Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable field guide to the office sub-species
There are two ways to read this book: as an informative how-to on negotiating the maze of corporate life or as an entertaining "field guide" to the sub-species you encounter there. Either way, you'll get your money's worth. As Jean-Paul Sartre noted in "No Exit", Hell is other people. And that is particularly true in the workplace. Ms. Oliver serves up almost 500...
Published on September 20, 2008 by B. Bowman

versus
33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition is Unreadable!
This is really a review of the Kindle edition, rather than a review of the book's content. I'd like to review the content, but I've given up on trying to actually read the book. Evidently, the publisher simply scanned in the book and released the Kindle edition without bothering to check it. Here are just a few of the formatting issues:

- No linked table of...
Published on February 11, 2010 by  Ann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition is Unreadable!, February 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is really a review of the Kindle edition, rather than a review of the book's content. I'd like to review the content, but I've given up on trying to actually read the book. Evidently, the publisher simply scanned in the book and released the Kindle edition without bothering to check it. Here are just a few of the formatting issues:

- No linked table of contents (a huge fail for a book like this!)
- Missing footnotes / end notes
- Spaces and line breaks in the middle of words
- Missing spaces between words
- Erratically indented list items
- List bullets in the middle of a line of text
- No breaks between chapters and sections
- Section headings don't stand out
- Some headings intermingled with text

If you were hoping to read this on your Kindle, take a pass until the publishers get their act together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable field guide to the office sub-species, September 20, 2008
By 
B. Bowman (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
There are two ways to read this book: as an informative how-to on negotiating the maze of corporate life or as an entertaining "field guide" to the sub-species you encounter there. Either way, you'll get your money's worth. As Jean-Paul Sartre noted in "No Exit", Hell is other people. And that is particularly true in the workplace. Ms. Oliver serves up almost 500 pages of ways to ameliorate that particular hell in a humorous but eminently practical approach. There's even a section that lets you hold up a mirror to see if - or how - you are a people problem yourself. This is a volume you'll come back to again and again, to solve a problem or just to tune up your workplace skills. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable - a Must-Have!, October 27, 2008
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
Easy to read, beautifully laid out and humorous to boot, this book is a must-have reference book for anyone that works with other humans. Every personnel problem you can think of is represented by one of the numerous personality types depicted here, and easily found in the perfect table of contents. Problems and solutions are neatly and clearly outlined in each of the book's three parts, dealing with bosses, employees and also (gasp) maybe even you. Besides the wonderful, accessible format, the best parts of this book are the down-to-earth, practical solutions offered by the author. They cover every situation I've ever been in - and they really work! Highly recommended. (I also loved Oliver's previous book 301 Smart Answers to Tough Interview Questions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was easy to read but didnt offer any real advice, October 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
I bought this book thinking that it would offer some real/sound advice on how to deal with my manager and her puppets. While the book was an easy read, with some stories that just about anyone could relate to, it didnt really give me any help or direction at all. The book pretty much said to agree with your boss and fly under his/her radar. Not what I expected at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why can't you breathe at work?, March 5, 2009
By 
Mary M. (Connecticut, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
You can't breathe at work because the bad bosses have sucked all the air out of the room! You aren't crazy - these bad bosses and crazy coworkers are out there and multiplying fast. Vicky Oliver's book attests to this phenomenon and validates your personal observations on the job.

By writing succinct case studies of numerous, subversive office characters (the bully, the credit snatcher, the rageaholic), Oliver accurately portrays the culture of the modern workplace as an anaerobic petri dish of toxic creatures.

How can your crawl out of this slimy soup? What makes a bad boss tick? Oliver answers these questions with insight and humor. Best of all, she offers practical coping strategies.

