Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


169 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one will be a must have sleeper hit...
Boom Blox is the perfect example of what a good Wii game should be. It is innovative, intuitive, and most of all, fun. Gamers and non-gamers alike will be able to pick this game up and start playing within seconds.

First off, I'll get the bad news out of the way. Graphically this game isn't going to wow anyone. The graphics are adequate and never go beyond...
Published on May 7, 2008 by Halicon5

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An alright game.
Overall, the game was alright, but certainly had several flaws.

Graphics: Graphically, the game is cute. In general, the graphics are good, cutsie, and intended to be on lines with the wii mii's as far as being smoothmapped and cartoony. For what the game is, you get what you need out of the graphics.

Gameplay: For those who are not aware of exactly...
Published on January 4, 2009 by Elder Whizzer VI: Legendary Ed...


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

169 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one will be a must have sleeper hit..., May 7, 2008
By 
Halicon5 (Casper, Wyoming United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Boom Blox is the perfect example of what a good Wii game should be. It is innovative, intuitive, and most of all, fun. Gamers and non-gamers alike will be able to pick this game up and start playing within seconds.

First off, I'll get the bad news out of the way. Graphically this game isn't going to wow anyone. The graphics are adequate and never go beyond that. The sound and music is instantly forgettable. The characters are saccharine cute, uninspired and half of them make weird grunting noises like a puppy with a bad case of painful gas. Hardcore gamers will likely dismiss this game as a throw-away cutsie/kiddie title. I wouldn't blame them, but that would be their loss. On a side note, if you're a fan of Happy Tree Friends, the characters bear a striking resemblance... except they are block-shaped.

The good news is that just about everything else in this game is very well designed and fun. To truly grasp how the gameplay works you have to see it in action, but I'll try to describe it as best I can. The premise of this physics-based puzzle game is that each level will have a challenge, such as destroy every gem block or carefully unstack a pile of rectangular blocks much like you would as if you were playing Jenga. Some levels will have you throwing tennis balls, bombs, or bowling balls at to interact with the level while others may have you spraying fire hoses and blasting things with lasers. Some levels encourage you to operate with delicate precision and others encourage reckless, destructive behavior. Overall, the game has a good balance. The gameplay is varied and the use of the Wii controls is very impressive (with one minor exception being the light-gun style mini-games which are very rare). This game really could have been terrible. Too many developers would have slapped some half-baked control scheme onto this game and called it good, but this is one of those rare games where the developer obviously put a lot of thought into the control.

I haven't played multi-player very much, but what I've played is very fun and enjoyable. Single player is addictive, so much so that I was late to a dinner meeting because my friends kept urging me to check out the next level. Most of the levels are clever and leave the player with a great sense of accomplishment when completed. After every five or six levels a new feature or function is opened up, which keeps the gameplay from getting stale. From what I can tell there are hundreds of levels built into the game PLUS the game includes a full featured level editor allows you to modify existing levels and create your own in addition to being able to share your creations with others on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, May 8, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I know the first thing that almost prevented me from buying this game was the $[...] price tag. Now let me just say that the game is worth every penny whether you're a casual or hardcore gamer. I myself am a hardcore gamer and usually pass over casual games like Boom Blox, but it's incredibly addicting.

The basic idea of the game is you throw, grab, or whip around balls, blocks, or whatever to accomplish whatever goal is given to you, either it be pull out the blocks without splattering the cow on the ground or destroy everything as quickly as possible. You do this with the Wii remote (nunchuck isn't required for most of the game but helps with precise camera movement) by pressing A and throwing or grabbing. Every movement with the remote is picked up very precisely and feels like you're in total control. Combine this with the Havok physics engine (the most recent physics engine released) and the game is incredibly accurate and realistic.

The graphics themselves aren't top notch, but they're aren't horrible either. The only frame rate drops are when you're creating your own levels and you place too many objects on the screen where the physics engine can't handle every item because of the Wii's horsepower.

The best part of the game is located in the multiplayer component. Basically it's a combination or everything in the single player mode along with a Jenga-like mode which is the best use of the WiiMote yet. Every movement is picked up perfectly and you can't help but taunt your fellow players to accidentally jerk their hand and topple whatever they're doing.

Not enough levels for you? Create infinite numbers of levels with the editor. I cannot delve too deep into this since I've just begun messing around with the mode, but this is definitely where a bulk of the fun is. combine it with the fact that you can send your levels to Wii friends via WiiConnect24 and you're all set.

