Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$12.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 18, 2012
Visuals-90/100(Great art style make for a great looking game)
Story-87/100 (Smartly written, funny, and features a lot of personality)
Sound-88/100 (Great voice acting and moody music compliment the experience)
Game play-94/100(Borderlands 2's RPG elements jell together with a very playable game)
Replay Value-93/100 (A lengthy game, co-op, and much more make for a game you will play over and over again)

When Borderlands was released back in 2009, it surprised everyone with it's unique hybrid of shooting and role playing. Borderlands was definitely unique, and personally, I thought it was the first true RPG/FPS hybrid. Sure, there were games like System Shock 2 beforehand, but SS2 isn't so much a shooter as it is an action role playing survival horror hybrid, and from a FPS standpoint, it's actually horribly repetitive and clunky. But Borderlands combined Diablo-style looting and frantic FPS combat, all the while providing for some of the most intense and satisfying gun play in a shooter. Borderlands was definitely a breath of fresh air in the FPS market, and it's a darn shame we don't have more games in the genre like it. Now, Borderlands is back with this top notch sequel, and the series is better than ever.

I won't say too much about the single player experience, but given the amount of missions available, it seems Borderlands 2 will provide a lengthy, satisfying experience. I'm not finished with the game yet, but I can tell that it isn't going to end any time soon. People who have beaten it already have said the game will take around 30 hours to complete, so single player fans will be satisfied. From what I gather, numerous reviewers are saying that you will want to play through the entire game more than once (!) as well, thanks in part to it's diverse skill classes. Even better, Borderlands 2 now let's you play the entire game with all of your stats in tow, so expect some heady replay value for single player.

As we all know, the story for Borderlands was extremely forgettable. That's not to say the single player campaign didn't have merit, it most certainly did. The art design was nice, Pandora was occasionally a vivid location, and some of the encounters you faced made for some memorable gaming moments. That said, the characters were extremely forgettable (aside from the awesome Claptrap), and the plot line was about as memorable as watching a modern artist craft a generic sculpture out of toilet roll tubes. Borderlands 2, on the other hand, actually had me invested with it's sharp writing and quirky sense of humor, and some of the people you meet in the game will have you reeling with startling surprise. It's mission structure is so far interesting, and the encounters so far have all been memorable. I won't spoil too much, but let me just say that the creatures here will provide you with a sense of being; you will see them as creatures of fiction, not cannon fodder.

Perhaps the biggest part of the game's success as a story is the vivid recreation of Pandora. Video Game developers know that building a world is one of the best ways to tell a story, especially in a First Person Game (just look at Half-Life). It's easily one of the video game medium's biggest strengths, and Borderlands 2 knows this. Borderlands 2 is a great space western experience, with a mood that recalls a comic book if it were hijacked by space western writers. Of course, the famous Borderlands 2 art style is back, and it provides for an awesome artistic foundation for Borderlands 2's vivid recreation of Pandora. And Pandora is beautiful! Borderlands 2 won me over with it's cell shaded, mood setting skies (Yes. Skies), glistening tundras, jagged mountains, colorful vivid industrial areas, and other locations. It's better looking than anything such garbage as "photo-realism" ever will be able to achieve. You see, folks (*cough* as well as certain 2K executive *cough*)? This is what happens when you get away from "realism"! An antidote to the lifeless drudgery of puke browns and vapid grays; the overall dreary, narcolepsy inducing experience. Thanks for this, Borderlands 2 is more of a beaut than Battlefield 3 will ever be.

The Sound track is also very beautiful. The soundtrack truly makes the space western mood they were going for. Great sound effects and voice acting follow suit.

