Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Borgen: Season 1 (Ep. 1-10)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 15, 2011
After thoroughly enjoying the original Danish version of The Killing (Forbrydelsen), I thought I'd try another Danish series. Borgen (Government) is made by the same company DR (Danish Broadcasting Corporation) that produced The Killing. The series comprises ten x one hour long episodes which delve into the whole world of Danish government. The series encompasses the challenges which face Denmark's first female prime minister Birgitte Nyborg Christensen. Birgitte's homelife, the sacrifices made at home, her relationship with ministers in her coalition government, as well as typical defence, financial, media scandals all intertwine to provide hours of decent drama.
Having enjoyed Forbrydelsen's depiction of Copenhagen city coalition politics, this series features politics on a national level and we see the surprise result of the election, mishaps by rival Conservative and Labour parties, the secret world of Nyborg's spin doctor in addition to the TV1 broacaster which is always attempting to obtain political scoops.
On a par again with Forbrydelsen is the acting - superb! Sidse Babette Knudsen and Pilou Asbæk shine as PM and spin doctor Kasper Juul. Familiar faces from Forbrydelsen pop up including Søren Malling (Meyer in Forbrydelsen) as TV1 editor Torben Friis and Bjarne Henriksen (Theis in Forbrydelsen) as defence minister Hans Christian Kongsmark.
Well written and directed, Borgen is a treat. Forbrydelsen fans should keep an eye on Birgitte's husband Philip Christensen played by Mikael Birkkjær. Birkkjær plays a major role in Forbrydelsen 2. Asbæk also stars on Forbrydelsen 2.
This set with English subtitles also sells for less than $45 on any online Swedish DVD site.
Enjoy!
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Oh, Denmark, oh, Denmark, how I love you, how I want to be in Copenhagen! Here we find Birgitte Nyborg, leader of the centre Moderate party, running for and becoming Prime Minister. She is lovely, ambitious, brilliant, and honest. She has a wonderful home life, a husband who stays home with the kids. But, we all know, women can't have everything, and little by little things start to fall apart.

This is a classy tale of politics, before and after the general,election. Birgitte Nyborg, played by Sidse Babett Knuds becomes the country's first female prime minister. We meet spin doctors, ministers of various committees, political intrigue, scandals, love affairs. And everything that goes on in small towns. It seems as if Borgen is a small town. Nyborg's marriage suffers, her children act out as does her husband. What is she to do? We move along with her as she solves one problem after another. Many characters abound, and we come to love and hate some of them. The press and journalism are featured in all their glory. We see familiar faces from the Danish series, 'The Killing'. This is a glorious view of the Danish political scene.

The first ten episodes are spell bounding. I want to know more, thank goodness there are series two and three to come. The acting, the city, the politics are brilliant!

Highly Recommended. prisrob 01-12-13
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2012
Considering Copenhagen is about the size of Kansas City metro, you gotta admire their ability to produce top notch dramas like this, involving very talented actors with lavish sets and production values. I just saw both seasons from . . . well, I'll have to invoke the first rule of Fight Club here . . . and they're very much worth having. I can't imagine why they haven't been picked up by someone for US TV, unless people just have such a strong aversion to subtitles. The recent remake of "Dragon Tattoo" was completely pointless, the original extended TV version is far better. Maybe we can't read?? Tak.
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2012
I've thoroughly enjoyed watching Borgen on Link TV (Ch. 375 on DirecTV and Ch. 9410 on Dish Network) since they began airing the series last October. For those who wish to see both seasons, they will be having a Borgen marathon starting Aug. 20th and lasting for 2 weeks (M-F, 2 episodes each night). For the schedule go to Link TV's website and search for "Borgen".
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2012
I very much enjoyed BORGEN which is not available commercially in Australia (It has not been shown on TV here either). I have recently become interested in Danish TV drama after I watched The Killing which was shown on Australia's SBS TV Channel. BORGEN is exquisitly done as it blends political intrigue with human daily life, I am looking forward to Series 2, 3 and.......
Borgen: The Complete First Season [Region 2]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
We really enjoyed the season series. It takes some time to get to know the characters and for the overall theme of the series, (political power), to develop, but at the end of the first season, we were hooked. I liked the quotes at the beginning of each episode and their relevancy. Its heartbraking to see how the deals, schemes, and personal rivalries take their toll on each character. There is no one who is bad in the series, and no violence, but the drama is real.

As usual, the scenery is beautiful, and the architecture is breathtaking. We would like a blu ray of the second season as soon as possible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2012
This series is simply another great example of the engrossing Danish programs that are being released. This is produced by the same people who did THE KILLING and is totally engrossing. It's been such a success that they've already begun Season 3. Don't miss this series if your a drama fan.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
What a fine piece of work...wish that the second and third season of this series were affordable and easily available in the USA.
The universality of power relations and personal dilemmas of a private life are skillfully bared.What is shown can happen in any society---the corruption, temptations towards authoritarian rule, the price individuals pay for conformity and dissent and the questionable triumphs of winners over losers.
This series stimulates much discussion, especially since the protagonist is a woman who has ultimately achieved control over her political destiny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
Great political drama, plus you'll learn a lot about how parliamentary governments work. This is the story of a fictional first female prime minister of Denmark. The characters are completely believable and evolve convincingly over time. Well written and well acted, 'Borgen' is a totally addicting series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
The best new political drama to come out in years. Smart sharp writing. Interesting how politics works in Denmark. Looking very much forward to season 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$24.37
$22.90
$24.66

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.