Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


284 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding for the price
Let's try something a little different this time. Everyone reading this already knows about Bosch's reputation, top ratings in Consumer Reports, blah blah etc. It's also likely that most of you are looking at this as a replacement. So that's the way I'm going to approach it: a review of my new Bosch dishwasher as it compares to the 15-year-old mid-range Whirlpool...
Published on July 10, 2012 by Rich H.

versus
43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bosch shoud be better
I purchased this appliance three years ago because of the name brand and have experienced nothing but headaches. I'm currently looking to purchase another dishwasher because this one is one irritation after the next. Presently the soap dispenser doesn't work (rendering it useless), it's not going into wash cycles when we press the power button, and even when we use the...
Published on September 3, 2011 by Dr. in Pasadena


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

284 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding for the price, July 10, 2012
By 
Rich H. (Warren, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
Let's try something a little different this time. Everyone reading this already knows about Bosch's reputation, top ratings in Consumer Reports, blah blah etc. It's also likely that most of you are looking at this as a replacement. So that's the way I'm going to approach it: a review of my new Bosch dishwasher as it compares to the 15-year-old mid-range Whirlpool (similarly priced, IIRC) it replaced. This should give you a good idea what to expect relative to what you had, plus a little insight as to how the state of the art has changed over the past decade.

Good:
- Sharp appearance; much better looking than what it replaced. It's like the difference between, say, a 2013 Ford Taurus and a mid-1980s model; the old one was sharp-looking at the time, but from a 2012 perspective it's pretty lame.
- The Bosch is AMAZINGLY quiet. I used to be able to hear the dishwasher running from the next room. The first time I started up the new one, I literally had to put my ear to the door to find out whether it was actually doing something. (It was.) You'll hear the occasional faint slosh, and of course the sink while it's draining, but that's it.
- The stainless-steel tub (old one: plastic) is a nice touch, as are the row of fold-down tines in the upper rack and the durable-seeming plastic coating on both racks - I don't know what it is, but it definitely isn't vinyl as on the Whirlpool.
- The heating elements are hidden; no chance of a plastic dish meltdown.
- The Bosch uses a LOT less detergent than its predecessor...and could probably use less than that; see below.
- And, oh yeah, it also does a pretty good job of washing dishes (but, again, see below.)

Bad:
- I may still be re-learning to load this thing, but capacity seems distinctly lower than the Whirlpool. Part of this is due to the tableware basket occupying a substantial chunk of lower-rack space instead of the door-mounted basket on the Whirlpool. (Silver lining: it's removable. (Then again, how often do you wash loads without forks and spoons?)) Most of the tines are slanted, which probably helps cleaning-wise but complicates loading. Sum of topic: I did three loads of dishes after installation, which would probably have been two loads in the old unit.
- As of three weeks and maybe a dozen cycles, I have seen the detergent film noted in many other reviews here maybe once in four loads, and it seems to vary with the size of the load - the fewer dishes, the more film. This thing seems pretty aggressive re energy and water conservation, so I suspect I'm simply using too much detergent despite the tiny dispenser (half the size of the Whirlpool's.) I'm going to follow the user's guide to the letter for awhile and actually measure the amount I'm putting in instead of just filling the cup, and see whether and how that affects cleaning and residue.
- Use of rinse agent is mandatory if you don't want spotty glasses. The stuff isn't that expensive, but it does eat up much of the savings on detergent.
- Installation is relatively difficult. The Whirlpool had all connections up front, just behind the kick panel, and was partly self-leveling. The Bosch unit has the drain connection in back, and also has a leveler in back. The installation guide has you tip the thing on its back to hook up water and power, which would require several FEET of slack in all connections. Being rather uninterested in re-wiring and re-plumbing the existing hookups, I made do. Fortunately I could disconnect the drain hose at the sink end to gain slack, and the water and power connections are reasonably accessible with the unit in place. The manual also had you set unit height and leveling before placing it. This is reasonable, but for reasons too involved to go into here I wasn't able to level it until it was in place. No problem in front, but that back leveler was a problem until I figured out how to tip the unit forward so I could nudge the leveler around with a yardstick. I note this only because this procedure was not necessary when installing the Whirlpool. Tedious and time-consuming, but it worked. Sum of topic: follow the guide's instructions if you possibly can.
- No economy (non-drying) cycle, which contributes to the filming problem. The Whirlpool let you disable the dryer element, which in turn let me pop the door open after washing and let the very hot water evaporate quickly and cleanly. I also don't really get the "sanitize" cycle; 90 minutes of scalding-hot water and detergent should effectively sanitize most anything.
- Only a one-year warranty, for an appliance that can reasonably be expected to last a decade or more. Doesn't exactly speak to Bosch's reputation for quality.