Now, to game play. The basic game play concepts remain the same. Choose a skill class, start building your character and then loot n' gain (experience points, that is)! With loot and experience points, you have the potential to help yourself to a seemingly endless number of play styles, equipment and, of course, guns. Loads upon loads of guns. If you are familiar with the original (and you should be), you will know that the basic core intents of the game play remain the same. However, what Borderlands 2 offers new is what we all want to know. Does it offer something new? Is this Borderlands 2 or Borderlands 1.5? This is Borderlands 2. And aside from it's vastly superior story and setting, Borderlands 2 adds great game play additions that pushes the series forward, and leaves the first game in the dust.

The biggest addition to Borderlands 2 is the revamped skill classes. Character builds are deeper than ever, and much more rewarding than before. Since this is one of the biggest pros of Borderlands 2, it's nice to say that the is better than ever. The biggest change here is that each skill tree feels way more diverse, something the original was lacking. As you pick from four different skill classes, you can use each class to your advantage. Each class has it's own unique abilities, such as Zero's invisible stealth, the Salvador's ability to dual-wield anything, the Axion's ability to use turrets, and Maya's ability to freeze. Beyond the leveling up of your special abilities, the skill trees you build are diverse and the skills you invest in add a much better sense of personal, much more satisfying combat that suits you well. You can add all sorts of abilities, from more helpful defensive skills to offensive based powers like a Borderlands 2 has some real depth to your play style, and it's combination of great combat and true RPG elements makes for a truly great RPG and shooting hyrbid. All of this is aided by a much improved interface that makes the game more playable than before.

As you defeat enemies, you can upgrade the powers of the class, which is rewarded through looting and the gaining of experience points. Bad *cool* points make for some great bonuses, as they augment most other powers rather well. Most importantly, Borderlands 2 rewards you with guns and the ability to use an endless number of weapons, and it's addictive and rewarding as ever. You all know the drill, and it's even better than the first game. The ability to customize EVERYTHING (yes, all caps for a reason), from common features like re-load, to giving your own gun acid, makes sure that you can get creative with whatever gun you want to make. I'm not quite there making the ultimate gun that puts the BFG to shame, but according to what I've heard, anything is possible, including such crazy weapons as a pistol with ammo that doubles as a grenade dispenser, and I'm pretty sure that's not as crazy as it gets. Borderlands 2 proves that you can never have enough weapons, and they ensure that you will never feel empty-handed. Superior AI and a diverse range of enemies round out the experience.

All of this translates to the multi-player extremely well. Borderlands 2 offers four-player co-op, and it succeeds thanks in part to the great game mechanics. Using each character class, you can truly uses each one to their strengths to help out each team mate, in a way that sort of reminds me of Team Fortress 2. One can really get creative if you mix things up and assign certain levels, and since enemies get tougher as you play the game, it becomes vital and more challenging as you go along. Aided by it's diverse abilities, each skill class truly can add something unique to every play through, making for some rewarding and challenging combat that has the potential to be unique for every band of four. Like a good RPG should do, you can actually join in anytime, which makes the game even better so you don't have to commit to a whole game together. It makes game play extremely flexible, and it makes for some of the most accessible and playable multi-player experiences I've played in quite a while.

I do have a few, eh, issues, however. There are some minor graphics hitches here and there, but as long as you don't give all bent out of shape over some pop in textures or the occasional weird visual hiccup, you shouldn't have much trouble over looking this, uh, issue? You still can't really change the appearance of your character as much, which isn't that big a loss but definitely can be a tad disappointing if you really enjoy customizing your character. Oh, and car combat is mostly underused, as you won't find either a glut of vehicle based missions, or some fun car combat a la Rage. Thankfully, most of these niggling issues are minor.

Other than that, this game is just terrific. I don't know much else to say here, but if you are a fan of Borderlands, this is not just a mere revision, it's a whole new great game. Personally, I really don't find myself every playing the original Borderlands ever again, and it's definitely a stand out in the cluttered FPS genre that exists today. It's got humor, it's got replay value, it's got role-playing, it's got terrific gun play, and it's got enough things to do to keep you hooked for days. Needless to say, if you like Borderlands, you want this one. Easily. Go get it.
2626 comments| 169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
If Quentin Tarantino made a Spaguetti Western, post-apocalyptic-esque video game, this would be it. I can't believe how much fun this game actually is. Even if you're like me and didn't play the first Borderlands, don't pass this one up so quickly. Where do I start?

