Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME
LOVE PLAYING IT A+++ GREAT MOVIE FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY TO PLAY ..KIDS LOVE IT SO MUCH A MUST HAVE THANKS AMAZON
Published 15 months ago by Bradley

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood and unfairly mangled movie
Poor ol' BOOT HILL doesn't have the best reputation among fans of sphaghetti-westerns, but it's not entirely the movie's fault. While it sure has lots of flaws and is on-par with later efforts of the genre (or later efforts of Bud & Terence), fans of the genre could easily squeeze some joy out of this.
Seems like most people judge this movie on it's alternate title...
Published on June 6, 2002 by Wrath-of-the-Righteo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood and unfairly mangled movie, June 6, 2002
This review is from: Boot Hill [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Poor ol' BOOT HILL doesn't have the best reputation among fans of sphaghetti-westerns, but it's not entirely the movie's fault. While it sure has lots of flaws and is on-par with later efforts of the genre (or later efforts of Bud & Terence), fans of the genre could easily squeeze some joy out of this.
Seems like most people judge this movie on it's alternate title TRINITY RIDES AGAIN. This doesn't make sense at all since it was made BEFORE anybody thought of the two later TRINITY movies and has close to zero similarities to them. What all three have in common is of course the presence of Bud Spencer and Terence Hill team up to help (more or less for the completely wrong reasons) the poor against the big bad opressors, in this case some evil gold-mining company. BOOT HILL is a very disjointed movie, it starts off as a serious and mean spirited italo-western and ends up in the usual TRINITY-style with the two legends beating up as many badguys as possible. The overall disjointedness is the pictures biggest fault, if you can look over it, you'll find some things to like here (if you are a fan of the genre):
The scenery and photography is excellent and the movie has some real highlights of scenes just watch Terence's encountering with one of his followers in a big, stonhedge-like circle of stones. The chemistry between him and the not-quite-as-bully Spencer works for the picture, even if Bud doesn't show up until the movie is half over. The circus-element is quite likeable too, I really could relate to the revenge-motive one character carries throughout the movie. Until the end, BOOT HILL doesn't offer much of the usual Hill-Spencer-Humor which is possibly for the better, the movie is at it's strongest when things are played serious.
So yes, this isn't one of the best movies (or even the best italo-westerns) ever made, but it sure has alot going for it. Forgive BOOT HILL becoming a complete suckfest in the last 15 minutes and see it as it is. This is not a "trinity" movie and was never intended to be, so keep that in mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Spaghetti Needs Pepto Bismol, November 4, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boot Hill (DVD)
Don't expect a comedy in the vein of TRINITY or THEY CALL ME TRINITY. If you do, you are in for a fall. Both of those were silly but redeemed themselves by being entertaining. This one has no such pretensions. It is merely boring.

The story concerns a corrupt mining company out to cheat the local town's folk out of their claims. They do this through intimidation and violence. When a couple of friends get hold of a claim, they put together a plan to secure that claim and those of the rest of the town from the bad guys. To do this, they enlist the aide of a traveling circus to serve as a distraction. They yell, they fight, they wrestle, they shoot and then they do it some more. Its not very exciting cinema.

This production is made worse by the DVD. I suspect that the original film was a rather low budget affair. The DVD, however, is of such low quality that who could really tell? The edges are clipped off, the transfer is grainy and the effect is of someone holding a hidden handycam in a theater trying to bootleg it. IT was not worth the effort.

Spaghetti westerns can be fun. This one, however, needs the Pepto Bismol right from the beginning to drive off the heartburn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK genre piece for completists of Spencer/Hill films, February 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Boot Hill [VHS] (VHS Tape)
One of the three "Cat Stevens" films that immediately preceded the breakthrough "Trinity" films, Terence Hill and Bud Spencer are not yet in the full characters they are famous for. The film is interesting mainly for the glimpses of how the Trinity/Bambino characters were developed. Do not expect comedy, although there are a couple moments of it. Directing OK but film shows its age and circus scenario will be too exotic for many tastes. Some viewers will find the film more dull than moody or stylish (as the director seemed to intend). Film was pretty well received by audiences in the late 1960s, according to the Hollywood Reporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Highly Disappointed, December 16, 2005
This review is from: Boot Hill (DVD)
I have yet to actually watch more than the first 10 mins. The quality is so bad I refused to go any further. For the life of me I can see how any Studio worth its salt could release anything so poor; where has "Pride In Your Work" gone. I could hardly make out the actors in this movie.

I skipped forward by chapters just to see if some change had taken place, but to my dismay there was none. I am not one of those critics always writing bad reviews, in fact this is probably my second ever. I just had to warn other buyers so they don't get shafted like I did.

In all fairness the movie itself may actually be great but for me what is the use if its un-watchable. Its almost like a bad bootleg movie (I refuse to watch those too). I am sure they could have spent some more time and money to remaster it and get all the graininess out and bring clarity to this film.

All in all this is just my opinion and I hope it helps someone save their money, however if you don't mind the picture quality get it because I love the Trinity Saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE, August 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Boot Hill [VHS] (VHS Tape)
THIS IS THE WORST BUD AND TERENCE MOVIE NEXT TO BLACKIE THE PIRATE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boot Hill Spaghetti Western by Sergio Corbucci, July 25, 2003
By 
Montoya "ponitora" (El Dorado Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boot Hill (DVD)
Boot Hill is a Guiseppe Colizzi film and Colizzi also directed 'Ace High'. Spaghetti western fans will appreciate Boot Hill as an essential addition to their collections and Colizzi maintains the gritty realism throughout. Colizzi began experimenting with rapid action close-ups and handheld camera work in this film -- sometimes it works and sometimes doesn't. In the opening scene Colizzi manages to capture an 'art house' film effect which spaghetti western fans will love, but traditional western movie fans will probably deplore. Colizzi also introduces the idea of an Italian-style circus to a western town which is truly bizarre yet creative throughout. But the biggest problem with this movie - besides the technically poor rendering from film - is the lack of a cohesive plot structure. The story gets far ahead of itself early on and the viewer will wonder if 'Boot Hill' is really three separate films rolled into one. There is a midway point where a third character is introduced to effect a situation where the protagonist can explain things and even tell us what will happen next! To complicate matters further the roles of two characters are never made clear. Even after watching this movie several times it is not entirely understandable to most viewers that this movie is about a large mining company trying to defraud small prospectors from their claims, with a circus thrown in to create interest. Diehard spaghetti western fans love Colizzi's juxtaposed plot style and many of us watch these films over and over picking out new details every time. However if you like your movies straightforward and simple then forget this one! Pluses: Lionel Stander and Woody Strode. Minus: Poor media conversion and very confusing plot + Stander is killed in the end! 4 stars to diehard spaghetti western fans and 0 stars to traditional western fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boot Hill, February 7, 2007
This review is from: Boot Hill (DVD)
The picture quality sub VHS standard. I'm a fan of Terence Hill films but this was by far the worst I've seen. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boot Hill (DVD)
lousy movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, January 6, 2014
The video quality was not very good and the story was hard to follow. I was interested since I had seen the Trinity and Nobody movies many times. This one is not as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't Beat the Team, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boot Hill (DVD)
Once again I am a total fan of the team of Terence Hill and Bud Spencer so any movie they are in I love to collect! This is a must for the collection and total enjoyment for the eartier films! Fun entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Boot Hill
Boot Hill by Giuseppe Colizzi (DVD - 2014)
$7.99 $4.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.