Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SOUND
I ordered this setup because it I am trying to remove alot of the wires (clutter) in room, the wireless sub was what i was looking for in this type of system. I will be the first to say that it is not as great as a full sorround sound system, but it does fill the room with a great movie quality surround sound. The only disappointment that i found is that there is no...
Published 22 months ago by TAYLOR

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monotonous
Hooked this up to my 42 inch HDTV in my living room via optical cable. The soundbar comes with a small remote. It has two modes, music and movie.

This summed up my experience with the TVee26.

Comparison between the older TVee 25 and TVee26:

- Same wattage but TVee 26 is much smaller in footprint than TVee 25. The TVee 26 subwoofer is...
Published 13 months ago by Nuknuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SOUND, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
I ordered this setup because it I am trying to remove alot of the wires (clutter) in room, the wireless sub was what i was looking for in this type of system. I will be the first to say that it is not as great as a full sorround sound system, but it does fill the room with a great movie quality surround sound. The only disappointment that i found is that there is no controls for the soundbar itself (ie. trebble or bass). The wireless sub sounds great in relationship with the sound bar (it has a control knob on it to turn it up or down). I was concerned about my wifi (2.6 hz) interfering with the 2.6 hz for the sub, but it has no affect on the sound and they are in the same room. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monotonous, August 22, 2013
By 
Nuknuk (Springfield, VA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Hooked this up to my 42 inch HDTV in my living room via optical cable. The soundbar comes with a small remote. It has two modes, music and movie.

This summed up my experience with the TVee26.

Comparison between the older TVee 25 and TVee26:

- Same wattage but TVee 26 is much smaller in footprint than TVee 25. The TVee 26 subwoofer is about half the weight (6.6 lbs to 11.9 lbs) of the TVee 25 despite a slightly bigger cone, 6.5" to 6". Sound bar a bit slimmer.

Pros:
- Setup is a breeze. The subwoofer and the soundbar are pre-paired when they ship it to you. All you need to do is supply an audio signal to the soundbar and supply power on the subwoofer.
- Soundbar looks good. Low profile with rubber footings.
- Can be programmed to work with your existing remote

Cons:
- sound quality is so-so. I don't hear much difference between the high and low frequencies. It is pretty much muddled in the middle together. I don't feel any thud or thump, just low rumblings. Most importantly, spoken words are low that you have a tendency to turn the volume higher to hear the dialogue, which in turn causes the sound effects to be much louder than necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy as pie & sounds great, but do your research up front., May 17, 2013
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
Two things: Don't pay retail for this item. I bought it off of Woot for $120.00 That's a big reason I am giving it a top rating. Not so sure if I paid $350. The second thing; make sure your TV doesn't have a lock on the volume control on the remote if you turn off the TV speakers (which you have to do). You can test this by going into your audio settings, turning of the built-in speakers and then trying to use the volume control on the remote. If you get a pop-up box that says "Function Not Available", or something similar, stay away from this product. You will get frustrated trying to incorporate their remote and balance the sound levels.

My LG TV doesn't have a lock out and I was able to program my current TV remote in less than 4 minutes. The sound bar sits right up on the speaker stand and looks great. I had to mess with the subwoofer volume a bit. I find that the 3/4 setting is just right. The usual big movie blasts give the appropriate rumble but the most telling thing for me is how the soundbar handles dialogue. It gets completely separate from the ambient noise and comes at you from the center for the most part and is perfectly clear.

I find that you have to turn up the volume to a higher level (in my case, number) than you used to on the TV speakers alone. It have a different relative scale but the payoff is pretty darn good. This set up is in a bedroom so take that into account. For the price I paid, I am over-the-top. I've run Netflix, Pandora and a regular HD TV through it and the improvement over the built in speakers is remarkable. Best Woot purchase ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied with my unit, exactly what I needed., April 3, 2014
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
I'll start by saying that I am a tech person, with years of exp in IT and audio. I have owned the product for a month and will say that I am happy with my unit. My ratings are based on performance, installation, price and overall satisfaction.

This unit was extremely simple to install. All the necessary cables for installation were supplied in the box with the unit. It took no more than 5min after it was out of the box. Sync the wireless subwoofer was too easy. (FYI: my subs gain is set to about about 1 o'clock).

The sound quality is very good considering this is a inexpensive soundboard with a small sub. My application/setup was for my led tv in a medium size room. The audio is abviously better than the Tv speakers and sounds great. We can now watch tv and enjoy everything from movies, tv shows, and music from concert DVDs or Pandora. It fills the room nicely. This should not be compared to other units that are out of its price range nor to other 5.1 units, as this is not a 5.1.

I will not go into specs as many have already elaborated, but I will say it has two aux (both earphone plug style) and a optical connector. I used optical. If you have an older tv that does not have optical out, but instead RCA out an adapter was supplied with mine for typical RCA (red/white) to earphone. The small remote is a nice accessorie although unnecessary.

I got my unit on sale via another vendor for half the price here. This obviously adds to my satisfaction by and extra 50% to my pocket.. Lol. There are other units like Sony ct150 that are about 2$$. Although the sony had some nice features (like a hdmi passthru), it was unnecessary since my tv has plenty of hdmi connectors. I also found this unit to produce better sound, particularly at higher volumes.

Pros: easy install, great price, good sound, exactly what I needed
Cons: none (expectations met)

As with everything, know what you are buying beforehand and you will be a happy camper. If you are looking add to your tv experience and replace the use of your tv speakers. This is a good option. Ps: the wireless sub keeps the wife happy, out of sight out of mind.