GAMEPLAY: if you aren't familiar with BL, the best way to explain this is to take the addicting looting system of Diablo and combine it with the basic elements of an FPS, throwing in some RPG via an inventory and skill tree. That's essentially the mechanics of the game, and it all slams together so well here. You have four basic classes to choose to play from, and each class has three paths to focus on in a skill tree -- this means there's plenty of variation to play. In addition to these basic mechanics, the game is open-world, though it may feel semi-linear as you can only explore on an area-by-area basis (think the opposite of an Elder Scrolls game, where you can walk around the entire map without hitting a loading screen until accessing a dungeon). I have to say, with combining so many of our favorite gaming formulas, this game has so many highlights. Sometimes I felt like I was playing something akin to Skyrim. Other times, the ambiance of a specific area or the design of a specific feature reminded me of BioShock. And sometimes certain things brought me back to my Fallout 3 days. However, I never forgot I was playing a completely new adventure that easily whisked me away for hours in the unique and captivating world of Pandora. Lastly, I can't forget the guns. No joke, there are millions of guns you can find. It is so satisfying to find a ridiculous weapon and destroy enemies for the next three hours with it, only to find another weapon that is even better.

SETTING: Speaking of Pandora, it really is a fascinating world. Having a post-apocalyptic feeling yet retaining a notes of being futuristic, there are so many different areas to access. Sometimes you'll be exploring an underground cave full of chemicals. At other times, you'll be questing in a town that feels like it belongs in the Wild West after a nuclear fallout. It's crazy, and I doubt you'll be bored quickly.

STORY: one thing many BL veterans mentioned is the lack of a good narrative beyond funny one-liners in the original game. Like I said I never played Borderlands 1, but I can tell you that in BL 2 the characters are memorable, the writing is well-thought out and downright hilarious, and the story moves at a great pace with scenes of great emotion and other scenes of great sarcasm. This is all coming from a guy who is used to epic stories from Final Fantasy or Mass Effect. Also, be sure to keep your ears peeled while you fight the various enemies. They say and do some hilarious things themselves. But seriously, the writing is just super clever. I mean, what other game has a quest called, "Rocko's Modern Strife"? Classic!

REPLAYABILITY: with the various classes and varying skill trees, there is already plenty of incentive to reboot a new game or two... Or three. However, in addition to these, once you beat the game you open up more challenging modes that guarantee both tougher enemies and significantly better loot. Also, there are a healthy amount of side quests in here to help you clock in the hours that make AAA games a great bang for your buck. If you're a completionist like me, you'll probably spend 50+ hours on your first playthrough. No joke. Or, you can try a different character, pump through the story to get to the better game modes, then spend all your hours doing the side quests and finding the best loot. There are so many possibilities!

One note -- definitely not a game for kids. The gratuitous gore would scar small children, and the extremely crass sense of humor means it's not a good idea to give this to a kid/teen who probably wouldn't understand half the jokes anyway. Just saying, parents, be smart and know what your kids are playing!

In conclusion, this is one heck of a game. I feel that it combines the best of so many game genres into a single FPS while adding in a memorable story that motivates you to find out what happens next. Of course, you'll be laughing your face off the entire way.
88 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
The first question people will likely ask is, "Does this game live up to the high water mark hit by BL1 and DLC?" and that answer is a resounding "Yes!"

The second question asked, "Is it better than BL1?" and the answer is "Yes...for the most part."

So what's improved?

