Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vido Review on the Bose Wireless Computer Speaker
Customer Video Review     Length:: 8:01 Mins
The Bose Wireless Computer Speaker is a interesting product. It serves as a wireless computer speaker and as a Bluetooth speaker for any bluetooth enabled device, such as an iPhone, iPod, iPad, or other smartphone. In some ways, Bose has done this speaker a bit of a disservice by referring to it as strictly a "Computer Speaker". In my opinion,...
Published on January 24, 2012 by CKE

versus
32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many limitations for a speaker in this price range
The Bose Wireless Computer Speaker is a handy, attractive speaker that can be used to listen to music from a computer or an iPod / iPhone / MP3 player, etc. I really wanted to like this speaker, but there are too many limitations in the sound and function for a $300 speaker.

The Bose Wireless Computer Speaker measures 6.7" H x 12" W x 5.1" D, and is a very...
Published on January 26, 2012 by JB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vido Review on the Bose Wireless Computer Speaker, January 24, 2012
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 8:01 Mins

The Bose Wireless Computer Speaker is a interesting product. It serves as a wireless computer speaker and as a Bluetooth speaker for any bluetooth enabled device, such as an iPhone, iPod, iPad, or other smartphone. In some ways, Bose has done this speaker a bit of a disservice by referring to it as strictly a "Computer Speaker". In my opinion, it is an excellent (but expensive) solution for a variety of devices in your living space. It is small enough to be completely portable, loud enough to fill any room, easy enough for the least tech savvy user, and the sound to bring smiles to most faces.

Notes and Observations-

- You can see in the video portion (to some extent at least) that the Bose Wireless Computer Speaker has nice clarity and sound depth down to (about) 60Hz. While that doesn't offer the bass of the Altec Lansins IMT810 Altec Lansing iMT810 Digital Boombox or the Fluance Fluance FiSDK500 Two-way High Performance Wood Speaker Dock Music System for iPod/iPhone but it does offer a nice smooth response across the frequency range. Sound 4 out of 5 stars

- Bluetooth - works great and it is easy to set-up. Works well enough that the Bose Wireless Computer Speaker can be considered as wireless iPod dock. The speaker is much better than the Logitech 715i Logitech S715i Rechargeable Speaker for iPod and iPhone and the Monster iClarity HD Monster iClarityHD Precision Micro Bluetooth Speaker 100 Portable Bluetooth Speaker Multi-Language 5 out of 5 stars

- Computer Speaker - Real cool feature... the Bose can link wirelessly to any (and yes, that includes a Mac) speaker without the need of any software installation. The speaker range seems to be more than adequate. As the video shows it easy to set-up and can provide very good sound in different rooms in your home. 5 out of 5 Stars

Extra Features

- Nice functional remote

- Will accept an aux. input

- Has the ability to accept a rechargeable battery - but it is sold separately.... I wish it was included

- Does not come with a travel bag

Final Verdict - The Bose Wireless Computer Speaker is a nice all-in-one solution for both your computer and Bluetooth enabled device. The speaker doesn't offer exceptional sound, mainly due to its size, but it is better than expected for a speaker of this size. My biggest complaint is the price tag... but if you can get past the cost, I give the Bose Wireless Computer Speaker a hearty recommendation.

4 1/2 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many limitations for a speaker in this price range, January 26, 2012
By 
JB (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Bose Wireless Computer Speaker is a handy, attractive speaker that can be used to listen to music from a computer or an iPod / iPhone / MP3 player, etc. I really wanted to like this speaker, but there are too many limitations in the sound and function for a $300 speaker.

The Bose Wireless Computer Speaker measures 6.7" H x 12" W x 5.1" D, and is a very handsome unit - certainly other consumer electronics companies could learn something about design from Bose. The speaker comes with a large AC adapter plug, power cord, 8 button remote, and USB plug. A Li-Ion rechargeable battery pack (not included) is available to make this unit really portable. One thing I do not like about the Bose is that the only buttons on the speaker itself is volume up / volume down - I strongly dislike electronics that are totally useless if the remote is lost or broken. At minimum there should be Power, Play/Pause, AUX, and Wireless buttons on the top or side of the speaker.