Ugly: Nothing. It's attractive and competent-looking, inside and out.

Bottom line: Consumer's Reports tests included several dishwashers listed at over $1500. After a few weeks' experience with this Bosch, I can't see why anyone would pay that much for a dishwasher. This one is good-looking, quiet, efficient, and does its job quite well...and I suspect I can even improve on that with a little nudge up the learning curve. For about the same price - maybe even a little less adjusted for inflation - this appliance is a substantial improvement over the one it replaced, and among the best regardless of price. Five stars.

*UPDATE* 8/5/12: The sweet spot detergent-wise is a half-full detergent cup. Less doesn't clean well; more and I start seeing residue on the bottom of glasses and such.
I also discovered that this machine does not have a soft-food disposer as did the Whirlpool; you have to wipe food bits out of the bottom now and then. I'm not sure whether this is a bad thing, as I suspect a jammed water / drain pump is what killed the old washer.

*UPDATE* 1/15/13: Not long after the August update, I stumbled upon The Secret to getting consistently good results with this beast: Don't use the "auto wash" cycle. For normal loads, use "normal wash" with a half-full detergent cup; for baked-on stuff, use "heavy wash" with a 1/2 or 3/4 full cup. Since implementing this rule of thumb, I haven't had a single dish or whatnot that has come out dirty, nor have I had a single glass with a detergent film on top. No idea what "auto wash" is supposed to be sensing to set the wash cycle, but setting it manually yields better results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This BOSCH dishwasher puts my previous KENMORE dishwaher to shame!, November 4, 2011
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
Wow, purchased this dishwasher about 2 weeks ago, and to date can honestly say it is the BEST appliance I have ever owned. My 4 year old Kenmore which I paid over $1,000.00 for never cleaned my dishes completely (even after multiple service calls)and was very loud - had to go bye bye Kenmore Hello Bosch. This Bosch although it is not rated as the quietest in the line is amazingly quiet...I forget that I have started the dishwasher at all. Has a strainer at the bottom which catches all the large debris and is easy to remove and clean. The dishes come out clean every time and it is very easy to operate. After this purchase I will definitely make BOSCH my new appliance of choice for all my household needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, super clean dishes, but not for everyone, March 6, 2013
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
We bought this dishwasher to replace our ten-year-old Whirlpool, which never really cleaned well and which finally quit draining. The most frustrating thing about it was the frequency with which it re-deposited food inside glasses. My first choice was a Maytag with a hard food grinder, a filter, and steam, but it was not readily available in our area. Having read the negative reviews about this less expensive dishwasher, we bought it with some trepidation.

After using it for several weeks, I love it. Our dishes come out not just clean but sparkling. Because it has been years since I used a drying cycle, I do not miss heated drying at all. I used to open the door of the Whirlpool at the end of the wash cycle, but this Bosch gets most of the dishes dry even with the door closed. Although Bosch recommends using the auto cycle with the sanitize option to get the best drying, I have found that the auto cycle works well alone. And even though I will follow Bosch's insistence that a rinse agent be used, I didn't notice any difference when I ran out of rinse agent.

One of the features I like is that the filter and the spray arms can be removed easily if they become clogged. This was not the case with our Whirlpool, and I often had to poke long pipe cleaners into one of the spray arms to clean it.