Better gun mechanics (sound, feel and diversity), more humor, more frequent boss and sub-boss battles, easier to get a co-op game going and see who's online playing, character skill trees are improved (more focused on your play style than there being clearly better skills to pursue), friends can select quests in co-op games rather than having to tell the "party leader" to do it, grenades are much more useful with some nice variety, the new enemies are well designed (not only are there more, but a few can do things like level up or heal other bad guys), you can now dismember baddies, you can now tag items in your inventory as "trash" or "favorite" so you remember what to sell next time at the vending machine, you can now directly trade with people, you automatically pick up money and ammo (but thankfully not loot), combat is more organic (enemies take cover, flank you, dodge attacks), there are tons of missions (took me 40+ hours to finish the game having completed all but a couple side quests) and perhaps my favorite improvement, you can now move around while in "Fight For Your Life" mode meaning you'll no longer die while stuck behind cover. Also of note, single player is much more enjoyable this time around. There's less down time, more dialogue and the enemies/environments allow for better individual strategy.

So what are the negatives?

The new menus are clunky and difficult to parse (everything is on a slight angle making it tough to read and navigate), while missions have more dialogue and humor they still consist of mostly "shoot that" or "find this" objectives, driving mechanics are about the same (though thankfully you don't take damage from hitting enemies as much), while you can set a waypoint on the map your co-op buddies can't see the same waypoint and sometimes there's simply too much dialogue happening simultaneously. For example if you're playing co-op the first big town you get to is a total cluster as multiple characters are introducing themselves at the same time, or enemy dialog and gunfine easily drowns out character/story related dialogue. This is sometimes incredibly frustrating since you feel like you're missing out on a crucial plot detail or funny quip. Also, for about the first 12-15 hours the environments are a little too similar, but that changes as you continue to progress through the game. That said, these are only minor complaints and the additions far outweigh the handful of small issues.

Recommendation?

If you loved the first BL you'll love this one! The game does start a little slow, but once you get going its clear this game is superior to BL1 in most regards. If you flat out didn't enjoy the first game I'm not sure you'd enjoy the sequel, but if you've been on the fence there's enough improvement in details, mechanics, humor, enemy diversity and feel to both single & multiplayer modes to warrant a second look.
55 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
I first experienced borderlands 1 as a two player affair and ended up beating it on my own. Not exactly the preferred way of playing, but that's how it went, and it skewed my view of the game.

The second one takes the concerns and doubts I had and dashed them, leaving me with a fantastic game that has me hungry for more. My one caveat is that this game rewards co-op, with more enemies and more loot being available with more players (it scales!). Unfortunately, it also punishes solo runs, as many of the skills and mechanics just aren't worth using if you're not on a team.

There is a pretty good scaling system, where you feel like a badass for about 30 minutes before finding a new enemy type that can completely bring you back down to earth. Then you work your ass off for a few hours and are rewarded with a new gun that makes you feel like a badass for about 30 minutes before finding... well, you get the idea.

The formula is obvious, but it works, because of the varying strategies necessary to defeat certain enemies and the difference in locales (snow, deserts, mountains, etc). Not sure if I could recommend this game if you're playing solo, which could be fun since you don't have to share, but it's going to be difficult.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2012
I'll start out by saying the first Borderlands shocked me with how much fun it was and quickly became one of my favorite games I have ever played. I went through with every character the entire game and all the DLCs, and I have never done that before.

Luckily, for me, they didn't change it all up and stayed with the same frantic yet paced gameplay I loved in the first one. This one has updated the look and feels even more expansive (somehow) so I appreciate that they didn't just basically release another DLC.

That being said, I love this game and look at it being what I play until at least May.
44 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
The short of the story here is that Borderlands 2 is awesome and one of the few recent releases I have purchased at full price new and not had later regrets. So far, the game is amazing in almost every aspect. It's not perfect, but the few issues I've had thus far have not warranted taking away a star.

If you want to buy this game;
-Like cell-shaded graphics
-Like doing side quests (don't need to, but you'll want to)
-Have some desire to do a little research in finding the best weapon setups for your missions/game play style/charater build
-Don't hate grinding to get to where you need to be.