I will update in a few months and talk about quality and longevity.
Good luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality isnt great and doesnt work with my direct TV remote, October 13, 2013
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
Spent quite a bit of time troubleshooting and spoke with someone live as to why my Samsung TV and direct TV remotes dont work properly. Very frustrating and I am not considered technically challenged. As a result I disconnected the sound bar from my TV and now use it to play music via bluetooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
The sound of this system is fantastic (which from my limited experience, is typical of Boston Acoustics)! The subwoofer puts out good bass and the system does give a sense of surround to it (which definitely is a nice surprise). We also have our iPad/iPod dock connected to it, so between the dvd player and those, there are plenty of options for music (which sounds great as well).

I picked this because of its size (the size of a competing unit probably wouldn't have fit in front of the TV (which is where I have this system) without blocking the bottom of the screen. I also like the plain black grill (it blends in nicely without being obnoxious in its design).

Lastly, it is nice to be able to pair the speaker system with my cable box remote to control the volume (it's hard for me to imagine having to control volume with a completely separate remote!).

Ultimately, I would HIGHLY recommend this system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, but not fabulous, June 9, 2014
By 
Kitchen Mouse (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
I bought this to install over a flat panel TV in a motorhome. The tv speakers are fairly muffled, and I wanted to have good sound for movies and blu-ray discs. It does an adequate job, but there is not a lot of dynamic range. It could be I am spoiled by the top end Boston Acoustic speakers in my home and in my car.

Pros:
Easy as pie setup. Once it is set up and the speaker output is defined in the TV, it turns on automatically with the TV remote's power button, as well as a Directv remote in IR mode. Volume and mute are controlled by either remote as well.

Subwoofer bluetooth pairing is as easy as pushing a button on the rear of the subwoofer.

Subwoofer is small, and has nicely rounded corners which is necessary in a small space such as a motorhome.

Power cord for the subwoofer is a generous length which is important in a motorhome, since outlets can be scare!

Soundbar, mounted over TV runs off the power inverter, allowing use in areas with no 110v AC service, and the sub can be used as needed when there is a 110v source.

It's attractive, sleek in appearance. Looks very nice with my Samsung 31 in. TV.

Cons:
Just does not put out great audio. I would not like this in a home, but for camping it is fine.

Must be removed from wall mount to access bluetooth sync button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to set up, (mostly) excellent sound, September 22, 2013
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Our primary TV is a high definition flatscreen with excellent picture quality, but sound that is mediocre, at best. The TVEE looked like an ideal way to improve the overall sound quality when watching TV, and simple enough for someone who is (admittedly) not the best in the world at connecting audio components.

Initial setup is a breeze. The unit includes one optical cable that connected easily to the TV's output. One extremely minor issue (with the television, not the TVEE) arose when the instructions called for turning off the television speaker. Our television does not give that particular option; I would assume that other people with the same issue would be able to figure out that it's essentially the same as turning the volume down (not muting, as that leaves an icon on the screen of many televisions), but it seemed odd that the instructions did not address this possibility anyway.

Sound from cable, Amazon streaming video, and Blu-Rays is, overall, superb. (Granted, this is coming from a "layman"; I'm not certain how well it would hold up to the scrutiny of an audiophile.) We have not experienced any of the "dropping out" issues that some other reviewers have described. However, as others have mentioned, it does seem rather odd that the TVEE does not have bass, treble, balance, or any of the other "standard" audio controls for fine tuning. It does have adjustable trim level for the Aux 1 input only, but the instructions do not explain at all what this setting means, and I had to resort to Google to learn that it deals with the input sensitivity.

The only other issue we've run into is also rather minor, and deals with the inputs. There is the optical digital input, as well as two auxiliary inputs for 1/8" stereo connectors. Our TV (and I'm not certain if this is standard, or a drawback of our television) will only output sound to an external speaker if it is input via HDMI. No problem for the cable box or the Blu-Ray player, but rather a big deal for video game systems that don't have an HDMI output (like the Wii). To use such a system requires purchasing additional adaptors; though Boston Acoustics provides a few extra cables, they don't provide a way to connect the standard two RCA connectors to the 1/8" stereo input. It struck me as somewhat odd that, of three different input options, dual-RCA inputs was not one of them. (After buying about $5 worth of connectors, however, the sound from the Wii is the best I've ever heard from that system.)

Overall, the TVEE is a fairly economical sound solution that should produce high enough quality results for most users, and is simple enough for anyone to set up.

(As of this writing, we have not tested the remote capabilities of the TVEE. Rather than programming the remote to transmit certain signals to the TVEE, the TVEE essentially "learns" the signals from seemingly unused buttons on the remote. We currently do not have any "extra" functions on our remote, but will likely purchase a new universal remote in the near future so as not to have to deal with the separate, quite tiny, TVEE remote control exclusively for volume control. If this impacts my opinion of the TVEE, I will update this review accordingly.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome sound bar, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
sounds great and easy to setup and pair your remote controls. looks great and has a nice little subwoofer that connects with your sound bar wireless. i picked it up in amazon warehouse for $150.00 used it goes for $350.00 new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premium Sound Quality!!, September 3, 2013
By 
JJ "avid reader" (Meridianville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Boston Acoustics TVee 26 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer, Home Theater System (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Awesome! The sounds that are emitted from this home theater sound system are totally awesome. This home theater system makes my living room sound like I am sitting in a movie theater. I really can not put into words how great this acoustic TVEE theater system sounds. The system was very easy to hook up and program to my TV controller. It connected right to my TV controller with just a touch of a button on the sound bar. The quality of sound from the sound bar its self is just phenomenal. The system makes it so much easier to understand what is being said on the TV without having to turn the volume very high as you would with standard TV speakers. The sub woofer will make your floors shake it emits so much base, fortunately the sub woofer has a separate volume control because it gets very loud. I would put the sound quality and clarity of the Boston Acoustics TVEE Theater System up against a Bose any day of the week. It would be hard to find a better sounding system any where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.