Although I do not find this machine too small for our household of four adults, I do agree that the loading is awkward. The pictures in the manual assume that you are washing a number of complete place settings, but few people do that. We are simply loading dishes where they fit. However, if you have children who load for you, this machine might pose problems.

I do not miss rinse and hold or a short cycle as I seldom used them with previous dishwashers. Although the cycles are somewhat longer than those on our Whirlpool, I have not found them inconvenient.

People seem to love this dishwasher or hate it, and even those people who like it report success with different cycles or amounts of detergent. I suspect that variations in households, including water hardness, account for some of these differences.

In short, if you do not want or need the extra cycles or heated drying and you don't have children helping, I would not hesitate to recommend this Ascenta. (And, yes, it is super quiet!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bosch shoud be better, September 3, 2011
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
I purchased this appliance three years ago because of the name brand and have experienced nothing but headaches. I'm currently looking to purchase another dishwasher because this one is one irritation after the next. Presently the soap dispenser doesn't work (rendering it useless), it's not going into wash cycles when we press the power button, and even when we use the appropriate and suggested products for soap and rinse agent, the dishes do not come out looking clean.

Do not choose this dishwasher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, February 11, 2012
By 
L. Mackie (Orange Park, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
I love this dishwasher. It is quiet. You just hear the washer swishing. As long as I turn on the sanitizer, the dishes come out dry. The interior is smaller than other dishwashers, but I was aware of that and it didn't come as a surprise. We've had it for a month and it runs everyday. My husband installed it with no problem and no previous plumbing experience. It just took him some time. I spent about six months researching dishwashers. I was looking for a machine that was no louder than 50 decibels and a good value. This is the one I found. I am very sensitive to sound and at first I wished I had spent an extra $200 to $300 to get a 47 decibel machine, but now my ears don't even hear the water swishing.

This was a purchase from Sears, not Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good In Spite of Some Bad Reviews Here, June 11, 2013
By 
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
There are a large percentage of reviews on Amazon that rate this product low. There are percentage reviews on other sites that are much more positive. I found this dishwasher a good deal, easy to install, built well and cleans dishes well. I look to Amazon reviews for my purchases, so I was concerned about this product. The Bosch name is good and they make more expensive ones. I don't think the relatively high number of negative reviews here gives the right impression.

Pros: Stainless steel interior. Solid door that closes well (self closing when running I think).
Relatively easy to install (I did it myself to save 150.) However, installation takes much more than plugging in a toaster and you run the normal risks doing so.
Cleans well. Absolutely quiet.

Cons: Some cycles work better for washing and drying.
Not the best for drying dishes.

I think Bosch dishwashers use less water, so using less detergent actually prevents spotting. I use the normal wash, not auto. This machine perfectly cleaned baked on pie from the bake pan with just a half container of detergent.

It was easy to install. You can connect the electricity and water after putting it inside the cabinets. But the outflow need to be connected first (it's in back). Try 3-4 wraps of Teflon tape (provided!) for the water inflow.

The unit does not have a heating element on the bottom. The dishes get 95% dry when running the sanitize feature. If absolutely dry dishes are necessary for you, I would look elsewhere.