Overall, unless you have friends to play the game with, the single player levels may grow dry unless you enjoy building your own, but that shortcoming cannot stop me from giving this game 5 stars just because of the amount of material within the game. A+ in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Wii Game Yet, May 15, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
No, the title isn't hyperbole. I do honestly believe this is the best Wii title I've purchased. Granted, I do not own No More Heroes, Metroid Prime 3, or Zelda: Twilight Princess - but I do have all the rest of the so-called "best" Wii games (Super Mario Galaxy, Zack and Wiki, Mario Kart Wii, Super Smash Brothers Brawl, Okami, etc.). Those other games aren't bad, not by a long shot - I've loved them all - they just don't have the downright pure fun factor that Boom Blox does.

Boom Blox is astounding in its simplistic design yet addictive nature. This is a game all ages can enjoy. It has decent colorful graphics, nice relaxing music, and tons of puzzles to solve. While some puzzles aren't as fun or enjoyable as others - it is still never a chore to finish any portion of this game. I have yet to even try the multiplayer or create-a-puzzle modes, but after having just played most of the single player I doubt my opinion of this game could get any higher.

Is it a technical marvel? No. Is it high action super polished AAA? No. Is it the most fun I've had playing the Wii? YES.

This game has made me believe my Wii purchase was not in vain and that there can be good inventive games that will tear me from my Xbox 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining for single or multiplayer, May 18, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I got this game because I was looking for one that would be equally fun when playing alone or with guests. This game has fit the bill and then some.

I will admit when I originally picked up this game I was skeptical of how fun it would be. Described as a 'puzzle/action game' it looked a bit basic in terms of skill level and complexity. I also worried that it would be something more enteraining for families with young children than twentysomethings. Happily this game proved me wrong and not only have my boyfriend and I gone through almost all the game play available, his mother also loved it so much she got her own copy.

There are many positives about the game. The first is that it is addictively fun. We have played it with many different crowds and have yet to find someone who doesn't enjoy the game. Most are skeptical at first, but then addicted. It is an especially good game for newbies to the Wii because the game play is very easy to master and intuitive. Because of this less time is spent mastering the remote and more on enjoying the game. It also takes full advantage of the movement and possibilities of the Wii remote so it feels very different than playing a game on another system.

I also appreciated the variety of activities between a single game. Even though they are all different adapations of Jenga like games they are different enough to keep me entertained for hours. Each game felt different enough that even when I had made it through most of the levels the subsequent ones never felt repetitive or boring. There is even an in-game editor so you can build levels on your own, leading to seemingly endless gameplay.

Even though I can usually find some flaw with every video game I've purchased this was not the case with this game. If anything, I'm wishing it came with more levels so I could play longer.

Overall this is a great game that I would recommend whether you are into single or multiplayer gameplay. It is a particularly good game if you are new to the Wii system and want something you can master and enjoy quickly. It is easily up there with Mario Kart Wii with Wii Wheel and Super Mario Galaxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boom Blox is a fun game for EVERYONE!, May 24, 2008
By 
Marc Miller (Lehigh Valley, Pa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Steven Spielberg said he made this game so that he would have a video game that he could play with his kids. This game is a game that a hardcore gamer, a mom, dad, uncle, cousin, etc etc can pick up and have a lot of fun with. There is a great single player mode where you must figure out how to solve puzzels by throwing things at blocks or picking blocks out of a pile. It gets to be very challenging. The multi player is probably one of the top 3 most fun Wii games to play multiplayer. If you have even the SLIGHTEST interest in this game I high reccommend you buy it. Everyone I know who has played it has loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome, May 6, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Imagine your older brother just finished building the masterpiece of a lifetime out of blocks. Then, you sneak up from behind and bash it all down. It's that safe sort of fun which could make people think this game is a kids-only game. But, it's far from that. You can play this game with a single hand, allowing you to hold a beverage, or the crying child that wants to play in the other.

It's a huge game, with almost 400 levels, plus the ability to create new ones. It is the best game out there for the Wii, it doesn't have the frustration that Mario Kart and Smash Bros has. You'll feel great playing the game and it doesn't get old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An alright game., January 4, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Overall, the game was alright, but certainly had several flaws.

Graphics: Graphically, the game is cute. In general, the graphics are good, cutsie, and intended to be on lines with the wii mii's as far as being smoothmapped and cartoony. For what the game is, you get what you need out of the graphics.

