Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST movie ever made!
Yes you read right, this is the best movie ever (at least to me)! Boomerang is about a player Marcus Gram(Eddie Murphy) who finally meets his match when he falls for a lovely woman named Jaqueline Broyer(Robin Givens). Everything that he did to women in the past all comes back to him, hence the title Boomerang(get it?). The supporting cast is as good as they come, they...
Published on April 14, 2002 by Curtis Wingfield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nice lazy evening watch
It was funny. I particularly liked the moment around Murphy's friends family, especially the scene involving the bathroom. Enjoy it.
Published 15 months ago by amazon2


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST movie ever made!, April 14, 2002
By 
Curtis Wingfield (Sunnyvale/Cupertino CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boomerang [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Yes you read right, this is the best movie ever (at least to me)! Boomerang is about a player Marcus Gram(Eddie Murphy) who finally meets his match when he falls for a lovely woman named Jaqueline Broyer(Robin Givens). Everything that he did to women in the past all comes back to him, hence the title Boomerang(get it?). The supporting cast is as good as they come, they gel very good together, which include:Halley Barry, David Allan Grier, Martin Lawrence,Chris Rock,Ertha Kitt,etc(theres alot!). You'll see what I mean when you watch certain scenes like when Marcus and his friends are at dinner talking about women or working out talking about girls, its funny because it just seems like your there listening to friends really talking about that stuff. Theres also the dinner scene which is really good and funny! Mix that with a still to this day awesome soundtrack and yes you read right its the best movie ever made! Don't believe me, then go rent the video, but make sure to come back and buy it and dont say I didnt tell you so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Could Anyone Say ANYTHING Bad About This Movie, July 18, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
This movie is one of those wonderful rentals, that may not have made a big splash at the box office, but is never in the video store. It is one of the funniest comedies around as it explores relationships in all angles. It also is a black comedy that celebrates African Americans who are successful, hard working, powerdriven, well educated, from complete families and community involved. Not too many movies do that nowadays. Boomerang is great and I can not wait for the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, Funny Flick., February 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
Eddie Murphy stars in this romantic comedy as a "player" who often brags to his two best buddies (played by David Alan Grier and Martin Lawrence) about his conquests. However, he meets his match when he falls for a workplace beauty (played by Robin Givens), who pretty much treats him the exact same way he treats his conquests. The strange thing about this film is that, in the beginning, when we see Murphy using all of these women, we start to think, "this guy is a no-good dog, and deserves to get a taste of his own medicine." However, when he finally *does* get a taste of his own medicine, we start to feel a little sad for him.

In this flick, you can also find such appearances from Grace Jones, John Witherspoon and Halle Berry, who plays the platonic friend of Murphy's character when he is down-in-the-dumps. This is a hilarious film, which should provide many with large doses of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie Murphy at His Best, August 9, 2002
By 
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
I'm so glad they finally decided to release a DVD version of Boomerang. I have the VHS version but I am sure to buy the DVD. Boomerang is one of my favorite movies of all time. It's a great love story and a wonderful depiction of how a dog gets dogged. Eddie plays the dog and Robin Givens plays the dogette. If you can get over the fact that she was once married to Mike Tyson you will see a wonderful portrayal of her character. Halle Berry makes a not so glamarous showing but is quite stunning to say the least. It's the first time you see Halle's personality and not just her looks. She not just a made up face but has substance. The cast is great and soundtrack is off-da-hook. This is by far some of Eddie's best work. He is funny, charming, and looks mighty fine in this movie. Be sure to buy the DVD when it is released. You will be pleasantly surprised. It's one for every African American Movie Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lessons In Life, March 8, 2006
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
How can you not love Boomerang and better yet why isn't it being recognized as a classic. Eddie isn't just funny he also showed off his talent to be a good actor. You don't just get a comedy you get an interesting film about the life of a man who didn't know what he had until he lost it. You get a movie about a man who thought he was a real playa until he met not only his equal but also a woman on an entirely different level. Robin Givens kills her character and puts the fear of god into men by letting them know that women do what we can do and do it better. Halle Berry digs in as the beautiful girl that falls in love with a man that loves a girl that's playing him but he doesn't realize he had something just as good waiting for him until the end.