There are three ways to supply music to the Bose Wireless Computer Speaker:
- Plug the supplied USB plug into a computer
- Use Bluetooth to pair the Bose to a computer, iPhone, etc.
- Use the rear AUX jack to plug in almost any MP3 player or other music source.
Pairing the speaker to either the supplied USB plug or Bluetooth was painless. Switching between the two was a bit annoying, as I had to manually disconnect / reconnect Bluetooth on my iPhone to get this to work, but I don't consider this a big issue.

As for the sound, I found it to be a mixed bag and a bit disappointing. The bass is quite good considering the small size of the overall unit and the small drivers. However the midrange is somewhat recessed, while the treble is rather muted. The overall sound ends up being warm and pleasant, but not accurate; IMHO good for background music, but not critical listening where the lack of highs will become obvious quickly. A comparison of the Bose to an internet radio I had nearby (Logitech Squeezebox Boom) highlighted the deficient treble of the Bose. More unfortunate is that Bose chose to provide no tone controls for the Wireless Computer Speaker so the end user could try and achieve a more accurate sound. Note that I tried all three "inputs" for the speaker (USB wireless, Bluetooth, AUX) and did not notice an obvious difference in sound between them.

(Edit - as per usual Bose does not advertise a frequency response for this product, and they don't provide any information on the drivers housed inside the unit. But as far as I can see there is a single driver for each channel. The lack of a separate tweeter might explain the lackluster treble noted above.)

So in the end I'm a bit sad about the Bose Wireless Computer Speaker. It looks fantastic, works very well overall, and apart from the missing buttons on the unit is a very good design. Unfortunately the sound doesn't measure up, especially for the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sounding is Bose Computer Speaker, 2nd Bose Soundlink, last Altec iMW725, May 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
In summary, I am an audiophile enthusiast with a trained ear and had the opportunity to compare all three of these wireless computer speakers in my home listening room at the same time. When comparing the three computer speakers: the Bose 'Computer Speaker', the Bose 'Soundlink', and the Altec Lansing 'IMW725', the Altec failed miserably showing a high level of distortion at all but the lowest playing levels. The Bose Computer Speaker sounded the best of all three, and Bose Soundlink came in a close 2nd to having the same rich natural sound of the Bose Computer Speaker. However, the larger Bose Computer Speaker edged out the more portable and smaller Bose Soundlink for overall sound quality and dynamics. Beyond listening, the better for daily use depends on the degree of portability that you need. A detailed explanation follows:

Having gotten sufficiently confused at Reviews of the equally priced wireless speakers: the Bose Soundlink and Bose Computer Speakers and the much lesser priced Altec Lansing IMW725 wireless speaker offerings, I thought I would write a quick review of my impressions having had the opportunity to have them in my listening room all at the same time for an A-B-C comparison.

I think that I might as well dispatch one of the wireless speakers from the competition, namely the much lower priced Altec Lansing IMW725. Even at low listening levels which woudn't have interfered with a telephone conversation from 3 feet away, the Altec speakers distorted as they coudn't handle normal bass notes. I personally do not think that the Altec offering would be a wise purchase at even half the price of the Bose wireless speakers and that the Altec is a seriously compromised wireless speaker, not suitable or realistic in most listening environments. Curiously, the speakers in the Altec are much larger than those in the Bose Computer Speaker. Apparently, the higher quality, heavier magnets, longer throw, and better designed enclosure of the Bose speakers overcomes the larger size of the budget priced Altec speakers. I am a little suspicious that the Altec may be defective, but am not convinced as both speakers seem to rattle at all but the lowest levels.

The real meaningful competition is between the Bose Soundlink and Bose 'Computer Speaker'.