Complaints;
-Need more fast travel stations
-Having to run back through a board where everyone respawns if you're not quick enough
-EXTREMELY low XP for enemies that are a level below you yet can still mess you up like no other

Without spoilers, I am on my first playthrough at level 20. I am a commando, as I enjoyed being a soldier the first time around. I love my turret but I miss some of the perks that once were included with the turret. Team health was sweet.

The story is engaging and the missions, including the side missions, are better laid out and longer this time around. That is a positive for me as it adds to game play and replay value for me. I don't feel cheated by a 6-hour game like many of these new games do. This is a longer game if you want to do all the missions and focus on building your character to a high level.

I will admit to not being the largest fan of the first game. Unforuntately, my experience with the first game was hampered mostly by playing for the first time with someone who had played multiple times and led me around instead of followed me, so I didn't get the same experience as I have had playing for the first time with friends who are still on their first time through. The enemies are repetitious, but you expect that in these types of games. I am still going to new areas and don't feel cheated by the shortage of different enemy types.

This game does have a good sense of adult humor. Perhaps it's not appropriate for children, but if you're the type that will buy your kids Call of Duty, than this will fall on deaf ears anyway, so whatever. The game is hilarious. Great writing and great visual experience. Highly recommended to all, if it's your type of game. Hack and slash gamers will probably NOT enjoy this game as you have to still worry about upgrading and building your character.
99 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
The Borderlands franchise is not your typical FPS RPG. This game has plenty of entertaining elements that keep you wanting to play the game, just to see what happens next. If you didn't play the first game, the most important thing you need to know about Borderlands 2 is that you should have plenty of time to sit down and play it, because once you start playing it, you won't want to stop.

In Borderlands, you are a Vault Hunter on the planet of Pandora, in which you get to choose between 4 different characters. Each character has their own unique distinctions and abilities. If you played the first Borderlands, these characters will seem familiar to you. There is a Gunzerker, Salvador, who in this game can dual wield guns, unlike the first game's Brick. The Siren (the main character I play as) in this game is Maya, who has a Phasing ability like the first game's Lillith. Only in this game, Maya can Phaselock -- trap her enemies in a damaging bubble for about 20 seconds. The Commando, Axton (and my secondary character), has a throwable turret just like Roland, the Commando in Borderlands 1, did. However, in Borderlands 2, Axton's turret has some different perks than Roland's did. And finally, our Assassin in this game is Zer0. Zer0 is a katana wielding ninja-type with a shadow ability, which is quite unlike the Assassin sniper Mordecai in the first game, with his trusty sidekick Bloodwing.

You will follow in the footsteps of the first Vault Hunters, and continue the quest in finding the big loot. In this game you have the entertaining antagonist of Handsome Jack, whom you are chasing down to prevent from getting to the vault first. You'll have plenty of side quests along the way to keep you busy, if you feel the need to pick up extra loot or cash. There's also the new Baddass Rank, which transfers between all your characters and give you a slight edge in your stats, adding small percentages of improvement to them all. You'll have a few old friends to help you out along the way, and some new, equally entertaining ones.

If you're a fan of the first Borderlands you'll absolutely enjoy Borderlands 2. If you didn't play the first Borderlands you'll still enjoy this game. You don't even need to have played the first game to get full enjoyment of Borderlands 2.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2013
It has been three years since the release of the original Borderlands and allowed players first set on the dangerous world called Pandora in search of vast riches. This cell-shaded first-person shooter used cooperative play and goofy humor to create a world full of wonder and loot. While Gearbox uses a lot of mechanics that made the first game so great the developers have refined enough of the game to make it superior to the first one. While some of the issues from the first game still exist Borderlands 2 refines and improves enough of the old mechanics to make it an adventure you'll want to share with all your friends.