To be truthful not only does Eddie get played he gets outshined by these two beautiful actresses and can't really catch up. The funniest thing has to be John Witherspoon playing David Allen Greer's father and he shows you the reason why we never want to bring our girlfriends around our parents. Boomerang is a classic and can't be given anything under five stars because it's just done so smooth. So if your looking for a good love and comedy flick then this is definitely what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacqueline and Angela, June 20, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
This is my favorite African-American movie of all time. I truly have to give credit to Reginald Hudlin for doing this movie, and for also doing "House Party." But what I really want to talk about is the two female characters: Jacqueline(Robin Givens) and Angela(Halle Berry). One day I was watching the DVD and I had it set on the "commentary by the director." What caught my attention was when Reginald Hudlin said something like how most women are the Hallies. And that is so true. Like he explained, most of us women relate more to Halle Berry's character who was shy and insecure, wanting to be so much like Robin Givens's character who was like a powerful stylish career woman. But even though Angela wasn't as glamorous as Jacqueline, Angela was the chosen one that changes Marcus(Eddie Murphy) and his ways, shows him the real true meaning of love, and at the end, Angela is the one that he wants to be with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boomerang, April 4, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Boomerang [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am a movie buff and thought I had seen every Eddie Murphy movie until today when I saw 'Boomerang' at a friend's place. This is one of Eddie's best films in that it balances comedy, story and romance in a nice modern fashion (albeit it is one of his older films).
I loved this film. And must say that this is a credit also to Halle Berry, another all-time favourite actress. This hard-working actress truly touched you and the way she wins you over in the film leaves you wanting to watch the film over. I strongly recommend others to check out her other films, particularly 'Introducing Dorothy Dandridge'. A truly wonderful actress.
Backed with a soundtrack and that wonderful song 'I'd die without you' at the end of the film, you MUST buy this film - I have already bought it on the same day of watching this film. Buy this film and be prepared to be touched ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eddie's last "great" movie, March 21, 2006
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
Okay, so everyone knows/remembers Eddie Murphy went into the 1990s on a roll:

--Trading Places

--Beverly Hills Cop

--BHC II

--Coming to America

--Harlem Nights

All of those were blockbuster movies, hilarious, appealing to wide, mainstream audiences and well-deserving of all the praise and $$$ he made off those films.

In my opinion, 1992's "Boomerang" was the last great film Eddie Murphy did and one of the good things about this movie is that it's a comedy nothing like Murphy's prior work.

Viewers who like funny, twist-ending kind of romantic comedies will really get into this film.

Without giving away too much of the plot, I'll just say the gist of this movie is that for all the men (playas, pimps, dawgs) out there that one-night stand, wam-bam-thank-you-ma'am women who are fooled into thinking they've hit a relationship jackpot, "Boomerang" turns the tables.

Eddie Murphy stars as "Marcus" an executive in an advertising firm chasing foil "Jacqueline" played by Robbin Givens.

As the two eventually hookup and do the damn thang (wink, wink), Marcus falls in love with Jacqueline who plays him.

A long, dirty-laundry list of hilarious events ensue afterward when once Marcus "gets played" and finds himself enduring several of the indignities, inhumanities and out and out disrespectful treatment from the opposite sex he was guilty of treating in these same fashions.

This is one of the gender roles, turning-the-tables-to-see-how men-like-it-when-the-shoes-on-the-other-foot kind of romantic comedies.

This came out my freshman year of high school and everyone I knew loved it and totally got what the point of what this movie was trying to say about (then) modern relationships in dating.

Bit parts for Halle Berry, Lela Rochonn, Tisha Campbell, Grace Jones and Eartha Kitt make this movie probably the sexiest for some of the industry's sexiest women!!!!

Not a movie little kids will relate to, but preteens through any adult that's got "stories to tell" about odd relationships they've had will really enjoy this picture.

And just remember this was one of Halle's first big movies before her career took off ... worth watching just to notice the difference(s).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good film about dating and the work place, October 4, 2004
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
"Boomerang" was one of Eddie Murphy's best and most underated films. Robin Givens stars in the film as a sexy business woman that Eddie Murphy woos but she get's the last laugh. Then comes along sweet little Halle Berry before she was a mega star. This is a really good flm with a lot of today's top talent. Look for David Allen Grier, and Chris Rock and Eartha Kitt gives a dazzling sexy performance for a senior citzen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Should've Brought Yo Ass Home Last Night!, June 18, 2004
This review is from: Boomerang (DVD)
Hey this was an excellent movie. Eddie Murphy looks and acts funny especially when he is trying to look sad. The star studded cast of Martin Lawrence, Tisha Campbell, Eartha Kitt, Grace Jones, Robin Givens, Halle Berry, John Witherspoon, Chris Rock, Lela Rochon and David Alan Grier definitely set this movie off. Eddie Murphy does the unthinkable and gets the runaround from Givens...something a playa of his status should never get. From the beginning this movie is excellent, edge of your seat, thrilling romance. THe soundtrack that accompanies the movie is also greatness. This movie is a must have in your collection if you even remotely like Eddie Murphy or any of the said stars in the movie. You'll definitely enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Boomerang
Boomerang by Various (DVD - 2002)
$5.97 $4.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.