In appearance, they are both reasonably compact. The Bose Computer Speaker (12"W X 7"H X 3" D) is a bit larger than the more compact and portable Bose Soundlink (9.5W X 5"H X 2"W). I think that although either would pack in a suitcase just fine and are nothing to be moved around an office or a house, that the Bose Soundlink is much more practical for carrying around with you routinely in hand, a computer bag, or backpack to other locations.

Both speakers appear to be very well constructed and have a weight to them and appearance than says quality. The Bose Computer speaker has two speakers which each appear to be about twice the size individually of any individual speaker of the four speakers in the Bose Soundlink. Although they probably add up to close to the same surface area total, the Bose Computer speaker by virtue of the larger woofers and cabinet enclosure, seem to convey a noticably greater sense of depth and stereo imaging. The Bose Computer speaker also has a heftier and much larger one amp wall wart made to handle the deeper throw and greater power needs of its larger speakers over the lighter and more compact Soundlink with is smaller 600mA wall wart. The size of the much larger wall wart for the Bose Computer speaker at about 3" X 3" also detracts from its portability for regular on the go use.

Both speakers sound very good for their size and have a lifelike representation of the sound with nice bass representation, a warm smooth yet still natural and open sounding midrange, and detailed highs which are not harsh. Their sound is pleasing to the ears. Of course, they would be no match for a stereo system with 5 inch monitor speakers or perhaps even very large quality boom boxes with dedicated idocks and high quality speakers. An optional somewhat expensive battery can be purchased for both.

When comparing the two, the smaller Soundlink has a very similar sonic signature overall and comes close to sounding the same, but is not quit the equal to the more dynamic and open sound of the Bose Computer Speaker. The Soundlink seems to sound just a little strained in comparison to achieve the same volume levels. However, make no mistake, either speaker for its size can play loud without distortion and both sound very good for their size.

The larger Bose Computer Speaker has the advantage of coming with a USB Bluetooth transmitter to plug into your computer which has an antena for long distance transmission, and a remote (which has bluetooth switch, on/off/ play, pause, Volume Up and Down, skip forward or backward, and an Aux switch). The only controls on the Computer Speaker itself is Vol Up and Down. Although the Computer Speaker title seems to imply computer control only, it can be controlled by blue tooth enabled devices.

The Bose Soundlink produces sound very close to the Bose Computer Speaker, and as mentioned is much more practical for tucking away in a computer bag or backpack to carry around routinely. If your computer is not bluetooth enabled, you can buy USB bluetooth transmitters at a very reasonable price to work with the Soundlink. Also, although you don't get a remote with the Soundlink like with the Computer Speaker, and other than both having volume up/down controls on the speaker itself, unlike the Computer speaker, with the Soundlink you get additional controls on the Soundlink speaker for on/off, silence, and Bluetooth activation (no skip button on the speaker like the Computer Speaker Remote).

For strictly home or office use or packing for that occasional vacation or beach trip, I think the Bose Computer Speaker at the same price will offer slightly better sound and is the better choice. The Bose Soundlink offers a more practical option for portability and still sounds very nice and close to the Computer Speaker in overall performance. For my needs at home and at the office, the Bose Computer Speaker is the better choice and the one I prefer and recommend. However, if I had a teenager or college student who would want to routinely cart the speaker around with him or her, I would certainly choose the Bose Soundlink over the Bose Computer Speaker for its portability and almost equal sound capabilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for music sharing, but has limitations, February 27, 2012
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Bose labels this as a computer speaker just to extend the brand. Really it's an all-purpose blue-tooth enabled portable speaker. Yes, it does work as a computer speaker, quite effortlessly (just plug in the USB antenna and make sure the speaker is on), but you can buy a nice computer speaker system that sounds better for a lot less. I suppose if you have a laptop or ipad, this would be more useful, especially if you used it in a particular room often.