Do not let a bad boss shut down your job and career! Read this book and and practice its suggestions on your next business day. There is relief. Vicky Oliver has lowered the oxygen mask and it's possible to start breathing again at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WISE ADVICE AND A FUN READ, September 17, 2008
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
This book delivers just what it promises--201 smart ways to handle tough people issues at work. Reading it is like sitting down with an extremely savvy friend who will not only give you a wise opinion but suggest a sensible and creative course of action. If you're confronted with an interpersonal job problem, you are likely to find just the prescription here that you need for solving it. And if--heaven forbid--you suspect you're the problem person at your workplace, Oliver has solutions for that, too. The book is arranged to make finding your particular situation very easy. The descriptions of office horrors are right on target and the writing is laced with humor.

What if you don't have a particular problem? Read this book anyway. Vicky Oliver's wisdom will help you avoid getting into hot water anytime down the road. Oliver knows a whole lot about job opportunities and pitfalls, and is absolutely frank and clear-eyed about it all. She comes up with great, workable solutions I never would have thought of, and probably you wouldn't have either. If I had young relatives who were starting out on their careers I'd want them to go armed with Oliver's down to earth wisdom.

An extra bonus--Oliver knows how to tell a funny story. This wise book is truly fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful, snappy, thorough, January 2, 2009
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
I was familiar with a previous title by this author and was easily hooked by this new book when I found it at my local bookstore. Its greatest asset is the range of issues with which it deals, and I must say Ms. Oliver surprised this reader by her ability to focus on a wide range of topics without becoming diffuse. The book is both a useful reference for any situation, and a sufficiently thorough analysis to lead the reader to useful and practical conclusions in each single case.
I have no idea where Ms. Oliver does her research, but her range of material is so rich as to become entertaining in its own right. I much prefer experts who maintain a fresh tone of voice as they feed us a considerable amount of information, and I'd say this book hits from both sides. It's good advice that's actually enjoyable, and as I found myself thinking, what better kind is there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide, October 18, 2008
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
We might not realize this but more than half our waking lives are spent in the confines of the cubicles and plastered walls of our workplaces. Be it a cut-throat corporate multinational firm or a save-the-world grass-root non-profit, any workplace comes with a load of ambitions and conflicts.

Everyone one of us has had a despotic boss or an infuriating coworker who has made going to work feel like a trip to the war zone. Not only is our day a nightmare, but those frustrations stay with us ruining the evenings and perfectly planned weekends too.

We can either take the bullets lying down. Or we can resolve to do something about our office issues. That's where Vicky Oliver's book comes in. It shows us through examples that we are not alone in our troubles, and the book goes onto list various problem scenarios and gives thoughtful and practical solutions. Written in a humorous eloquent style with plenty of sidebar and tips, this book is easy and fun to read.

The book is divided into three section, "Bosses", "Colleagues" and "Problem Within" and answers any issue you might have, internal or external, that is keeping you from achieving your full potential and enjoying a healthy workplace life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I read this book 20 years ago!, December 23, 2008
By 
K. A. Weimar (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
A perfect comprehensive collection of ALL the types of people I've either work for or worked with. Immediately upon receiving my copy of Bad Bosses, I quickly thumbed through the index looking for a solution to my own personal office nightmare...and there he was. On pages 192 and 197 - a combo platter of The Coddled Superstar and Grumpy Martyr. Vicky Oliver's easy and entertaining problem/solution format helped me deal with and tolerate this troll under the bridge on a daily basis, which made it well worth the price of the book. I keep a copy on my bookshelf at work for quick referencing whenever I encounter a new hack, waffler, Judas or annoying perfectionist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide for dealing with the office, February 1, 2009
This review is from: Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues (Paperback)
Another great book by Vicky Oliver dealing with the workplace. Her insights into the day to day issues faced looking for jobs or having a job are both funny, helpful and full of little insights that you can really use to improve life at the place you spend most of your time. Read it and see the office in a new light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bad Bosses, Crazy Coworkers & Other Office Idiots: 201 Smart Ways to Handle the Toughest People Issues
$19.99 $15.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.