Taking place after the events of the first Borderlands you take control of one of four vault hunters who have come to Pandora in search of loot. However since the opening of the vault in the first Borderlands the Hyperion Cooperation, led by Handsome Jack, have the entire planet under his control. It's your job to stop Jake from gain possession of a legendary item, take your revenge, and assist the people in Pandora. The story isn't anything special but a large improvement from the first game.

Pandora isn't the same a deserted planet full of bandits and murderous animals but populated with much more characters for you to interact with. The characters list has expanded with a diverse amount of old and new faces, each have entertaining things to say. Characters such as the four playable characters from the first game make a return and play a large role in the story as well as characters other notorious people such as Mad Moxxi and Scooter. New additions such as he villain Handsome Jack and the disturbing Tiny Tina are delightful additions that maintain the same goofy nature of the Borderlands universe. Most importantly the people that populate the world don't look or act like mindless husk that either grunt or remain mute, but interact with the environment and actually speak. Gearbox has also updated the dialogue of the enemies you face, spouting psychotic and threatening taunts as they attempt to collect the reward for your head. It is strange that an option to review these conversations is absent since characters can unexpectedly stop talking when another character begins to speak.

The voice-acting in Borderlands 2 is nothing less then spectacular. Each character is brought to life with strong writing that combines heartwarming moments, murderous outburst, and humor. At times I would stop and listen to the person speaking, to prevent it from being cut off by some unexpected event. These personalities are what bring Pandora to life, something that was absent from the first game.

While the characters provide a lot of entertainment it is the world of Pandora that will keep you busy. The environments and locations within Borderlands 2 are larger, more diverse, and offer an array of richer colors to allow each detail to illuminate the screen. Like the first game some textures still tend to pop in but this is still a visually appealing world, with a lot to offer. Explorers will find a lot of challenging enemies and visually pleasing environments.

But what is an adventure without missions, and Borderlands 2 offers a large amount of optional quest and a wonderful array of story missions. While a lot of the missions still require you to collect, defend, and kill specific targets you will presented with creative dialogue and sometimes a wacky objective to complete, just wait till you find the mission "Shoot This Guy in the Face". With an online checklist you'll be able to track each task and can ignore objectives to prevent unnecessary clutter, allowing you to complete one mission and move on to the next easily. It's a shame that a separate save function is absent, instead those seeking to replay a certain mission will have to reply the entire game.

Borderlands 2 includes a challenge system in addition to the traditional experience system found in RPG's. The challenges in Borderlands 2 are full of specific but plentiful tasks that automatically update and reward you continuously with tokens and increase your badass rank. These special items allow you to permanently upgrade various attributes that apply to all your characters. This overarching reward system allows for a friendly system and encourage players to experiment with other classes without feeling like they are starting from nothing when beginning a new game.

Completing missions and challenges is fun wouldn't be as much fun without physical rewards, of course I'm talking about loot. Guns, grenades, shields, modifications, and relics offer a lot of possibilities to improve or alter your combat abilities. Unlike the first game the gun models have been updated with more visual options. Customizing your weapons and armor with the large amount of options for you to change and improve your loadout during the course of the game. You can mark useless items called junk to sell easily and pick up items such as money, health, and ammo automatically without having to manually input the command.

Finding a new piece of loot is fun, but testing it on one of the many hostile enemies that inhabit Pandora is even better. Every enemy you face whether they are human, animal, robotic, or mutated will prove to be formidable, and they don't mind fighting one another. New enemies such as the Stalker, that can turn invisible, are one of many new enemies that will require you to change tactics and approach each fight with caution instead of charging in. These new foes are refreshing since each area you enter can be litter with new adversaries for you to kill.

Despite the new enemies combat hasn't change much from the original game. The shooting mechanics remain the same solid style from the original game, such as fight-for-your-life moment where you can revive yourself if you manage to kill an enemy before the timer runs out. All the elements from the first game return, with the exception of a new substance called slag. This purple material weakens the defense of any enemy and amplifies damage. Fall damage has also been removed, removing the need to be cautious when jumping off a cliff.