What this product is really useful for is sharing music from a blue-tooth enabled device. A good use for it is when you have friends over and they want you to hear songs on their smartphone, ipod, etc. It is easy to connect devices. We have a music room and if we want to learn a new song, having this ability makes it a lot easier than connecting to the PA with wires (this product does not have a music out option, by the way).

The base device does not come with a battery pack, which is a $75+ option. I think if you are going to take this to the beach or park, and you can afford it, it would make this speaker a standard party accessory. But, for home use, especially if it stays in room often, the electrical adapter is enough.

In terms of sound quality, you may be tempted to say it has a nice, deep, rich sound to it. But, if you listen closely, you come to discover the richness comes at the expense of the mid and high end notes. This is especially true the larger the room gets. The sound quality is sufficient as a music sharing device, but if you listen long enough you start to realize the full spectrum just isn't all there. The bass is there, the mid ranges sound a bit hollow and the high notes penetrate in the right spots, but it is not well balanced (you can't adjust anything, either). It's still a small speaker box and it cannot take the place of a full stereo system. The smaller the room, the better it sounds, though.

I got this via the Vine program, but I think for the price, I'd look around and see if there are cheaper alternatives. What you do get from Bose, however, is a high quality product, generously packaged, and, I would hope, good support, if you need it. So, if you have the dough, like the name and understand it's best uses and limitations, this is a good product. Otherwise, do your due diligence and make the choice that's best for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Wireless System, January 28, 2012
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Bose has done it again. I use this with my Kindle Fire when I watch movies because the built in speakers are miniscule and don't do the job. The sound reproduction is such that dialogue and all the atmosphere that lives in soundtracks comes through loud and more importantly 'clear' to these old ears. I also use it with my ipod nano to listen to classical music during the day and the reproduction of the aural experience in each cd just blows me away. For the price range these speakers are the best thing out there bar none! Both of the things I've mentioned are using the aux input. The usb wireless adapter for the pc works flawlessly and I can listen to all my tunes in itunes anywhere in the house. That's a great plus for me cause after downsizing my life I don't have the fancy sound system I used to have and this little baby just sounds so faithfull to the original recordings that I wonder why I ever did have the big expensive system. If you're looking for superb sound reproduction in a versatile package with Bose quality behind it...then this is it! (I do want to stress that for true portability outside the house or convenience within without moving power pack...then you'll need to buy the optional battery pack from Bose...see their website for more info before buying this unit)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top shelf, August 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Bought this item instead of similar wireless speakers. The price although a bit higher than others was worth every penny. This speaker is the $h!t. Sound quality is top notch and it looks awesome. Also bought the li-ion rechargeable battery which makes it completely wireless. Other reviews complained about how expensive the combo cost but reallly? If your cant afford the battery than why are you buying a 300$ speaker? I would recommend this over any competitor wireless speaker and not to mention they are around the same price. 5 stars all around luxurious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convenient and Sounds Great, June 21, 2012
By 
Patrick Oden (San Dimas, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
First of all, let me say this is an extremely easy to use product. Plug in the USB, turn on the unit, and it works. One of the most simple to use wireless devices I've found. Once connected, it acts as a regular speaker for your computer with no other need to mess around with software or settings or anything. For that reason alone, I highly recommend it.

Of course, this comes with the assumption, and the experience, that the sound is worth it. Bose is well known as having high quality sound in their consumer products, and this is no exception -- for what it is. Now, this is not a replacement for permanent, hard-wired, surround sound. If you're looking for that level of quality, you will be disappointed. The sound is robust, the volume is strong, but don't think you'll be hosting a rave in your backyard with this.

For the ease of use and wireless connection, however, this unit sounds amazing, perfectly suitable for a variety of uses. We had a baby recently and I moved this from the dining room (where we could have some light music while we eat) to the baby's room, where some soothing music could help her sleep more soundly. It took just about as long as it takes to unplug it walk to the new room and plug it back in.

The overall ease of use is bolstered by having a strong signal that does not seem to interfere, or be interfered by, other wireless signals. So, turn in on and it works great without more thought.