Gameplay: For those who are not aware of exactly what boomblox is, Boomblox is simply an assortment of minigames on lines with Rayman: RR (replacing grossness and strangeness with cuteness). Each minigame is build on blocks, which take on a variety of shapes and sizes. The games are sorted in easy to follow menus. The variety of the games follow a few "trends". Either you toss bombs at structures or people to blow them up, toss tennis balls or the slightly larger bowling balls to knock down structures, or pull blox out of the structure. Some games are time based, others are point based, others are based on using the least amount of turns to knock down everything. The games are fun, and range from Jenga Like games, to protect the castle type games, to a blox shooter. There are essential 4 different types of themed backgrounds, such as jungle and med evil castle. The games are fun and can be addicting, especially if you are determined to get a gold in each game. When you start, nothing is available and everything must be unlocked, a bronze is the minimum required to do as such. Many of the games are really just puzzles, where you try to figure out the weak spot(s) that enable you to knock down everything or pull out everything in the given time. Most of the games are really simple to do, and anyone teen level and higher will figure out most of the puzzles instantly. Occasionally, you will find one that you just can't figure it out. Other times, your success has to do with more dumb luck (as to where the explosion goes) than actual skill.

Story: The game does actually have a story. In adventure mode, you face 4 of these stories, they consist of a small cartoon scene from beginning to end that roughly explain why your doing what you are doing with the blocks. It is weak in story, and really just done for a laugh.

Multiplayer: It consists of a pretty good multiplayer. People can verse each other for the best score, or work together to get the best metal. It is one of the main reasons to get this game in my opinion, as it has several games that can be played easily as a group.

Overall: The game is a fun game, potentially addictive, and best played with a group or party. It is fun for kids. The reason it scores a 3 instead of a 5, is that it really just doesn't have much to it. The story mode is lacking, and is just loosely done as a joke more than for a reason. The games are limited, and most of them are similar, not really offering much in the ways of variety. The single player has absolutely no re playability, once you solve the puzzle, there is little point in replaying. The one exception is the save the castle modes, where you try to protect your jewels from oncoming attackers. But most of them are so easy you will get a gold on the first try. Multiplayer has a little more re playability, but since levels don't change, once you complete one, there is very little point in returning to it. This game has tons of unlockables, since just about everything needs to be unlocked on every level, including a large amount of the pieces you can put in the 'build it your own' mode. However, it is a simple and easy game, and once your done playing and beating all the levels(maybe a 10 hour endeavor assuming you don't get stuck for 2 hours on a specific level)there is nothing else to the game to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And overgrown shockwave game, May 12, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I'll start off by saying that I've only played this game on single player.

For some reason, this game reminds me a lot of various (better quality) Shockwave block based games games out there that you can play on the Internet. The graphics are only marginally better. It's extremely easy to learn. And it keeps you entertained despite the sub-par graphics.

That said, it's a Shockwave game on some major steroids. You can rotate around quite easily. The controls are obviously much more interactive.

One of the things I love most about this game is it's auto-save feature. After each level, it takes a fraction of a second and saves your progress. Unlike so many other games, you do not have to spend 25 minutes before you get to a point where you can save your progress. This means that you always have the option of putting the game down at any time without losing progress. That said, the challenges will keep you from wanting to put the game down. Last night for instance before heading to bed I wanted to play a video game, but did not want to devote a lot of time. So I played two levels, felt sleepy, and quit then.

The game saves memory by not having great graphics. It makes up for it though by instead having tons of content. There are tons and tons of levels, and I'm looking forward to trying out ones that other people have made. You unlock the next level by beating a level. You unlock more advanced levels by beating levels well. You also unlock things to use in create mode by beating levels well. You will be drawn in by a desire to not just beat a level, but to do so in fewer throws.

One thing I would like to address are the controls. First of all, you'll start wishing that the Wii controller was a bit more ergonomic. Your hand may ache after extended play from having to so finely control the motion of the controller (which does allow greater interaction though).

Another issue, which is the games largest annoyance for me is the limited area in which the cursor works. You have a cursor that you position, and then click a button to lock into place (and then use a throwing motion to fire at that place). There's only a fairly small area of movement for the Wii controller where the cursor will be on screen. I really wish that there were more options for you to define this area for yourself. To get an understanding of this annoyance, go to the Wii menu and move the cursor around. Now make a throwing motion with the controller. Now reposition the cursor, and repeat this a few dozen times.