The four new characters offer new abilities and tactics to better accommodate the updated system. While players will still have original classes such as Maya the Siren and Axton the Commando the newest additions; Zero the Assassin and Salvador the Gunzerker are exciting and welcomed additions. Each character comes with a special ability such as Maya's talent to trap enemies in the air, Axton's turret, Zero's decoy, and Salvador is able to go into a rage that increase damage and defense. Unlike the original Borderlands these characters are provided with a back-story to describe there lives before coming to Pandora, but these audio recordings must be found in the world.

Each of these racial abilities can be upgraded and alter through the skill tree. Offering three different options for each characters, and players can choose to reset them at anytime. While options for specific weapons type exist within the skill tree, your character isn't limited to specialized weapons anymore. You can also slightly change the appearance of your character, but these are limited to new head gear and clothing colors that can be found throughout Pandora. Those seeking to fully upgrade there character will have to play through Vault Hunter mode, a harder difficulty setting that scales the obstacles of Pandora to your level and saturates the fields with dangerous creatures.

While Borderlands is fun to play with yourself you can bring up to four people along for the ride. Borderlands 2 supports up to four player cooperative play and allows for split-screen up to two players of any class. While the game attempts to set the difficulty based on the amount of players and level of each character it is best if you coordinate with people to ensure that things don't get out of control. One of the issues of the first game was joining games with players who were either ahead or behind on missions, now if you complete later missions while someone else is hosting the game you can choose to skip it when you gain access to it. With tougher enemies, better loot, and the excitement of completing objectives together makes cooperative play to be the best way to play through Borderlands 2.

If you played Borderlands then you'll feel right at home with Borderlands 2. Gearbox doesn't attempt to go beyond what the original title did but instead builds on what made the first game great with new additions and refinements, making it a successful successor to the original game. While it can feel hollow at times with similar objectives and lack of separate save files, the world of Pandora is full of adventures that you will want to spend hours exploring, completing missions, and getting better loot. So raise you guns high and let's starting hunting for treasure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
I bought this game because a friend recommended it to me since he and his siblings (not kids...later twenties to later thirties) have it. I was skeptical because I am not a hard core gamer, but after a few minutes of playing online with them I was hooked. I mostly play online with them and the fun part is that you get to help each other out as you try to make your way through the game. I have played through it once and am now a "true vault hunter" so the second playthrough is even better with better guns and loot.

This game is lots of fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
I have played the original Borderlands and all the DLC (playing solo) - over and over and over again for the last 2 years. Most recently just a week ago. I can not get enough and once I started playing I can not stop - just want MORE. Finally got the new Borderlands 2 game for Christmas. I am not even half way thru the game but can tell you I am disappointed for 2 reasons.

First, I love, FPS but many are not crisp in view or actions and after a half hour or so I will get a headache and feel a bit off. There are only a few FPS games that I can play for awhile where this does not happen. I was able to play the first Borderlands game and all DLC, for HOURS on end with out this problem. I find that Borderlands 2 is NOT crisp and sharp in view like the first and after about an hour the headache starts. I have to stop playing else I feel sick.

Second reason is some of the changes they made do not show up well on my screen. I have always played on a big screen TV and have had no problem viewing the screen. In the new Borderlands 2 game, the pack back and vending machine views are so blurry in spots that I have to walk up to the screen to try to determine if I am seeing a zero or an eight and to read some of the other information displayed. Some of the changes to the game are interesting but I wish the views of the backpack and vending machine contents were left the same - they are now a bit clusmy, where they were the best of any game in the older Borderlands.

Of course I will finish the game but in very short doses. I was so much looking forward to this game and having MORE Borderlands to play fro hours and hours - but I am disappointed in how this one turned out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.