Remember, less detergent and try normal wash, not auto with sanitizer on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not great machine, March 31, 2013
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
I purchased this 24 months ago and intentionally waited prior to writing a review so I would have had ample run time on the machine.
When my dishwasher died suddenly I replaced it quickly without doing all my usual research. If I had, I probably would not have gotten this one. That said, I do like it but would prefer the next level up for additional features. Installation was very easy and doable by your average home handyman. Everything needed was included and for once I did not need to run to Home Depot for anything.
PRO¡¦s:
* Extremely quiet, so much so I had to check the first couple of uses to make sure it was actually working! It is so quiet, the delay wash feature really is not necessary.
* Cleaning ability is good but not the best I have seen. With no disposal it¡¦s best to pre-rinse well (although this is always a good thing to do with any machine). Most dried on food washed away but not as well as I would like but it does pretty good (prior washer did better). Top rack cleaning is excellent.
* Simple easy to use controls. Remembers most settings after a power outage.
* No problems with operation after 24 months of use. Insides look as nice and clean as the day I brought it, racks so no signs of age, door seal still feels like new with no discoloration.
* Have had no signs of the major problems other reviewers have mentioned.
* Food catch screen is easy to remove and clean.
* Care and Maintenance, as called for in the manual, is easy to perform. The guide states ¡§During normal use, the filter system is self-cleaning. This to work well, I have observed only a very minor build up on the ¡§micro filter¡¨ during my 2ed yearly maintenance.
* No ¡§delicate¡¨ cycle for your fine china.
* Full cycle takes a long time. The user¡¦s manual shows ~2.5 hours for Auto Wash with Sanitize, my experience is ~3+ hours. NOTE- this is likely due to my low inlet water temp.
* Does not completely dry dishes.
* Top rack wire arrangement seems off. By this I mean my glasses and other top rack items do not fit well and as a result sometimes tend to move around, strange, maybe I need metric glass ware (º). Bottom rack layout works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding dishwasher, July 29, 2012
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
I bought this about a month ago and so far am very happy with it. It is so quiet that I have to put my ear to it to make sure that it is running. My dishes come out sparkling and there is plenty of room for dishes and pans..I've had a lot of dishwashers in my life and this one beats them all. I also like the panel because it shows you the time left in the cycle while the dishes are being washed. There aren't a lot of confusing buttons and it is easy to use. So far, I'm loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very quiet but nearly useless, October 17, 2011
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
We bought a Bosch Ascenta dishwasher after it earned a solid review in Consumer Reports magazine. I must say it's very quiet. But unless you buy a single brand of dishwasher soap -- Finish -- and add the same brand of rinsing agent, it fails to clean routinely soiled dishes and glasses even if you use the Power Wash option. It seems unable to rinse the dishes clean and then bakes on the dirty residue of the wash cycle so that you have to scrub each dish and glass after removing them from the dishwasher.

Additionally, the upper basket is poorly designed. If you fill one row with cups or glasses, you have to leave the next empty.

We called a repairman and he said the model is operating as designed. So I'll have to pull it out and purchase a higher quality brand before the warranty expires. What a disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars how much do I hate thee? let me count the ways..., January 25, 2013
This review is from: Bosch SHE3AR52UC Ascenta 24" White Full Console Dishwasher - Energy Star (Misc.)
I have hated this thing with a passion since the day it was installed, and held off on writing a review in case I got used to it after a few weeks ago. Well I haven't, so here goes. If you are a person who uses a lot of sippy cups and/or mugs, this machine is NOT for you! Not only does it have a smaller capacity, but WTH with the weirdly spaced and angled prongs in both the top and bottom racks? They are driving me completely crazy! I am trying not to swear on Amazon but ... were they trying to be innovative in some way that I just don't get? There's all of one row that sippy cups will go into (which is about a half day's worth around here), and because of the small capacity it's not even worth putting mugs on top. But if you put them in the bottom, they are very hard to jam into the (again) weirdly angled prongs and (bonus!) weirdly widely spaced bottom means they are tilting over in danger of falling into the bottom of the machine. Awesome! Forget trying to (God forbid!) put a glass there. Seriously? Who the hell is happy with this machine? At this point I could care less that it's quiet. It doesn't fit my dishes and I run it very inefficiently packed because even after 4 weeks I can't figure out a better way. I really don't think we drink so much more than the average household, and don't even get me started on the enormous utensil rack taking up way too much space. Not worth it!

EDITED 3/11/13
Just wanted to add one more thing that I hate about this dishwasher - if the door is closed all the way it randomly turns itself on. So forget any energy or water savings! It runs by itself (with clean dishes still inside or empty) at least once every other day and we have not been able to figure out what triggers it. I am seriously ready to throw it in the trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.