Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Western
This half hour series originally ran on CBN (The Family Channel) from 1989 until 1991. It was filmed on a tight budget in British Columbia and had a mostly Canadian cast and crew. It's unlikely that U.S. viewers will be familiar with most of the actors, including the leads (Richard Comar, John H. Brennan, and Sophie Barjac). Still, it's well-acted, and the stories are...
Published 19 months ago by Dana Hatcher

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Footage
I first saw "Bordertown" a little over a yer ago when the "Best Of" DVD set was released in Canada. It turned out to be a wonderful, clean show. And Disc 1 had an average bit rating of 7.5 to 8.5 Mbps, while discs 2-4 had an average of 4.5-4.9.

I just received the Complete series today. Boy, has Echo Bridge ever done a poor job on this set...
Published 16 months ago by Trevor Thurlow (Ontario, Canada)


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Western, December 21, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
This half hour series originally ran on CBN (The Family Channel) from 1989 until 1991. It was filmed on a tight budget in British Columbia and had a mostly Canadian cast and crew. It's unlikely that U.S. viewers will be familiar with most of the actors, including the leads (Richard Comar, John H. Brennan, and Sophie Barjac). Still, it's well-acted, and the stories are interesting. There's a lack of pretension about the series that makes it refreshing when compared to many other modern-day Westerns...Since it was made for a network that was owned by Pat Robertson, there's no swearing or sex, but there is a surprising amount of violence. In fact, it reminds me of "Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman" with the violence amped up. (One of the main characters is a beautiful female doctor.)...Maybe it seems like a strange comparison, but it also reminds me (on a superficial level) of HBO's "Deadwood" (which contained plenty of swearing, sex, and violence). For example, the primary setting is a very muddy frontier town; there's a large cast of recurring characters; and there's as much emphasis on character as on action. However, as I said, "Bordertown" lacks pretension. It's hard to get into much depth in 23 minutes and on a low budget, so its storytelling scope is more narrow than "Dr. Quinn" or "Deadwood." But there's something very likeable about how the series sets its modest goals and fulfills them...As for the DVD's, you couldn't ask for a better price ($12.95 for 78 episodes). There are 13 episodes on each of the six disks. All six disks are on one spindle in an oversized case. The episode titles are listed on the back of the DVD set, but there are no air dates or episode descriptions included. Considering the number of episodes that are packed onto each disk, the picture and sound quality are excellent, but there are no subtitles or closed captioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, December 16, 2012
By 
William D. Evans (Cape Girardeau, Missouri) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
Been waiting for several years for the complete series release - this appears to be it. Was initially concerned with the jacket cover, as those artists on the cover were not in the original series, but all turned out good. This is the original series that aired in the early 90s on CBN (Christian Broadcasting Network?). Have already watched the first of six DVDs which relates to Season 1, Episodes 1-13. The discs are set up in this order, with the next disc being Season 1, Episodes 14-26 followed by Season 2, Episodes 1-13, etc for a total of 78 episodes, much improved over the last-best offering of only 28 select episodes. Video and sound quality are very good, appropriate for the video technology of that era. Menu options are simple - either select by episode or play all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long wait to get all the episodes together, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
Video quality might not be the best, but this show is so addictive. It is the original Family Channel series and I have been enjoying watching Season 2 finally after so many years, not having even a VHS copy from the original run dates. I would have liked to have seen the packaging separate the discs instead of stacking them all together, but for the price, you can't beat it. Don't let the jacket cover fool you (it's not the original actors on the jacket), this is the original series, worth the money. All the episodes from all 3 seasons are in the set.
There was one review commenting on the audio on the set, I have found no issues with the set, normal volume levels. The only negative comment, if it is one, is that the episodes are numbered and not named on the disc menus. If you know which episode you are looking for, you have to review the jacket cover to see which number it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bordertown The Complete Series is Fantastic, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
This series is a big surprise in a little package. I LOVE this series. Good, wholesome entertainment!! I don't feel like I need a shower, OR therapy when I watch several back to back episodes, and like a good book, it's hard to wait until tomorrow to see what will happen next. Well written- superbly acted- love the characters. A great value in entertainment for the awesome price of $12.99!!!! Over 29 hours of episodes!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Series, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
The programs brought back some good memories. It was, and is, good viewing as the series were different from the usual, run of the mill westerns I'd seen over the years. It doesn't hurt either that the geographical surroundings are pretty damned good too! Thanks for carrying a product I could never find in brick & morter places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Footage, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
I first saw "Bordertown" a little over a yer ago when the "Best Of" DVD set was released in Canada. It turned out to be a wonderful, clean show. And Disc 1 had an average bit rating of 7.5 to 8.5 Mbps, while discs 2-4 had an average of 4.5-4.9.

I just received the Complete series today. Boy, has Echo Bridge ever done a poor job on this set. First off, Episode 2 "Medicine Woman", while it's complete on the "Best Of" set, on this set the episode is missing its teaser and title sequence, which set up the whole plot. Plus can you ever see the pixels crawl on screen(there was one shot where Marie was wearing a grey hat and the pixels were very visible), since the bit rate on this disc tops out at 3.6Mbps, with the average being right around 2.5-2.7Mbps. So while there are issues with the video source, this set needed to have been put on 12 discs, instead of 6, for ultimate quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bordertown, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
This series is easily over looked and underappreciated by western lovers. I enjoyed its stunning and raw Canadian location, and the unique handling and interpretation of American/Canadian law in the old west. The love triangle between the Canadian Monte, the American marshall and the Canadian (female) doctor is refreshing, and intertaining. Great buy for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommended, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
Very good . my holding off on five stars is the lack of closed captioned which is more than beneficial to us hearing deficiants. Its essential. But the volume control on Tvs make it worthwhilke viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this show, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
I really like this tv show.I enjoy the old west and shows about them.I really like this one because it is very clean and the characters are very enjoyable.It is worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bordertown: The Complete Series (DVD)
Very well acted and produced,i didnt think ide see a canadian Gunsmoke but i did, and i loved it will watchy it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bordertown: The Complete Series
Bordertown: The Complete Series by 78 Episodes (DVD - 2012)
$21.99 $9.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.