
If a revision to this text is performed, it would be well advised to almost completely rework the mathematical problems section, get rid of many of the quizzes and replace them with a greater number of and better related example problems and elaboration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good textbook....bad price, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This textbook has some really good information and even better images and charts. The only problem with this textbook is the price. It's a softcover book and it was over $100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, September 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thanks for this awesome book that i will never ever open it and i just bought it because the profesor told me you must buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Books a la Carte for Chemistry for Changing Times (12th Edition)
Books a la Carte for Chemistry for Changing Times (12th Edition) by Terry W. McCreary (Loose Leaf - December 25, 2009)
Used & New from: $42.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.