In some ways, though, it's almost too easy to use, as it does not really have any way to adjust the sound properties other than on the computer itself. But, I guess that shows how much it really is just a remote speaker for your computer, not an independent system of its own.

In our current house, we have outdoor plugs that I've used with this. In the house we're moving to, the backyard is a bit more extensive, so I'm going to be looking at the attachable battery so as not to be limited by cord length. Honestly, I think the battery should have been included rather than being a separate purchase--as the price is pretty high given the mostly good rather than extraordinary sound quality.

Overall, I'm extremely pleased and look forward to continuing to using this in a wide variety of settings for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as good as it said, May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
certainly not a sound system
however stylish, good enough sound and the most important practical
the product description has not exaggeration
so I'm satisfied with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for background music., April 25, 2012
By 
Schwartz (Port Allegany, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Out of the box you find the speaker, USB transmitter, IR remote, power adapter, and manual.

This speaker has a nice look in a compact unit. I really like the look and feel. There is a carry handle / pass port around the back. You also get an aux in jack and power jack on the back. Around the sides is a glossy black plastic that I am not a fan of but given that is it on the sides and not right up front I can live with it here. On the right side there are volume up and down touch activated buttons.

You get three connectivity options. You can use the included USB adapter with your PC, Bluetooth, or aux input using a standard 1/8 headphone jack. All methods worked well and the wireless methods had great range. I didn't experience any dropouts or connection problems. I did notice what appeared to be a delay in the sound when it was transmitting a sound from the PC that would normally be instant. Like a feedback sound from a click. Not a great delay but noticeable nonetheless.

Whoever designed the wall wart needs smacked. The cord wraps nicely around it for storage but it is so darn big that it takes up way too much outlet space. They would have done much better with a laptop style power adapter with only a regular cord going to the outlet.

In the box there is a separate paper saying that Bose doesn't go for flashy sound. I'd have to agree with that. It sounds good but relatively flat with a little grunt on the low end. Given its size it has more than acceptable volume and sound quality. I don't see this as being a center stage speaker used at a computer. To me it is a wireless computer speaker in the sense that a computer can send music to it not as a speaker to be used at a computer. It is more of a background sound speaker in my opinion. It is something that you have for music while working on something else. Some examples would be outside on the deck while grilling, while working in your workshop or garage, in the kitchen when cooking, or moved room to room while cleaning.

Overall it sounds and feels like a quality speaker that will last and be something you'd want to keep around for a long time if you planned to use it as I described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, Luxurious Sound, February 16, 2012
This review is from: Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I truly cannot believe how easy it was to get the Bose Wireless speakers operating. You open the box, set up the speaker itself, insert the USB "transmitter" into the computer and within moments, you're playing music redirected to the speakers. Easy peasy.

The only difficulty I had was with changing the sound output source on my Vista PC, something that for some unknown reason, I've always struggled with. Vista seems to think it can randomly decide where to send sound regardless of my choice.

By the way the USB transmitter shows up as a `Headphone' in Vista.

Once the speaker is powered up--I would *love* to have the battery so it can be truly portable!--it soon connects up with the transmitter and you'll know this because of the light showing on the little antenna icon. There's been one time when I had a few problems trying to get both ends of the connection sync'd up, it didn't last too long though.
The sound. Wow. The bass is rich, and velvety while the upper tones are clear and sonorous. Bose, even though it never publishes any technical specs on their speakers, definitely put out a good product. Let me put it this way, to this sound newbies' ears, it's an incredibly luxurious sound.

The distance between the computer and the speaker is about 40 feet. I read this range can be extended to 60 feet, which means I could play my music just about anywhere in my house! I haven't tried the Bluetooth connection and I'm not really interested in doing that so I can't report on that aspect of its operation.

I'm going to give this a five star rating for ease of installation, another five for sound quality. That's 10, well deserved stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bose® Wireless Computer Speaker
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.