Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best book on Bordeaux, but imcomplete
I consider the latest iteration of Parker's Bordeaux book to be the best on the subject. While I do not agree with Parker or just about anyone else regarding the rating of Italian wines, Parker is right on target in his ratings for Bordeaux.

I find it interesting that Parker is a fan of the rich and opulent micro wines coming out of Pomerol and St. Emilion...
Published on October 18, 2004 by Franken Sense

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The publication date for the Kindle edition is misleading
This review applies specifically to the Kindle edition.

The last time Robert Parker updated Bordeaux was for the 4th edition in 2003. It is a well written, informative book, but it is sadly out of date and little more than acuriosity for readers interested in the past 10 or so vintages. When the publisher created a Kindle version of the 2003 book,they...
Published 14 months ago by Joe the Critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best book on Bordeaux, but imcomplete, October 18, 2004
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
I consider the latest iteration of Parker's Bordeaux book to be the best on the subject. While I do not agree with Parker or just about anyone else regarding the rating of Italian wines, Parker is right on target in his ratings for Bordeaux.

I find it interesting that Parker is a fan of the rich and opulent micro wines coming out of Pomerol and St. Emilion. There are strict Bordeaux traditionalists that don't care for these wines. I think they are great and usually agree with Parker. They simply add another dimension to the many styles of wine being made in the greatest wine producing area of the world.

Parker is extremely consistent and the only other taster that comes close is Stephen Tanzer. The Wine Spectator and James Suckling are pretty good, although I think they overrate too many wines in subpar vintages. Ironically, Spectator is not as big a fan of the decadent wines Parker likes from the right bank.

One caveat I have with the fourth addition is that useful tasting notes from some prior vintages for certain wines have been taken out and a handful of wines reviewed in the last version of the book are not even reviewed in this book. However, the book is still great if you're into Bordeaux.

Clive Coates's recent book on Bordeaux offers a good and interesting alternative, but it is not as complete nor does it have the depth of notes available from Parker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My copy is already dog-eared, January 9, 2004
By 
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
I just received this book for Christmas and it is already dog-eared. When many people think of Bordeaux they think of stratospherically priced wines. Actually for every $400 bottle of Chateau Latour 2000, there is a wonderful $25 bottle by an unsung producer. $25 may not be cheap, but if drinks like a $50 one I'm pretty happy. This book helps me find those lesser-known producers.
While Robert Parker certainly heaps praise on the most famous wines when they are worthy, he does not hesitate to criticize them when they fall short. He constantly points the readers to great values.
The book is organized by region and then by chateau. For many of the chateaux there is a copious amount of information: some history of the producer, a list of the wine's component grapes, and detailed descriptions of significant vintages for the last ten years.. Be sure to read the introductory sections for Parker's take on how richness of flavor is attained (strict pruning of vines, letting the fruit ripen, abstaining from filtering) and for much encouraging news about Bordeaux wine today. For one thing, he says that while the price gap between First Growths and unclassifieds can be great, never has the quality gap been so narrow. Great news for us bargain hunters !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The publication date for the Kindle edition is misleading, November 11, 2013
By 
Joe the Critic (San Jose Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review applies specifically to the Kindle edition.

The last time Robert Parker updated Bordeaux was for the 4th edition in 2003. It is a well written, informative book, but it is sadly out of date and little more than acuriosity for readers interested in the past 10 or so vintages. When the publisher created a Kindle version of the 2003 book,they apparently gave it a 2013 publication date. This is deceptive and misleading. This content appears to be from the 2003 edition, repackaged for Kindle, and therefore still badly out-dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bordeaux, a consumers guide to the world's finest wines, March 11, 2009
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
As with many books on wines, this one is rapidly becoming our of date in that it goes no further than 2001. This means resorting to Wine Advocate, a quartely publication which means that researching more recent vintages becomes laborious. An enquiry as to the fifth edition produced a "not anticipated" response. The age of this edition also means that the older vintages from 1982 are becoming of less interest as a good many of these wines, particularly at the cru borgeois end and others are less available than they once were. Can Mr Parker not be persuaded to let us know when the next edition is likely to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable Guide, September 30, 2005
By 
Robert S. Haught (Oklahoma City,OK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
Recently I toured wineries in Bordeaux. Robert Parker's book is the indispensable guide to wineries in that region. He discusses each estate in detail and is quite frank in his reviews. He also recommended some hotels and restaurants, which proved to be excellent recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All You Need: Comprehensive and Focused, March 24, 2005
By 
Scott Carpenter (Newport Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
Parker's insight is penetrating, but he manages to maintain an epic perspective. Parker's passion for wine vertibly sparkles from every page. His views can be idiosyncratic and he is not afraid to critisized grand crus which no longer merit the title. But only a scholar with Parker's passion could amass this comprehensive resource. This book is full of history, reviews, vintage analysis and ratings of all the chateaux, whether grand cru classe or cru bourgeois. If you are casually interested in wine or not ready to start spending big money, then this will be too much information. Let's face it: Good Bordeaux is expensive, and the shear volume of Parker's resources will overwhelm the uncommitted. But if you are willing to invest the time and money, you could not start at a better place than Robert Parker's Bordeaux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars STOP! A 2003 Book. Most Recent Vintage Reviewed is 2001, December 24, 2014
This book was written in 2003.

I echo the comments of Joe the Critic in that the Product Detail on this book is very misleading. As copied from the web site it states:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Publisher: Simon & Schuster; Rev/Ex/Upd edition (February 5, 2013)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From this description it is pretty easy to believe that this edition was "revised/expanded/updated" in 2013. Nope! It was in 2003!

The latest vintage reviewed in this book is 2001, so unless you have no interest in the last 13 Bordeaux vintages I'd say save your money and pass on this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, August 31, 2005
By 
Pat (Wellington, NZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
What a book!! Everything you wanted to know about Bordeaux and more. A comprehnesive and stunning, detailed account of the major chateaux in Bordeaux (there are hundreds of them!!)

Detailed tasting notes, going back many vintages. it is an excellent reference guide on the wines in this area.

You just have to think "the lucky so and so"; getting to taste the great wines and the great vintages of this region. To be honest you have to marvel about how he manages to do it.

This is an excellent guide; this edition has included pictures of the labels with each Chateau that is reviewed. One might hope that a future edition would have them in colour rather than B&W. A minor carp!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No better choice, November 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
RP's new edition of Bordeaux gave me one impression. You have no choice but to buy it if you are really interested in Bordeaux wine. I have his Wine Buyer's Guide (6th Ed) and yet find this one irresistable when I first located it in a book shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth having, June 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines (Hardcover)
A classic book by the world's foremost wine reviewer about Bordeaux wines--probably the world's most famous wine region. Although dated, it still provides a great deal of information on the region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines
Bordeaux: A Consumer's Guide to the World's Finest Wines by Robert M. Parker (Hardcover - October 28, 2003)
Used & New from: $20.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.