My final issue with the game is that although you can (usually) rotate around the puzzle, you are limited to only rotating. You can't move around so that the center of the puzzle is not directly in the middle of the screen. You can not zoom in or out. Yet you can move around and zoom in and out in the create mode. It puzzles me and annoys me why this is not possible in the actual game.

New games are not cheap, and I was a bit wary of getting a game that I knew only had mediocre graphics. I was intrigued enough however by the innovative controls and use of the Wii to get the game. The game was worth the money. Despite it's shortcomings, it's a fun, challenging game that's simple to learn, and you can put in as much, or more importantly as little time into as you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boom Blox: The Simple Choice, May 9, 2008
By 
John D. Torres (Keego Harbor, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I'll keep it simple. Much like this game. If you are looking for a game that is fun and easy to pick while still maintaining that in-depth, mind mashing, just-one-more-game-feeling, this is that game. Think of it this way: Single player mode lures you into the game by starting you off with simple puzzles. Puzzles that many people will not only find easy to do, but rewarding to see solved as pieces go flying about in a spectacular true physical display of awesomeness. You'll feel good about your success. You'll love the little gold medal. And you'll want to play more. And that's where it gets you. The challenges increase. The puzzles get harder and soon you'll find yourself judging each puzzle with a strict eye, analyzing each structure for the weakest point or the perfect spot where the nice gentle lob of a bowling ball with bring the whole structure down with an elegant explosion. You will want that gold medal--and trust me, this game in later levels will make you work for it.

That aside--the shear number of levels for single player is astounding. You'll be at this for a while. And the best part is--you won't mind. You'll find yourself every day going back to this game just to finish off more and more of this monster. Honing your skills. Perfecting your shots. Like an addict of crossword puzzles, you'll desire the gratification of "beating" the puzzle. It's fantastic feeling.

As for multi-player. Well, get ready to gather with some friends. Play against each other. Strike with strategy in mind. Or play together. Your choice. But the number of options in this mode will lend itself to hours upon hours of unpredictable play. And that my friends is one of the main reasons to own a Wii. Nothing says Wii like friends gathered around vying for ultimate victory at the expense of their peers. Every move by your opponents, even those made by you, can lead to ultimate victory or you giving the game away to the lucky mug who will take advantage of you smashing the structure "just enough" to let him/her bring it down with a gentle toss.

So here is the bottom line. Buy it. Play it. Thank me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best party games for the Wii, March 31, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Boom Blox was nowhere near my radar when I bought my Wii last year. I'm a reader of Penny Arcade, and while I don't often use their recommendations to pick up games, the glowing review and concept of a physics-based game where you just threw stuff at blocks was enough to get me to put it in my GameFly queue. Broke it out at a party with friends, and I couldn't click the Keep It button fast enough.

When I try to explain Boom Blox to people, it just doesn't go well. You can't really explain how fun it is to topple half of a friend's castle with one throw, get thousands of points by blasting targets that can become tiny dots even on a 50" TV, or getting just the right angle to send a block into the 10x multiplier. I always end up saying, "You just have to play it." It's a tribute to the game that I've had at least three people who had never played it before say they were going to immediately order a copy.

You actually don't just throw things: there are also grabber tools and a myriad of special blocks and tools you use to accomplish tasks from simply knocking point blocks to the ground to deconstructing elaborate structures by grabbing blocks one at a time without letting baby cows fall to the ground. Trust me, it makes sense once you play. There are several types of play, so you won't get bored with just one.

Single-player can get repetitive unless you're a compulsive who just has to finish everything (like me). Multiplayer is what makes the game really come alive: both the gamesmanship (and even anger) that comes out during competitive play and one of the most basely satisfying co-op experiences out there. The higher levels are genuinely challenging without being terribly frustrating. The three-tier scoring helps out a lot: gold is for people who just have to have all gold and silver and bronze are for those who just want to play through the game for fun.

The single player is the only reason the overall game gets four stars; I couldn't, in good conscience, give the "fun factor" of the game anything less than a five.

Pros:
- Fantastic party game
- Controls are easy to pick up
- Variable levels of achievement allow even casual gamers to advance

Cons:
- Single player can get repetitive
- Competitive multiplayer could be larger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii
Boom Blox - Nintendo Wii by Electronic Arts (Nintendo Wii)
$43.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.